Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Moods by critmo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
Ladybug
Thursday 15th March 2007 08:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Chapter 1
One thing I am beginning to know is that if I click on a critmo story I will never be disappointed. You writing is always consistently high quality. I really like this chapter, Fleur is awesome (as she should be) and I'm intrigued by the uneasiness with H, R & H.

My favourite part:
Ginny had the feeling she was taking part in some kind of a complicated ballet with a spontaneously developing set of steps. Ron and Hermione drifted about in the obvious attempt to avoid each other, while Harry was passed on from one person to another, all of them set to wrench information on his plans from him.

That's just a perfect picture of awkwardness, so well expressed I can feel it.

Right, I'm on the read the rest.
critmo
Friday 16th March 2007 09:42
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
To be never disappointed - phew. That's a review to put a frame around.

Thank you for pointing out this passage. I'm not into ballet, but I like this metaphor.
  Quote
Evelyn
Sunday 4th March 2007 03:39


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Chapter 1
Yes, it does seem very analytic; to me, it looks like there's a great structure, but sometimes, it seemed just a tee too structured to me.

Still, it must be one the most insightful opening chapters I've read in a while (even though personally, I believe that Ginny really understands Harry when he breaks up with her - but of course, there are lots of different possibilities). Great start.
critmo
Sunday 4th March 2007 08:29
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Oops, I never thought of this chapter as being very analytic.

Apart from that: Even if Ginny does understand Harry at the moment he breaks up with her, looking at it from the distance is something else. Without the repeated reassurance that he only breaks up with her for her own safety, all kinds of doubts are simply bound to arise, especially when he lets Ron and Hermione come with him. Most of all because understanding and approving are two very different things.
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 22nd February 2007 22:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Chapter 1
Thank God! I am so glad Fleur talked to Ginny. There is always more to the story and I really like the way you are writing this. Thank you, p
critmo
Friday 23rd February 2007 09:23
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
My pleasure. Fleur was very helpful.
  Quote
harry_ginnyphile
Wednesday 21st February 2007 20:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 44

Chapter 1
I can't believe I'm just now sitting down to write my reviews on this fic! Well, yeah, I can believe it ... I've been monstrously busy ... but ... still ... bad beta, bad beta! *smacks my own hands*

I love how you write Ginny ... you're right there, inside her head ... and your Fleur-isms are great to read! It's my pleasure working on these for you.
critmo
Thursday 22nd February 2007 02:34
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
I can't believe I'm just now sitting down to write my reviews on this fic! Well, yeah, I can believe it ... I've been monstrously busy ... but ... still ... bad beta, bad beta! *smacks my own hands*


I didn't know it's a beta's duty to review. You've given so much feedback already. Thank you very much!
  Quote
lilyp
Thursday 25th January 2007 20:36


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 64

Chapter 1
I like your other "Mood" stories., but I must admit I don't like your Ginny here. Fleu is right, but don't you think that if Fleur, that knows so little of Harry, had so much more insight about him than Ginny, there would be something really wrong with H/G?
One of the reasons I support H/G is because I think Ginny is the girl that best understands him. Even Harry thinks that. He says they perfectly understood each other in chapter 30 and she acts like someone that has completely understood why he wanted to be apart from her. She didn't complain, she didn't say anything against his decision. Why would she have this reaction afterwards? It doesn't make sense, I think.
She knows he is noble, he will hunt Voldemort, he will save wizarding world and that's one of the reasons why she likes him so much. She knows how he is and she loves his way of being.
critmo
Friday 26th January 2007 08:05
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
I don't see the problem, and I'm not doubting what JKR wrote. This is a projection of what could happen next.

Try to see it from Ginny's point of view: being Harry's girl friend is a dream come true, and then he tells her they can't be together anymore. Even if she does understand his motives on a conscious level, she thinks it's a foolish idea. So isn't it reasonable to assume that her subconsciousness does play a few tricks on her, once they have parted and there's no way to ascertain that it wasn't all wrong. Add depression over what happened, stress etc. and doubts are a natural result, especially when he's not doing things alone, but lets R/H come. I'd say it would be unnatural, if she didn't come up with "why not me" thoughts.

Fleur, on the other hand, has the advantage of having insight into a part of Harry's past that Ginny probably knows very little about. As an observer, she also is in a much more neutral position which allows her to point out an essential truth about Harry that Ginny might have ignored for the reasons mentioned above.

Hope that helps you to a more positive view of my poor story.
  Quote
Miri
Thursday 25th January 2007 06:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Chapter 1
This is the first of your stories that I've read and I immediately serched out the other "Mood" stories and read them all. They're thoroughly enjoyable stories and you are a fine writer.

As to this one in particular--I loved the conversation between Fleur and Ginny (I don't think Fleur is quite the feather brain she seems to be sometimes in canon-I like your version quite a bit) and the insight it gives both Ginny and the reader into Harry's behavior.

Then we have the hints that something is wrong with the trio...hmm. And finishing off with a romantic cliffie...ahh.. off to read the next chapter!

