Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Bring Me to Life by KEDme

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
jan10002
Friday 13th July 2007 17:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

1. Everybody’s Fool
there's more? the status says it finished..
  Quote
DailyProphetReporting
Wednesday 30th May 2007 01:27


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 180

1. Everybody’s Fool
Well, I said I'd give this a try, and though it took longer than I initially expected (my light read after Shadow of the Serpent turned out to be three novel-length fics), here I am. This is every bit as dark and tormented as I expected it would be, though, so I think going in other directions for a while was justified. I find that serious angst is best taken in small doses.

And you certainly don't hold back. This probably the most tormented I've ever seen Harry portrayed in a post-Hogwarts fic where the war was won and all the main characters came out alive and well. I'm not sure whether that's a good thing or a bad thing (I'll come back to that later), but I'm quite impressed with how well you illustrated it. Harry's emotions -- the isolation, the loss, the self-loathing and even the desire -- are all very tangible. That makes every action understandable within context, which speaks pretty well about your ability to use bring across your characters they way you want.

You also used your secondary characters quite deftly to show that Harry's not nearly as alone as he thinks he is. It seems everyone else -- and especially Ginny -- is looking out for him, even if he's not doing it himself, which bodes a lot more brightly for what's ahead.

There‘s a but, though. I‘m having a hard time accepting the premise here. My understanding of Harry as a character, a young man who fights because he wants the chance to live a normal life and because it's the right thing to do, just doesn't fit with the character you show here. I could understand him feeling lost and useless after completing his life's mission, but with the degree of isolation and self-hatred in this it feels a lot more like Harry failed in that mission. I think you're going to need to dig deeper and show me those traumatic moments and how they changed Harry for me to be truly convinced.

But I definitely respect that you’re willing to take on the worst-case scenario, something that most H/G writers (myself included) wouldn’t do. And since your writing is as clear and crisp as ever, I’m looking forward to seeing what you’ve got planned both going moving forward and looking back to fill in the gaps.

-KC
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Sunday 20th May 2007 06:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

1. Everybody’s Fool
Wow, Harry's obviously in a lot of pain. This is very well-written. I particularly liked how you describe Ginny's effect on him out by the tree and how he starts to feel again. So sad that they were interrupted, maybe?
At first I didn't think Harry was so bad off at the start -- he's sharing a place with Ron and Hermione and in auror training.
  Quote
legobean
Sunday 13th May 2007 07:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

1. Everybody’s Fool
Ah poor Harry.

I'm slighly surprised Ginny didn't tackle him when he started to run away from her again.

Your writing style has really matured over the years, you were really able to take me that party at the Burrow.

  Quote
Acciowand
Wednesday 9th May 2007 12:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 41

1. Everybody’s Fool
I just found your story and I love it!! You did a great job with the angst in Harry and the livliness of Ginny. I really like the scene where Ginny took the dishes to "lighten Harry's load". Good symbolism. I can't wait to read chapter 2- I'm off to do it now!
  Quote
eaglesnest
Saturday 5th May 2007 12:16


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 134

1. Everybody’s Fool
Probably my most favorite genre is post-Hogwarts angsty stories with H/G. You have certainly painted him into a dark corner with RHr tolerating him and Ginny trying but recognizing the many times he has pushed her away. But that searing kiss was so encouraging.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 28th March 2007 18:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

1. Everybody’s Fool
You write Harry on the edge of despair very well. His friends do not know what to do to help him and he rejects Ginny even as he responds to her.

Certainly seems like Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome to me. Voldemort must have done something so terrible that I can't comprehend it.
  Quote
MsLupin
Monday 19th March 2007 08:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

1. Everybody’s Fool
That was great! I love it! I can not wait for more. I am suprised that you have Harry in the Aurror program. Who know maybe he will get out....
  Quote
bbnaz
Monday 19th March 2007 08:09


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 108

1. Everybody’s Fool
This took me multiple attempts to read. Not because of your story, rather because I had friends who whilst not fighting and conquering the most evil person of the age, did succumb to such a state you have Harry in right now. So it was painful to read.

I am interested to see what you do with it and will be coming along as it unfolds. That is unless it becomes to difficult to read.

Your writing is brilliant as usual.
  Quote
EmeraldPrincess
Saturday 17th March 2007 15:12


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

1. Everybody’s Fool
O.O Amazing.
  Quote
ninkenate
Friday 16th March 2007 18:02


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

1. Everybody’s Fool
Yes! I love this story. I can't wait to see it all posted. I hate that Harry's in denial about what he truly needs to feel better but hope he sees the truth soon before it's too late.
  Quote
nerd2006
Friday 16th March 2007 12:25


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 111

1. Everybody’s Fool
Poor Harry! Hm, I hope we find out what's wrong with him next chapter. For some reason I think he's the final Horcrux, but I don't think that's likely since Ron and Hermione would notice if one hadn't been found. But anyway, I greatly enjoyed this, and I can't wait for the next chapter!
  Quote
swngnblues
Friday 16th March 2007 07:20


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

1. Everybody’s Fool
Angst! YAY!

You paint such a dark and tortured Harry so well. As I was reading it, I was drawing on my own periods of teen-angst and drama, and completely immersed in it. Great portrayal!

