Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Hunter and Maiden by Tarkas

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
Thorn
Friday 23rd January 2009 18:09


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

Prologue: There came a time...
WOW thats all i can say. this is wonderful i cant wait to see the rest!
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Friday 16th March 2007 08:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Prologue: There came a time...
Intriguing start.
  Quote
The Goblets
Tuesday 9th January 2007 20:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Prologue: There came a time...
Congratulations! You've been nominated for an award at The Goblets!

The Goblets is a Harry Potter Awards Association that strives to acknowledge the "Best of the Wizarding World" in fan fiction and fan art. We are only in our second term but already have over 290 members, 14 fan fiction and 13 fan art categories to nominate in, as well as a slew of new reading material at your fingertips! Discover sites, stories, and artwork that you've never seen before and open your eyes to the marvelous and magical world of The Goblet Awards!

The category your story was nominated for: Best Drama Fiction

The story nominated: Hunter and Maiden

INFORMATION:

To Vote and Nominate, you must join the Yahoo! Group here:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/The_Goblets/

To view past terms, current nominations and everything else in between, go here:
http://www.stellanima.com/The_Goblets/
  Quote
amamama
Monday 20th November 2006 04:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Prologue: There came a time...
I needed an HP fix, so I decided to reread what you've got here... sort of to prepare myself for the next update. I just love this story, and now know that I eventually will have to check out the works of Jack Kirby.

Thanks for sharing!

Berte
Tarkas
Wednesday 22nd November 2006 00:56
Prologue: There came a time... (Author Response)
I needed an HP fix, so I decided to reread what you've got here... sort of to prepare myself for the next update.
Is that a hint? Yes, one will be along in the not-too-distant future (he says, hoping that he hasn't just inspired the Fates to heap doom and catastrophe on his head...).
I just love this story, and now know that I eventually will have to check out the works of Jack Kirby.
You're in for a busy time, then, because Jack's work covers nearly 50 years! Mention a major comics character and it's likely that Jack either created it or has chronicled their adventures at some point, quite likely turning the previous version on their heads as he redefined the character. And then there's the genres that he helped to invent, like romance comics.... Truly one of the great imaginations of the 20th century.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Sunday 13th August 2006 20:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Prologue: There came a time...
Okay. Was the man that fell and 'died for the thing closest to his son' Sirius? But otherwise, this was very infomational, and well written. Can't say it was good yet because the story isn't really there. But like yeah.
  Quote
jeanne
Friday 7th July 2006 10:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Prologue: There came a time...
I,M GOING TO ATTEMPT TO 'GET INTO' THIS FIC. I HOPE THE REST IS AS GOOD AS THE PROLOGUE.
  Quote
MercuryBlue
Friday 16th December 2005 10:09


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 56

Prologue: There came a time...

I'm rereading H&M (I've forgotten too many details from the earlier parts) and I saw this quote in the prologue: "...and he learned that he had fulfilled his destiny, a destiny that had been shaped by what was to follow from his death; even his name reflected this, though no-one had known it, and only two people then alive would ever find out." So we're talking about Sirius. I presume one of those 'only two people' is Harry. So who's the other? Remus, Tonks, and Bellatrix all heard the Hunter going on about the Hound of Orion. I can imagine only with great difficulty Harry not filling in Remus and Tonks (at some point after Tommy's toast and all the dust has settled), and I can't imagine at all him not explaining things to Ginny. So why say 'only two people then alive would ever find out'? Or if it is only two, which two?

Curious--where would I find Kirby's and Simonson's works?

Tarkas
Tuesday 25th April 2006 12:20
Prologue: There came a time... (Author Response)
Um... oops? Small continuity lapse there, courtesy of certain characters deciding that they wanted to join in the fun. When I wrote the Prologue, I was expecting Harry to be the one to deal with Bellatrix, but Remus demanded to be part of it, and that gave rise to the Wolves, and then Tonks wouldn't let Moony go after Auntie Bella without her, and so on...

Okay, a small Official Edit, which will be incorporated when the earlier chapters are reloaded to deal with layout and formatting errors (again!): replace "only two" with "very few" -- and it even rhymes!

For Jack and Walt's work on Orion, try your local comic shop or seller of graphic novels. DC recently published all of the original Fourth World comics in 4 large greyscale books entitled Jack Kirby's New Gods, Jack Kirby's The Forever People, Jack Kirby's Mister Miracle and Jack Kirby's Fourth World (are you starting to see a pattern here? ). In a classic bit of irony, the last-named collects the later issues of Mister Miracle in which there was virtually no reference to the Fourth World concepts, courtesy of an editorial fiat from DC. Orion appears in New Gods and in the final issue of Mister Miracle, which is reprinted in the Fourth World book.

