Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For My Funny Valentine by hwimsey

Showing 1 to 20 of 20
Danikay
Tuesday 9th December 2008 19:08


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 239

My Funny Valentine
Aww, I always thought Remus and Tonks were a great couple! I hated that they died! Awesome story anyway!

Danikay
  Quote
chiantiqueen
Sunday 13th January 2008 04:20


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

My Funny Valentine
Wow, great stuff. I think you captured the characters perfectly. Fantastic job!!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Wednesday 3rd October 2007 17:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

My Funny Valentine
cute!!! I loved what remus said to mrs. black lol
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Sunday 12th August 2007 00:40


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

My Funny Valentine
Aah! Better every time!
  Quote
Astrid
Monday 7th May 2007 18:44


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

My Funny Valentine
Aw, love Remus/Tonks
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Tuesday 24th April 2007 21:17


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

My Funny Valentine
Oh, this is lovely! I don't know how I missed it! I came back to reread something and found this! Anyways, I don't know how I didn't get the alert-thingy. But I definitely think you should write Remus/Tonks more often. I love this pairing, and you're SO good at it! I haven't read Portkey before, actually, so I should go check them out. Thank you for the marvelous Remus/Tonks-ness!
  Quote
margot
Friday 16th February 2007 10:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

My Funny Valentine
This was a very romantic piece. Your wording, especially, lent it a nice poignancy, such as here: "He closed his eyes as though he shared something with the plaintive strains that Holiday woman belted." So many of your phrases just slid off the page. It earned my vote in the contest.

I also really liked Tonks' characterization. She was immediately likeable, much like in canon. Things like..."but she already felt like the kid at the adult's table in the Order", "fighting to maintain an erudite tone", "I'm dead clumsy when I dance", and Madeye's "you sure like mash potatoes" (lol).

Now, if Remus is initiating here, I wonder what your take is on his later backpeddling?

I only wished I'd been able to follow the conversation about security charms a bit more. Just a simple concept that the reader could have grasped snatches of perhaps? The elusiveness of it seemed to break up the flow of the piece just a bit.

"A tentative smile came across his face as he gazed at the lone dangling lights. "It's a shame, that." Oh Remus, you sexy dog. : )

  Quote
SillyGillie
Thursday 15th February 2007 12:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

My Funny Valentine
Adorable job! I loved it. Aw the Remus and Tonks interaction was adorable, idiot Sirius butting in like that. The flirtations were perfect. Nice job!
  Quote
mary-v
Wednesday 14th February 2007 12:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

My Funny Valentine
Woah! This was so wonderful! Honestly this was an amazing fic that really described all the insecurities and the wonder and the beginning of a relationship just perfectly!
Amazing work!
  Quote
Narumi
Tuesday 13th February 2007 15:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

My Funny Valentine
This was wonderful! I've never before enjoyed a Remus/Tonks story, even though they're cannon. I just never felt convinced. But this- you did it! I'm a believer.
  Quote
Starbuck_23
Monday 12th February 2007 15:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

My Funny Valentine
That was lovely! A fantastic beginning for Remus and Tonks. And I just love Sirius' candour, it was hilarious. Great job, and good luck!
  Quote
chocoquills
Saturday 10th February 2007 13:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

My Funny Valentine
Wow!...
My pulse's racing!
  Quote
dancinginmagic
Saturday 10th February 2007 06:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 166

My Funny Valentine
Lovely. Simply lovely.
  Quote
Niffler87
Friday 9th February 2007 08:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

My Funny Valentine
oh! I love Remus/Tonks. I was a big Remus/Sirius fan until HBP, but now... I dunno, I think both work, actually. But I really liked the way you did this. I'm def going to check out that recommendation you mentioned in the beg of the fic. Brilliantly done! Can't wait to find out who you are so I can read your other work.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 8th February 2007 19:15


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

My Funny Valentine
A perfect title for a Remus and Tonks tale. They are so very different and yet make beautiful music together, even when they don't yet know it.
  Quote
CrumpleHornedKiwi
Thursday 8th February 2007 17:26


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 224

My Funny Valentine
Oooh lots of sexual tension - I loved it
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Thursday 8th February 2007 12:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

My Funny Valentine
Very sweet.
  Quote
aurora luminis
Thursday 8th February 2007 11:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

My Funny Valentine
Sigh, there is so much pathos in this peace that I thought I should take a walk after reading it...except we had a snow storm. This is one of the two: either this or another will get my vote for first. Your eye for detail, for conveying emotion, and low-keyed humor really made it so right for the V.Day, so right for those particular characters at their point in history. Thank you ever so much.
  Quote
lantis222
Thursday 8th February 2007 10:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

My Funny Valentine
Sigh, that was lovely. I do like Remus and Tonks. Very good job!
  Quote
amamama
Thursday 8th February 2007 04:52


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

My Funny Valentine
Sweet! I could feel Tonks' embarrassment as she discovered they weren't alone in the kitchen anymore. How bad to be in that lovely situation and have your mom's cousin tease you. Wonderful description of the thrill of the flirt.

Cheers!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 20
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004