Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Dream Deferred by Sovran

Showing 1 to 16 of 16
Ledivin
Thursday 25th June 2009 22:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

A Dream Deferred
That was amazing.

Also, that's pretty much as close as you can get to porn and still keep it clean. Really, the detail in it was magnificent, I wasn't aware it could be done.

Excellent, spectacular writing, I am thoroughly impressed.
  Quote
bookish327
Tuesday 27th May 2008 13:59


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

A Dream Deferred
Fantastic story! Everything you do is top-notch!
Sovran
Wednesday 28th May 2008 09:43
A Dream Deferred (Author Response)
Thank you! It's great to hear that people enjoy all the different things I've tried, especially the experiments like this one.
  Quote
ILikeToRead2
Monday 7th January 2008 20:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 30

A Dream Deferred
A very erotic story thats clean. Your words are so descriptive - Thanks so much!
Sovran
Monday 7th January 2008 21:11
A Dream Deferred (Author Response)
I've never thought of it in quite those terms, but that is pretty much what I was going for. I'm glad you saw that and enjoyed the story. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
majolie
Monday 10th December 2007 08:52


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

A Dream Deferred
I resally liked this. I think Harry and Ginny are really in character (though I don't know if I would ever have imagined Harry making such a spectacle willingly in the Great Hall - he does abhor everyone staring at him and talking about him - but I think here he might have felt it was worth it). I was surprised when Tonks showed up and I finally realized what Harry's goal had been.
And I loved this line (or two):
"When I was younger, I told myself that if I got the chance, I would count every time you held me in your arms, so that I could treasure each of those moments for my whole life. This makes two."

"I hope you can count really high, then."

Thanks for writing it.
Sovran
Monday 10th December 2007 09:00
A Dream Deferred (Author Response)
I don't think Harry was very comfortable making a scene in the Great Hall, but as you say, I think he decided it was worth it (as became a theme).

Those lines are some of my favourites, too. Not just for what they say, but because they sortof quietly acknowledge the last time Harry held Ginny in his arms. Though they may never talk about it much, the Chamber of Secrets will always be a part of their past and their relationship.

Thanks very much!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 4th December 2007 05:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

A Dream Deferred
I loved this story! That was a really interesting way to get rid of malfoy! I like it!
Sovran
Monday 10th December 2007 08:58
A Dream Deferred (Author Response)
Thank you! I found it rather fitting.
  Quote
pyromain
Wednesday 12th September 2007 09:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

A Dream Deferred
that was great, loved it. thanks for writing and sharing it.
Sovran
Monday 10th December 2007 08:57
A Dream Deferred (Author Response)
Thanks very much!
  Quote
The Boss
Friday 10th August 2007 03:44


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 214

A Dream Deferred
Oh blimey that was an excellent story!!!
I loved that when Harry and Ginny got together...best ending possible. Serves Malfoy right - ending up in Azkaban for using an Unforgivable curse on Harry. You certainly have some talent in writing fanfiction with Harry and Ginny involved.
Please do keep up the good work.

Regards
The Boss
  Quote

Friday 6th April 2007 11:14


A Dream Deferred
4 words. THAT. STORY. WAS. AWESOME. I gotta hand it to ya that was some detailed peice of work and it was great.
  Quote
MIZ Hols
Sunday 25th March 2007 09:41


A Dream Deferred
wow this is amasing, i wish i had that with my bf, hehe

Hols...x.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Thursday 25th January 2007 08:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

A Dream Deferred
Quite nice. As I read Harry's declaration to Ginny, I had to go up to look at the setting -- yes, AU. However I (and Ginny ) might wish Harry had noticed her early, canon leaves Harry rather oblivious of her.
I can see why this was named Most Romantic -- I'm surprised Ginny didn't melt into a pool.
Oh, yes, the trap Harry sets for Malfoy is bloody brilliant. And Malfoy is arrogant and self-absorbed enough to walk right into it.
But Harry didn't thank Cho
Sovran
Thursday 25th January 2007 09:09
A Dream Deferred (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. It's quite different for me, but I enjoyed writing it.

