Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Echoes of Power by moshpit

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
lilsarah8
Friday 10th September 2010 12:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
i'm not sure if you're actually going to finish this, but i just wanted to say that i really like this story, and i do really want to hear the end of it. please continue!!
  Quote
Praeceps09
Saturday 8th August 2009 14:55


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 85

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
having read this once I would have to argue with your terminilogy of raped. She may not have been physically raped but mentally raped could be argued as could psychological.
  Quote
CDH
Tuesday 10th March 2009 18:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
Wow, Starts out with a bang. Cannon folks will be upset.
  Quote
quillz
Sunday 18th January 2009 02:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
awesome start can't wait to keep reading!!
  Quote
huskers
Thursday 3rd January 2008 07:56


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 124

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
"Twins?" ask Ron. Should be "Twins?" asked Ron. Just one error I noticed that I thought you might like to correct. Other than that, I felt your writing was well done. The story flowed nicely, and I noticed no other graling spelling of grammar errors.

The story itself is interesting and captured me quickly. I do have to say though, that as much as I like seeing Malfoy, Crabbe, Goyle and Snape get what they deserve, it was too easy, too clean and too simple. Besides, without the 4 of them, where will you get your conflict in the story from during the school year while we wait for the attacks from Voldemort. I'm looking forward to finding out.
moshpit
Monday 7th January 2008 21:32
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
Thanks for the typo note. I'll get that fixed. Given the number of eyes that go over the story, I'm always amused when someone catches a mistake -- it seems like no matter how many people look, we're all going to miss a few. I appreciate people pointing them out, so thank you for that.

You don't really think you've seen the last of those four characters, now do you? It was easy and clean in some respects, but that's because Harry never went to Hogwarts blind. He knew what he was walking into, he had an agenda, and was working to get that result obtained. A side-effect, as you'll have noticed, is that all of those characters are now "off the page" as it were -- and we don't know precisely what they are up to, now do we? And Voldemort is just waiting out there... Ah, fun. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
  Quote
Tyedi
Saturday 23rd June 2007 07:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
Wow!

What a start, I can see badditude Harry being an interesting character. I liked his "bored, you're not even worth my time" kind of attitude towards people causing him problems.

I'm glad I've got another 23 chapters before I have to wait for the next update, it'll gimme plenty to do this weekend :-D
moshpit
Tuesday 25th September 2007 21:40
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
Glad you enjoyed the beginning. I don't know if you caught up with the other 20-some chapters or not, but the next chapter's in beta. Regardless, thanks for sharing your thoughts.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Thursday 12th April 2007 18:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
Wow. I wonder what those things that Hermione mentioned were on Harry's shoulders. and who was Harry being tutored with?? Very interesting.
moshpit
Thursday 21st June 2007 20:49
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
I'll assume by now you've read beyond the first chapter, and know some of the answers to these questions. I've been bad, and not keeping up with reviews here, but I'm trying to get caught up now. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
  Quote
noylj
Monday 9th April 2007 18:02


