Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Bakshi Solution by Tarkas

Showing 1 to 20 of 31 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Professor Webster
Friday 12th March 2010 12:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

The Bakshi Solution
You make only one error. You say you do not have artillery in this fanfic. You do! What else would you call what Fred & George unleash against that giant? It would work gangbusters as long as the trained people were there & the enemy didn't become aware of what was planned. The surprise alone would make for effectiveness
  Quote
Dad
Thursday 2nd April 2009 07:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 483

The Bakshi Solution
I have "Hunter and Maiden" bookmarked on a n old computer and I came to this story.

Brilliant Gung Ho stuff!
  Quote
Prongs739
Monday 1st September 2008 19:41


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 174

The Bakshi Solution
Just a standard basic pre-modern military would have make Voldemort look like a lily.

  Quote
slightlyemolilly
Friday 13th June 2008 22:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

The Bakshi Solution
id think that voldemort couldn't be killed that easily. hes like a ghost living in different peoples bodys pretty much. i guess if they destroyed all the horocruxes first, and then had him so that he couldn't move or use his wand it would work, but they would never be able to get him like that
  Quote
dave gerecke
Tuesday 26th February 2008 00:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

The Bakshi Solution
Thanks for posting this on pottersplace 3, I had read this and couldn't find it again.
Now I have it posted on my PDA>
dave
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 11th January 2008 21:57


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Bakshi Solution
interesting... i had a sneaking suspicion that it would have to do with guns and stuff... it does seem a bit to bloody though...
  Quote
pyromain
Friday 29th June 2007 15:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

The Bakshi Solution
I liked the story and the use of muggle equipment.
I as a retired soldier like the idea that fred and george hate the inventions the made to win this war. War is nothing to glorify and neither is taking the live of a fellow human.
  Quote
potters_love_redheads
Monday 25th June 2007 13:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

The Bakshi Solution
That is a very interesting theory.... and while I think it would work I don't think that JKR would use Muggle technology in her stories. One, like you said most wizards would find it beneath them and not bother with it when they find their own wands more reliable and effective. Two, the Muggle way is a bit barbaric and something about killing off Voldemort through magical means (or as I'm thinking, through means of Love and Voldemort's lack of love) is a much more noble and civilized thing for Harry to do. I really enjoyed the story though and I think it would make an awesome ironic ending if Voldemort were to meet his demise through the inventions of a race that he had deemed inferior.
  Quote
MarkTBSc
Thursday 12th April 2007 15:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

The Bakshi Solution
Tarkas, as a huge fan of the works of John Ringo and David Weber I have to say I love this story. Mixing muggle weapons-tech with magical problems and our favourite characters in this fashion is both amusing and thought provoking. Even if bullets would bounce harmlessly off of wizards, they might be modified with hollow-points filled with poisons or somesuch. When reading 'After the end' by Arabella and Zsenya, I pondered if an A-Bomb could kill Dementors. I'd love to see a more elaborate treatment of this story some time! Thanks for writing it.
  Quote
Caleb Nova
Thursday 23rd November 2006 21:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

The Bakshi Solution
Why wouldn't it work? I've often thought the same thing. The obvious answer is the willing suspension of disbelief necessary to buy into Harry Potter in the first place- that is, if we're going to sit around and say 'They're just books dude, chill out'.

If not, then Magic becomes increasingly harder to defend. Wizarding society as portrayed in the books is in many ways very backwards. Hermoine spends months sifting through library books looking for what a Wizarding internet could tell her in minutes. Inefficient quills and ink pots take the place of pens. The Magical people of the world are a race both of tradition and of isolation, and their society has petrified, stuck in a psuedo-medieval setting.

It is rather ironic really, that despite tapping into a sort of universal magical lore Rowling presents a universe that is in the end not particularly more desirable than the one in which we exist. One can't help but think this is intentional. Is that a sly wink from the author, that the Muggles who are ignored by their Wizarding counterparts (out of disdain or ignorance) are in fact superior to them? I like to think so. But then, I'm nothing if not a small and vindictive man. The hypothetical concept that us Muggles are better than the smug minority that looks down on us fills me with a sort of nasty glee.

It is that willful ignorance that makes firearms so dangerous to Wizards. You notice how part of dueling as a Wizard is learning how to counter individual spells, how to devise a block and then a counter-attack? All the while remembering the exact motions of wand waving and those multi-syllable spells. It's all wonderfully dramatic. On the opposite end of the spectrum, when someone points a gun at you, you have three choices- move, get shot, or mentally cross your fingers and try to shoot him first. All of which will occur in less than a second. Even supposing some sort of constant and consistent counter could be found for bullets, it would certainly work the first time. I mean, really- how many wizards are going to recognize a 1911 when you stick in in their face?
Tarkas
Saturday 25th November 2006 14:01
The Bakshi Solution (Author Response)
Very true. Remember in PoA when the Daily Slander-- er, Prophet described a gun as something like "a kind of wand that Muggles use to kill each other"? No mention that they'd do equally well against a wizard...

