Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Bring Me to Life by KEDme

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
DailyProphetReporting
Thursday 31st May 2007 02:15


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 180

2. Going Under
Good going, Kedme. Your revelations here answered most of my concerns from the first chapter. Harry's depression definitely makes sense now, even if, as an insanely rational person, his actions have me scratching my head. I think it would be nice to hear about more about this spell, especially from Harry's perspective, because it's so fundamental to the story, but you've pushed me past the initial skepticism, which tells me you were either thinking ahead nicely as you were writing or listening to your readers and betas as you went along. And either way, that's definitely a good thing.

Now I'm finding myself a bit startled at how fast this is developing and how aggressively Ginny is, er, embracing Harry and all his problems. But that was the only way this was going to work without it become a 100,000-word story, wasn't it? I can definitely see how playing up the understanding and compassion Ginny showed in HBP over her no-nonsense attitude in OotP suits your purposes. And it's made for a lot of drama, that's for sure!

On a side note, this got me wondering:

Captain Greenhorn ...


Are you a Test of Time fan or is this coincidence? I ask because I just read that story for the first time last week, and it is rather excellent.

So, like I said, good job. I'm interested to see how this keeps developing.

-KC
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Sunday 20th May 2007 11:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

2. Going Under
The bracelet is nice; when I Harry banished it, I thought it was gone. I guess either someone retrieved it or else he sent it to Ginny's room (but was it intentional?).
I'm glad Ginny could help Harry. But somehow I have the filling that its not going to be this easy, is it?
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 28th March 2007 19:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

2. Going Under
This is a very powerful chapter. I wrote a long review quoting the three points I thought were the most important- but it's off in cyber space now. Sigh!

I liked the interaction between Molly and Ginny and Hermione's very clear explanation of how they had modified the curse to kill Voldemort. But I was most touched by the final scene in which Ginny takes some of the pain that Harry is suffering. The consequences will be great.
KEDme
Wednesday 28th March 2007 20:28
2. Going Under (Author Response)
Oh dear... I would have liked to have read that, too. I'm really interested to hear what others are getting from it. I mean, I know what I'm intending, but sometimes others come away with something totally different. I also liked the Ginny/Molly interaction, and there's a lovely scene coming up with Arthur as well. As I said before, there will be no real resolution in this fic. From here on out it's just a lot of fluffy goodness, with some darker undertones. The angst is back full force, however, in Part 2. Let's just say it takes awhile before the fallout. I was having a difficult time deciding where to go with this and it finally hit me that I needed two separate stories in order to bring it all together. Each is dependednt on the other, but at the same time they also stand alone, that's why this one is only seven chapters. If you think of those points, please shoot me an email and tell me, or leave them in the next review. Thanks!
  Quote
King of Pain
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

2. Going Under
Sad to see this will only run for 7 chapters-but just wanted to say great read so far. Interesting twist on having Harry not be great for a change, and needing someone else to be the hero so it seems.
At my age, the sexual aspects aren't a concern, but I do hope that there are not going to be graphic descriptions of activities in that regard(same goes for illegal potions)This chapter was fine, and from your previous writing, I think you have more than enough writing talent not to need to use those topics gratuitously.
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:15
2. Going Under (Author Response)
This is as graphic as it gets. The illegal potions use is background information. It does come up again, but not until the sequel. Just remember... there are 7 chapters of this fic and between 5-7 chapters in the next part which will tie everthing together. There is no real resolution here, so don't expect one. I will resolve the issue of the curse and what exactly Ginny did in the companion piece. If you like H/G romance, it's definitely coming up, although there are still some angsty overtones. I appreciate the confidence in my story telling abilities, and hopefully I won't disappoint you! Look for an update in a few days.
  Quote
Delfino
Sunday 25th March 2007 12:14


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

2. Going Under
Wow. Absolutely amazing. And shocking. Just...wow!

This is so honest, that it's harsh. The fact that this could actually happen dampens my mood entirely, but the ending was brilliant. You are an amazing writer. This story really showed a different side of reality that most fanfics cannot even attempt to claim.

