Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Christmas Like No Other by Melindaleo

Showing 1 to 20 of 41 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
Patches
Monday 12th July 2010 01:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

A Christmas Like No Other
This is a wonderful way for Harry to propose to Ginny. The problems with the twins are normal for people that have to live with them. What a nice present for Mrs. Weasley. A peaceful Christmas morning for them all. Maybe the twins just might figure out that there is a limit to fun! Well we can hope anyway. Thanks for writing. I really like fluffly scenes like this with Harry and Ginny. p
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Tuesday 2nd March 2010 19:04


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

A Christmas Like No Other
Wonderful! It's so romantic, before DH came out I always imagined Harry proposing to Ginny over a Christmas trip to the Burrow. And now I have it! Haha nice job!
  Quote
HPismyhero
Thursday 11th June 2009 17:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

A Christmas Like No Other
WHy didn't you let anyone realize the ring that would of been amazingly funny but i still love it
  Quote
majolie
Monday 8th December 2008 18:52


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

A Christmas Like No Other
Had to come read this as your new story got me in a Christmas mood - or maybe a more Melindaleo mood? Lovely fluuf - perfect for relaxing after a long hard day of work.
  Quote
Unexpected Angel
Tuesday 19th August 2008 13:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

A Christmas Like No Other
WONDERFUL. you are very descriptive in your work. I could actually picture the place Harry proposed.
  Quote
bookish327
Thursday 10th July 2008 08:42


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

A Christmas Like No Other
Oops. I didn't proofread my review well.

I didn't intend to use the word "wonderful" so much in the first few sentences. I should have fixed that with another similar word.

I also meant to say that I loved how you wrote Harry as being so intent -upon-his-goal-of-proposing-to-Ginny, rather than "intently."

Again, great writing!
  Quote
bookish327
Thursday 10th July 2008 08:35


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

A Christmas Like No Other
A wonderfully fluffy story! Harry and Ginny are wonderful together here. So in love, yet funny and flirty. I love how you wrote Harry in such a romantic, intensely-upon-his-goal-of-proposing-to-Ginny. The lines when he was describing Ginny to the jeweler were especially wonderful. Also, Ginny's mischievous streak was great! The part where she scared the twins off with her shopping for unmentionables for their mum was classic. So Ginny, to know that this was exactly what would make the twins leave her alone. One more thing about them: I really liked the fact that Ginny knew Harry was there in his invisibility cloak, even though there is no logical way in which she could (unless maybe it was something that didn't involve seeing him, such as maybe he has his own distinctive smell, just like she does to him). That she always knew when he was there was so sweet. (I so love fluff; can you tell? )

I liked how Ron didn't even break stride when Harry's errant snowball hit him in the head. That is so Ron, to focus solely on food and ignore all else for the moment.

Also, the teasing mistletoe was perfect . I loved how it kept coming up every once in a while when we were focused on what Harry was intent upon. The lines you wrote for it were great.

The twins were also great and funny, as always. I loved the "locking them in a cupboard" bit.

I found a typo which I thought I'd bring to your attention. There is an extra "she" in the following sentence.
Her eyes twinkled merrily, and she her gaze shrewdly flickered back and forth between Harry and Ginny.


Great story!
  Quote
tsujton
Thursday 27th December 2007 16:05


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 59

A Christmas Like No Other
"Harry tugged fiercely at the collar of his shirt, taking out his aggression on the innocent garment."

A great line!

I LOVED this! I've been waiting for winter to read it (I found it a few months ago) and It was so worth the wait. Beautifully written and a perfectly fluffy-but-not-too-fluffy texture!
  Quote
chiantiqueen
Monday 17th December 2007 07:17


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

A Christmas Like No Other
Good on Harry for sorting the twins out! Great story, keep up the good work!
  Quote
afpease
Thursday 4th October 2007 06:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

A Christmas Like No Other
A very nice little story that I enjoyed! I would have liked to see the family's reaction to Ginny's ring, but that's picking nits.

The twins can be annoying, and that whole thing seemed pretty authentic to me. I really thought that JKR would have H/G together during DH, but given the whole ministry takeover thing, and the fact that Ginny would have still had the trace on her, this wouldn't have worked in JKR's world, but this world was excellent!

