Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Cat's Comfort by Felix Felicis

Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Sunday 31st August 2008 16:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

A Cat's Comfort
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 13th July 2008 09:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

A Cat's Comfort
aww!!! that was so cute! you described this so well!!!!!
loved it!
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 15th July 2008 18:31
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it. Kind of gives a nice warm, fuzzy feeling doesn't it?
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 19th June 2008 05:12


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

A Cat's Comfort
Very well done. Thanks for the beautiful image you have brought to my mind. I really like this concept. p
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 15th July 2008 18:31
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
Thanks! I was going for something out of the ordinary here. It was a challenge so I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Wednesday 18th June 2008 10:19


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

A Cat's Comfort
Wow, this whole thing was so ... relaxed and languid. I kind of want to go nap, haha. Wonderful peaceful mood throughout and a very cute idea. I loved all the descriptions: "A few bright, warm rays of sunlight pour in through the old castle windows like hot cocoa on a freezing winter’s night", "They’re colors you’re familiar with, but you’ve never been able to name them. They’re beautiful like the setting sun, warm like a candle’s flickering flame, and sweet like a ripened orange". Also, it was an interesting POV. All around warm and fuzzy goodness!
Felix Felicis
Wednesday 18th June 2008 18:28
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
Thank you so much for the heart-warming review, you're very generous! I was really trying to bring you into the story and make you feel everything around you, hence the level of detail and the POV. Thanks for the review.
  Quote

Tuesday 8th April 2008 17:47


A Cat's Comfort
Loved it, nice job!

Anonymus
  Quote
majolie
Sunday 10th February 2008 18:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

A Cat's Comfort
Lovely.
  Quote
harry_ginnyfan
Sunday 9th December 2007 05:04


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 191

A Cat's Comfort
Nice story! I really liked it. Cheers!

  Quote
lindaleeann
Friday 5th October 2007 09:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

A Cat's Comfort
This story makes all right with the world even for a short time. Thank you.
  Quote
pyromain
Wednesday 12th September 2007 10:05


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

A Cat's Comfort
really loved it thanks, I would have thought of ginny's form more as a tiger or another wild cat.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Sunday 25th February 2007 09:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

A Cat's Comfort
'They’re colors you’re familiar with, but you’ve never been able to name them. They’re beautiful like the setting sun, warm like a candle’s flickering flame, and sweet like a ripened orange.' -- very nice lines, though I've always thought of Ginny as more reddish than orangeish
You write such nice, joyful pieces.
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 27th February 2007 06:04
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
Thank you for the kind review. I'm glad you liked it. For some reason I always seem to write happy endings. Can't help it, I guess. Oh well. Thanks for stopping by!
  Quote
Ladybug
Friday 16th February 2007 07:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

A Cat's Comfort
That's a lovely visual and sensual scene (I mean in terms of the senses of sight and touch!), well done with your second-person voice, it really puts the reader in the place of Harry. My very favourite line: her peace is her own and even though she offers it to you freely, you have yet to learn to ask for it. Very nice portrayal of Harry's character there. Love it!
Felix Felicis
Saturday 17th February 2007 18:13
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I tried so hard to make the feelings palpable and you're saying so makes me very happy! I imagine that the life of a cat is all about senses, which is why they play such an important part in this story.

You picked my favorite line, too! It really does seem like Harry, and I just couldn't resist. Thank you for taking the time to review!
  Quote
hwimsey
Thursday 15th February 2007 21:03


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

A Cat's Comfort
Oh my goodness -- I truly loved this piece. You wrote like a cat -- don't laugh -- I'm serious. You captured this world between human and feline perfectly. I admire anyone who can write in second person as it is THE hardest POV to capture and you do it wonderfully.

You border on poetry -- the lazy and sensual lilt of the prose is remarkable.

I don't know what else to say except this is marvelous -- one of my favorite FF one shots I've ever read. And after living in an "angst" world for so long -- this is a breath of fresh air.

Bravo, Felix -- you have outdone yourself.

P.S. You have to love Iviolinist.
Felix Felicis
Saturday 17th February 2007 18:10
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
Oh my. I honestly don't know what to say. Your gracious praise makes me feel... well, happy! To hear that it was one of your favorites is truly an honor for me. A gift which I can't possibly repay with mere words.

