Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For On the Headmaster's Wall by Rhetor

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
gymnastgal19
Sunday 18th November 2007 18:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

On the Headmaster's Wall
wow... I cant believe that they would forget all about the wars and the great harry potter... you would think that they would remember... just like we will always remember the world wars and the revolutions....


  Quote
Narumi
Monday 6th August 2007 10:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

On the Headmaster's Wall
Wow, just wow. I'm really impressed with how much you got from DH right, before it came out. I mean I know a lot of people guessed a good bit of it, but you got the tone just right. Well done.
Rhetor
Friday 10th August 2007 17:00
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
Wow! That's a high compliment! Truly I wasn't trying to guess what would happen in DH -- and I don't really think I got all that much right. Still, I'm very glad that you enjoyed it. ~Ken
  Quote
DebbieO
Sunday 20th May 2007 22:42


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

On the Headmaster's Wall
This is one of the most haunting and unusual fan fics I've read. I loved Hermione's portrait. Sad, but beautiful. Excellent.
Rhetor
Friday 15th June 2007 18:44
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
I am delighted that my story moved you. If people feel, when they read it, something like what I felt when I wrote it, that's everything to me.
  Quote
Neli P
Wednesday 31st January 2007 15:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

On the Headmaster's Wall
Excellent The story is sad, but (unfortunately) possible. I particularly liked your theories about the Horcruxes and the way the Trio distroyed them; and the "Headmistress Hermione Granger-Weasley" sounds very good too ! Bravo!
Rhetor
Wednesday 31st January 2007 19:04
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
Thank you! Personally I think the story is highly unlikely. I just couldn't get the idea out of my head, so I had to write it.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Monday 29th January 2007 13:12


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

On the Headmaster's Wall
So Ginny died to protect Harry . So sad. They should have a long and happy life together.
Well and captivatingly written.
Rhetor
Tuesday 30th January 2007 16:34
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
Thank you for your compliment. I agree with your sentiment, and so does Hermione. ~Ken
  Quote
Starbuck_23
Saturday 27th January 2007 09:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

On the Headmaster's Wall
This story is without a doubt the hardest piece to read I've ever encountered- but only in that it is such a well-written, and therefore completely heart-breaking, outcome of Harry and Ginny's lives. Hermione's anguish is absolutely tangible. The thought of her having to live her entire lifetime and beyond, held in the kind of torment you so eloquently describe, knowing that her own dreams were just too hard won is almost too much to bear. The sorrow and grief that you've put in to this piece are just beyond measure. I doubt somehow that this is the kind of end that Harry and Ginny will eventually come to, but regardless you've given us an inspired and startling alternative all the same, Thank for sharing.
Rhetor
Saturday 27th January 2007 12:02
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
I am honored. You're not the first to tell me that this is a "tough read;" it was a "tough write," too. I'm glad that you were moved by Hermione's anguish -- it was what I strove for in the piece. I, too, sincerely doubt that this is what Canon H & G will come to, but that wasn't really my concern. (From long experience I know that I'm terrible at predicting what JKR is going to do next, so I don't even try.) Thanks so much, ~Ken.
  Quote
CruciareMors
Friday 26th January 2007 10:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

On the Headmaster's Wall
I just loved this chapter. It brought tears to my eyes to read about Hermione's grief pursuing her for the rest of her life after Harry and Ginny's deaths. I do hope Linda presents an excellent essay and honours Harry and Ginny's memories by telling what really happened. That and I'd really like to know what truly happened with Harry. But I guess part of this story's enchant resides in there.
Excellent work.
Rhetor
Friday 26th January 2007 17:53
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
Thank you for your kind praise. I think you'll like what Linda eventually wrote. ~Ken
  Quote
girlspell
Friday 26th January 2007 05:51


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 98

On the Headmaster's Wall
And Lockhart’s Wrangle with You-Know-Who.”

“You’re kidding!” Hermione looked shocked.

That was funny. Hermione the tough teacher, and then Hermione the tender person remembering....even if she is on a wall.

