Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Shining Fragment by aurora luminis

Showing 1 to 20 of 20
Thorn
Wednesday 17th December 2008 18:12


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

The Shining Fragment
I wont to know what hapens next pleas tell
aurora luminis
Saturday 17th January 2009 02:11
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
Ah, what happens next is already told in the final book. Since this predated it, my pen is tied. I do hope to do some pieces on what happened within the walls of Hogwarts while the three were searching for Horcruxs...so just keep an eye. Thanks a million for your interest.
  Quote
DukeBrymin
Friday 12th December 2008 10:02


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 109

The Shining Fragment
Very powerful, very moving. Too angsty, though. I'd love to see their talk after this scene.
aurora luminis
Sunday 4th January 2009 06:36
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
yes, it was somewhat angsty, but then war is that. The last book was certainly angsty. I am thrilled that you found it powerful, because I wanted that: I wanted the reader to feel the power of making the right response, giving oneself up entirely to a call greater than onself: basically to mirror in Cedric what Harry would do when he walked into the forest. Thank you so much for taking the time to review.
  Quote
Yentila22
Tuesday 18th November 2008 19:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

The Shining Fragment
I just read this story in the middle of November 2008. I was so moved by your story I really wish there was more. I love all of love all of your characterizations in all your stories.
aurora luminis
Sunday 4th January 2009 05:43
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
Well, that is very moving: someone who has read all four of my stories and loves my characterizations. For me that is a real gold cup since I read about fifteen years ago that one of the most essential things in writing is that the author love her characters. I would like to do more with Cedic the Ghost and am still thinking of how I can do that and stay within canon now that the last book is out.
  Quote
pyromain
Saturday 23rd June 2007 13:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

The Shining Fragment
loved it, would have liked it if it had gone a bit longer but still just lovelly.
Hope JKR gets the same idea and brings the together again in the next book.
aurora luminis
Wednesday 11th July 2007 05:14
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
thank you so much for reviewing, pyromain. I am reading the reviews for the entries in the Summer Challenge and see how you have left a review for almost every entry. You are a gem to do that. I know from my experience in the last challenge what reviews mean in that venue. With this pieceI managed to tie for last place, but it didn't really matter since I enjoyed writing it and there were the kind reviews left by people like you.
No way I could have made it longer. There are limits set on length and I couldn't carry it any further. However, I do intend to do a second installment on it...one person asked...and cover the conversation between Harry and Ginny. It is amazing what the photos are going to do. Again thank you so much.
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Sunday 27th May 2007 12:41


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

The Shining Fragment
Eeek! Oh that is such a good story! I think I like it even better than The Last Lie. I really thought that scene with the pictures was interesting; what were you trying to say will happen to Harry and Ginny? The ending of your story was by far my favorite part; Harry screaming Ginny's name and Remus waiting to tell Tonks about the happy reunion. How sweet is that! You are such a good writer, I hope you continue to post more amazing stories!
aurora luminis
Thursday 14th June 2007 10:55
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
You really know how to perk a person up. After reading your kind review, I felt I could do a few loops around the Quidditch field without a broom! Oh, yes that picture is amazing, isn't it? I jumped myself when it started acting like that. I'm working through a second installment and the photo really goes places then....here is hoping I really get it done. Thank you so much for the encouragement.
  Quote
critmo
Monday 19th February 2007 10:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

The Shining Fragment
Considering how long the nightmarish part is, the happy part is very short indeed. Well written, anyway.
aurora luminis
Tuesday 20th February 2007 04:23
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
A very valid observation, and I can only offer two things by way of explanation. First, I had less than three hundred words left to me, and the discussion between Harry and Ginny would have needed a thousand at least. Second, I could not have ended it in any other way than the way I did, which is intrinsic to the story: the last lines about Lupin are a foreshadowing of the maturity towards which Harry and Ginny are heading, even if it would be a decade or two off. Lastly, --why limit the discussion?-- I was walking on eggshells. For myself, I think I owe any artist a profound respect for her creation, particularly when I use it for my own happiness, etc. None of us really knows what The Deathly Hallows are going to hold. I suspect both Ginny and Harry will survive; I can easily see Ginny running across a ruined Hogwarts wall with that same hard, blazing look on her face as she throws herself on Harry's chest, but... Yes, I am thinking about taking this a little further, yet I have to ask myself if it would be worth the time my wonderful beta, PirateGinny, and I would have to invest. Uh, if you didn't notice, I didn't do all that well..doesn't matter, I enjoyed it immensely and had a tremendous reward for my labors in PirateGinny and all I am learning from her. But yes, it would be nice to carry it over into at least one more installment...
  Quote
amamama
Saturday 17th February 2007 10:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

The Shining Fragment
Hi, Aurora! You're the luminous one, all right.