That's funny about the angst thing. It's always good to have balance in your life (even if your life is only FF) and I sometimes find I need to read a bit of angst to counteract the loads of fluff I read. As for my inspiration, all it takes is a sunny day and a sleeping cat to create a story, as I'm sure you're well aware.

How could anyone not love Iviolinist? The bowing smiley is perfect. I can't believe I've never seen it before! Anyway, our beta is great for many reasons, not the least of which is that she lets me keep some of my commas! I can hear her now. She's thinking 'I bet he puts them in on purpose just to see how many I'll let him keep!'.

Thank you so much for your generous review. It warms my heart!
  Quote
Katn255
Thursday 15th February 2007 19:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

A Cat's Comfort
wow, that was sooo sweet
Felix Felicis
Saturday 17th February 2007 17:52
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
Thanks! That's sweet of you to say!
  Quote
pottervader
Thursday 15th February 2007 17:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

A Cat's Comfort
Beautiful one-shot. Excellent bit of fluff. You did a great job.
Felix Felicis
Saturday 17th February 2007 17:51
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
I sure seem to write a lot of fluffy one-shots... Guess I can't help myself. Anyway, I'm glad you liked it and thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
DaFalcon
Thursday 15th February 2007 08:51


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 237

A Cat's Comfort
That was so beautiful. Nicely done. Very comforting. I may not be a cat lover, but I'm definitely a HG lover.
Felix Felicis
Saturday 17th February 2007 17:50
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. I suppose that knowing it's really Ginny makes it so you don't have to like cats, really. At least that's the case for all of us HGers out there. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
whimsy
Thursday 15th February 2007 07:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 29

A Cat's Comfort
I was already pretty sure early on that the cat was an animagus, but what made it a certainty was the cat giving Harry a "gentle, loving look ". When was the last time any cat gave a human a gentle loving look?

Although I already believed that JKR was heading towards H/G before OotP, what convinced me that Harry would be with Ginny was the scene in OotP where they are waiting for news of Mr. Weasley after Nagini bit him. Harry sees Ginny curled up like a cat on one of the chairs with her eyes gleaming in the firelight. That image from Harry's perspective is so attractive that I felt sure that it was a deliberate signal from JKR.
Felix Felicis
Saturday 17th February 2007 17:49
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
HA! Good point. I'm not sure any of my cats have ever looked at me that way.

Yes, the scene with Harry watching the firelight in Ginny's eyes probably convinced a lot of people. I can just see her curled up in a chair, looking just like a cat. In the back of my mind that's probably where the idea of her Animagus form came from. Thanks for your insightful review!
  Quote
Pyrowriter76
Thursday 15th February 2007 07:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

A Cat's Comfort
aww this was so cute i really liked this. great story. makes me want to go find my cat!!!
Felix Felicis
Saturday 17th February 2007 17:45
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
Yes, go find your cat and give it a pet for me! There's nothing as peaceful (to me anyway) as a cat sleeping in the sun. I'm glad you liked it and I'm glad you took the time to review!
  Quote
HiJane_2
Thursday 15th February 2007 07:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

A Cat's Comfort
Oh. That was such a cute story! I love cats', their my favorite animals! Excellently written, and I loved the cute little moments of a carefree mindset from Harry. Great! I loved it! ~HiJane_2
Felix Felicis
Saturday 17th February 2007 17:44
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
If you couldn't tell, cats are my favorite, too. I really wanted to give Harry a moment's peace. He deserves it every now and then, and every bit that Ginny can help only makes it better. Thank you for reviewing!
  Quote
barbara
Thursday 15th February 2007 04:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

A Cat's Comfort
Yummy! Slinky and sensuous.
Felix Felicis
Saturday 17th February 2007 17:42
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
Ah yes, the life of a cat. Thanks!
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Thursday 15th February 2007 04:33


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

A Cat's Comfort
Aaww! That was adorable! And it was so beautiful, like poetry. I love how it was so simple, with only one line of dialogue, and yet the descriptions didn't feel tedious like some writing gets. It was really sweet. n.n I don't like cats that much, but I loved it, so don't worry about having to be a cat lover. I kinda feel sleepy now, it was so peaceful and relaxing, LOL.
Felix Felicis
Saturday 17th February 2007 17:42
A Cat's Comfort (Author Response)
I'm so happy you liked it. Peaceful and relaxing is exactly what I was going for. I'm honored by you using those words to describe it. I have to admit I was a bit worried that you, the reader, would have to like cats to enjoy the story, but I'm happy to be wrong Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004