Walt's run on Orion was planned as a set of 5 five-issue stories to be collected as TPBs, but only the first was published, AFAIK, under the title Orion: The Gates of Apokolips (sometimes listed as vol. 1 of The Chronicles of Red Orion -- which doesn't make much sense without the other 4 volumes ).

All of the above books are available at places like Amazon. Me, I've got the original comics...
  Quote
Fuzzy
Thursday 15th December 2005 09:52


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 111

Prologue: There came a time...
Interesting...I look forward to reading the rest.
  Quote
graup_hagrid
Wednesday 7th December 2005 20:37


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 89

Prologue: There came a time...
This was such a great story- I hate to see it abandoned.  I check it often for updates, but I am beginning to get discouraged. 

Will you continue the story?
Tarkas
Wednesday 7th December 2005 22:50
Prologue: There came a time... (Author Response)

I kinda hoped that the progress meter would reassure people, but...  

So, for the record, let me state loudly and clearly: H&M is NOT abandoned! With something like 70 pages of the rest of the story written, I'm not going to give it up now. However, those 70 pages are not continuous and require a lot of gaps to be filled in, and RL is not helping at the moment...  So have patience; hopefully, the next chapter will be along soon (though I promise nothing). Nonetheless, the story will continue to be written and will be finished. Just don;t ask when.

  Quote
Vyperr
Friday 25th November 2005 09:34


Prologue: There came a time...
Your story "Hunter and Maiden" has been very enjoyable so far can wait for the rest of the story. Please let me know when the next chapters are available.

  Quote
SillyGillie
Thursday 29th September 2005 14:04


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Prologue: There came a time...

Very interesting I can't wait to see where this leads!

  Quote
ridgeback77
Saturday 24th September 2005 10:56


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Prologue: There came a time...
Great start to what sounds like a fun and exciting fic.
  Quote
amamama
Sunday 18th September 2005 12:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Prologue: There came a time...
Oh, fascinating!  What a promising prologue.  I know nothing of Jack Kirby nor Walt Simpson, but I'm definitely putting "the Fourth World" tetralogy on my reading list.  I love myths, and this was quite the enticing entrée..

I'm moving on to the next chapter!  Thanks!
  Quote
sonicdale
Thursday 24th March 2005 07:04


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

Prologue: There came a time...
Only Tolkien and Eddings have had prologues as good as yours -- I've read so much fantasy and sci-fi over the years that I relish good prologues that are stuffed full of alliteration, foreshadowing and good, old-fashioned suspense. You've got the touch, and I'm looking forward to a good romp through your story!
Good work!
  Quote
pixiellie
Monday 13th September 2004 22:17


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

Prologue: There came a time...

Dear Tarkas,

I really have no right to begin a new story, but Tim mentioned your reviews of his work, and in turn it made me curious about your own.   What a delightful surprise to find The Hunter and the Maiden.   Your prologue sets the reader up for a mythic, fantasy driven work.   This is quite different from everything I have read to date.  

Although I am not fluent in the Fourth World universe, the knowledge is not needed to enjoy the direction you have taken.   You immediately hooked me with the idea of the Powers, supreme intelligent beings creating a world, and growing as all life does beyond their original confines.   I can accept that they would leave behind a talisman, or guardian to help guide the side of light whenever what they had created was threatened.    

I love that the name of the creation is (for the purposes of humanity) the Helm of Orion, and that it is summoned because of Sirius’ death.   The synchronicity- Harry may lose one ‘star’ in his life but gain another.  

Even better, the sentience within the helmet allows it to watch the world as it is now, and specifically, Harry’s life.   It will be able to help him immediately.   (I think.)   I can’t wait to see where this is going.   A truly original work of fiction, and one that has captured my attention.   Thank you for sharing your creation.   Best Regards, ellie


Tarkas
Monday 13th September 2004 22:17
Prologue: There came a time... (Author Response)

No right??? Can't think what you mean... Anyway, glad to have another reader; do stick around.

Tim mentioned my reviews? [looks worried] What'd I say?

It's not necessary to know anything about the Fourth World for this story. This is not a crossover, but a melding of some, and only some, elements of that work with the Potterverse for the fun of it (and because I am a huge fan of Jack and Walt). Readers who know the 4W well will get a small kick out of the references I have scattered here and there, but there's a lot that I have left out deliberately (no Mother Box or equivalent, for instance -- unless that's what the intelligence of the Helm is, and I didn't intend it to be -- and Voldie definitely is not up to Darkseid standard); those to whom the references are meaningless will not miss anything important to the story -- just the small chuckles and "Oh, I know what that's about" moments that (I hope) aficionados will enjoy.

Thank you for your kind words, and I hope you continue to enjoy the story.

  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004