Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Counting to Five Thousand by Rhetor

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Monday 7th April 2008 19:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Prologue: Before a Storm
nice chapter! I presume that ginny wanted to join the trio and harry was for it but ron convinced him to not to
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 18th November 2007 09:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Prologue: Before a Storm
interesting.... I like this chapter


  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Tuesday 13th February 2007 08:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Prologue: Before a Storm
Nice start -- interesting conversation.
Rhetor
Tuesday 13th February 2007 08:57
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
eaglesnest
Saturday 10th February 2007 11:20


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 134

Prologue: Before a Storm
Great imagery ....... Harry and Ron at the top of ahill, dark clouds, thunder, rain ....... and a talk between old best friends reaffirming Harry's decision. Just a last minute check: "are you sure" and once spoken will be absorbd and not spoken about again. Harry's utmost faith in Ginny now passed on to Ron, in itself a strenthening of the foursome.
Rhetor
Saturday 10th February 2007 18:16
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thank you very much. I was trying to do more with less here, and I'm glad it worked for you.
  Quote
SillyGillie
Tuesday 6th February 2007 14:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Prologue: Before a Storm
Sounds very promising. I can't wait to see what made Harry change his mind, about time though.
Rhetor
Tuesday 6th February 2007 15:56
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thanks! You will find out what made Harry change his mind in Chapter Two. But I don't think you'll be very happy with me.
  Quote
Ardie Bea
Tuesday 6th February 2007 00:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Prologue: Before a Storm
Lovely writing Rhetor. The initial imagery is striking and sensuous, the storm counterpointing the tensions between the boys/men. I haven't come across this scene being played out anywhere previously, so I'm very interested to see what you're going to do with it. Normally it's Ron and Hermione trying to get Harry to agree to Ginny going with them.
Unusual, too, to see Molly coming out in Ron as in that final scene with the baby and the blanket. Unusual, but very striking and very touching and very true.
Ta.
Rhetor
Tuesday 6th February 2007 10:35
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Many thanks. I'm glad you appreciated the maternal coming out in Ron; I think it was his motivation throughout the entire scene -- protecting Harry. ~Ken
  Quote
Neli P
Monday 5th February 2007 19:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Prologue: Before a Storm
From the "Horcruxes" angle, I find it very interesting that you put together Harry as the "Seeker", Ginny as the "Chaser" and Ron as the "Keeper."
I, for one, believe that the last Horcrux is Wormtail's silver hand (and Ron had once "kept" Scabber as a pet (!)), so your idea seems strikingly brilliant to me

Good Job, I can't wait to read the next chapters!
Rhetor
Monday 5th February 2007 21:00
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thank you! I find your idea of the hand very interesting. The next chapter is coming in a day or two, but you won't see direct mention of horcruxes again (although they will be referred to obliquely).

~Ken
  Quote
Lauberry
Monday 5th February 2007 14:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Prologue: Before a Storm
Yay! Ginny gets to hunt Horcruxes! Can't wait to read the rest!
Rhetor
Monday 5th February 2007 16:50
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thank you! I hope you're still speaking to me after Chapter Two.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Monday 5th February 2007 09:46


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

Prologue: Before a Storm
Hmm. Interesting proposition that Harry is arguing for Ginny to accompany the Trio (Quado?) on the Great Horcrux Hunt (TM). Most fics have Harry still pulling a "Spider Man" over Ginny's involvement.

So Ken, will this bit of angst eventually become a theme available to G Deck passengers aboard See-Ya Cruises?
Rhetor
Monday 5th February 2007 16:49
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thank you for those kind words. One wonders whether Harry is making the right decision; clearly Ron is worried about it.

As for that Slow Boat to which you referred, I think you can expect to see someone or something on the Angst Deck that might bear some tiny resemblence to some aspect of this.... *whistles innocently*
  Quote
Sovran
Monday 5th February 2007 08:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Prologue: Before a Storm
How to describe this prologue? I've tried before, but somehow it's not right. This chapter is . . .

You're walking along the sidewalk on a normal day. Your mind is elsewhere, and as you casually glance around at your surroundings, you see something beginning. You know, immediately, that it could turn out to be nothing of consequence, merely a sigh in the course of a day. But it could also become something terrible. And so you take a quick breath and hold it, waiting to see what happens.

