Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day by legobean

Showing 1 to 20 of 38 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
aharkins
Thursday 15th May 2008 19:02


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 176

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
Anytime Malfoy and Snape are the butt of a good joke I have to give the story bonus points. Bravo!

  Quote
ankisri
Tuesday 5th February 2008 13:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
i think I can leave a review once i have recovered from laughing.

Draco with roses with snape!..
Oh i will be laughing for quite a while..

and way to go harry!! lol..

Lego.. please keep writing..
  Quote
saulick
Wednesday 30th January 2008 12:04


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day



That was GREAT!!
  Quote
majolie
Tuesday 29th January 2008 14:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
Excellent humor. With Valentine's rolling around again, it was a timely read. Poor Ginny. It's so annoying to have a devoted boyfriend who lets you walk all over him and will do anything to make you happy - except break up with you!
legobean
Tuesday 29th January 2008 21:19
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Thankfully, I've never been in Ginny's shoes, but I would imagine being ready to move on, but having a partner who's giving you no reason to want to could be frustrating.

Thanks for the Read and Review.
  Quote
ProfessorBinns
Monday 3rd December 2007 11:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
Um, I'm not sure what I think of the homophobia--nothing wrong with Draco being gay, of course, but the idea that, if he were, it should make him an object of derision is a bit problematic...) (And shouldn't we be condemning Snape for whatever it is he appears to be doing to Draco? Sexual harassment is wrong, whatever the ages or genders of the abusers.) However I enjoyed the story otherwise. It's a worthwhile perspective into Ginny's negotiation of her feelings for Harry and Dean, as well as her brother. Thanks!
legobean
Monday 3rd December 2007 15:16
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
I guess I don't understand your point of view exactly. There was nothing going on between Snape and Draco. It was easily explained what was going on once Dumbledore and Minerva arrived in his office and found him to be removed a charmed set of flowers from Draco's hand.

As far as Homophobia goes. It isn't intended to be Homophobic, well not entirely anyway. The presumption would be that Draco probably would be somewhat concerned with the appearance of being gay. So yes from that standpoint it added to his humiliation, but the point of the prank was to show Draco being romanticly invovled with his professor and head of house who had given him unfair advantages throghout his time at Hogwarts. That would be a good explination as to why Draco always carried so much favor with Snape. Alas I could have just as easily had Draco unwittingly professing his love to Professor McGonagall, but it wouldn't have been as funny, because there isn't a back story there. I made the choice I thought was funniest as this was intended to be a humorous piece.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 21st October 2007 17:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
WOW!!!!!!!!! I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!
This is an amazing fanfic! I loved the prank that harry played!
legobean
Sunday 21st October 2007 20:05
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Yeah! I'm glad.

Thank you for taking the time to let me know. It's very much appreciated.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Trulle
Saturday 13th October 2007 12:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day

Sorry, but I'm just rolling over the floor laughing!
It's a perfect Harry Potter short story.
Reading your Storys since 5 PM UTC+1.
It's fantastic.
I think you can drive JK out with this stuff
Greetings from Germany
Marvin
legobean
Saturday 13th October 2007 22:48
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
You are quite the speed reader if you can read all of my work in just five hours. It took considerably longer to produce.

I'm glad you like it, thanks for the review!
  Quote
VegHindu101
Thursday 13th September 2007 06:24


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
I reread your story just now and realized that I don't have one bit of sympathy for Dean. I wanted to bind him and lock away so Ginny was free for Harry! *evil grin*
legobean
Friday 14th September 2007 09:53
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Ah poor Dean, nobody loves him
  Quote
VegHindu101
Tuesday 28th August 2007 07:04


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
That. Was. Bloody. BRILLIANT!!

"My Very First Valentine."
It's so fluffily sweet - I love it!
legobean
Tuesday 28th August 2007 09:16
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Thank you
  Quote
XORynkleOX
Monday 30th July 2007 16:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
Wow...What did Malfoy do again?

