Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Long Love's Day by girlyswot

Showing 1 to 20 of 35 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Ocean Dream
Sunday 22nd February 2009 15:33


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

Long Love's Day
Found this just today... Oh, so sweet!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Monday 1st September 2008 15:38


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Long Love's Day
aww!!!
lily should have ran done and kissed him :p
  Quote
chiantiqueen
Saturday 29th December 2007 06:20


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Long Love's Day
Aww poor Lily! She has such a struggle accepting her feelings for James but I'm glad she goes for it in the end and the card sounds wonderful, if only all men were as caring and thoughtful as James!
  Quote
VegHindu101
Tuesday 11th December 2007 06:38


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

Long Love's Day
Aww, how sweet. (Hey, I tried to look up synonyms for sweet but they didn't quite fit. I mean, it would sound like an insult if I said your story was charming or *shudder* quaint.) So I reiterate, what a sweet story!
  Quote
elusive
Tuesday 27th November 2007 15:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Long Love's Day
This is a great little fic. Now I must read Jame's point of view.
  Quote
everylittlething
Monday 12th November 2007 02:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Long Love's Day
ah, this is great! I've never read a james/lily fic before but I absolutely loved this. you're a great author! I'm glad I've got so much of your stuff to catch up on!
girlyswot
Friday 16th November 2007 18:46
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. This is one of my favourite stories too - James and Lily are really fun to write.
  Quote
Evelyn
Monday 5th March 2007 23:38


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Long Love's Day
Lovely! And so funny.
girlyswot
Tuesday 6th March 2007 04:49
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Aqua Fountain*
Tuesday 20th February 2007 03:38


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 132

Long Love's Day
That's sweet.
But I've never imagined anything like that. Anyways, it's still very good.
girlyswot
Tuesday 20th February 2007 04:35
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
critmo
Monday 19th February 2007 10:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Long Love's Day
I'm not sure what to say. James and Lily are often shown in a manner that I wonder how they made it at all. You've made it just believable, though.
girlyswot
Monday 19th February 2007 10:39
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
Well, thanks, I think. I've just sent my beta a companion piece to this from James's POV which may help to persuade you. Or you could try my longer L/J fics in which I try to show how they've grown up and grown together a bit. I wrote them both because I too was frustrated with all those Lily-hates-James-then-suddenly-falls-in-love-with-the-arrogant-git-for-no-reason fics.
  Quote
Jenglory
Sunday 18th February 2007 08:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Long Love's Day
This was incredibly sweet and emotional - I felt like I was with Lily the whole time. Wonderful job and original idea - this is the best James/Lily story I've read yet.
girlyswot
Sunday 18th February 2007 10:32
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
Thank you so much - I'm really glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
DaFalcon
Saturday 17th February 2007 06:56


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 237

Long Love's Day
This is the best Lily and James one shot I've ever read. They are my second favorite couple in the HP world right after Harry and Ginny. I could just truly see those scenes happening for real in my mind. So funny, and sweet, and romantic all rolled up in one.

Congratulations on your award, you definitely deserved it. This was the first time I've ever read any of your work, so now, I'm going to have to go back and read all of your Lily and James work.

I'm not sure if this has been done, but your story had me thinking. You should write a Valentine story on them from first year all the way through to seventh year. I would love to see how their friendship/relationship started from the beginning, even tho Lily thought he was a stupid git to begin with. If you hadn't already done this, you should consider it. It would definitely be a worthy read.

Again, Congrats on a wonderful one shot of LJ.
girlyswot
Saturday 17th February 2007 07:43
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
Thanks so much - I'm glad you enjoyed it. I hope you like the other stories.

I'm not sure I could sustain 7 years worth of Valentine's Days, but I'm currently working on telling this story from James's POV, so you might enjoy that when it's done.

Thanks for such an encouraging review.
  Quote
timbers
Saturday 17th February 2007 05:35


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

Long Love's Day
This was a really wonderful story. I loved how your characterization of Lily, she's exactly the way I imagined her to be. And the end just warms my heart.

Congrats on a most excellent story and your win. It was definitely the right choice
girlyswot
Saturday 17th February 2007 05:50
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
Thank you so much for taking the time to read it and leave such a kind review. It was a fun challenge.
  Quote
Frenchy
Friday 16th February 2007 08:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

Long Love's Day
I... speechless... perfect... story. Amazing!!
I loved the ending!! So sweet.
girlyswot
Friday 16th February 2007 08:53
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
Thanks so much. I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
legobean
Thursday 15th February 2007 17:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Long Love's Day
I couldn't review as I was judging, but I thought that this was far and a way the best entry.


Ouch Parakletos, I can't say that didn't hurt a little.

Ah well good work girlyswot, I too really enjoyed your story. Congrats on your victory.

girlyswot
Thursday 15th February 2007 17:16
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
Likewise!

Yours was very funny and sweet and I thought you did a good job of making it a plausible 'missing moment' despite so many canon restrictions.
  Quote
parakletos
Thursday 15th February 2007 11:04


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 209

Long Love's Day
I couldn't review as I was judging, but I thought that this was far and a way the best entry.
girlyswot
Thursday 15th February 2007 14:39
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
That's so kind - thank you for taking the trouble to leave a review now.
  Quote
St Margarets
Thursday 15th February 2007 10:51


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

Long Love's Day
Oh, very sweet. You do such a great job with tension in this and setting the scene. All of your OCs were fully realized and I liked the touch with Irma Pince. LOL Poor Lily. And of course James wouldn't give up. I would swoon over a drawing like that as well. I can see why this won first place! Congratulations again!
girlyswot
Thursday 15th February 2007 14:38
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
Thank you!! There wasn't originally quite so much tension or scene-setting. It was just a short prologue to my Lily/James fic which in the end I abandoned because it was too similar to the first proper chapter. Anyway, it seemed to fit the Valentine's Day challenge except that it was only just over 1000 words. So lots of the extra tension and details are as a result of me having to make it three times as long!! But actually I do think that the extra scenes and the interactions with other characters like the mirror and the Fat Lady do add to the tension, and Lily's frustration. Plus they were really fun to write! I had a ghost, a mirror, a painting and a librarian - so lots of scope for the imagination.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!
  Quote
SillyGillie
Wednesday 14th February 2007 20:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Long Love's Day
Adorable!
girlyswot
Thursday 15th February 2007 04:42
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
acciobook
Tuesday 13th February 2007 07:13


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 50

Long Love's Day
This was SO romantic. I loved it. LOVED it!
girlyswot
Thursday 15th February 2007 04:41
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
Thank you!!
  Quote
Narumi
Monday 12th February 2007 17:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

Long Love's Day
Very sweet story! One question- I thought Fred and George bred the first Pygmy Puffs, as a crossbreed between puffskeins and something else... didnt they?
girlyswot
Thursday 15th February 2007 04:41
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
Thank you! You may be right about the Pygmy puffs - ah well!
  Quote
chocoquills
Saturday 10th February 2007 10:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Long Love's Day
So sweet!!!
girlyswot
Thursday 15th February 2007 04:40
Long Love's Day (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 35 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004