Amazing! Absolutely stunning and terrifying at the same time. Great job!
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:06
2. Going Under (Author Response)
Wow! Thanks for the compliment. I hate that it dampens your mood, but that is the nature of angst, is it not? However, we will not wallow in it for long. Next chapter has a different tone to it, although there's still a bit of a question that lingers. Look for an update in a few days. Thanks for taking the time to review!
  Quote
Yentila22
Saturday 24th March 2007 15:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

2. Going Under
You have done it again! Whoah!
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:21
2. Going Under (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm glad you're enjoying it.
  Quote
Frelling
Friday 23rd March 2007 15:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

2. Going Under
Wow. Only two chapters in and I'm hooked. I've read your other work and loved it, and this has been moving and powerful in just the small bit I've read. Well done!
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:17
2. Going Under (Author Response)
Moving and powerful is good. Thanks!
  Quote
snuffles007
Thursday 22nd March 2007 19:27


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 83

2. Going Under
Fantastic beginning! I can't wait for more. Keep the updates coming!
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:20
2. Going Under (Author Response)
Updates will be regular, don't worry. I'd like to make them more than once a week, but that gives me time to work on Part 2 and another H/G fic. I'll be on the recently updated list for a long time, so just get used to seeing me there! Thanks for letting me know you're enjoying it.
  Quote
sweetdreamer285
Thursday 22nd March 2007 14:29


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

2. Going Under


It's been a while since I had read a dark fic based on H/G.

It's quite refreshing!

thank you!
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:23
2. Going Under (Author Response)
I love a dark fic every once in awhile, too. Sadly, there aren't many well-written ones out there. That's why I had to write my own! You're welcome, and thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
SillyGillie
Thursday 22nd March 2007 12:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

2. Going Under
Oh no poor Ginny, but I'm glad she was there for Harry. I hope they manage to find a cure, maybe between themselves? I foresee some embaressing things occuring if Ginny doesn't floo home, unless Hermione covers for her! Brilliantly wonderful chapter!! I can't wait for the next one!
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:25
2. Going Under (Author Response)
Brilliant insight into the embarressing moments... You should like the next chapter, I think.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Thursday 22nd March 2007 09:22


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

2. Going Under
Interesting chapter, also a thoughtful exercise in examining the insidiousness of an addiction. Perhaps a little co-dependency action by Ron and Hermione?

As for Harry and Ginny proper, who is saving whom?
(I was going to put a smiley face but thought it inappropriate due to the seriousness of this chapter)
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:30
2. Going Under (Author Response)
Addiction can take many forms, can't it? Harry was using the potion to self-medicate, not simply to "get high". I hope the readers can see the difference.
  Quote
MsLupin
Thursday 22nd March 2007 08:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

2. Going Under
Oh my! Wonderfully written. I know that I voted for nc-17 but I think I am going to take it back (maybe). You leave enough to tease and it is great. If you ever decided on upping the rating, I will still read it too. Keep up the wonderful. I love the detail that you put in it.
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:36
2. Going Under (Author Response)
I don't think the more graphic sex scenes would add much to it either. I think the danger of writing NC-17 is that the story tends to get lost amid all the details. I could never write a story that didn't have some depth and layers... so I'm glad you think I'm succeeding on that count. This chapter was very necessary, as it is the turning point in the entire piece. I tried very had to keep the level of intimacy high without being too graphic, so it's a relief to know that I'm doing something right. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
IHateSnakes
Thursday 22nd March 2007 03:32


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

2. Going Under
Very nice story and well written... is there more? S.
KEDme
Thursday 22nd March 2007 03:54
2. Going Under (Author Response)
There are five more chapters to come of this fic and about 6-8 chapters of a follow-up fic that's still a work in progress. Updates for the current story are every week around Wednesday, so there are five more weeks to go. Hopefully by that time I'll have the other story finished, or at least the first draft done. So far Part 2 has three complete chapters and I am currently working on chapter four... overall ahead of schedule for me! Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
smoloughney
Thursday 22nd March 2007 02:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

2. Going Under
This was just lovely, at the end of the chapter. I'm such a sap for HarryGinny. You write his darkness and her love for him so well.
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:38
2. Going Under (Author Response)
I'm a sap for H/G too. I love the idea of R/H, but I just can't get into reading about them. They don't capture my imagination like Harry and Ginny. Thanks for letting me know your thoughts.
  Quote
Circuitsoft
Wednesday 21st March 2007 21:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

2. Going Under
Very interesting. A little creepy, but that's what a powerful story takes. The characters do seem to flip/flop quite quickly in their desires and actions, but it seems to work in something as abstract as this.