That\'s so good, I think I\'ll reread it. It fits in PERFECTLY with HBP. I loved it. It was very entertaining

~Kat~
legobean
Monday 30th July 2007 18:25
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Malfoy dared touch Ginny threateningly. Something Harry took great offense too.

I'm really glad you liked it. It's always nice to get such positive reviews. Thanks so much for leaving one.

  Quote
LisaPotter
Thursday 14th June 2007 23:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
whoa, that was quite the story.

snape and malfoy sittin in a tree
F-A-L-L-I-N-G
snape and malfoy sittin in a tree.
F-A-L-L-I-N-G
in love!!

signed:

AKA: Lisa Potter
legobean
Thursday 14th June 2007 23:24
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
See this one's not as bad.

Thanks for the review. But really you should be asleep now. So should I, but that's beside the point.

  Quote
Evelyn
Tuesday 6th March 2007 00:27


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
Very entertaining and cute.
legobean
Tuesday 6th March 2007 07:55
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 20th February 2007 08:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
I'm impressed. There's nothing that outright contradicts canon. It could have happened.
legobean
Tuesday 20th February 2007 12:38
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Of course there's nothing in the story that contradicts canon, my betas are far to talented to let me get away with that. Thanks Katieay!

Although we did argue about the date on which Ginny and Dean became a couple.

Thanks for the read and thanks even more for the review.

  Quote
Bagelz
Saturday 17th February 2007 14:23


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
Stopped in for a quick read - great story, great prank!
legobean
Saturday 17th February 2007 15:31
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Thank you and thanks for reading!
  Quote
timbers
Saturday 17th February 2007 05:39


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
I too liked the missing moment idea and you did a good job fitting this into canon. A very sweet fic- congrats on the story! I enjoyed reading it
legobean
Saturday 17th February 2007 09:09
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed it. I thought your story was very sweet as well.
  Quote
Narumi
Thursday 15th February 2007 11:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
I'm so glad this won!
legobean
Thursday 15th February 2007 17:03
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Me too!

Couldn't have done it without your vote, and everyone else who voted for me. Thanks!
  Quote
swngnblues
Wednesday 14th February 2007 22:05


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
Cute and adorable. : ) A little beyond the scope/capabilities of HBP, but the characters are close enough. : ) The flirt-iness with Harry and Ginny in the common room was cute and enjoyable, if a little odd. Great stuff. : )
legobean
Thursday 15th February 2007 17:02
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Well the common room scene was a challenge because I had really envisioned working in the challenge line long before I wrote the scene. It made the moment a little awkward both in scene, and in keeping true to the characters in HBP.

The rest of the challenge lines were much easier, but I liked that one, and was really determined to find a way to work it in. My personal favorite was definitely Hermione suggesting that she kiss Ginny and then tell Dean that they had switched teams. Anyway, thanks for your support I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
Sionwitch
Wednesday 14th February 2007 14:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
This was the funniest fic I have read in a while, Im waiting to know who you are to read the rest of you work.
legobean
Thursday 15th February 2007 16:57
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Well thanks! Nothing much to read yet but look out for Harry Potter and the Toll of Destiny the first few chapters should be out in the next couple of weeks. It's not really in this same vein of fiction, but I hope you like it anyway!
  Quote
batbogeyhexer
Wednesday 14th February 2007 13:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
SQUEE! That was so cute. What a perfect ending.

I loved Harry\'s letter, I turned into a pile of goo. And he\'s right, Ginny was probably his first Valentine ever.

But poor Ginny, too bad she was dating such a nice guy like Dean.

This was very funny and sweet. Perfect for today. Thanks for making my day and I hope you win!
legobean
Thursday 15th February 2007 16:56
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Well thank you for making my day and allowing me to win!

I'm really glad you liked it.
  Quote
Narumi
Tuesday 13th February 2007 15:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day
That was just delightful- the perfect dose of Valentine's fluff before a night of homework. Though I've read a lot of fics from the Challenge, a Harry/Ginny is always sure to make me melt- you've got my vote!
legobean
Thursday 15th February 2007 16:55
How to Try and Lose a Guy Before Valentine's Day (Author Response)
Thank you for the vote! And the review.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 38 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004