I really like the way you show both side of Granger-Weasley.

Rhetor
Friday 26th January 2007 17:50
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
Hi Rachel! Hi praise, coming from a Hindu wannabe. ~Ken
  Quote
CrumpleHornedKiwi
Friday 26th January 2007 01:06


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 224

On the Headmaster's Wall
That was beautiful - a new take that I hadn't seen before.

Well done, I'll go sniffle into my hankie now.
Rhetor
Friday 26th January 2007 17:49
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
Okay. Thanks. There's another hanky for the next chapter... ~Ken
  Quote
Curren
Friday 26th January 2007 00:59


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 120

On the Headmaster's Wall
so touching and sad... hope to read more soon
Rhetor
Friday 26th January 2007 17:48
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
Thank you. ~Ken
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 25th January 2007 22:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

On the Headmaster's Wall
What a powerful story. Hermione is just as I imagine she would be as an old woman (and portrait of herself as an old woman).

The story of Harry and Ginny is so sad but they died in a noble cause.
Rhetor
Friday 26th January 2007 17:47
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
I'm so glad that you liked the story. ~Ken
  Quote
LittleTom45
Thursday 25th January 2007 21:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

On the Headmaster's Wall
That was possibly one of the most powerful stories I have read this year. I had to stop and think about it before I could write you this review. It is truely well written and the emotion it brings out makes you stop and look around you. Your question "If you could, would you die tonight for your love, and to save a generation? " That is a powerful question that many people could not answer about themselves.

As for the story itself...It is well written and you work the charactors well and speak in their voice well. After reading your notes at the end, I see you are well read and hang around talented artists. I have often thought that if the walls could tell what they saw it would be a intersting education. I hope to see more of your work int he future.
Rhetor
Thursday 25th January 2007 21:36
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
Ah, I see now -- when you add a new review response it erases your old ones. Well: Rather than rewrite the original (which I think you probably received by e-mail) let me just say, thanks very much, there's an Epilogue coming, and more stories of mine are in the pipeline! ~Ken
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 25th January 2007 20:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

On the Headmaster's Wall
This chapter is as good or better than the Prologue. Your idea that the generations succeeding that of Harry , Ginny, Ron and Hermione owe their lives to Harry and Ginny is really ingeneous. I'm glad Dumbledore brought that point to Hermione's attention. As for Hermione herself, I love all her attitudes; how she questions Linda on her knowledge of the Dark Wars, how she's willing to make sure that the story is told correctly and not just from the twisted writings of a few would-be historians. All in all, I really enjoyed this very different look at the end of the war and the quartet's role in the downfall of Voldemort. I'm definitely looking forward to your next chapter.
Rhetor
Thursday 25th January 2007 21:29
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
Thanks; you're very kind! Hermione's voice was something on which I really worked hard, so I'm glad it worked for you. The next chapter is the Epilogue; expect it in about 24 hours. ~Ken
  Quote
girlyswot
Thursday 25th January 2007 19:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

On the Headmaster's Wall
I think this may be the best fic I've read since I don't know when. Seriously, it's so good. It's such a good idea and it's brilliantly executed. Hermione's voice is just perfect as she moves from stern Headmistress, to historian, to the girl who watched her best friends die.

And I really enjoyed the way you take the events that we know (and the ones that we don't) and show how they might end up being spun in later history. How shocking, that Linda's never heard of Death Eaters, or Lily's sacrifice, or Ginny. And yet how likely it will be, just a generation or two down the line.

Thanks so much. I may have to go and find a tissue before I read this again.
Rhetor
Thursday 25th January 2007 20:11
On the Headmaster's Wall (Author Response)
Hi! I'm honored that you like it so well. I worked really hard on Hermione's voice, because although she comes naturally to me (I'm a lot like her), I was worried about whether the older Hermione (or portrait Hermione) would sound right. The main theme of this story is loss and memory, so I'm really glad that such a big impression was made by what Linda didn't know.
~Ken
  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004