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
Very nice, though I suppose that greasy and the ferret will make life hard on Harry at some point in the future, although I have nothing against them both dying in Azkaban within a month of imprisonment (though I expect that they both will get off with a good bribe).
moshpit
Thursday 21st June 2007 20:48
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
Mmmm, many people want to see those two (among many) meet their end. All of the characters have fun in this story. (Well, from where I sit, I think it's fun. They may not enjoy it so much.) Will they be back? I'll assume you've read beyond the first chapter by now, and know some of those answers. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
  Quote
Patches
Sunday 8th April 2007 16:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
This is good. I like the way Harry introduced himself. He let them get to know him a little before they knew he was the "Boy Who Lived".That is quite a dramatic way to get people attention that you don't like them or their family or their politics. I can't believe you already got rid of Draco, Crabbe, Goyle AND Snape! Or have you? are they going to mess this up? I look forward to more of this story. Thanks for writing. p
moshpit
Thursday 21st June 2007 20:46
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
I'm glad you're enjoying it. If you've been reading since the first chapter, and are nearly current, I'd say that all of your speculations have been answered, eh? Or then, have they? Ah, plans within plans, how fun. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
  Quote
lindaleeann
Friday 23rd March 2007 07:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
Well written, ingenious, a pleasure to read. I do like Harry in control of himself and life.
moshpit
Friday 23rd March 2007 12:58
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
I'm glad you're enjoying it.
  Quote
Circuitsoft
Thursday 22nd March 2007 22:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
Very interesting start. Is there a prequel?
moshpit
Thursday 22nd March 2007 22:26
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
No, no prequels. If you're curious how things were formed to reach the point you enter the story on 1-Sep, then just keep reading. The backstory unfolding is part of the main story, too. The chapters will be posting rapidly on PS.net until it's caught up.
  Quote
BZHGDM
Thursday 22nd March 2007 05:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
I noticed that when Harry, Hermione, Ginny, Ron, Neville and Hannah were talking about the Potions Professor, the latter five never mentioned a name. However, when Harry said something shortly after that, he called the Potions Professor "Snape" instead of just "Potions Professor," and he never asked for a name. Other than that, it is wonderful. Very clear. Some parts seemed a little rough around the edges, sort of choppy, but nothing so bad as to distract the reader from the story.
moshpit
Thursday 22nd March 2007 08:04
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
Congrats, you're joining a very select subset of people to notice that. It's deliberate. Now can you figure out why? I'm glad you're enjoying it. It's my first foray into fiction writing in a long time, so I hope you'll overlook the random spot of roughness. I've tried to improve the version going up here, so I guess that says quite a bit about the original.
  Quote
witherwings
Thursday 22nd February 2007 23:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
thats more like it! harry's supposed to be powerful, he's the chosen one after all. Brilliant chapter dis one, kudos to you
moshpit
Wednesday 21st March 2007 22:50
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
I'm glad you're enjoying the story. There's a lot more to come, that's for sure.
  Quote
karalea
Monday 12th February 2007 21:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
Love the story, Please update soon.
moshpit
Wednesday 21st March 2007 22:50
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
Hi. Sorry for the long time to respond, but life has been interesting. We've got the chapters for PS.net well in beta now, and hopefully you'll be pleased with the update pace -- well, at least until it gets caught up with the other sites. My work life and personal life are both rather hectic, so everything is taking a little longer than I would like. I'm glad you're enjoying the story, however, and hope you remain interested.
  Quote
karalea
Tuesday 6th February 2007 12:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
Hope you update soon. Love the story so far.
moshpit
Tuesday 6th February 2007 16:28
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
I'm glad you're enjoying the story. You're caught in the black hole of revision beta editing, and the real life schedules of the people involved. If you don't want to wait, you can always pop over to SIYE and read it there -- up through Ch21 is posted at the moment. Once the first 5-6 chapters get worked over properly, I suspect the update rate here at PS.net will be quite quick as it gets caught up to SIYE.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Saturday 27th January 2007 11:50


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
I read 'Ridiculous' and 'Pratfall' here and found them very intriguing. So, despite your reviews for MoO (what IS up with that?) I decided to try Echoes of Power.

You are writing what I refer to a "Super Harry" story. These are usually Harry Sues, but occasionally they are very good (cough*This Means War*cough). Echoes of Power is one those occasions! I look forward to the rest of your saga as it gets posted here.
moshpit
Saturday 27th January 2007 14:32
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
I'm glad you found those other stories interesting, at least after a fashion. Pratfall would be dubious to call intriguing unless you really, really get the non-obvious humour... maybe I should make it a challenge, who can find the story inside the parody, let alone what's really being parodied? Ah, things for another day.

On Super!Harry ... be very, very careful. By the time you're at the end of Chapter 22, it should be very clear that there is no such thing as a Super!Anyone or Super!Anything in Echoes of Power. My detailed notes on the rules and mechanics of magic are very extensive -- longer than many fics, actually -- and by the time you're that far into the story, you'll understand how Super!fu just can't happen. You may find it seems Super-esque, but that's probably because this Harry knows (a) what his destiny is, (b) has been trained aggressively, and (c) has self confidence. The question is, how would that change his life view? Echoes is a step into that exploration, albeit perhaps somewhat dark and twisted due to the events that shaped his life pre-Hogwarts and your introduction to him during the first chapter.