Long Live the Quartet!
critmo
Thursday 25th January 2007 08:44
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks for the praise, even while I mourn the reviews you didn't leave ( ). Sorry, I got this to late to warn you that the next chapter wouldn't help you with the cliffie.
  Quote
Wolf's Scream
Thursday 25th January 2007 06:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 372

Chapter 1
As noted via alternative commuhnication channel, I particularly like the insightfulness of Fleur here: I find that much preferable to the portrayal as a ditzy blonde. And it appears that each member of a Certain Couple might be gaining a bit of insight shortly. :-)
critmo
Thursday 25th January 2007 08:41
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Yes, this description of Fleur seems to be something that a number of people find attractive.
  Quote
hp4-sauce
Thursday 18th January 2007 20:53


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 91

Chapter 1
I liked it a lot. Your Fleur was smart, perceptive and funny. And your portrayals of Harry and Ginny are always on the money. As an appreciative fan of your work, it's really nice to see you back.

critmo
Friday 19th January 2007 07:41
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thank you kindly. With this kind of welcome the pleasure is entirely on my side!
  Quote
hwimsey
Thursday 18th January 2007 13:28


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

Chapter 1
Well done! You handled Fleur's speech (which is tricky) with ease. I also like the idea of Fleur being a fuller character. Bravo.

Favorite lines:
She could usually read his face like an open book, but it was difficult with half of the text missing.
Gabrielle was barely old enough to have developed an interest in boys, but there were Veelas in her pedigree, and she was obviously determined to use that advantage.
Fleur turned to look at her, and for the first time in her life Ginny felt something wash over her that made her almost understand what the power of a Veela must feel like for a man. Fleur’s gaze had an intensity she had only found with one other person, but that person’s eyes were green.

Sorry to be quoting most of the text!
Looking forward to reading more. Sorry the last year was so butt kicking.


h.
critmo
Friday 19th January 2007 07:40
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Oh, don't worry about last year, this year has the potential to get worse.

Glad you like the idea, and some of those lines would be among my favourites too.
  Quote
stardust610
Thursday 18th January 2007 13:14


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

Chapter 1
I really like this story! I like how it's in Ginny's point of view, and her thoughts on the whole break up were done very well. I hope to see more!
critmo
Friday 19th January 2007 07:38
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Cheers, I'm working on it ... well, harry_ginnyphile is working on it, and then I'll be working ... Oh, you know what I mean, don't you?
  Quote
Jai-kun
Thursday 18th January 2007 11:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 20

Chapter 1
Well, I like it. You've taken a bit of a departure from how most people might write the foursome at this stage in the canon-tale, but that doesn't neccessarily make it unrealistic. If anything, it is possibly more true-to-life than most stories.

I also liked how Fleur turned out to be quite deep in her understanding of Harry. And brave enough to reach out to Ginny, knowing that Ginny doesn't particularly like her.

Very good story, and my favorite of the "moods" so far.
critmo
Friday 19th January 2007 07:36
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thank you. I'd agree, but you what it's like: you always like the story best you get reviews for at the moment.

I'm glad you appreciate my approach. Hope you'll keep with me.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Thursday 18th January 2007 11:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Chapter 1
Interesting insight into Ginny's psyche
  Quote
amamama
Thursday 18th January 2007 10:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Chapter 1
Oh, my... Quite the angsty adventure, this. If my understanding of what angst is is correct, that is. I absolutely loved Fleur and I want to thank you a thousand times for making her the observant and understanding person she obviously is. I mean,seriously - she was a Triwizard Champion, and she's marrying Bill. Not a dim-witted twitterhead, that one. Quite the effect, having her describe Harry to Ginny, making Ginny see that she knows far from everything concerning Mr. Greeneyes. It might not be a particularly realistic story (but which story containing wand-waving is?), but it is definitely analytic. And thank you so much for that, I loved your analysis. And I loved the end, where he throws his arms around her.

Soooo looking forward to the next chapter. Thanks for sharing!
Cheers!
Berte
critmo
Friday 19th January 2007 07:34
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
My pleasure. I'm glad I could humour your passion for Fleur, even though I'm not wholly convinced that she is not something like a twitterhead after all.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 18th January 2007 08:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

Chapter 1
Fleur does understand Harry- "“‘Ee broke up with you for the same reason. ‘Ee does not want to lose you and so ‘ee leaves you in order to protect you. It’s not logical, because you’re a Weasley and always in danger. And ‘ee still loses you, because ‘ee’s not with you. But ‘Arry’s instincts tell ‘eem that this is the only thing ‘ee can do. And it’s totally against his character not to do something.”

This was a particularily good and clear "Mood".
critmo
Thursday 18th January 2007 09:10
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks. And, yeah, I think it does come down to that.
  Quote
Curren
Thursday 18th January 2007 06:37


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 120

Chapter 1
if written well, the analytic stories are one of the most fascinating to read. In other words, i love this story, and the whole series by the way. I know that I've read a lot of stories in the past that have delved into ginny's mind (and some are excellent stories), but this does stand out imo.
critmo
Thursday 18th January 2007 09:09
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thank you very much. I'm glad to hear that you're not tired of the issue.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004