Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Midsummer Night's Dream by MagnoliaMama

Showing 1 to 18 of 18
pentium415
Friday 16th April 2010 06:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Midsummer Night's Dream
' '
  Quote
IHateSnakes
Monday 8th February 2010 08:40


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Midsummer Night's Dream
nicely written.
  Quote
Tammy369
Wednesday 25th June 2008 07:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Midsummer Night's Dream
wow a great read... I must admit though i would like more ... your writing is very expresssive and easy to 'feel'.

My only complaint is that some of the passages with the old lady were difficult for me to read with such a heavy accent... but i got there!
  Quote
hihavaniceda
Tuesday 3rd June 2008 04:48


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

Midsummer Night's Dream
yes yes yes ..... I really loved this .... great bit of work !

  Quote
hihavaniceda
Tuesday 3rd June 2008 04:48


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

Midsummer Night's Dream
yes yes yes ..... I really loved this .... great bit of work !

  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 26th October 2007 10:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Midsummer Night's Dream
This was incredibly odd.. lol... harry just vanished and then comes back...
it wasnt a bad story though. It was hard to figure out what Lars and his mom were saying though
  Quote
Shin
Monday 18th June 2007 07:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Midsummer Night's Dream
Needs moar, next chapter please.
Oh, and it's verry well writen, I like it
MagnoliaMama
Monday 18th June 2007 10:58
Midsummer Night's Dream (Author Response)
Sorry to disappoint you, but as this is clearly marked as complete, there is no "moar" or next chapter. Thanks for reviewing all the same. I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
katty_18
Friday 8th June 2007 20:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Midsummer Night's Dream
i LOVED this story. your writting is beautiful and the story line was captivating
  Quote
Bryher
Sunday 18th March 2007 14:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Midsummer Night's Dream
What a wonderful story One of your best I think. Thanks,helen
  Quote
Ladybug
Tuesday 20th February 2007 06:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Midsummer Night's Dream
What exquisite prose, just beautifully evocative. I adored the description of the light and the sea throughout. Luna was brilliant with her either/or analysis of Ginny. For some reason the cat at Luna's made me think of the seal on the beach - not sure why exactly! I've been thinking an awful lot about the final paragraph - at first it sort of jolted me out of the emotions of the story and my natural response was to ask, 'And?' I thought for a while that I'd have preferred the story to end on the penultimate paragraph, which seems the natural conclusion to the whole of the preceding story. But now I'm reading the final paragraph as just a continuation - although it sounds concrete and 'real' as opposed to the mystery of the rest, there really is no reason why it is not just more of the same that Ginny has experienced up till now. I hope that doesn't mean I've hijacked your story and made it something it's not supposed to be! But it does mean that your skilful weaving of the words into magical meaning has caused me to stop, consider and appreciate all the colourful hues in your story.
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 20th February 2007 07:14
Midsummer Night's Dream (Author Response)
I've been thinking an awful lot about the final paragraph - at first it sort of jolted me out of the emotions of the story and my natural response was to ask, 'And?' I thought for a while that I'd have preferred the story to end on the penultimate paragraph, which seems the natural conclusion to the whole of the preceding story.
I've gotten several "What happens next?" and "How did he come back?" reviews, but yours is the first to phrase it like this, and I really appreciate it. I completely understand where you're coming from, and did almost end this on the penultimate paragraph. I didn't, though, for much the same reason why I didn't explain how Harry was able to return; namely, I wanted to emphasize the whole magical, mysterious aspect to it that can't be explained, and that only someone like Luna can truly grasp, and play with the recurring theme in the books that love is the most powerful magic of all. Only when Ginny lets go of Harry can the magic take effect, thus bringing him back (it's the time-honored "If you love someone, set them free" theme), and so that's why I included the final paragraph -- to complete the spell, so to speak.

As for the cat and the seal... you might be interested to know that in an earlier draft, the cat had green eyes.

Thanks for such a wonderfully thought-provoking review.
  Quote
nerd2006
Tuesday 13th February 2007 23:11


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 111

Midsummer Night's Dream
Oh, this was so good. I really enjoyed it; lots of angst with a touch of humor.
  Quote
Yentila22
Saturday 10th February 2007 20:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

Midsummer Night's Dream
Incredible story...at one point I was holdeing my breath. Just one question dirty socks??
  Quote
Lillie Ann Potter
Friday 9th February 2007 21:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Midsummer Night's Dream
what? wow... ok! partially confused here! it probably doesnt help that its quarter after twelve but still! please! *falls to knees at Author's feet* continue! write another one! i need more!!
btw- YOU SO ROCK!!
  Quote
through~Lily's~eyes
Friday 9th February 2007 17:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Midsummer Night's Dream
And I love the fact that you left Harry's return up to the reader's imagination. That makes the story that much more enjoyable.
  Quote
through~Lily's~eyes
Friday 9th February 2007 17:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Midsummer Night's Dream
Amazing, amazing work. This was beautiful and perfectly encompasses grief and sadness and longing felt by one who desires their true love. It makes me wish for one, myself. Fantastic imagery. I love the sea and could almost taste the salty air. You did a wonderful job with this.
Oh, my phoenixsong name is Connor Landon, by the way. I had to sign in with this account because I started the Connor account when I was 17. Because your story is rated R, it wouldn't let me read it. I'd just like you to think of me as Connor Landon, if you will. And that your story is one of the best I've ever read. Superb work.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 8th February 2007 06:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

Midsummer Night's Dream
Midsummer's Night is a good time for reunions. And, obviously, unions. March is only nine month away.
MagnoliaMama
Thursday 8th February 2007 17:40
Midsummer Night's Dream (Author Response)
Just like Lars' mother said.
  Quote
Anny
Wednesday 7th February 2007 17:38


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Midsummer Night's Dream
cute
  Quote
Gioia
Wednesday 7th February 2007 12:04


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

Midsummer Night's Dream
This was beautiful! You painted such vivid images and made me feel Ginny's emotions so tangibly. There was such a dream-like element to much of this fic - like the reality of Harry's presence was just barely within grasp. It was lovely!

I do wish I understood better, though, how it is that Harry returned! I'm not sure that's really the point, though. ;-) Great job!
MagnoliaMama
Thursday 8th February 2007 17:39
Midsummer Night's Dream (Author Response)
Thank you! That's exactly the effect I was trying to achieve, so I'm glad to hear that I succeeded.

As to your second point, you're right -- the hows and whys of Harry's disappearance and return aren't mean to be the point. I debated delving into that, but realized I'd end up with a very different story than the one I wanted to tell.

I appreciate the time you took to leave a review.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004