Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Ridiculous by moshpit

Showing 1 to 20 of 27 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
webster
Thursday 20th May 2010 10:22


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 56

Ridiculous
Nice little alt ending there, I liked it.
  Quote
Guenivere
Wednesday 27th May 2009 16:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 29

Ridiculous
I liked the end! It was fantastic! The main battle was pretty...hn...whats the word? um, pretty oh, um, OH! pretty gross in my opinion. there! ha!
  Quote
Danikay
Monday 16th February 2009 13:26


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 239

Ridiculous
hahaha I loved it!! making Moldymort into a boggart controled human? brilliant!
DaniKay
  Quote
leezdz
Tuesday 10th February 2009 17:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Ridiculous
Well said. Thanks for sharing your tlents with me (us). And I am thoroughly into Echoes.
  Quote
SomeGuyFawkes
Wednesday 9th April 2008 20:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

Ridiculous
You get points for a fresh idea, well expressed, and a happy ending.

Not sure how a boggart could survive by splitting its host's soul though.

Also those beasties seem to be fairly common, in canon, and not even powerful witchards© can always defeat them. The effects of contact with / defeat by a boggart must be known.

In fact, a boggart is no different, in principle, than concentrations of typical "news" programs. So the effects of defeat by one must be similar: Malaise, Loss of IQ points, and submission to authority in the name of "safety".
  Quote
DeborahSu
Sunday 16th December 2007 19:04


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 72

Ridiculous
Wonderful!!! Unique!!!! I love it! Ridikkulous!!! hehehehehe!!!!
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 23:31
Ridiculous (Author Response)
Glad you enjoyed it. I can't attest to the unique-ness of it all, but hopefully it's out there somewhere in deep left field. Cheers.
  Quote
majolie
Monday 10th December 2007 11:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Ridiculous
Very entertaining and well-written.
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 23:30
Ridiculous (Author Response)
Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Wednesday 31st October 2007 15:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Ridiculous
lol I love this!!! Although, wouldnt the boggart turn into a dementor in front of harry??? or would it just take over the body of the person and make it evil???
The ending was awesome!!!
moshpit
Sunday 4th November 2007 22:05
Ridiculous (Author Response)
Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I'm glad you enjoyed it, but it really is one of those weird canon questions, isn't it? What's a boggart doing if it catches you? I'd rather no find out, thanks all the same.
  Quote
The_Critic
Wednesday 22nd August 2007 15:07


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

Ridiculous
*laughs* very very nice... you had me from
"Why not, Tom?" asked Harry, painfully enunciating each word. "You may be powerful, you may be evil, but you're really not all that scary."
moshpit
Sunday 4th November 2007 22:04
Ridiculous (Author Response)
Glad you enjoyed it. It's the underlying question of what _would_ a boggart do to a victim that keeps me up at night, staring into the darkness.... and of course, that just leads to more bunnies. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
pyromain
Sunday 15th July 2007 10:57


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Ridiculous
oh this is so much fun I really like they idea that the bulk of voldemorts powers come from a boggart.
moshpit
Monday 30th July 2007 22:14
Ridiculous (Author Response)
It's one of those "What If?" questions that makes me stay up late at night. Along with a horde of evil bunnies, all sport sharp, pointy things.
  Quote
DebbieO
Monday 21st May 2007 08:31


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

Ridiculous
Good one! I like your solution to the Voldemort problem.
moshpit
Monday 30th July 2007 22:13
Ridiculous (Author Response)
I'm not sure solution is quite the right answer, but he was solved as far as riddles go, wasn't he? Glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
ninkenate
Friday 2nd February 2007 15:29


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

Ridiculous
That was very interesting. I really like that your stories, that I've read so far, aren't predictable. I love seeing unexpected twists added in writing. At first, I thought this one would be a bit too angsty for me. That was not the case. I must remember to expect the unexpected from you in the future., and I do intend to keep reading your stories. They've have been very thought provoking and a nice change of pace.
moshpit
Friday 2nd February 2007 22:04
Ridiculous (Author Response)
I'm glad you're finding the stories interesting. There's another "twisty" one that isn't up here, and based on how much work it needs to really fix it right, probably won't be any time soon. You can read it over at SIYE if you're interested -- it's another one shot. "Doors of Perception" -- it was an SIYE challenge story, so the pretense is a bit ... err ... odd.

Echoes is hard to get into if you don't like that type of story. But "twisty" would be one way of describing it. I warn people -- take nothing at face value in that story. You're standing on a pile of plush rugs that look comfortable. It starts off presenting the world as A, B, C ... and gradually, you'll come to discover it's something completely different.