This chapter is that breath.
Rhetor
Monday 5th February 2007 16:47
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thank you, Dave. I like that take on the Prologue. I did worry that this chapter was a bit heavy on the foreshadowing (as when someone reviewed it by saying, "Well, that's not going to end well, is it?" ). But to judge from some of the reviews this time 'round, it seems I haven't foreshadowed as much as I thought I had. ~Ken
  Quote
Lette
Monday 5th February 2007 08:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Prologue: Before a Storm
I'm intrigued. The dialogue is quality! When will you post the rest?
Rhetor
Monday 5th February 2007 16:44
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thanks for that praise! I'm working with my beta right now to post Chapter Two; should be ready in a day or two. Expect the final chapter a day or two after that. ~Ken
  Quote
OXMAN1970
Sunday 4th February 2007 22:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Prologue: Before a Storm
WOW .... You have a fantastic sense of imagery. So many pople forget that the small details round the story out so much more. The story definitly does not seem to follow the overwelming concensus that Harry would distance himself away from Ginny, cudos for that. I eagarly await the next installment. Keep up great work!
Rhetor
Monday 5th February 2007 16:43
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thank you for your praise of my imagery and details. I work hard at it. True, so far this story doesn't follow the consensus of what Harry would do; the question is, what's the result? (The story summary is a clue...)
  Quote
Arnel
Sunday 4th February 2007 21:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 579

Prologue: Before a Storm
I can hardly wait for the next two chapters. If they're as good as this one is at conjuring up mental images of the action, I'm going to like them very much. Harry is really lucky to have a friend like Ron who's supportive and even acts the part of the devil's advocate when needed. Thanks for sharing this with us.

Rhetor
Monday 5th February 2007 16:41
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thank you for that praise. Conjuring up mental images of the action is one of the things for which I strive. I agree that Harry's lucky; you'd think he'd take the advice...
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Sunday 4th February 2007 20:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

Prologue: Before a Storm
Ken, This is going to be another strong and fun to read story. Your Harry and Ron on the verge of manhood are perfect foils for each other. The descriptions of the coming storm and the full force of it were sensual.

Indeed, happy belated birthday. St Margarets suggested coming to read your latest.
Rhetor
Sunday 4th February 2007 20:29
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm glad you liked the atmospherics. The next chapter is very different in style, but also has one or two "sensual" anchors. St Margarets is a pal. ~Ken
  Quote
girlyswot
Sunday 4th February 2007 19:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Prologue: Before a Storm
Well, I know where this is going because I've had a sneak preview. But that doesn't mean I enjoyed it any the less. Your ability to say more than you are saying leaves me in awe.

Oh and a belated
Rhetor
Sunday 4th February 2007 19:29
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thanks, Ros. You interrupted me in the middle of Chapter Three of The Squib. If I am saying more than I am saying, aren't I also saying less than I am saying? ~Ken
  Quote
jeanne
Sunday 4th February 2007 19:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Prologue: Before a Storm
I love a fic where Ginny joins the trio in the search for horcruxes, mainly because hands down, in my opinion, despite what Jk says, she is a much more powerful and natural witch than Hermione will ever be. She will be a welcome addition to the trio. Good job and plot line.
Rhetor
Sunday 4th February 2007 19:31
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm glad you like it. I'm worried, though, that you might not be so happy with me after Chapter Two. It was Ron, not Harry, who had the sense to come in out of the rain... ~Ken
  Quote
Wolf's Scream
Sunday 4th February 2007 16:52


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 372

Prologue: Before a Storm
Hmm... well-written; should be interesting to see where you're going with this.
Rhetor
Sunday 4th February 2007 18:25
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thank you! I venture to say that no one will guess where and when I'm going with this. Stay tuned for Chapter Two! ~Ken
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Sunday 4th February 2007 16:47


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

Prologue: Before a Storm
Well, if the Prologue is any sign of things to come, we're in for a real treat! Harry hunting Horcruxes is one of my favorite plots and it only gets better when Ginny gets to come along. Of course, I don't think JKR will do things that way, but we can always hope!

The style of your writing is superb. I could feel the cool of the approaching storm and the breeze as it whipped around me. It was like I was present in the scene, an unnoticed bystander catching every word and feeling every emotion. The storm was a brilliant tool for expressing the emotions of the characters rising and falling. I love Harry in this position. He's both a boy and a man, and the way Ron watches him at the end expresses it all - we just want to help him get through it. I have to agree with Harry that having Ginny along can only make things better. I'm sure the rest of the story is going to be great!
Rhetor
Sunday 4th February 2007 18:24
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
I thank you for that enthusiastic response. I hope you won't be angry with me after you read Chapter Two; there's a reason this was a storm and not a sunrise. ~Ken
  Quote

Sunday 4th February 2007 15:45


Prologue: Before a Storm
Wow! What a prologue! The descriptions were wonderful and the dialogue seemed very ....uh.....for want of a better word, smooth. It seemed very natural, if you know what i mean. Can't wait for more!
Siriusluvr
Rhetor
Sunday 4th February 2007 15:59
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm glad you liked the dialogue. More is coming in a day or two. ~Ken
  Quote
jessy
Sunday 4th February 2007 14:59


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 114

Prologue: Before a Storm
nice one!
i really liked your harry and ron,...

hurry up with the next chap!
Rhetor
Sunday 4th February 2007 15:58
Prologue: Before a Storm (Author Response)
Thanks very much! I'm glad you liked it. Next chapter coming up in just a day or two...
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004