Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Counting to Five Thousand by Rhetor

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 17 of 17
gymnastgal19
Monday 7th April 2008 20:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Strangers' House
nice chapter!
It totally doesnt fit the normal plot lines... harry living and he and ginny living to a ripe old age...
it was a good explaination of ginny's life too!!!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 18th November 2007 09:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Strangers' House
interesting... Never really read any fanfics where harry died... I was thinking that Ned might be Harry in disguise or something.... or that somehow he went into emily's body... lol just my thoughts


RIP
  Quote
hailey
Friday 3rd August 2007 20:00


Strangers' House
this is the saddest fan fic i have ever read but its so beautifully written good job
Rhetor
Friday 3rd August 2007 20:06
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Thank you so very much. I was afraid that people would stop reading this story now that DH has shown it's definitely not canon; I'm glad you took the time to look at it! ~Ken
  Quote
mgmerlin
Wednesday 27th June 2007 16:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Strangers' House
A unique story well executed, and by that I mean it is written really really well. The issues you challenged - especialy here in this chapter - are not easy ones to get to grips with, but you seemed to handle them quite easily.

I like the idea of a magical person finally understanding the difference they could make in the wider world through simply waving their wand here and there. The danger here of course, is simply delving into wish fulfillment and having some enlightened witch/wizard removing worldwide poverty, starvation, etc. You went nowhere near that of course. I liked Ginny's description of her choices and actions as atonement.

Of course, your stance on 'muggle science' rankled just a teeny bit. Remember the biggest killer in human history (apart from man himself) was eradicated through science. Smallpox. AIDS is on its way to surpassing it (if it hasn't done so already!), but me being an eternal optimist, I think we'll get rid of it eventually. Through science. Then again, who suffers most from AIDS? Those in absolute poverty. Life can suck - something you've quite neatly pointed out here.

Well done!
Rhetor
Wednesday 27th June 2007 18:47
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Thank you very much for that praise. Hmmm, after praising me for not being a pollyanna, I wonder how you'll react to the Epilogue...

I'm actually a big believer in "Muggle science," and I agree with you wholeheartedly. My critique was more about how science gets co-opted by those with power to serve their own ends. I'd love to see life extension come into reality, but I fear that it would be available only to the privileged few. (Anyway, what I really needed was a device through which Ginny could be both a self-sacrificing saint and righteously angry all at the same time.)

Thanks again!

~Ken
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Tuesday 13th February 2007 08:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Strangers' House
Very well written but what a nasty thing to do to Ginny
Very moving way to make your point
Rhetor
Tuesday 13th February 2007 08:58
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Yeah, sorry to be so mean to Ginny; believe me, I felt it. (By the time I was done with this chapter, I think I was making at least three points, probably more .) Thanks for the review!
  Quote
eaglesnest
Saturday 10th February 2007 11:55


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 134

Strangers' House
A powerful and emotional chapter about a most original story about Ginny after Harry's and Voldemort's end. You kept me spellbound throughout, several times I found myself holding my breath without realizing the tension I was feeling.
Rhetor
Saturday 10th February 2007 18:18
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Thanks again.
  Quote
eaglesnest
Saturday 10th February 2007 11:55


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 134

Strangers' House
A powerful and emotional chapter about a most original story about Ginny after Harry's and Voldemort's end. You kept me spellbound throughout, several times I found myself holding my breath without realizing the tension I was feeling.
Rhetor
Saturday 10th February 2007 18:17
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Wow! I'm glad it had that effect. I love reading stories like that; I didn't know I'd written one! Thanks!
  Quote
dreamchaserforever
Thursday 8th February 2007 15:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Strangers' House
very tauching, yes i could see this happening but i don't want to. IF harry die's before he kills Voldemort Ginny will persanally kill hem i almost hope that happens FOR THERE IS NOTHING MORE DANGERES THAN AN ENAMY that has nothing to loose? yeah it would be sad but not many people would see it coming. The thought of the proffecy being false. thats intresting could happen. that would be neat.
Rhetor
Thursday 8th February 2007 18:36
Strangers' House (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked the story. I'm sure that JKR won't have the end of the war come out the same way I did; no worries.
  Quote
amamama
Thursday 8th February 2007 01:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Strangers' House
*sniff* It really shouldn't end like this, and I sure as *!* hope it won't. Great story, and some quite important messages in it.

