Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Ginny's Last Year of Home Schooling by Grandma Kate

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
hwimsey
Friday 9th March 2007 15:59


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

2:Ginny Knits and Goes to See Luna-October, 1991
There will be more, right? I mean, this isn't the end? You're not going to end now? Do I sound desperate enough yet?

Ooooo. Halloween, my favorite -- what do you have in store for us?

Liked the feel of this chapter -- very homey and warm.

So when is the update?

h.
Grandma Kate
Friday 9th March 2007 16:54
2:Ginny Knits and Goes to See Luna-October, 1991 (Author Response)
Oh hwimsey, you are too kind. Ginny's Last Year of Home Schooling goes through the moment the Hogwarts Express leaves the station with her on it. The next story is tentatively called Ginny's First Year at Hogwarts. How could I not use Molly's Howler to Ron the day the new term starts?

My flist members like the description of my writing as 'homey' but all I am doing is trying to reflect JK Rowling's books mostly through Molly's POV.

Chapter 3 is with my Beta now.
  Quote
Patches
Friday 9th March 2007 00:16


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

2:Ginny Knits and Goes to See Luna-October, 1991
This was a nice chapter. Molly teaching Ginny to cook had dividends! She got a nice cake for her birthday . A nice homey chapter. Thank you for writing. I look forward to more. p
Grandma Kate
Friday 9th March 2007 03:31
2:Ginny Knits and Goes to See Luna-October, 1991 (Author Response)
I am glad that you are enjoying this story. Since JK Rowling told us when all of the Weasleys were born, it seemed sensible to celebrate their birthdays.

I think your description 'homey' is spot on.
  Quote
Lily Flower
Wednesday 7th March 2007 14:22


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

2:Ginny Knits and Goes to See Luna-October, 1991
*Claps* Yay! A Sequel! I'm so excited!
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 7th March 2007 14:31
2:Ginny Knits and Goes to See Luna-October, 1991 (Author Response)
I'm glad that you are excited to read another chapter of Ginny's Last Year of Home Schooling. There will be lots of letters from her brothers and a few from other people so she and her family will be able to keep track of what is happening away from the Burrow.

In November they will learn about the 'full grown mountain troll'.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Wednesday 7th March 2007 05:57


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

2:Ginny Knits and Goes to See Luna-October, 1991
Hooray, another Grandma Kate update!

Funny how it is little things in a story that stick out. Ginny with a "rich cream" color for herself. Hmm... I never thought of that as her "color." Poor Harry, by 15 she is probably stunning in that color. And Molly thinking Lily would have been pleased with green for Harry is so sad, for both of them. The basis for a friendship between Ginny and Luna that predates Hogwarts makes sense.

Looking forward to your next chapter.
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 7th March 2007 08:14
2:Ginny Knits and Goes to See Luna-October, 1991 (Author Response)
Thank you for reading the update. We had a bit of a delay in getting it up this week.

I was a strawberry blonde before I turned a Grand-mum color, so I know how hard it is to find a color that doesn't clash with red or auburn hair. I think Ginny is already aware of what she'd like to wear. The Weasley finances make it hard.

Ginny and Luna are fun to speculate on. Given the small size of the Wizarding world, it seems likely that the only two girls in the same year that live in the same town would have families that know each other.
  Quote
pottervader
Wednesday 7th March 2007 05:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

2:Ginny Knits and Goes to See Luna-October, 1991
Nice chapter. It's interesting that Ginny is getting good at household charms. There are quite a few stories where she's not as good as her mother in cooking. I can't wait for them to find out what happened to Ron, Harry and Hermione on Halloween night. Update soon.
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 7th March 2007 08:18
2:Ginny Knits and Goes to See Luna-October, 1991 (Author Response)
Thanks again for reading. I can understand why Molly would have been pretty cautious letting the twins use her wand to do anything. But the Wizarding world is fairly conventional in gender roles, so she'd waste no time teaching Ginny how to run a household.

Yes, the November letters from Hogwarts were fun to write. I've been told I do a good Minerva McGonagall.
  Quote
lantis222
Wednesday 7th March 2007 05:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

2:Ginny Knits and Goes to See Luna-October, 1991
How fun for Molly! There's nothing more special than having your kids remember you. I bet Halloween at the Lovegoods will be interesting. You did wonderfully, I can't wait for the next update!
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 7th March 2007 08:25
2:Ginny Knits and Goes to See Luna-October, 1991 (Author Response)
Thany you for your faithful reading and reveiwing.

Since JK Rowling has given us the birthdates of all the Weasleys, it seemed like a good idea to celebrate all of them.

Remember, Cedric Diggory's family lives in the same town. This is a short chapter because the letters describing the incident with the 'full-grown mountain troll' come in November.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004