Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Torch by Rhetor

Showing 1 to 20 of 36 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
a_wilson
Friday 14th January 2011 21:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

The Torch
This is so much of a more satisfying ending than all the hundreds of pages in Deathly Hallows; it hits that bittersweet-longing spot on every re-read.

I've read in your other responses that you're spending more time with original fiction these days, but I really do hope you consider continuing (and sharing!) that sequel!
  Quote
Gioia
Saturday 1st January 2011 01:54


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

The Torch
I still love this so very much.
Rhetor
Saturday 1st January 2011 17:16
The Torch (Author Response)
Thanks, Joia. You know I value your good opinion.

Happy New Year,

Ken
  Quote
Worldmaker
Wednesday 1st December 2010 08:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

The Torch
Very nice. But it does make me long for the next bit of the story... where Hermione actually begins teaching the new generation of wizards in Britain, and takes her place among the legends of the wizarding world.
Rhetor
Wednesday 1st December 2010 21:33
The Torch (Author Response)
Thank you! You're very kind.

I actually did begin a sequel, called "The Schoolmistress," but I never finished it.

Since that time, I've focussed primarily on original fiction; I've had several stories published. My latest story appeared on the online magazine Cosmos last week:

www.cosmosmagazine.com/fiction/3719/tenure-track

Best wishes,

Ken
  Quote
ionik27
Friday 1st August 2008 08:52


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 81

The Torch
Wow! So much guilt and sorrow... and it is so like Hermione to find a ray of hope in a book!! After I first read this story I started to think about what might happen next, but I realized that you didn't write the story for it's future, but for the emotion of now... I just loved it!!
  Quote
BlueSkye
Tuesday 15th April 2008 10:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

The Torch
When I started reading reading fanfiction after DH this story touched my heart. That terrible loneliness, guilt and hopelessness is well-written. I have reread it several times to enjoy that bittersweet hopeful ending.
  Quote
RdeHwyll
Monday 14th April 2008 19:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 36

The Torch
This is the first fanfiction I've been able to read in a single sitting since my stroke, but I'm very happy to have found it. Your work here shows why you desreved to win the contest. You captured the angst of the survivor of a disaster, yet managed to turn everything around by the end of the tale. The plot itself is brilliant, and opens a whole new AU for the future. I'd like to see what you might do with the plotline set in 2009 and beyond. It could be very interesting...
Rhetor
Monday 14th April 2008 20:32
The Torch (Author Response)
Thank you kindly. It's an honor to be the first FF you've read in your recovery.

I haven't done much FF writing lately because I've been trying to write original fiction for the last six months. (I actually had a story accepted for publication last week!) But I do have about 3,000 words of a sequel to this story, called "The Schoolmistress." It's set in 2009.

I'll be reading "The Torch" aloud (along with "Minding the Baby") at the Terminus conference in Chicago this August.

Ken
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 8th April 2008 06:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Torch
that would be insane!!! And thats crazy how that spell wiped out everyone...
she could probably get epeople from other countries to help her...
Rhetor
Monday 14th April 2008 20:27
The Torch (Author Response)
Thanks again!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 18th November 2007 19:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Torch
wow... this was interesting! I cant believe that everyone just vanished... and all that was left was hermonie... that must suck... but wouldnt other wizards move to britian over time...

Rhetor
Monday 14th April 2008 20:26
The Torch (Author Response)
Thanks. I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
Minisinoo
Saturday 8th September 2007 20:36


The Torch
Oh, lovely. As a professor, I was, as you may imagine, thrilled by the ending. What better way for her to feel she can redeem herself than to educate the next generation?
Rhetor
Saturday 8th September 2007 21:17
The Torch (Author Response)
I'm honored, Min. Although didn't intend it when I started, by the time I finished the story I had the eerie sense that this was what Hermione was born to do, that her life and character as we knew them were somehow leading up to this.

I was disappointed when JKR's post-DH interviews indicated that Hermione'd end up working for the Ministry, even though I saw how it might appeal to the activist in her. I always felt that she was the one who was destined to be an academic, which is the way I've written her in at least two other stories. But like you, I'm a bit biased in that particular area.

Did you like the "mutation?" I thought of it immediately when I read the beginning of "The Room with the Computer."

  Quote
CheddarTrek
Monday 13th August 2007 15:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

The Torch
All I can say is "wow."

I think this is a brilliant story for what it is. The power and emotion behind everything is just incredible, as is your characterization of Hermione.

I must also commend you for not trying to expand this story despite it's popularity. I think that trying to continue this tale would only run you into problems that would take away from the power of this one-shot. For instance... Hermione won't be able to access everything already existing in the Wizarding World, she isn't all-knowing nor all-powerful. Wouldn't she devote copious amounts of time and effort into reversing the spell? How will she control the wizarding world? Once the students begin graduating they won't really have anywhere to go, nor any wizarding businesses or companies to pay them. What happens when students come along who are more powerful than she is? etc. etc.

I think you've done a brilliant job with this story and I love it for what it is and what you meant it to be. Kudos!

CT
Rhetor
Monday 13th August 2007 20:47
The Torch (Author Response)
Thank you so much. As you probably know, the story was written as a response to a very specific prompt, and I tried to stay true to the prompt.

I have wondered what might happen next, or maybe what might happen much later, and I've jotted down a scene or two, but those jottings take a completely different tack and feel utterly different than this story does. I don't think it's illegitimate to write another story set in this "universe," so long as I don't claim it's part of this same story. This story is about rising from the ashes.