Thanks.
Rhetor
Thursday 8th February 2007 10:42
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Thank you for saying so. As you saw, it didn't quite end lke this...
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 7th February 2007 10:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

Strangers' House
You are telling a powerful tale with wonderful use of language. I will certainly read your Epilogue.
Rhetor
Wednesday 7th February 2007 11:19
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Thanks again! The Epilogue is posted!
  Quote
Curren
Wednesday 7th February 2007 09:36


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 120

Strangers' House
dunno what to write here, to be honest. Want to leave a review, but i'm a bit at a loss for words. It's so sad, maybe too sad. I mean, a bit forced to be as sad as possible, because the way voldemort was defeated really doesn't feel right to me...
Rhetor
Wednesday 7th February 2007 11:19
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Hi! I'm honored that my story moved you so much. Thank you for telling me. (If you're too sad, go find some St Margarets or some Laura Laurent to read; that'll cheer you up!)

I think you're right about the defeat of Voldemort; JKR wouldn't cop out that way. But I needed Ginny to be horrified at the uselessness and the waste of the intervening year, so I needed LV's final defeat to be easier than expected.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Wednesday 7th February 2007 09:15


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

Strangers' House
Such a bleak future. I take it you might be leery of some medical advances?

The implacation of Ned's attitude is that Voldemort was long dead and nothing had changed in the Wizarding world. That too is a bleak forecast. The details of this chapter are as good as the previous one. Your paint a literary picture that is SO real. I could smell the decay; feel the atmosphere of despair, and sigh at Ginny's resigned determination to atone, whether she really needed to or not. Well done.

Gosh I hope the final chapter is a bit more up beat. You did say they were all different.
Rhetor
Wednesday 7th February 2007 11:15
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Thank you! As to the medical advances: I needed a plausible reason for the urgency of Ginevra's mission to the Muggles. While the current state of poverty of some parts of England might be sufficient, I felt that I had to go "over the top" to convince the reader. And yes, I do believe that sadly, advances in technology and science are used to benefit the rich much more often than anybody else.

I am gratified that you found the tactial and sensory details so realistic; that was really important to me, to give the reader a sense of being there.

The next chapter is posted; I think you could reasonably call it "more upbeat," but that might be a bit misleading...
  Quote
Arnel
Wednesday 7th February 2007 08:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Strangers' House
This is absolutely captivating. I couldn't leave my computer if I'd wanted to. Ginny's story is amazing; the fact that she feels she needs to atone for 5,280 deaths is an alarming idea, but if that's how she thinks she can forgive herself only by saving that many, then I have to support her decision. I'm glad that Ned is going to let her continue; she's doing more good by saving people with her choice of what is right over what is easy and hauling her off to prison would only do more harm.

I'm looking forwrd to the third and final chapter every much. Please post it soon.
Rhetor
Wednesday 7th February 2007 11:11
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Your wish is my command; the Epilogue is posted.

I'm glad that the story moved you and held your attention. Thank you very much for your kind words.
  Quote
nerd2006
Tuesday 6th February 2007 21:55


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 111

Strangers' House
All I've got to say is... wow.
Rhetor
Tuesday 6th February 2007 22:13
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Thank you. I hope that means you liked it.
  Quote
Wolf's Scream
Tuesday 6th February 2007 21:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 372

Strangers' House
Hmm... that was certainly sobering. Well-written, certainly, but definitely sobering.
Rhetor
Tuesday 6th February 2007 21:32
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Thanks. Perhaps the Epilogue will redeem this chapter?
  Quote
Neli P
Tuesday 6th February 2007 20:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Strangers' House
Sorry about that, I don't know what happened with the last review. Here it is again with the "smileys" and everything:

Well,,, it is the first time that Ginny Weasley is refered to as a "ascetic beauty of a bare branch in winter."

Again, what an awesome chapter with loads of information and intriguing theories (particularly the one about Neville)! However, I hope that this is again one of "those (highly depressing ) ideas you have to get rid of by writing them down" ?
Rhetor
Tuesday 6th February 2007 20:30
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Thanks. I think you need have no fear that JKR will write a Year Seven with events even remotely like this; she has a very different agenda from mine (thank goodness!). As for the "highly depressing" part of it, I fear that angst is what I do best...
  Quote
Neli P
Tuesday 6th February 2007 20:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Strangers' House
Well ... it is the first time that Ginny Weasley is refered to as a \"ascetic beauty of a bare branch in winter\"

Again, what an awesome chapter with lots of informations and intriguing theories (particularly the one about Neville)! However, I hope that this is again \"one of those (depressing ) ideas you have to get rid of by writing them down\" ? .
Rhetor
Tuesday 6th February 2007 20:29
Strangers' House (Author Response)
Thanks; I'll respond to the version above. ~Ken
  Quote
Showing 1 to 17 of 17
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004