Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Expectation of Circumstance by Starbuck_23

Showing 1 to 13 of 13
gymnastgal19
Friday 11th January 2008 18:30


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
interesting story
thanks for writting it!
  Quote
pyromain
Monday 15th October 2007 11:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
Ginny has true wisdom which can not be learned out of books. And she knows Harry better than anyone.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Thursday 18th January 2007 07:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
Nicely done.
Starbuck_23
Thursday 18th January 2007 11:32
1: The Expectation of Circumtance (Author Response)
Why thank you
  Quote
raindownonme
Wednesday 17th January 2007 18:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
this is my favorite thing i have read in a long time. it has cheered me up immensely, and i adore outtakes from the actual works. well done, its a great piece.
Starbuck_23
Thursday 18th January 2007 11:32
1: The Expectation of Circumtance (Author Response)
Thank you- I'm so gald to hear this piece cheered you up. I can't think of a better compliment.
  Quote
critmo
Monday 15th January 2007 06:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
It's a nice story, only your prediction in the last sentence doesn't quite fit, if you consider Harry's behaviour when he wants to go the ministry alone. Anyway, well done.
Starbuck_23
Monday 15th January 2007 09:31
1: The Expectation of Circumtance (Author Response)
That certainly is true- Harry did intend on going to the Ministry alone. But I think, barring his desire to protect his friends from harm, he still knows that he can rely on them when he needs to. I guess this was me trying to make him realize he can depend on Ginny also, not just Ron and Hermione. Thank you for the insightful review though, that's a thought that never occured to me.
  Quote
graup_hagrid
Sunday 14th January 2007 13:55


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 89

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
Enjoyed your little story. Thanks for sharing it.
Starbuck_23
Sunday 14th January 2007 15:35
1: The Expectation of Circumtance (Author Response)
Thank you- it was my pleasure!
  Quote
Evelyn
Sunday 14th January 2007 12:55


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
Oh, how lovely.

You're right, OOTP could have done with a moment like this. But you did an excellent job filling the hole.

I loved this part especially: Her eyes were positively glowing, wild with barely contained delight ... because I'm still wondering if it's just the chase that got her this excited, or also the fact that he touched her where the book had hurt her
Starbuck_23
Sunday 14th January 2007 12:57
1: The Expectation of Circumtance (Author Response)
Yeah, I think I more inclined towards the second one too There's no way contact like that wouldn't pick up her heart rate a little...

Thanks for the review!
  Quote
mary-v
Sunday 14th January 2007 11:51


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
Brilliant work! I loved this missing moment; it was really just wonderful!
Starbuck_23
Sunday 14th January 2007 12:05
1: The Expectation of Circumtance (Author Response)
Thank you! It always seemed to me like a moment in OoTP that was ruefully underdeveloped, so I tried to do it justice.
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Sunday 14th January 2007 11:02


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
Wow! What more can I say? Your writing is beautiful: clear, descriptive, and touching all at the same time. I've always been a fan of missing moments and this one is special. It's special because it shows the growing friendship of Harry and Ginny that, for the most part, is lacking in canon. You show two people who are learning about each other (perhaps one more so than the other) and who are learning to appreciate the other in new ways. Harry is learning that he's hardly known Ginny and that she could turn out to be a better friend for him than even Ron or Hermione. Ginny is learning, after many years, that if she's really just herself around him, he'll come to depend on her just as she's always wanted.

I love your use of language and description. I feel like I'm standing there in the corridor with them, feeling the far-away thud of student's footfalls, and watching the dying sun glisten off the grass, all the while filling with that wonderful feeling of a newfound and dear friend. One who makes you feel more like yourself and who always knows what to say. You make me feel like I've just experienced that all over again! Very well done. Beautiful story. Thank you so much for sharing it with us!
Starbuck_23
Sunday 14th January 2007 12:14
1: The Expectation of Circumtance (Author Response)
Now it's my turn to say wow- thank you for the fantastic review. You've no idea how encouraging it is to have someone understand exactly what I was trying to do in this fic by portraying, at least what I think, are the beginning moments of Harry and Ginny's friendship. Before anything else between them could happen, I think they had to be this particular sort of friends first. Ginny has spent years watching Harry, and caring for him all the while, even if she could never really tell him in so many words. It only makes sense to me that she would understand exactly how Harry is feeling at certain moments even if he doesn't, because he has a sometimes regretful tendancy to wear his heart on his sleeve.

And thank you for your thoughtful comments on the writing. I always tend to be pretty stylistic when I write, and sometimes I'm afraid that I've gone overboard. But I'm glad to hear that is came across well in this one, because I think the introspective atmosphere is part of what makes it work. Again, thanks so much, it was my pleasure!

  Quote
Ladybug
Saturday 13th January 2007 23:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
What a treasure of a missing moment. I love how you expressed Harry's feelings about and his growing understanding of Ginny, it seems to fit perfectly within in the wider story of their developing relationship. The very last part with Ginny, about her guarded expression softening into understanding, is just lovely - very poignant and pointing to Ginny's true feelings in the matter. Beautiful writing, I really enjoyed it.
Starbuck_23
Sunday 14th January 2007 12:17
1: The Expectation of Circumtance (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your encouragement. I'm a big fan of missing moments myself, and I always wondered why Jo just seemed to cut this scene short, just when it seemed that Harry and Ginny were finally beginning to come to terms with a real friendship of their own. And of course, even though she can usually keep her composure, there's always going to be something about Harry's touch that takes her off her guard, even if Harry doesn't understand why. Again, thanks for the great review.
  Quote
lantis222
Saturday 13th January 2007 22:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
I loved that little insite into theworld of OoTP. That was wonderfully written. Great Job!
Starbuck_23
Sunday 14th January 2007 12:25
1: The Expectation of Circumtance (Author Response)
Thank you- it's very nice to know that this one turned out as well as I'd hoped it would be.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Saturday 13th January 2007 20:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
What a beautiful "missing moment". You captured Harry's feelings so well-

"She smiled softly, casting her eyes downward for a brief second. It was as though she knew some secret he obviously wasnít party to. But just as quickly, she raised her fiery head and looked at him fully, bound with some kind of purpose that he could only guess at. He shivered inexplicably at the sight of it.

ĎThis is the first place you were happy, Harry,í she said gently, but firmly, and laid her hand on his arm. ĎAnd thatís something they canít take away from you, no matter how hard they try.í

Harry looked at her. Her face was sure with conviction, and he found himself wondering vaguely if he were seeing her, really seeing her for the first time. A Ginny Weasley that he had never really considered before, one who was fierce and loyal, and who knew somehow exactly what he needed to hear, even though he had no idea himself. He didnít understand how he could have missed it before."
Starbuck_23
Sunday 14th January 2007 12:30
1: The Expectation of Circumtance (Author Response)
Thank you! Harry's feelings always seem to come easily somehow, I suppose because her's never really very good at hiding them.

ĎThis is the first place you were happy, Harry,í she said gently, but firmly, and laid her hand on his arm. ĎAnd thatís something they canít take away from you, no matter how hard they try.í

I'm very glad someone commented on that line, because the idea that Hogwarts is not just Harry's home, but really the first place he understood what happiness is always seemed important to me. Again, thanks for the review!
  Quote
lupin is the chocolate man
Saturday 13th January 2007 19:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

1: The Expectation of Circumtance
+ =
Starbuck_23
Saturday 13th January 2007 19:35
1: The Expectation of Circumtance (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 13 of 13
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004