This is just as good on the second read as on the first. No, it's not. It's even better. Too bad you tied for last place, maybe your theme was too grown-up and not fluffy enough for people's Valentine's mood? Well, if people can't see the wonderful loveliness of this ficlet, that's their loss. Pure flangst, we're in the middle of a war, after all. Harry's sudden understanding that he needs Ginny is wonderful, and I so loved the way you used his parents to show him that.

And yes, my username does have a story behind it...

Cheers!
  Quote
swngnblues
Wednesday 14th February 2007 22:08


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

The Shining Fragment
Interesting - more angsty than most Valentine's fare. I enjoyed it. Liked seeing the overall despair that Harry had. It was a bit odd, but I think the story is more fluff for R/T and angst for H/G. Interesting dichotomy here. (And I hope that was your intent, and I'm not just spewing at the mouth). Good job!
aurora luminis
Saturday 17th February 2007 11:10
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
Yes, it was my intent...even more, it was what I had to do: reality demanded realness. After all, Lupin is the same age as Harry's parents, and he has known a life full of loss and anguish. As a mature adult he has learned, especially with the advent of Tonks, the boundless value of laughter, humor and smiles. And Harry, well, who would not be in a state: only seventeen, undergoing who knows what in the mind in JKR? Ginny is even younger, and part of the family that will be the first to go if the Dark Lord wins...may even be blotted out before Harry is able to rid the world. What I liked best was it gave me a chance to discover an even deeper level to Harry's leaving Ginny behind: not wanting to condemn her to the rule of public opinion. Thank you so much for your review, for liking it. In about a week Pirate Ginny, my superb beta, will post the piece that precedes it: Lupin and Tonks in the one to come. don't mean to promote myself, really, but since you seem to like it....
  Quote
SillyGillie
Wednesday 14th February 2007 20:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

The Shining Fragment
Really cute!
aurora luminis
Saturday 17th February 2007 11:12
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
Well, I did enjoy the pink hearts flying at poor unsuspecting Lupin's cheeks. It was such a wonderful surprise to experience how much fun writing can be, even if it is also a lot of work...especially for my magnificent beta, Pirate Ginny. Thank you so much for taking the time to review.
  Quote
Astrid
Monday 12th February 2007 22:19


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

The Shining Fragment
I liked it, but it's kinda weird and feels unsettled.
aurora luminis
Tuesday 20th February 2007 04:28
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
That it feels unsettled, well that was part of the point. Their lives are very unsettled at this point. No one knows if he or she will survive beyond a few more months. Weird? I would have to know exactly what made you feel that way, but really, the whole trip into the Department of Mysteries in book five was also weird. Yes, I confess, it isn't your usual Valentine candy, but think of the war in Iraq and Afghanistan...and men and women through the centuries during times of war and death, and what Valentine's Day was for them. Writing things like this comes with gray hairs, I guess.
  Quote
Narumi
Monday 12th February 2007 17:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

The Shining Fragment
That was an interesting twist at the end, with the pictures interacting so thoroughly. I mean I know people can move between pictures and interact, but I never really thought of it in such an extreme way. Nice development!
aurora luminis
Tuesday 20th February 2007 04:31
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
thank you so much for taking time to review. Yes, the photos are interesting. I cannot wait to see how that plays out in the next book. JRK has said that the fact that Harry's eyes are green like his mother's will be important, we have Snape appearing to rival Lily in Potions, so much on the horizon. Thank you.
  Quote
No Idea Why I Smile
Sunday 11th February 2007 14:18


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 72

The Shining Fragment
that was amusing...though i am a tad confused as to why Ginny and other students need to change their appearance then put glamours on...i dunno...the end with Harry was good...
aurora luminis
Saturday 16th June 2007 05:47
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
The plot is this: there are spells for revealing if a person is using a glamour or other means of changing. Polyjuice only works an hour. So the Death Eaters attack and start looking for Ginny: red hair...if she uses something to change her hair the revealing spells will show that she is using a glamour. If, however she and others have altered their hair naturally: muggle dye, cut and arrangement, then hide that with a glamour that can be dropped the minute the warning sounds that the DEs are here...see?
Thank you so much for reviewing. I really appreciated it...and I am sorry I was so long in responding. Real life is so full....
  Quote
Yentila22
Saturday 10th February 2007 20:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

The Shining Fragment
I wish you would continue this story...good luck in the challenge.
aurora luminis
Saturday 16th June 2007 05:50
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
forgive me for not thanking you sooner for reviewing this....life is just so interesting at times. I was once taught to use the word 'interesting' rather than a more negative adjective. It works sometimes. I hope to continue the story if at all possible. The photos are intent on it and keep doing funny things in my mind.... Thank you for reviewing.
  Quote
CrumpleHornedKiwi
Friday 9th February 2007 01:22


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 224

The Shining Fragment
Too darn heartbreaking, Harry is soooo stubborn.
aurora luminis
Saturday 17th February 2007 11:15
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
Yes, it was a bit on the heartbreaking side...even I started to cry when Harry's mother began dancing with Ginny in the photo. Everything the poor seventeen boy has longed for was in that photo...