Thank you for the fluff!
  Quote
pyromain
Wednesday 12th September 2007 09:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

A Christmas Like No Other
loved it, not what I expected form harry but it is what I whish him to do.
  Quote
nykkii
Tuesday 21st August 2007 01:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

A Christmas Like No Other
this was so touching, i just want to noe what happens next!! (like at their wedding...)
  Quote
DebbieO
Saturday 19th May 2007 15:32


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

A Christmas Like No Other
This was so much fun. You have a terrific sense of humor. I loved the twins antics (as always).

Your writing is very fresh and crisp in this story. I liked that this is nothing like anything I've read in fan fiction before.

Thanks!
  Quote
cckeimig
Friday 19th January 2007 21:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

A Christmas Like No Other
Beautifully, brilliantly fluffy. Loved it.
  Quote
hp4-sauce
Saturday 30th December 2006 22:09


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 91

A Christmas Like No Other
It was lovely fluff.
  Quote
No Idea Why I Smile
Thursday 28th December 2006 10:26


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 72

A Christmas Like No Other
well, m'dear, i loved it...

i wouldve read it on siye(is it even up there yet?) but its not working for me right now...and i was in the middle of reading a long one, too...growl...lol

i loved it, it was so fluff filled...makes my heart melt...

loved how ginny knew harry was there.

the twins, getting locked in the cupboard...brilliant...they deserved it for all the trouble they caused harry.

anyway...loved it...good luck in the challenge....

~*NIWIS*~
(known as GinnyMarie on SIYE)
Melindaleo
Thursday 28th December 2006 12:56
A Christmas Like No Other (Author Response)
Thanks! It is up on SIYE, but I think they're having some technical issues. There is a lot of competition over there on this challenge. I'm glad you enjoyed it, locked up twins and all!
  Quote
Erin
Wednesday 27th December 2006 13:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 36

A Christmas Like No Other
Aaw, just what I needed - a little bit o\' christmas fluff. Sweet!
Erin
Melindaleo
Thursday 28th December 2006 12:54
A Christmas Like No Other (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
nire135
Tuesday 26th December 2006 11:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

A Christmas Like No Other
what a lovely christmas present!
Melindaleo
Wednesday 27th December 2006 04:04
A Christmas Like No Other (Author Response)
Heh, thanks! I'm thrilled you thought so.
  Quote
googjasper
Saturday 23rd December 2006 21:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

A Christmas Like No Other
I loved it. I was drinking hot chocolate and trying to get into a more Christmas-y mood, so I went looking for a good one shot to help, and this was perfect. Thanks so much. I don't know who Jaq is, but as a fluff fan, I can honestly say that was fluffy enough for the biggest of fluff fans.

While I was reading, I was listening to "Away in a Manger" performed by Jim Brickman from his CD "Peace." It's solo piano, and it is simply beautiful. I thought it fit too perfectly with the entire proposal sequence not to tell you.
Melindaleo
Wednesday 27th December 2006 04:06
A Christmas Like No Other (Author Response)
Thanks very much. I'm thrilled it could add to your Christmas cheer and that you even found the right mood music.
  Quote
brad
Saturday 23rd December 2006 21:04


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

A Christmas Like No Other
Very good! What would fanfic authors do without the twins?! I enjoyed their persistent presence throughout this story, you kept their comedic influence on Harry's machinations going nicely. And the mistletoe gag is excellent; have I seen that before - canon? - or is that original to you? The continual interjections of that pernicious plant really lifted the story up a notch.

I hate being a dunce, but I don't get the 'leave room for the Holy Ghost' joke. 'Holy Ghost' as in the Holy Spirt, the third incarnation of God, as in "Father, Son and Holy Ghost'? 'Leave room' for it?!?!? It's been a long time since I attended catholic primary school ... or is there some totally different meaning that I'm too thick to pick up? Isn't it terrible the stupid people you meet on the internet?

My romantic side (which unfortunately only makes an appearance when I read stories like this) likes the idea of Ginny 'just knowing' where Harry is, although the pragmatic part of me insists on there being SOME explanation, even a teeny-tiny one, for it to be satisfied.

Nice fluffy story, good and warm, thank you! I liked your words about Jaq; I'd say she's very happy with this gift to her. Merry Christmas!
Melindaleo
Wednesday 27th December 2006 04:09
A Christmas Like No Other (Author Response)
Hee, thanks. I've used the mistletoe once before in TSH, but not to this extent. I love the twins, and it just seems like something they would do, lol.
The "holy ghost" reference comes from the nuns, lol. It's one of their favorite sayings when couples are dancing too close. A sort of nun humor that they're so close that even the Holy Ghost couldn't fit between them, lol.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 41 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004