I have always contended that, all else being equal, a gun-armed person, Muggle or wizard, will be able to take out a wand-weilding wizard or witch due to the sheer speed of bullets. We know that spells are relatively slow-moving since shields can be cast in response to them, but bullets are supersonic; by the time you know one's been fired, it's already hit you or missed.

Any discussion of Muggle-wizard combat is hindered by lack of detail: do shield spells stop physical objects? If not, the wizards are toast. What is the comparative range of a spell and a gun? After that, it gets complicated as strategic and tactical principles come into play and the type of action, the terrain, the comparative intelligence each force has regarding its opponent, etc., etc. come to dominate matters. Which is why I set up the battle as I did. A second battle between the Dork Lard and his Dung Eaters and a Muggle-equipped force could be very different -- or not.
  Quote
obsidiana
Thursday 11th May 2006 01:58


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 126

The Bakshi Solution
Wow, a bit dark and very stark much as the reality of war is.

I liked that you had Fred and George see the difference between joking and hurting others. I think that was a very true realization they came to and it was well done.

I can't help but think that it would be less destructive the wizard way and that the muggle weapons though effective take all the fun and drama from the story.

It was a well done story, thank you for sharing. I hope the books use magical means to end Voldemort, but it was interesting to see your take on this problem.

Sid
  Quote
willow
Monday 8th May 2006 13:46


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 162

The Bakshi Solution
well, technically, i see no reason why muggle weapons wouldn't work- on the death-eaters at least. The giants may be harder but i guess chemical weapons of some kind )and fred and george) would do the job. Dementors would have to be dealt with by magic... as for voldemort, the horcruxs would have to be destroyed first, although, i guess that seeing as this is pre-hbp then it is feisable...! my main problem with the idea is that harry wouldn't do it- he was having so much issue with meer idea of being a 'murderer' or a 'victim' that there's no way he'd be able to shot down not only voldemort (at blank range no less) but his lackies as well...

...makes for a good story though- wouldn't it be nice if things were that simple ?

  Quote
Machiavelli Jr
Saturday 29th October 2005 14:57


The Bakshi Solution
Simple; JKR isn't a thriller writer. I suppose Shield Charms stop bullets; Flame-Freezing should work fine on napalm and magical minesweeping would be easy if they knew what to expect. Tank + Reductor = ex-tank. Wargamers and fiction Do Not Mix, I think. There's too much logic to wargames; the human factor and secondary considerations stop them reflecting the stuff of good fiction [with some exceptions; this is a hoot]. I'd be betting on the Army though; especially against an utterly unprepared enemy. The other way round the Army would be slaughtered by a prepared ambush of Aurors or Death Eaters, but probably only the first time.
  Quote
Muse
Monday 26th September 2005 03:18


The Bakshi Solution
The Death Eaters in the front ranks would be decimated, no question about it, but once the reserves and leaders figured out what was going on...

*Guns? Summoning spells, pulling them out of the users' hands. Sealing charms on the muzzles, causing the gun to backfire and explode when used.
*Artillery? Seal the barrel as above, tie it in knots a-la Bugs Bunny cartoons, or light a magical fire inside the magazine (kablooey when the powder ignites)
*Napalm? Flame-freezing charms to minimize the fire damage and evanesco or scourgify to get rid of the gel residue.
*Land mines? Either hit them with spells to set them off before your army crosses the field, or cast a charm to melt them (or at least melt/disable the pressure-sensing mechanism).

Counterattacks:
*Imperius one of the soldiers, or the sergeant, and turn him on his comrades (we know Imperius can be maintained over long distances, since Draco was able to control Rosmerta in Hogsmeade all the way from Hogwarts, so someone in the back, out of firing range, could assume this task).
*Levitate a soldier away from the wall and release them when they're dangling over thin air. Rinse and repeat.

All of those solutions target the source of the problem, the weapons themselves and their users, not the bullets or projectiles (which I agree would be nearly impossible to deal with, especially since you can't even see them to target them, unlike arrows for instance). You'd still take casualties if you were the wizarding army, but under competent leadership there are ways to make a battle of it, or depending on the competence of the muggles' leaders, even turn it into a rout the other way. The key, though, would be to know what you're dealing with. Muggles led by muggles can be dealt with, especially by the portion of the army that's out of their firing range. Muggles led by wizards are trickier, since the wizards would have the ability to counter at least some of your counters. On the other hand, twenty invisible wizards packing uzis might be able to put a pretty big dent in a wizard army, because without being able to see them the army couldn't react quickly enough to their attacks to defend themselves...though again there are broader counters (like casting spells to make the ground in the area muddy, for instance, so that the invisible wizards will leave visible footprints).

Anyway, it is kind of fun to speculate about, isn't it? Kind of like Final Fantasy, where you have spells, swords, and chain mail alongside flying airships and mechanized war walkers. Great story, I really enjoyed it; laughed almost the whole way through.

  Quote
tanaxanth
Thursday 25th August 2005 21:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

The Bakshi Solution
Other than it would be a bit too easy and ruin JKR's "vision" it should work :)
  Quote
malko050987
Friday 8th July 2005 04:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 29

The Bakshi Solution
Great idea for a story. The reason JK doesn't add muggle machine guns to the Pottervers is that she wants to keep it in the wizarding world, I guess.