Angst is a funny term. I note that a lot of people rate their stories angst-laden, when in fact, the characters have nothing to do with anxiety and depression. Instead, they write in such a way as to aggravate the reader into feeling those things. To me, that's not Angst, it's Reader Manipulation. But I seem to be in a bit of a minority on that one. Anyway, I guess the point for this is that I try to avoid either kind of "Angst" -- real or Reader Manipulation. I will try to manipulate the reader (see, nothing in my hand) at times, but not for those kinds of reasons (look! superman!).
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Thursday 25th January 2007 10:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Ridiculous
This is quite wonderful -- an interesting and perhaps a bit disturbing mix of angst, horror, and humour. Riddle possessed by a Boggart and defeated by Riddikulus.
I like it very much but shouldn't be categorized as AU? -- does your account of Boggart quite fit what Remus says about the Boggart confronted by a mere pair who turned not into a commonly feared object but into a bizarre combination of the two fears that was 'Not remotely frightening' (PA 7)? and from the Boggart's reaction whilst still in the wardrobe to the classroom laughter, coupled with Lupin's comment that 'the thing that really finishes a boggart is laughter' (PA 7; note also how the entire class laughs at Snape in a dress, are they laughing at their 'deepest fears' when Snape doesn't appear to anyone else [though several others gasp at Ron's spider]), is it really true that laughter in the presence is ineffective?
Remus doesn't specifically say what happens to a person who succumbs to a Boggart, but doesn't the classes reaction to Lupin's announcement that the wardrobe holds a Boggart suggest that it is indeed known? Canon mentions only their attraction to 'dark, enclosed places', not places of high-magical energy, so wouldn't a possessed Riddle be found in 'wardrobes, the gaps beneath beds, the cupboards under sinks' or 'a grandfather clock'?
Anyway, sorry to so technical here. This is a delightful and enjoyable read, though perhaps one could have wished for more
I think you are spot on about the Boggart's appearance to Riddle; canon reiterates that Dumbledore is the only one he feared.
moshpit
Thursday 25th January 2007 21:11
Ridiculous (Author Response)
Well, you certainly dug through a lot of references behind your review. All of your points are valid, except for one thing ... canon does not provide a model for what happens when a Boggart actually comes in contact with its intended target. After all, it _is_ rated as a Dark creature. Why is it Dark? What happens if the Boggart gets to someone? As it was implied in the story, Riddle was alone in the orphanage when he found a Boggart, which attacked him and then took over his form. How would that change the powers and abilities? I presented one model that isn't inconsistent with canon, albeit with a bit of a fun twist. So while your point may be valid -- maybe this should be "AU" rated -- it's also not really valid, because nothing here contradicts canon as far as I know. Either way, thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts. I'm glad you enjoyed it. "One could have wished for more" -- meaning more in the story, more setup, more epilogue, more fight details, more..? Some day I might be persuaded to revisit this (or my other various) one-shot efforts. But not today. Echoes is quite involved as it is.
  Quote
ACM
Monday 22nd January 2007 16:48


Ridiculous
Nice
moshpit
Wednesday 24th January 2007 21:30
Ridiculous (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
anniep
Thursday 18th January 2007 19:08


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 165

Ridiculous
Very cool twist on the "power he knows not" and defeat of Voldemort! I laughed at pink bunny-Voldemort and the reporter's misspelling in the last line of the story. Thanks for sharing your story with us here.
moshpit
Wednesday 24th January 2007 21:31
Ridiculous (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. If you liked this so much, you might want to watch out for the next bit of humour I happened to be waylaid by. (The bunny pack in the back of my head never shuts up, you see...) There's even a door-to-door salesman involved.
  Quote
Chreechree
Thursday 18th January 2007 02:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

Ridiculous
Well, I knew this would be well received here. Of course. It really is such a novel twist, you clever boy. I can almost hear Harry saying “I must not fear. Fear is the mind killer…”. I’d like to get Paul and Harry in a room together so they can commiserate on how much it having prophecies made about you saving the world. Too bad Harry doesn't have Paul's discipline. Oh wait. That's what Echoes is for... sorta. We'll just ignore the whole stability issue.
moshpit
Wednesday 24th January 2007 21:29
Ridiculous (Author Response)
Hey, nifty. Your review has a "censored" graphic in the middle of it. MB, were you using unkind words? I'd rather think Paul and Harry might not get along too well if they had prolonged contact. Harry, the reluctant hero, doesn't like being manipulated, whereas Paul is almost incapable of not manipulating those around him. Still, I do think they could commiserate rather well. Stability, much like the gom jabbar test for humanity, is all in the mind. Is Harry human? Who knows?
  Quote
EJH0904
Wednesday 17th January 2007 19:06


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

Ridiculous
Now that was a unique take on it. Very nice and interesting indeed!
moshpit
Wednesday 17th January 2007 20:29
Ridiculous (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for leaving feedback.
  Quote
legobean
Wednesday 17th January 2007 12:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Ridiculous
Good story, interesting concept. It was kind of way out there, but I liked it.

moshpit
Wednesday 17th January 2007 20:28
Ridiculous (Author Response)
Kind of way out there would describe pretty much everything I do or think of. Sad, but true. I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
Pud
Tuesday 16th January 2007 17:42


Ridiculous
That was amazing! OMG!!! I'm speechless! i can't discribe it. it was so well thought out and i never imagined Voldemort was a boggart. amazing!
sorry to keep repeating myself but......wow.
Au Revior,
Pud
moshpit
Tuesday 16th January 2007 22:03
Ridiculous (Author Response)
Thanks for the kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Just one of those bunnies that strikes me when I'm avoiding working on Echoes, but fun all the same.
  Quote
girlspell
Tuesday 16th January 2007 15:48


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 98

Ridiculous
Great to see your story here! I think PS has a teeny bit better sense of humor. I'm looking for the rest of the stories. Don't mind me. You're one of my favorite fan fic writers, and I've been hunting around to see what other sites you might be lurking at. This story gets crazier everytime I read it....and that means better
moshpit
Tuesday 16th January 2007 22:02
Ridiculous (Author Response)
You're just popping up everywhere. PS, SIYE, FW...? Wow. At any rate, I'm glad you've read it more than once. I suspect there are things in there -- much like Pratfall -- that are not apparent on the first reading. Pratfall may take more than a dozen readings to "get" fully, but Ridiculous isn't quite so ... err .. obfuscated. Thanks for the kind assessment, but I'm sure you've got a quite a list of favorites by now, right? And, as always, watch where you stand. That rug may look comfy, but it's been known to be yanked out of the way . . . from time to time.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 27 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004