This looks like it'll be a fun ride (at least for those of us who like angst! ). I'm picking up on something that may or may not be significant - that this curse from Voldemort seems to make Harry want to shut down, but then when something gets in, that he allows himself to feel, it roars up - like an addiction almost? Dunno if I'm reading/interpreting that right... but just that the kiss seemed to go beyond passion and he lost himself in it... make sense?

And did he not give Ginny her present?! String the boy up!!

Till next week!
  Quote
EJH0904
Thursday 15th March 2007 17:55


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

1. Everybody’s Fool
Holy , that was . . . well -angsty, deep, passionate, emotional - everything I absolutely adore! This is amazing to read; I've been waiting for something this good for a long time. Can't wait for the next update - you've left me desperate for more.
KEDme
Thursday 15th March 2007 18:03
1. Everybody’s Fool (Author Response)
Thank you, that means a lot. This fic is the result of a plot bunny I couldn't get rid of so I indulged in it when I was wanting to tear my hair out from the writing od SotS. I wanted to do something more canon based, a post-Hogwarts more mature story. Originally it started out as NC-17 because I wanted to challenge myself to write that genre, but I toned it down to be able to present it to a larger audience. Hopefully it doesn't go over the top... which is why I included the warning. This chapter was the one I fiddled with the most to get it perfect. I wanted a tortured Harry who the readers could be sympathetic towards, but I don't drag it out any longer than necessary. There is an element of angst that stays, but the romance is coming.
  Quote
J62442
Thursday 15th March 2007 13:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

1. Everybody’s Fool
This is dark and interesting. I enjoyed it a lot. I'm dying to find out what happens next. What I like the most is that it is a very realistic look at what could happen to Harry when all is said and done. Looking forward to next week.
KEDme
Thursday 15th March 2007 15:05
1. Everybody’s Fool (Author Response)
It is very intense in the beginning, but there's plenty of sweetness to come, don't worry. The angst is more internal, and it won't keep my fav couple apart for long. Ginny's a very determined lass, and she won't stand for it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!
  Quote
madaboutharry
Thursday 15th March 2007 13:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

1. Everybody’s Fool
Wow! That was very intense. I am anxious to see more. I really enjoyed your other stories, especially shadow of the serpent.
KEDme
Thursday 15th March 2007 15:02
1. Everybody’s Fool (Author Response)
Thanks. I honestly think this one is my best work to date, but you be the judge. It's so different than the other. I have another one coming up that's lighter and not as angsty, so I'm trying to hit all kinds of skills to improve my writing. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
SillyGillie
Thursday 15th March 2007 12:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

1. Everybody’s Fool
Fantastic job. It's so interesting to see this dark Harry. Very nice job on all accounts!
KEDme
Thursday 15th March 2007 14:59
1. Everybody’s Fool (Author Response)
Thanks! I love Dark!Harry fics, so long as he's still basically Harry and good. This is not an evil Harry, it's a broken Harry. That's so facinating for me to explore. I'm glad you liked it. Next chapter is all Ginny. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 15th March 2007 12:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

1. Everybody’s Fool
This is a really dark Harry. It is so sad to think someone would ever be like this. Thanks for writing. I look forward to more of this story. p
KEDme
Thursday 15th March 2007 14:56
1. Everybody’s Fool (Author Response)
It is, but it doesn't stay this way for long. It's a seven chapter fic. Things improve fast, so don't think you'll be drowning in angst the entire time. This is by far the darkest chapter yet. Bust then again... I'm not finished yet, lol, so not promises. Part 2 is still a WIP. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Chatmandu
Thursday 15th March 2007 11:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

1. Everybody’s Fool
I usually like to make some mention of mechanics, or pacing in a review, but this beginning is every bit a good as your previous stories.
You have certainly given us a dark and angsty (is that a word?) beginning. I think "Bring Me to Life" is a song of hope, a song of change. I was wondering if you had Ginny calling forth another line from the song Breath into me and make me real, bring me to life. But you have to want to live again don't you. I'll hush now and look forward to seeing where you are taking this plot and this Harry.
KEDme
Thursday 15th March 2007 14:50
1. Everybody’s Fool (Author Response)
Yes, this is the darkest, most angsty chapter of the lot. It's all uphill from here, but of course will need to take a dip in the beginning of part 2, otherwise there would be no obstacle to overcome. There are no lines from the songs in this fic, but it was inspired by the lyrics, especially the album Fallen. The next chapter is called "Going Under". It's from Ginny's POV and takes things one step further, but also gives a lot of background info and another insight into Harry's problem. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
smoloughney
Thursday 15th March 2007 07:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

1. Everybody’s Fool
Oh poor Harry! There is so much pain here and you write it very well.
Looking forward to the coming chapters
KEDme
Thursday 15th March 2007 14:39
1. Everybody’s Fool (Author Response)
Thanks. This chapter has gone through so many re-writes that I can't even tell you how many times I've edited it. It's the chapter I've played with the most to get it exactly perfect. I'm glad you liked it. Some happier chapters to come soon... I promise.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004