Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Playing Hippogriff by shimotsuki

Showing 1 to 20 of 34 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Saturday 19th April 2008 20:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Playing Hippogriff
:O:O!! OMG!!!
That was soo oo oo sad!!! I started to tear up a lil at the end!!
so mean of petunia and absolutly heartbreaking to lupin!
shimotsuki
Sunday 20th April 2008 09:44
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Thanks for your comment! I'm glad the emotions in the story came through when you read it.
  Quote
goldensnidget
Monday 31st March 2008 16:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

Playing Hippogriff
Oops. Linked to this from elsewhere and didn't realize that of course, your story predates DH. Sorry for not catching that!
  Quote
goldensnidget
Monday 31st March 2008 16:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

Playing Hippogriff
Oh, I all kinds of loved this. You know, I never even thought about why Remus didn't try to see Harry. This was such a touching moment -- there was so little happiness in both their lives that even a few seconds would be precious.

I did want to point out, though, that "that awful boy" was actually Snape, not James. Petunia says in OotP that she knows about the dementors because she overheard that awful boy telling Lily about them. We're supposed to think it's James, but then we see Snape explaining dementors to Lily (and Tuney eavesdropping) in Snape's final memories. (I'm assuming you've read DH -- sorry for the spoiler otherwise!)
shimotsuki
Monday 31st March 2008 19:36
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Thank you very much for taking the time to read this and leave a review -- I'm glad you found the story touching!

As for "that awful boy," your guess in your other comment is right -- I wrote this story in December 2006, before DH. I had even considered that Harry's assumption in OotP that Petunia was referring to James might be a red herring, but then I decided I was probably overthinking, heh! Anyway, I actually have a slightly revised, DH-compliant version of this story posted at the Sugar Quill, which fixes that glitch and makes it clear that Harry already knows what brooms are.
  Quote
The_Critic
Wednesday 28th November 2007 15:10


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

Playing Hippogriff
poor see, I just read one of your other stories anfd it was amazin so I hafta read all of yours see?
shimotsuki
Monday 17th December 2007 20:40
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Sorry my reply is kind of late -- but thank you for the kind words!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 27th November 2007 14:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Playing Hippogriff
I love this!!!! Ive always imagined harry meeting some wizards, like remus shortly after his parents were killed...

shimotsuki
Tuesday 27th November 2007 19:11
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Thank you! Trying to look after Harry seems like something Lupin would do...
  Quote
mrstater
Monday 28th May 2007 05:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Playing Hippogriff
I saw this linked at Remus_News at LJ and I'm happy I followed the link. Well, I'm sad, because the story is so heartbreaking. But glad I read it, because this is wonderful.

I've been re-reading Sorcerer's Stone, so Petunia is very fresh in my mind, and I must say you've captured her perfectly. Which must be difficult, writing a character who's so cruel to poor little baby!Harry. And yet you've captured that ludicrous humor that's in how she spoils Dudley, as well, so it's lightened up just a little. All the little touches are perfect here, especially things like Petunia observing Harry liking things that whoosh through the air -- which are perfectly normal things for any child to like, not just magical ones! But so, so Petunia.

This fic so seems like a vignette that could really happen. So often in fic it seems like Remus completely drops off the face of the earth, but I think he would definitely try and do what he could to have a Marauder in Harry's life, and it's lovely that he'd come in with little reminders of the wizarding world as a last-ditch effort to raise Harry as he should be. And knowing that he must have scrimped to buy that toy broomstick, only to see it snapped in half, is really an emotional part of the fic.

Really lovely work.
shimotsuki
Wednesday 30th May 2007 09:58
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Thank you so much for following the link over here and taking the time to leave such thoughtful comments. I'm very happy to hear that you liked this; it's one of the stories I've most loved writing, even though it's sad to think of Remus and Harry losing their last link to a happier past.

I think Petunia's interesting. She's nasty and selfish, and she isn't doing Dudley any favors, let alone Harry, but I get the sense that some of her bad decisions come down to fear. I hope we get more Petunia/Lily/Dumbledore backstory in DH.

knowing that he must have scrimped to buy that toy broomstick, only to see it snapped in half -- Oh, I'm glad you caught that; that's exactly what I was trying to do there.
  Quote
jadzialove
Sunday 13th May 2007 16:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Playing Hippogriff
Absolutely lovely and heartbreaking. You managed in so few words to capture exactly what draws me to Harry and, to a lesser extent, Remus. Just so perfectly poignant.

Truly, it only intensifies my great regret (and shame!) that I missed being the beta on this one.

Wonderful work!
shimotsuki
Monday 14th May 2007 13:28
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Thank you for the lovely comments! And I'm very happy to be working with you now.
  Quote
jncarlin
Saturday 10th March 2007 18:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Playing Hippogriff
This is lovely and heartbreaking. You did a great job capturing Petunia's character. And Harry's little "Hipgiff!" and "Moony" are so sweet.