Overall, very nice.
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:51
2. Going Under (Author Response)
No sense dragging it out, right? I mean, they are a canon couple now. Ginny's wanted Harry for years and HBP showed how happy she makes him. He pushed her away for "noble" reasons. It's not really what either of them wanted, and there's no question in my mind that they belong together. It's interesting that you say creepy... Voldemort is creepy, and he still has some power over both of them, doesn't he? I mean, he's a big part of their pasts and they're going to have to deal with that issue before they can truely move on. Unfortunately, people can't just arbitrarily move on without taking the time to deal with traumatic issues, so Harry and Ginny still have some work to do. Life isn't all rainbows and daisys, is it? Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
lantis222
Wednesday 21st March 2007 14:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

2. Going Under
Oh dear, so Ginny will save Harry, but who will save Ginny. This is just too good. Keep it coming!
KEDme
Wednesday 21st March 2007 14:34
2. Going Under (Author Response)
Thanks. I think you've hit the nail on the head with that synopsis. But the question of that is explored more in Part 2. This one is a sort of intoduction, or Act 1... well, more like Act 1 and Act 2, I guess. Acts 3 and 4 are in the next one. FYI... the resolution is still being written, although it's coming along nicely so far. I won't post it unless it's complete, but I'm working on chapter 4 right now and there aren't that many chapters... maybe 7 or 8. I have an outline but sometimes the creative process trumps the outline and I end up doing something a little different, so I'm not certain how long it will end up being. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Patches
Wednesday 21st March 2007 13:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

2. Going Under
Very good. I hope things are going to continue to improve but I know there will be problems. I look forwared to your next update. Thanks for writing. p
KEDme
Wednesday 21st March 2007 14:41
2. Going Under (Author Response)
Thanks for reviewing! Next update will be next week about the same time. Things will improve, but nothing is really resolved, if you know what I mean. At least not until Part 2. I think you'll really enjoy the rest of this fic. Next chapter is Harry's comeback chapter.
  Quote
Sionwitch
Wednesday 21st March 2007 13:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

2. Going Under
I like this story so far, it has an interesting plot.
I hope Ginny can help Harry without hurting herself too bad in the process.
I'm looking forward to read what is next.
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:55
2. Going Under (Author Response)
The issue of what Ginny did won't be answered until the second part, which I'm still writing. Look for an update in a few days. Until then... Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Bkane
Wednesday 21st March 2007 12:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

2. Going Under
This is bloody fantastic! I love how you portray Ginny in this.

Keep it up!
KEDme
Sunday 25th March 2007 17:58
2. Going Under (Author Response)
I'm glad you like my Ginny. She's the hardest to get right because her character hasn't been developed much until HBP. I wanted to retain her fire and passion while keeping her vulnerable, but not weak. I'm relieved that you're enjoying what I've done with her. Hopefully I can keep it up. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
swngnblues
Wednesday 21st March 2007 11:54


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

2. Going Under
Ahh... varying POV's. Love it! : )

Didn't think you'd run into the romantic stuff quite that quickly... but why do I have a feeling that it's not quite complete yet? I get the feeling that the statement " If he chose to discard her when this was all over " might be very telling, hence the basis for future angst?

Poor Harry failed the test... wonder what's up with his magic? Maybe it needs positive thoughts and the like to work correctly? (Unless you turn dark?) Interesting side plot/history that I'd be interested to either read about later on, or see your theory. Maybe its insignifigant in the overall story, or merits no further explanation...

There's a signifigance in Harry's line, " I don't have the strength left in me to fight you, Ginny "... What's he worried about fighting with her about? IS he afraid that the Darkness would affect her to the point where she'd hurt him? Or is it just Harry's despair, a last ditch attempt to run from Ginny, and be "noble"?

And eww... Tom and the Chamber?? (sorry... just had to make a snide remark )

You've got such a neat story going here, that I've no clue which way you're going to take us next... *straps self in for a VERY bumpy ride*
KEDme
Wednesday 21st March 2007 14:09
2. Going Under (Author Response)
Harry's magic is tied to his confidence (case in point, the Patronus Charm in PoA). He's still got it, but the curse is affecting his confidence and keeping him distracted so that in a battle he's hopeless. As for his strength to fight Ginny, it's definitely the latter. It's one last ditch effort to do the right thing and be noble. As for the angst meter... I'd say the rest of this fic is just uphill from here. The romance/fluffiness meter is rising with each chapter, if you know what I mean. But part 2 is a different story.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004