Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Ten Little Lions by Chatmandu

Showing 1 to 7 of 7
Caleb Nova
Sunday 4th January 2009 03:38


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Ten Littl
Interesting. I don't think I've ever read a Harry Potter mystery genre fic before. I enjoyed it, which you can take as an especial compliment as the mystery genre has never interested me.

With a strained, higher than usual voice, Hermione admonished Ron. “Honestly! A body will not begin to smell so soon. It takes at least 24 hours at room temperature before putrification begins to create an odour.”


I feel compelled to point out, for the sake of realism, that a badly damaged body will begin to stink immediately due to blood loss and opened cavities. Blood has a very strong smell to it, especially when mingled with other bodily fluids.

Rather messy of Voldemort to simply leave his butchered minion there on the train. Never allow your opponent to see dissension in your ranks. Of course, knowing Greyback it's entirely possible it was all his doing. He is not a subtle creature.

I was interested to see your characterization of Luna. I thought it was very different from mine, and so it was fun to view her in a different light. I think a lot of authors avoid her. She can be difficult to hear.

A good read and even a good mystery to boot.
Chatmandu
Monday 5th January 2009 05:34
Ten Littl (Author Response)
I'm surprised and pleased one of my favorite authors found my story enjoyable. The mystery aspect was tough to do, it was my first try at that sort of thing. I wrote the story as canon compliant, so far as I knew pre-DH. Luna is my take on canon Luna. I never understood why some folks avoid Luna, she is such fun to write. Any old stray thought can become her dialogue!

The body... Ahem. Well, yeah, since good old whozits was still oozing life all over the rear of the carriage he probably did smell a bit. I'm fortunate not to have a lot of knowledge about human decomposition, short term or otherwise. But hey Grayback WAS discreet. He stuffed the body into the loo, where he expected no one to notice it. Its not MY fault Grayback is as subtle as a beer fart in an airlock.
  Quote
majolie
Friday 28th December 2007 18:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Ten Littl
I found this to be very enjoyable. I have always found Nott to be an intriguing character - I guess because there is so little of him in canon. You write very well and I am going to look for more of your work now that I've discovered it.
Chatmandu
Saturday 29th December 2007 14:32
Ten Littl (Author Response)
Thank you for the kind comments! I was surprised to see a review of Ten Little Lions, it has sort of fallen into "old story limbo." I am working on something longer than a one-shot, it needs a lot more work before it sees the light of day. Have a Happy New Year!
  Quote
Sovran
Thursday 5th April 2007 10:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Ten Littl
How did I not know that you had written your own stories? Shame on me.

You did a great job with the characters in this story. Hermione's back-and-forth between competence and fear is well done and seems quite fitting. Harry is in-character, and his realizing early on that he owes Ginny an apology is quite satisfying. I've never liked the idea of his staying clueless for very long after the funeral. That doesn't mean she should go along (she shouldn't), but she does deserve to know what's going on and to not feel abandoned.

The character that really surprised me, though, was Nott. You did a great job of keeping him unpleasantly Slytherish while at the same time making it clear that he's not one of Voldemort's sycophants. I don't like him at all, but I do like his character.

I also loved the way that Ginny wasn't in the story, but she remained very central to it. I always like to see Ginny get more page-time, but in this case I can see how having her elsewhere served the story better.

Well done!
Chatmandu
Thursday 5th April 2007 16:19
Ten Littl (Author Response)
Thanks for the praise Dave! I appreciate it coming from one of my favorite authors.

Yeah, good ol' Teddy Nott. He is an interesting character, especially with Jo's notes about him and Draco chatting at Malfoy's manorhouse.

I do hope Ron and Hermione slap some sense into Harry in DH, but we have to wait another few months to find out, eh?

Chuck
  Quote
TreyFury97
Tuesday 19th December 2006 10:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 46

Ten Littl
Wow... I know you were just doing it for a summer challenge... but If you were to turn this into a full-fledged story, I would've been first in line to read it. Great piece of writing.

Trey
Chatmandu
Wednesday 20th December 2006 10:47
Ten Littl (Author Response)
I am lazy and gave my response to your review in GryffindorDragon's remarks.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Tuesday 19th December 2006 08:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Ten Littl
Interesting. Are you going to continue this on? Are the ten going to start dropping one by one?
Chatmandu
Wednesday 20th December 2006 10:45
Ten Littl (Author Response)
I am going to be lazy and use this response for your review and TreyFury97's too. I was wondering why I was being asked about continuing the story, I had submitted it as a one-shot. Then I read the summary info and saw it marked as WIP. Ah ha.

You know, there are a number of plot points that bear continuation. How will Mcgonagall take her House being directly targeted? What about the other Gryffindors on the list? How will Harry try to apologize to Ginny. Oh and then there is that little background plot of Voldemort "in all his grisly glory."

I write sloooow and am currently working on a different story, but I think I will return to the Ten Little Lions mini-verse again.

Thanks for reading and the kind review.
  Quote
CrumpleHornedKiwi
Tuesday 19th December 2006 01:11


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 224

Ten Littl
What a great start - a bit more blood and guts than I'm used to but a great little thriller.

I hope to see an update soon.
Chatmandu
Wednesday 20th December 2006 10:31
Ten Littl (Author Response)
Uh yeah. The blood and guts part. Well unfortunately real violent death is rather messy. If you were thinking "oh this is so gross!" that is the feeling I wanted to impart.
  Quote
lantis222
Monday 18th December 2006 18:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

Ten Littl
Interesting. I can't wait to see what happens next. Nott definatly knows more than he is letting on. Good job!
Chatmandu
Monday 18th December 2006 19:02
Ten Littl (Author Response)
Thanks! I have held a minor fascination for Theodore Nott ever since JKR referred to him and Malfoy at Malfoy Manor. Pity her scene didn't make it into the story proper.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004