I imagine that Harry did go and thank Cho . . . a bit later. He's got his priorities straight, after all.
  Quote
Chreechree
Thursday 18th January 2007 01:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

A Dream Deferred
I LOVE THIS STORY!

Not that I'm biased...
Have I ever told you how happy I am that you wanted me to work on this with you. Seriously. Lot of work but so much fun.
Look, I have my own emoticon!
Sovran
Thursday 18th January 2007 07:37
A Dream Deferred (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed it. I had a great time doing it myself. Provided that you never share the first draft with anyone, ever, there will be lots more fun (and work) in the future.
  Quote
girlspell
Tuesday 16th January 2007 16:08


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 98

A Dream Deferred
I think this is one of my favorite stories from you. I love the twists in it, never breaking the story, but enhancing it. Each time you read it, it seems to improve.

Tht Langston Hughes poem (like a raisin in the sun) is just about my favorite.

I've read this on SIYE before, but very glad you posted this on PS. Hope to see more of your stories here.
Sovran
Thursday 18th January 2007 07:39
A Dream Deferred (Author Response)
Everything I write will get here eventually. There's some catching up to do in MoO, but then it will all be pretty much simultaneous. I'm very glad that you like A Dream Deferred. It's one of my favorite 10k words I've written, if that makes any sense.
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 16th January 2007 10:30


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

A Dream Deferred
I apologize for the word "smut" in my first review. "Making out"? "Light erotic teasing"? - I know the choice between cohesion and splitting it into parts that could work on their own is a difficult one. Just my idea of constructive criticism.
Sovran
Tuesday 16th January 2007 10:37
A Dream Deferred (Author Response)
Ah, my tone doesn't come across well. Sorry about that. I'd be shocked if anyone found reason to call it smut. "Light erotic teasing" is probably accurate enough, if a bit titillating in its own right, and "making out" is spot on. Regardless, I hope people can see the reason that that section is there.
I do appreciate any and all constructive criticism. I debated splitting it, as I said, and made the call that felt best for me. It doesn't bother me if some readers might have preferred the alternative... if it wasn't a good alternative, I wouldn't have considered it in the first place.
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 16th January 2007 09:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

A Dream Deferred
A good idea, however, it makes the impression, as if you hadn't quite decided what kind of story you wanted to write: Harry liberating himself from Malfoy, an analysis of his relationship with Ginny or a little bit of smut? Maybe, breaking it up into chapters would help? - Anyway, nice story.
Sovran
Tuesday 16th January 2007 10:19
A Dream Deferred (Author Response)
The core theme of the story, or perhaps one of the core themes, is that all three of those things are essentially the same. Yes, I could have written it in chapters, but posting it as a whole maintains the cohesion overall, in my opinion. And I sincerely hope that the final few paragraphs do not qualify as smut.
Thanks for reading.
  Quote
bbnaz
Tuesday 16th January 2007 06:23


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 108

A Dream Deferred
First I would like to thank Parakletos for recommending this terrific story. On that note,

The premise of the story works so well and from it flows a very credible story. Harry standing up in the Great Hall to challenge malfoy, Ginny's confrontation with Harry prior to the duel and then the duel itself. Malfoy's crumbling control until finally the slimey git did exactly what one would expect him to do, use an unforgiveable.

However the very best of the whole package was the exploration of Harry and Ginny. So very sweet and tender with no sap included. A lovely way to finish the story and a perfect way for me to start my day!
Sovran
Tuesday 16th January 2007 10:17
A Dream Deferred (Author Response)
I'm very glad you liked it. Fitting all of those elements together was one of the points of the story for me. I hope the rest of your day stayed as good.
  Quote
parakletos
Monday 15th January 2007 23:38


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 209

A Dream Deferred
I am so pleased to see this posted here, let's hope that this is the first of many.
Sovran
Tuesday 16th January 2007 10:16
A Dream Deferred (Author Response)
The first of what I have written, at least. The rest will come along as time permits for myself and the Most Noble Beta.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 16 of 16
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004