Fan fiction readers' desire for sequels to everything they read is completely natural, when you consider why most people start reading fan fiction to begin with.

~Ken
  Quote
pyromain
Tuesday 17th July 2007 10:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

The Torch
Although like most I would like Harry and friends to survive I most say I loved this strory. It gives hope, that will something seems to have been all but vanished nature finds a way to regrow. An excelent story I think. Keep up the good work and iI'm glad I listend too you to read your other storys because there worth reading. Thanks for writing them.
Rhetor
Wednesday 18th July 2007 16:53
The Torch (Author Response)
I badly want Harry and the gang to survive too; I hope they do. I guess we'll know on Saturday. I am thrilled, impressed and grateful that you ploughed through all my stories, and in so short a time! Wow. It's a tremendous compliment, and I'm grateful. ~Ken
  Quote
NATE
Friday 15th June 2007 22:04


The Torch
WOW. I do not often write reviews, but after reading this it is a MUST

This is absolutely the best fan fiction I have read. Seriously, this is the fiction I have always been waiting to read! The plot and ideas were incredible! Your other stories were all also wonderful! I have been searching for fanfictions like yours since I started reading them two years ago. Their plots are perfect and it helps that they are VERY well written as well.

I started reading you fictions on mugglenet, but after finishing those, i searched other sites for more of your stories, which was a first!

Seriously, your stories have brought me so much joy! (although the topic is often depressing:rolleyes I thankyou for writing these great fictions and hope you will keep writing!

Absolutley amazing!

NATE
Rhetor
Saturday 16th June 2007 11:49
The Torch (Author Response)
Thanks, Nate. I'm delighted andhonored that you like the stories so well that you've actually gone out to look for more! I think there's one more story on SIYE (it's a work-in-progress and a satire, under my SIYE name, "kschneyer). Also my Live Journal page (under "rhetoretician") has one or two other snippets, and I tend to post things there before I post them anywhere else.

(Oh, and I do hope you'll leave more reviews for the stories you like. Personally I write because I want to touch and move other people; reviews are the only way to find out whether I've succeeded!
  Quote
Mlee
Thursday 7th June 2007 20:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

The Torch
That was lovely. And who better to do it than Hermione Granger?
Rhetor
Friday 8th June 2007 08:19
The Torch (Author Response)
Thank you. I'm glad you liked it. And I agree -- this is the task Hermione was born to accomplish.
  Quote
hahaheeheehaha
Thursday 3rd May 2007 14:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

The Torch
wow this is a great story its definately a phoenix moment for hermione. thanks for writing it it rocks

oh and i like your name
Rhetor
Monday 7th May 2007 06:31
The Torch (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you liked the story -- and the name.
  Quote
Ginzig
Thursday 19th April 2007 15:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

The Torch
Wow! That was amazing! I could really imagine how Hermione was feeling, so alone and responsible. Then shock, hope, and finally, a mission. Amazing concept for that spell. I think my favorite line was "Gradually, like a flower opening on barren soil, her hand unclenched; the blood flowed back into her fingers." Your stories are always so well written and heartfelt. Thanks for telling me about your other stories on this site. I will come back and look at the others soon. ~Kim
Rhetor
Thursday 19th April 2007 18:46
The Torch (Author Response)
Aw, thanks, Kim. It makes me feel wonderful that you like the work so well. I was fond of that line too, and it was one of the very last ones I wrote, on a third or fourth or fifth draft.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Wednesday 18th April 2007 19:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

The Torch
Wow. I can't believe that Hermione thought that the spell would get rid of all the magic. Of course new ones were going to be born. I love the stuff you write about, very interesting.
Rhetor
Thursday 19th April 2007 18:45
The Torch (Author Response)
Thanks for saying so. I think we can forgive Hermione, given the depression into which she was sinking, for not thinking the problem through.
  Quote
julla
Wednesday 18th April 2007 13:32


The Torch
Great! I think it is good. Diffrent than all the others I've read, but really good .
Rhetor
Thursday 19th April 2007 18:43
The Torch (Author Response)
Thank you! Different is good.
  Quote
Jacynthe
Tuesday 17th April 2007 21:40


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 141

The Torch
This story is 2,258 words long and I wouldn't change a single one.

Thank you for writing it.
Rhetor
Wednesday 18th April 2007 06:15
The Torch (Author Response)
Aw, thank you for reading it.
  Quote
lindaleeann
Saturday 17th March 2007 10:48


The Torch
Thank you for the gift -- a reminder that even in the loneliest and

darkest of times, there is hope and light.
Rhetor
Friday 23rd March 2007 12:32
The Torch (Author Response)
Thank you. That's what I was trying to do.
  Quote
Neli P
Thursday 15th March 2007 19:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

The Torch
Awesome ! A real "phoenix" moment beautifully written
The idea of the Reflective Curse is very interesting, I can absolutely picture it in Book 7. As for the effects of it ... OMG ... I've always thought that Harry will (not die, but) loose all his magical abilities after his final battle of Voldemort (!), Maybe you, Rhetor, have the Sight after all ??
Anyway, keep writing! Your stories are always GREAT
Rhetor
Friday 23rd March 2007 12:31
The Torch (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm glad you like them.

I'm sure I don't have the Sight, especially as to JKR's plots. I don't predict what's to come; I merely create futures that suit the point I'm trying to make...
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 36 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004