Thank you so much for your kind review. I really enjoyed the line up of cheerers...at least I hope they are cheering! a.l.
  Quote
DaFalcon
Thursday 8th February 2007 19:29


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 237

The Shining Fragment
WOW! That was deep. And wonderful. Nice job.
aurora luminis
Saturday 16th June 2007 05:52
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
Well, DeFlacon knows I found a way to answer her under an invisibility cloak when she first posted her review...had to hide to keep the rules about no one knowing who wrote what. Ha! as if that would have made a real difference in how much support The Shining Fragment received. But I don't like it that her kind review has no public response, so here I am now, months later, thanking her before wizards and witches alike. It was kind of you to review.
  Quote
lantis222
Thursday 8th February 2007 12:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

The Shining Fragment
I know it will never happen, but I really really want JK Rowling to have Ginny with them in Deathly Hallows. I think it will give Harry something to fight for. Thank you for letting Harry realize that. You did a wonderful job!
aurora luminis
Saturday 17th February 2007 09:24
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
I am afraid you are right...Ginny will probably not be at Deathly Hollows, at least not until the very end. Her place will be what it has been in the last two books: to fill the gap when Harry has his hands tied by others. Also, you may not agree, it would undermine the basic vision of JKR, the vision of friendship. In a world where many children feel/are so isolated from their parents, where the concept of family is fast fading, the role of friendship is that much more important. Harry's love for Ron and Hermione surpasses whatever he feels for Ginny at the end of HBP. That relationship is still too short... But then our loved author does like to surprise, so who knows. Thank you for reviewing. I had so much fun writing it, meeting Pirate Ginny, my beta, that I really don't care if my votes were zero... Somethings are just worth doing...
  Quote
Hexnut
Thursday 8th February 2007 11:06


The Shining Fragment
Very nice. The plottiness and angst cuts through the fluff very well, leaving a satisfying mix of emotions.
aurora luminis
Saturday 17th February 2007 09:18
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
Well, Hexnut, I shall always remember your observation about the plottiness and angst. It really was my point more than fluff. First, I really enjoyed trying to make a plot of sorts in such a small piece (it's been more than 30 years since I did any fiction in high school), and I was grateful for the results. The angst is important belongs it belongs to a maturing moment for Harry and the simple fact that love is so much more than fluff. Thank you for taking the time.
  Quote
amamama
Thursday 8th February 2007 02:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

The Shining Fragment
Awww, sweet! And sad - and what on earth happened with the photos?

Thanks!

aurora luminis
Saturday 17th February 2007 09:14
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
Hi, Amamama,...and am I ever intrigued by your name. Thank you for taking the time to review my piece. Seeing as I tied for last place, it makes those reviews I did receive very precious. The photos...magic, really. As I said in the response below, it wasn't in the original plan. They just started doing it. So I'm waiting until the final book to see if it is a bit of prophetic action on my part. Again, thank you for reading and encouraging.
  Quote
Raira
Wednesday 7th February 2007 16:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

The Shining Fragment
Oooh, intriguing
aurora luminis
Saturday 17th February 2007 09:10
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
Thank you, Raira, for your review. Yes, I found it very intriguing too while writing it. The photos doing what they did took me by surprise. My plan was just to have them waving and then suddenly they were doing so much more. So am I channeling our Hogwarts Seer? Again, thank you.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Wednesday 7th February 2007 15:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

The Shining Fragment
Very, very good. You have a Valentine's piece that is not fluff.
aurora luminis
Saturday 17th February 2007 09:07
The Shining Fragment (Author Response)
Thank you so much for taking the time to read my piece and for your encouragement. It was wonderful to have such a boost on my very first ever review. Yes, I had no idea that I was going to be so out of the loop by having a piece that was not fluff...somehow it was just there in my head and I felt that wanting to be very faithful to JKR's world, I should walk where Harry and friends are walking while we wait for the next and, sigh, last. Again, thanks a million
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 20
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004