Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Second Thoughts by SnorkackCatcher

Showing 1 to 14 of 14
Luna Plath
Monday 20th December 2010 12:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Second Thoughts
what a great twist at the end. very interesting story
SnorkackCatcher
Tuesday 21st December 2010 14:43
Second Thoughts (Author Response)
Thank you.
  Quote
GoDons
Sunday 10th October 2010 00:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

Second Thoughts
I thought it was Harry, then towards the end, referring to Voldemort, but when Percy's name popped up, I came to the conclusion that it was Ron. Loved this fic, and I found myself smiling at various places, the narrative voice sounded so much like the Sorting Hat, it was very well-written, thought-provoking and credible.
SnorkackCatcher
Sunday 10th October 2010 05:44
Second Thoughts (Author Response)
Thank you very much!
  Quote
bookish327
Tuesday 28th October 2008 12:28


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

Second Thoughts
The first time that I read this I thought that it was Harry wearing the Sorting Hat, and I took the "former student" to be Tom Riddle. Then, when it came to the end and referred to "your brother Percy," I had to go back and re-read it to see all of the clues that I misunderstood.

I agree that Percy would have done well in any of the houses, but that would he would have changed for the better if he had been in Hufflepuff. Had he been placed there, he might have always felt that he had been robbed of a place in a more "high-flying" house, but that would still have helped him learn humility, as you wrote.

Very well-written and thought-provoking.
SnorkackCatcher
Tuesday 28th October 2008 14:25
Second Thoughts (Author Response)
Thank you -- I'm not sure whether it would have helped Percy or not either, but it's an interesting question to ponder.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 30th November 2007 05:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Second Thoughts
lol. I take it that it was ginny. lol
I loved this! very different then the normal fanfics
SnorkackCatcher
Friday 30th November 2007 13:13
Second Thoughts (Author Response)
Thank you -- actually, it was Ron though.
  Quote
Delfino
Wednesday 10th October 2007 15:07


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

Second Thoughts
Hahahaha! Absolutely wonderful! I'm sure, like so many other readers, I was on the brink of assuming the "former student" was Voldemort. But I'm happy about that little comedic twist at the end. Very nice job, I enjoyed this a lot!
SnorkackCatcher
Friday 30th November 2007 03:05
Second Thoughts (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
myketje
Tuesday 24th July 2007 09:43


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Second Thoughts
Love the ending!! Got me totally of guard!

Thxs!!

Kiss kiss

mee
  Quote
Hoss
Saturday 14th April 2007 09:18


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

Second Thoughts
Well done. Thanks
  Quote
ginnysohma
Tuesday 10th April 2007 18:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

Second Thoughts
ah thats great! i had a suspicion the hat was talking to ron =] i really did. it would have been good if the hat was talking to a minor character, like neville, dean, seamus, or even DRACO! but it was still awesome nonetheless
SnorkackCatcher
Wednesday 11th April 2007 05:16
Second Thoughts (Author Response)
Thank you -- as I recall, it was originally intended to be a random student under there, but it seemed to work better with Ron.
  Quote
Rebel_Dream
Tuesday 10th April 2007 09:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

Second Thoughts
loved it.
SnorkackCatcher
Tuesday 10th April 2007 10:05
Second Thoughts (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Ladybug
Monday 9th April 2007 11:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Second Thoughts
This is a great story - I'm fascinated by how the Hat actually works - I've never thought about it before, but I really like the explanation - and it's entertaining to read, too! It's funny how we get to know what Ron is thinking second-hand through the hat. The final part, about Percy, is really good, not only because I thought at first it was Voldemort, but also because I love the idea of the Sorting Hat placing students not necessarily where they're best suited, but where they need to learn some important lesson. (And 'making up the numbers' tickled my fancy, too!) Fascinating, clever and amusing piece, thanks for sharing it!
SnorkackCatcher
Monday 9th April 2007 16:30
Second Thoughts (Author Response)
Thank you very much! I was trying to show Ron's thoughts via the Hat. Glad the explanations worked for you, it was a kind of 'Sorting Hat Theory' I had.
  Quote
hahaheeheehaha
Sunday 8th April 2007 09:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Second Thoughts
lol very funny i thought he was talking about Voldemort but no, it was percy. good story thanks for writing!
SnorkackCatcher
Sunday 8th April 2007 11:06
Second Thoughts (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Saturday 7th April 2007 17:03


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

Second Thoughts
I knew it was Ron! I knew as soon as you said, "Ah. I'll have to hope someone who's read it (Hogwarts, A Histroy) tries me on one day then."
And you think Percy should have been in Hufflepuff instead? Interesting opinion. What about Ravenclaw? Although, since Percy's problem is a lack of humility and a sense of embarrassment about his family, maybe Hufflepuff would've done him some good
Great story, write another soon!
SnorkackCatcher
Saturday 7th April 2007 18:14
Second Thoughts (Author Response)
Thanks! Good guess, because Harry hasn't read it either (although come DH he might wish he had).

I think Percy could have gone anywhere, really -- he'd have made a good Ravenclaw too given his exam results.
  Quote
Astrid
Friday 6th April 2007 20:18


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Second Thoughts
Excellent monologue of the Sorting Hat!
SnorkackCatcher
Saturday 7th April 2007 10:49
Second Thoughts (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
sweetvoicegirl
Friday 6th April 2007 10:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Second Thoughts
A truly lovely and well-written work. Thank you for sharing this unique and insightful piece with us!
SnorkackCatcher
Friday 6th April 2007 15:33
Second Thoughts (Author Response)
Thank you very much! Glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004