One thing disturbed me, though. Harry killed Voldemort in cold blood. I thought he would hjave some restraint, or at least feel ... not guilty... but still, he killed.

Nice story!

-Crs
Tarkas
Friday 26th August 2005 03:06
The Bakshi Solution (Author Response)

No, he killed Moldyshorts as part of a pitched battle, in a war situation. It's a different context. Plus, he'd been traiing for that kind of "special forces" mission for several months, so he would have overcome any qualms that way in the course of that time. Tom had to die; Harry is the only one who can kill him -- ergo, Harry has to do it. Once he has accepted that, he can focus on his mission -- and, as an incentive, what waits for him once he's done it, namely . He may well suffer remorse in the future, but just then, having fulfilled the destiny that has ruled his life to that point, all he feels is relief that it's over. Then, oif course, Ginny lands and grabs him, thoroughly distracting him as only she can...

I can understand your point, but by the time the final battle takes place, Harry and his comrades are soldiers and have accepted that to win a war, the enemy must be killed. It doesn't mean that, say, the Twins can't be revolted by the effects of their Chase-Me Napalm, but the very nature of the weapons they are using do not provide for much else in the way of an outcome; there's no Stun setting on an assault rifle.

  Quote
smdvogrin
Tuesday 21st June 2005 19:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

The Bakshi Solution
A very amusing story, and admittedly something I've thought about before (Wargamer, AF Sgt, and a SciFi/Fantasy reader).

I also try to come up with ideas why my ideas wouldn't work, rather than assuming the author isn't smart enough to come up with my tactics. :)  One explanation for no firearms: Magic interferes with all muggle devices, even chemical reactions.  It doesn't affect people because their magic, even the very miniscule magic potential of muggles, prevents the magical environment from interfering with the body.  (It also could explain why muggle-born students don't just bring pens and such.)

Of course, postulating that the above is true, it should be possible, in theory, to somehow shield muggle devices from such interference, in the same way your magic inherently does for you.  But this would likely involve whole new disciplines of magical theory, and could even prove impossible (it may be that a constant act of will is required to produce the shielding, thus preventing shielding of anything not self-aware).
Tarkas
Wednesday 22nd June 2005 02:47
The Bakshi Solution (Author Response)

You may have a point as regards the effects of magic on technology, but postulating something like that opens up a huge can of worms. If magic interferes with chemical reactions, but not those in living creatures, then what about fire? We know that Hogwarts is heated and lit by fires, and ISTR mention of logs and even coal in canon -- how, then, does that work? And pens... what the devil stops a ball-point pen (or even a fountain pen), a purely mechanical device, from working? It's as bad as having magic interfere with electrical devices but not the human brain! You can technobabble your way around it, but it's extremely hard to do so consistently.

Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed the story. It was fun to write, though my personal inclination in such a situation would be to call in airstrikes!

  Quote
dave gerecke
Wednesday 8th June 2005 21:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

The Bakshi Solution
Very good. You did what I wondering about. dave
  Quote
fallenhunter
Monday 9th May 2005 20:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

The Bakshi Solution
I had thought of these same thoughts you went over in your a/n. And I agree, but I had intented to train the DA in their use, and enchant the bullets to be sheild breakers, and never hit a target with a specific symbol (to prevent friendly fire).
But as its been done, nevermind, my muse will come thru with SOMETHING orginal I hope.

Great work.

  Quote
pwykersotz
Wednesday 13th April 2005 00:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

The Bakshi Solution
In response to your question, two words. Apparating. Imperio. There are many other methods of course, but one wizard could wipe out any number of units with these things alone. If you want to get a bit more creative, a simple charm could be devised to do what Magneto did in X2, and simultaniously pull pins from all the grenades in the army at once. Also, guns might destroy Voldemorts body, but unless Harry uses his own unique brand of magic to kill him, he can always come back.

Regardless though, great idea! This was an interesting story.
Tarkas
Tuesday 10th May 2005 00:20
The Bakshi Solution (Author Response)

Well, in response to your first response,another word: Wards. Not too hard to stop a DE from bugging out or even shifting around, particularly if a battle is to be fought at Hogwarts. And in any case, fighting a foe who Apparates around the battlefield is no different whether you use spells or bullets -- except that the bullets are faster! Spells can be seen to move, which suggests that they have a relatively low speed; bullets are supersonic and effectively undetectable: you can't see them and by the time you hear the shot, it's already hit you (or missed).

The Imperius curse is another matter, but again is no different in principle whatever weapons you use. And a wizard or witch using the curse makes him- or herself vulnerable to attack while s/he concentrates on making his target obey his/her will, so it's more of a sniper-type weapon rather than a spell to use in the middle of a pitched battle. Again, there ought to be standard procedures for dealing with the use of this curse in a fight, but wizards don't seem to be all that organised in a military sense.

Still, thanks for thinking about it, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 31 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004