Now, since you asked about my MOOving reviews, well, let me simply put it this way... I know something you don't know. Nyah nyah nyah. I can't answer your question without risking the wrath of Sovran, so . . . all I can suggest is that you go back and read them again. And if still doesn't make sense, try reading it sideways. Maybe upside down once or twice. Sooner or later, you'll figure it out.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 25th January 2007 23:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
Oh, that was a fun first chapter! It reads smoothly and is rich in details.

Having Harry so very proficient and able to destroy his enemies changes so many aspects of the story. Making the Fearless Four all about the same age and in the same year will also change so many things. Dogstar would be delighted to see Neville and Hannah so close already.

I have not read this before so look forward to your updates.
moshpit
Saturday 27th January 2007 14:24
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed it. There's a very, very long road in front of you should you keep up with this story. That may be good or bad, depending on your point of view. I will say, however, that I always caution my readers -- take nothing for granted. What seems completely true may not be. The story of Part I is told primarily from one point of view, and there are repercussions to that. I'll be updating as soon as I can. The first few chapters really do need some re-work, but by about chapter 6, they ought to be steamrolling right along until this is caught up with the story at SIYE. Then everyone has to wait. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts.
  Quote
Phantom
Thursday 25th January 2007 19:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
This is the first review I've ever given. Really great intro. and I can't wait for more.
moshpit
Thursday 25th January 2007 21:21
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
I'm glad something came along to motivate you into leaving a review. I'm also glad you're enjoying the story. The re-editing and catch-up will be a bit bursty in publishing, but once it's caught up to the SIYE chapter number, it seems to update about every other week. Real life and all that. Thanks for the feedback.
  Quote
GreenEYEDevel
Thursday 25th January 2007 11:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
ok ive just regester to leave a rewiew iam also on siye as hjp74 but as i joined you story late and only left a genrall reivew up to that point i though i would take the oppertunity to leave a more dettaled reivew here.

this realy was a great start to the story no long histroy of the past 16 years but sight into the harry draco rivelry but with a nice but with a rather nasty twist for poor draco i still love how he pretends to know more than a book harry makes up on the spot.

as for snape well the poor guty just dindnt know what hit him and poor dumbledoor mat be regreting having harry come to hogwarts as am not sure he know exactly what hes getting.

as for ginny well she certanly one of my favories manly because she one of you more complex charecter not that you have any normall one to star with. Iam ilooking forward to exactly how well this story is going to be receved hopefully as well as at siye.

James
moshpit
Thursday 25th January 2007 21:20
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
Hey James, I see you're joining the crowd of re-readers here. Are you picking up on some of those early chapter details that didn't make sense at the time, but suddenly seem more clear now? Just wait. By the end of Ch22, a lot of "odd" things will be even more clear ... and more muddled, of course. No good answer can go without raising a few more questions in turn. This story (and most of my work) is always rather polarizing. The characters, while interesting, are hard to like the way people like the canon characters. They have the same names, and some of the same fundamental aspects, but life events have been different and so they act different. Hard to justify keeping the Trio as the Trio in this AU, for example. All that aside, I also tend to dislike fanfic stories that open up with the "There was a most unusual boy living at #4 Privet Drive..." and then spend a few thousand words rehashing what everyone already knows. Really, this is fanfic, people have read at least the first book or else they wouldn't be reading here. Oh well. That's just another mini-rant. Anyway, I'm glad you're enjoying the story. Watch out for that rug you're standing on.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Thursday 25th January 2007 09:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others
This is certainly a different Harry . But with Draco (and stooges) and Snape out of the way, what is there to menace Harry (aside from moldie Voldie ) at Hogwarts? :SIGH: I guess I'll have to wait for further chapters to be posted
I do like Snape (as well as Malfoy) being cut down to proper size .
moshpit
Thursday 25th January 2007 21:15
I: Anger 1: Playing Nicely With Others (Author Response)
Well, if you're antsy, there's another 160k words available at SIYE you can start wading through -- up through the end of Ch20. Ch21 and Ch22 are in beta, so that'll be another 25k words soon on top of that. And we've only just begun . . . it may seem like it's all sunshine and lollipops right now, to borrow a phrase from Sovran, but I think you can trust the other readers from SIYE . . . nothing is ever what it seems in this story.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004