Very nice work.
shimotsuki
Thursday 15th March 2007 10:16
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Hi, and thanks very much for your comments! I didn't want to overdo the baby talk thing, but at 17 months, Harry isn't going to be saying a whole lot yet... It was interesting trying to extrapolate Petunia backward in time, to think about how she would interact with a toddler she hated but couldn't outright ignore the way she often does with older Harry.
  Quote
dancinginmagic
Friday 9th February 2007 13:28


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 166

Playing Hippogriff
Oh. Oh, Petunia, you FOUL woman. Can I slap her? Please?

I really loved this story. It was simply amazing. I'm sorry I didn't read it earlier. Good luck with future stories!

Sarah
shimotsuki
Sunday 11th February 2007 10:02
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Thanks so much for the kind words and the encouragement! I really appreciate it.
  Quote
Jenn_Lynn
Tuesday 30th January 2007 04:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

Playing Hippogriff
Great story! My heart broke for poor Lupin when Petunia refused to let him visit! And your portrayal of a baby Harry was very cute. Hipgiff - very cute! I could picture it all quite vividly. Keep up the great work!
shimotsuki
Wednesday 31st January 2007 15:00
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Thank you for the kind words. I'm glad you hear you liked the story!
  Quote
McGonagall's Cat
Sunday 28th January 2007 22:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Playing Hippogriff
Very nicely done. Everyone is quite in character and it is a plausable glimpse of Harry's early life.

Thank you.
shimotsuki
Wednesday 31st January 2007 14:58
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your encouraging feedback, and for taking the time to leave a review! I'm glad to hear you found the characterization and scenario to be plausible.
  Quote
Lauberry
Sunday 28th January 2007 14:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Playing Hippogriff
So sad... but it would explain so much!

Lovely job.
shimotsuki
Sunday 28th January 2007 16:58
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
It would explain a few things, wouldn't it! Thanks for your review.
  Quote
Evelyn
Tuesday 9th January 2007 11:09


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Playing Hippogriff
What an adorable scene. I loved all the hints of Harry loving to fly. And that's a really interesting question you brought up there - what did Moony do all those years, didn't he ever look for Harry? I'll remember this as something like a real prequel; pity we'll never get one - unless you'll write some more?
shimotsuki
Thursday 11th January 2007 16:01
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Thanks for your kind words; I'm so glad you liked the story. I do hope JKR lets us know what Remus was up to for all those years, but I guess if she doesn't, that just gives fanfiction writers something to do (heh).
  Quote
gypsy
Wednesday 3rd January 2007 08:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Playing Hippogriff
Ohh.... so sweet and so sad. *sniff* I loved giggly Harry, and that Remus seemed to be waiting for any chance they'd be at the park. I'd love this to go AU and have Remus sneak peaks into Harrry's life without the Dursley's realising. Every now and then, just to keep a steady watch and let Harry know he has a friend. Even if it finishes there, a touching piece. 9/10.
shimotsuki
Thursday 4th January 2007 15:41
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Thanks for the review and the suggestions! I'm not sure I feel ready to take this AU, but you've made me think: maybe Remus did go check on Harry from time to time, without letting Harry know. Hmm. That might be fun to pursue.
  Quote
Ladybug
Sunday 31st December 2006 00:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Playing Hippogriff
What a simply perfect little episode. It feels so right, I feel sure it really happened (as much as anything in HarryPotterLand really happens!! LOL) I loved Petunia and Dudley, you got them just right. And I love the last line particularly - oh if only she'd known. Great story, I love it.
shimotsuki
Sunday 31st December 2006 18:29
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Ah, I do hope Remus signed his name to that letter he left for the Dursleys when the Advance Guard pulled Harry out of Privet Drive in OotP... Thanks for the encouraging review.
  Quote
Sirius Lee Brilliant
Saturday 30th December 2006 21:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

Playing Hippogriff
Sorry, I clicked on 'Review' rather than 'More'. Great story!! It made my cry though,... no idea why, yes, the story was a little sad, but not to the point of crying. Again, very nice stoy!
  Quote
Sirius Lee Brilliant
Saturday 30th December 2006 21:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

Playing Hippogriff
Sorry, I clicked on 'Review' rather than 'More'. Great story!! It made my cry though,... no idea why, yes, the story was a little sad, but not to the point of crying. Again, very nice stoy!
shimotsuki
Sunday 31st December 2006 18:24
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
Thanks -- I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
Sirius Lee Brilliant
Saturday 30th December 2006 21:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

Playing Hippogriff
God, I'm a crybaby tonight!
  Quote
WhiteWitch
Thursday 28th December 2006 22:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Playing Hippogriff
Heh. That would definitely be more cheerful -- but it would also be AU...

Doesn't matter!!! ....*sobs pathetically*
  Quote
Erin
Wednesday 27th December 2006 12:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 36

Playing Hippogriff
*sniffle*
This story almost makes me cry - so sad! And so brilliant - where did you get this idea? The thought of Remus trying to help young Harry and being pushed away rings so true to his character portrayal. *sorrowful sigh* Who knows what could have been different if she'd not chased him away?
Erin
shimotsuki
Sunday 31st December 2006 18:23
Playing Hippogriff (Author Response)
I started out wondering what the first holiday season after Halloween 1981 would have been like, and things went on from there. Thanks for your encouraging words, and I'm glad you liked the story.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 34 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004