Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For To Choose Better by Felix Felicis

Showing 1 to 14 of 14
Dad
Thursday 23rd April 2009 11:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 478

To Choose Better
Nice, light little interlude.
Felix Felicis
Thursday 23rd April 2009 18:28
To Choose Better (Author Response)
Yes, sometimes I just need to throw in a little missing moment!
  Quote
majolie
Friday 2nd January 2009 15:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

To Choose Better
This was really cute - not sure why I never read it before. It makes sense that thinking about girls might be the one thing to take a teen-aged boy's mind off his grief!
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 6th January 2009 17:05
To Choose Better (Author Response)
Thanks for the review. It's always nice to see a new one left for an "old" story. I'm glad you liked it!
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Wednesday 18th June 2008 09:00


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

To Choose Better
Ah, that was a good ending. "That doesn't have a bad sound to it at all." Haha! I really liked how he started out kind of wondering, then considering, and it just kind of kept progressing until he's jealous of her boyfriends and testing their names together! I don't think I've ever seen this done like this. It's nice for Harry to have something else to think about. Yay for missing moments!
Felix Felicis
Wednesday 18th June 2008 18:31
To Choose Better (Author Response)
Thank you for all the reviews! You are indeed too kind. I wrote this because I just felt that Harry must have at least considered Ginny as more than a friend prior to going back to school. Plus, I always love missing moments!
  Quote
pyromain
Thursday 21st June 2007 14:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

To Choose Better
briliant, he finally has come to see the light. I really liked the story.
  Quote

Sunday 20th May 2007 20:10


To Choose Better
hehehe

.... ....
  Quote
Ladybug
Thursday 18th January 2007 16:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

To Choose Better
That is so lovely - I feel all fluttery inside! Lovely, lovely descriptions, I really enjoyed how, amidst Harry's swirling thoughts, you gave us such a clear picture of him in his room, the stars, the streetlight glowing, other sounds in the house, Hedwig etc, etc.
What would it be like to hold her in his arms and smell the beautiful scent that was her?
Yes, I think this is a little pre-emptive (given Amortentia), but I think it's so cute how he's already made judgments about Ginny in his subconscious mind and can't see how much he is already attracted to her. Lovely little piece.
Felix Felicis
Saturday 20th January 2007 06:49
To Choose Better (Author Response)
Thank you, your review is very kind and makes me feel all warm inside! I think Harry must have started thinking about Ginny long before he realized it in his concious mind. I imagine that at the end of this story, Harry forgets all of the thoughts he had and goes back to normal life at the Dursleys. Not until he goes back to Hogwarts does he think of her again.

Thanks for the review!
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Wednesday 17th January 2007 16:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

To Choose Better
Very nicely done. I like Harry's musings over Ginny . And you end it in a way that it fits in with HBP (even though labeled pre-HPB ) where it seems Harry doesn't realize his feelings for Ginny till he and Ron stumble upon her and Dean in that hallway snogging scene (remember the 'newborn monster').
Felix Felicis
Saturday 20th January 2007 06:46
To Choose Better (Author Response)
Thank you for the kind review. Yes, it was labeled as pre-HBP but I did write it to fit. It's probably more of a missing moment but even there I may have carried it a bit too far. I really wanted to show that he must have started thinking of her in a different way. We didn't see much of it in canon so I wrote a bit for myself!
  Quote
lantis222
Wednesday 17th January 2007 10:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

To Choose Better
I love the way Harry's mind works and you did him justice. He's so funny when he can't see what's in front of his face. Great Job! I really enjoyed this.
Felix Felicis
Wednesday 17th January 2007 15:30
To Choose Better (Author Response)
I'm so happy you liked my character of Harry! He can be a bit tricky sometimes but there are parts of him that are quite obvious. For example, being thick about girls! He is fun to work with.

Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Dollface
Tuesday 16th January 2007 18:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

To Choose Better
awww! that was sooo good! i
Felix Felicis
Wednesday 17th January 2007 15:19
To Choose Better (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
mary-v
Tuesday 16th January 2007 09:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

To Choose Better
Lovely work! I would have loved for that to be in the book; it would have been such a nice thought process but where would she have put it?
Lovely work! "She had always had a crush on Harry and that was the way it was supposed to be. " That bit was very funny; selfish but funny! And really it's not surprising he thoguht of that.

"Harry and Ginny, he thought, that doesn’t have a bad sound to it at all." Nope! No it sounds brilliant! lol

Lovely work!
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 16th January 2007 18:21
To Choose Better (Author Response)
I love reading stories about Harry's thoughts on Ginny before he really realizes he likes her. It can be so very entertaining! That's why I decided I just had to write my own! I'm glad you liked it.

Thanks for the review!
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 16th January 2007 05:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

To Choose Better
Harry and Ginny, he thought, that doesn’t have a bad sound to it at all.


True. However, I doubt he reached that conclusion as early as that. To be a know-it-all: I could see him with some vague thoughts on Ginny at this point, but a realisation like this one, I'd expect after smelling Amortententia.
Sorry, it's your story, of course, and a well written one.
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 16th January 2007 18:20
To Choose Better (Author Response)
Yeah, I think I could agree with you on that one. Harry does seem to like the idea of her by the end of this story. I tried to soften that a little, though, by making it seem as if he buried that thought under his grief and it got lost until he went back to Hogwarts.

Thanks for the review.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Tuesday 16th January 2007 05:05


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

To Choose Better
Oh, I like it. The end was very well put- "Harry and Ginny, he thought, that doesn’t have a bad sound to it at all.
With that he drifted off to sleep, leaving thoughts of Ginny for another time. This summer he was going to have enough on his mind."
Want to bet he thinks of her every night.
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 16th January 2007 18:17
To Choose Better (Author Response)
I bet he does think of her every night! Of course he wouldn't have any idea why he's thinking of her so much because he tends to be rather thick, nevertheless, visions of red hair certainly filled his head and helped him deal with his grief.

Thank you for reviewing!
  Quote
hp4-sauce
Monday 15th January 2007 22:27


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 91

To Choose Better
That was very good. It would seem odd if Harry hadn't had some thoughts of her before HPB and I think you captured his character well. I agree with you about missing moments - and there are still so many to tap. Ginny's POV during HBP for example.
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 16th January 2007 18:15
To Choose Better (Author Response)
I'm so happy you think I caught his character here. I really wanted to show Harry starting to consider Ginny in a different light because we don't get much of that in canon.

I love reading HBP from Ginny's point of view! Those have to be some of my absolute favorites. It's nice that there are still so many out there waiting to turn into little one-shots for people like you and me! Thanks for the review!
  Quote
hwimsey
Monday 15th January 2007 21:26


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

To Choose Better
That was wonderful! I loved it. You caught the perfect tone for this piece. An almost wistfullness. So true to Harry. And I loved the way you itemized the facets of Ginny and then showed Harry's reaction to them.

Favorite lines:
He couldn’t bring himself to add the word ‘me’ at the end of that thought.
He smiled wryly at the thought and made a mental note to give his friend a punch the next time he saw him.
A small part of his brain wished it could go on like that, but he knew she deserved her own happiness. If it didn’t depend on him then he would just have to accept that.

You notice I'm quoting most of this piece, don't you?

Thank you for sharing this with us. You're fantastic.


Felix Felicis
Tuesday 16th January 2007 18:13
To Choose Better (Author Response)
You know what one of the best feelings in the world is? For me, it's when you check your email and find a kind and generous review like this and then you realize that it's from one of your favorite authors! Yay!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004