Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Most Extraordinary Boy by Chatmandu

Showing 1 to 10 of 10
Itsgwen
Wednesday 20th August 2014 08:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

A Most Extraordinary Boy
Nicely done. I love the tie-in at the end with the letter to Dumbledore.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 22nd August 2008 19:51


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

A Most Extraordinary Boy
  Quote
~delusion~
Tuesday 1st May 2007 05:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

A Most Extraordinary Boy
cool, interesting. I wish more people wrote stories about Voldermont's past.
Chatmandu
Wednesday 2nd May 2007 10:36
A Most Extraordinary Boy (Author Response)
Thanks for the review. The silliness of my responses below aside, I think part of the problem in writing Tom Riddle/Voldemort is the repugnance of the character. Unless attempting a caricature, Tom is very hard to script and then be nice to anyone you meet for the rest of the day. Voldemort shows up again in a story that is with my beta.
  Quote
honourary_weasley
Thursday 25th January 2007 00:16


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

A Most Extraordinary Boy
Wonderful. Simply wonderful. You've portrayed trhe young Tom Riddle perfectly, and Olivander is great too.
Chatmandu
Thursday 25th January 2007 08:05
A Most Extraordinary Boy (Author Response)
I have been told that impatience is one of my better virtues and that I am arrogant to a fault. If what my wife says is true, then I guess understanding a young Tom Riddle (versus understanding Lord Voldemort) is not that much of a stretch for me. I wonder if that is why my parents never let me have a wand?

Well, got to run. I have the conductor day shift on the Knight Bus and Stan hates it when I am late.
  Quote
Arnel
Wednesday 24th January 2007 11:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

A Most Extraordinary Boy
I really wish this story was longer. You've captured Tom Riddle in all his arrogant glory and his imperiousness shines through in everything you have him say. I look forward to reading more of your stories.
Chatmandu
Thursday 25th January 2007 08:35
A Most Extraordinary Boy (Author Response)
See my reply above on capturing Tom's arrogance.
  Quote
Astrid
Tuesday 23rd January 2007 11:31


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

A Most Extraordinary Boy
Tom's a little brat, isn't he.

Good work!
Chatmandu
Thursday 25th January 2007 08:22
A Most Extraordinary Boy (Author Response)
Boy is that ever an understatement!
I consider Tom a little brat in the same context I consider the Pacific Ocean a little deep.
  Quote
Miri
Tuesday 23rd January 2007 07:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

A Most Extraordinary Boy
A well done story on a topic I don't think I've ever seen before and a story whose action, I think, is completely believable. You certainly have the young Tom completely in character with canon. An iteresting little "missing moment".
Chatmandu
Thursday 25th January 2007 08:40
A Most Extraordinary Boy (Author Response)
This (very) short story originated as an idea on the SQ Pleased To Meet You board. So much has been made of the similarities between Tom Riddle and Harry Potter. Just how would Tom react to the situation of selecting a wand?
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Monday 22nd January 2007 04:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

A Most Extraordinary Boy
Well done. You captured the young Tom Riddle quite well. The parallels with Harry's visit to get his wand are striking.
Chatmandu
Monday 22nd January 2007 06:53
A Most Extraordinary Boy (Author Response)
I imagined the two choosings to be similar, except Mr. Ollivander would not know (yet) who Tom Riddle is. Harry of course is already famous as The-Boy-Who-Lived.
  Quote
Ladybug
Sunday 21st January 2007 22:16


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

A Most Extraordinary Boy
Well done! I thought you got his attitude at that age just right, and it was good to see Ollivander exerting his authority over him. The way Tom spoke about his family was just right. I think this one goes into my personal canon of missing moments!
Chatmandu
Monday 22nd January 2007 06:44
A Most Extraordinary Boy (Author Response)
Thank you!

I found Jo's chapter THE SECRET RIDDLE to be the creepiest of the story so far. To envision such virulent megalomania in so young a child give me shivers.
  Quote
Rhetor
Sunday 21st January 2007 20:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

A Most Extraordinary Boy
Excellent. Your voicing is splendid and I believed we were in the head of young Tom Riddle. Mr. Ollivander was completely in character. The use of the wand to make a snake, without prior instruction in the matter, was just as chilling as you meant it to be. Terrific.

My only qualm, if it is one, is that I'm not sure Ollivander would have been writing to Dumbledore at this point in history. Ollivander strikes me as someone who is very conscious of status and position -- I think he'd be writting to Dippett instead. But I could be wrong.

Great work.

~Ken
Chatmandu
Monday 22nd January 2007 06:12
A Most Extraordinary Boy (Author Response)
I am flattered you liked the story, especially because I am a fan of yours!

We know from canon that Ollivander wrote to Dumbledore when the second of the Fawkes feather wands chose Harry. I based this missing moment on two assumptions. First, that Ollivander wrote not to the Headmaster of Hogwarts, but to Fawkes' familiar. Thus when the first wand chose he would have written to Dumbledore too. The second is Ollivander did not know Dumbledore had already met Riddle.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004