Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  

Reviews For Another Auld Lang Syne by Mullvaney

Showing 1 to 11 of 11
Monday 24th March 2008 05:21

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 477

Another Auld Lang Syne
I love this. I've always liked that song and I really enjoyed your interpretation. I know this is from over a year ago, but I'd love to see you take this further than this bittersweet one-shot and have them come together. So far it does not contradict anything canon. Anyway - even if my pleas fall on deaf ears, I will come back to this again and again.

Thursday 8th November 2007 14:52

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Another Auld Lang Syne
darn percy! he should have ran after her or something :p
Thursday 21st December 2006 10:52

1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

Another Auld Lang Syne
As gorgeous as I remember it - even more so in fact. The dialogue flows very naturally now and the mirroring of their thoughts works so well for this story - it makes it seem all poetic-like

I love the way you characterise them both - Percy is note-perfect and your Penelope would have been just the right woman for him - bold, ambitious but free-spirited to temper his old-man fussiness. So sad they went their separate ways.

OMG I LOVED this line! "He could see his breath touch her face . . ."

The whole of the last paragraph is just beautiful in fact.

I felt Britpickishness overcome me once or twice, is my only gripe. "gotten"? "anyplace"? Sorry, sorry I know, I'm a cultural imperialist :-P

Can't wait for the next instalment.
Tuesday 19th December 2006 04:46

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Another Auld Lang Syne
What a sad final line, a beautiful reflection of the whole story. What a bittersweet scene, lovely.
Saturday 16th December 2006 18:37

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Another Auld Lang Syne
I like the atmosphere you create on Diagon Alley .
Foyerists -- that's cute
I like the interplay/conflict between what they say and whay they're thinking.
But why did they have to leave separately?
The story reminds me of a song but I don't remember it by that title (actually I don't think I remember the title at all); but I remember one line something like "met my old lover at the grocery store . . ."
Astarte's Mobile
Saturday 16th December 2006 11:21

1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Another Auld Lang Syne
percy's such an idiot. we written. for a bit i worried you might actualy let them get back together even though it seemed clear the prat still hasn't made amends with his famiy.
Saturday 16th December 2006 00:17

6th year
Num. of Reviews: 251

Another Auld Lang Syne
Wow. I really thought he was gonna call her back. Poor Percy...I hope he can redeem himself.
Friday 15th December 2006 19:00

Another Auld Lang Syne
I did a story based on this same song last Christmas! I love that song!

Nicely done.
St Margarets
Friday 15th December 2006 03:35

2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

Another Auld Lang Syne
Squee! Percy/Penny! But oh, how angsty - I know that song and I think your story conveys the same tone. I love the shifting points of view as they look at each other and explain t heir lives. It's funny how they both still want to impress the other - but don't need to really, since they still like each other deep down.

I loved the descriptions of Percy:

That's so vivid and so perfect for a Weasley. I think Percy has blue eyes too.

I liked your lines about bitterness and I liked the fact that this wasn't bitter.

A lovely holiday treat!
Thursday 14th December 2006 15:29

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

Another Auld Lang Syne
That's so sad. Poor Percy, I do kinda feel sorry for him. I hope one day, he get's his life back together. Well done I really enjoyed this.
Thursday 14th December 2006 11:55

2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

Another Auld Lang Syne
Thank you so much for that lovely bittersweet story. So many touching lines.

He could see his breath touch her face

He was surprised at the almost unbearable pain he felt; it filled his chest, inhibited his breathing. Then, the feeling passed

Plus I truly wanted to do my Christmas shopping there -- the sights, the sound -- terrific.

Have a great holiday -- and thanks again for sharing this with us.

Showing 1 to 11 of 11
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Tuesday 24th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Friday 20th November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Tuesday 29th September
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
Monday 18th May
Author: MyGinevra
Story: Excision
Saturday 18th April
Author: Nundu
Story: 54 Years Later
Sunday 29th March
Author: Author by Night
Poem: Mischief Managed: A Re-read of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Sunday 22nd February
Author: Nundu
Story: Wild Goose Chase
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004