Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Seacláid by Katieay

Showing 1 to 15 of 15
majolie
Saturday 1st November 2008 18:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Seacláid
Another lovely story by you. I almost think I read it once before, but don't seem to have left a review, possibly because it's so old. Being a girl, I don't know a lot about male friendships, but I think male or female, a person would be lucky to have a friend like Ron.
  Quote
Yentila22
Saturday 14th April 2007 20:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

Seacláid
I am moved by your interpretation of Ron. It seems so many times that his character is seen as comic relief. Great Job.
Katieay
Wednesday 25th April 2007 07:54
Seacláid (Author Response)
Thank you very much. I'm sorry it's taken me too long to reply! I adore Ron and often hate the way he's portrayed in fics and movies. He has far more depth and insight than people give him credit for (apart from being a buffoon about Hermione, but what teenage boy isn't, eh?). Thanks again for your review!
  Quote
nerd2006
Thursday 12th April 2007 21:54


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 111

Seacláid
Oh, this was so good. Are we ever going to get more back story, like what happened to Harry?
Katieay
Friday 13th April 2007 05:46
Seacláid (Author Response)
Thanks! Alas, this is a one shot, but the way I see it is the war's going to come on the brink of killing Harry, it won't be a matter of making or breaking him, I think it'll break him first and he'll come out of it a stronger, better person. So the answer is a short no, but the war, all of it, is what happened to Harry in my head Thanks again for reviewing!
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Thursday 12th April 2007 13:47


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

Seacláid
Wonderful story. I really think you capture Ron well when you write; and sticking by Harry through his darkest days and helping to bring him back to reality is definitely something that Ron would do.
Katieay
Thursday 12th April 2007 14:31
Seacláid (Author Response)
Thank you very much. I love Ron, he's my favourite, so while capturing how I think he is comes easily, I never know if anyone else interprets him the same way. It's nice to know they do! Thanks again for you review
  Quote
Ladybug
Thursday 12th April 2007 09:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Seacláid
“Fred and George tried to be all cool around you, remember? I bet they squirmed back then, knowing I was sitting with the Great Harry Potter. And then the way you handled Malfoy – I’ll never forget how I felt then, mate. Not if someone Obliviated me a hundred times.”


That's my favourite, especially the Obliviated bit - that shows the depth of feeling Ron has for Harry - and it's wonderful. The Chocolate Frog cards is a wonderful touch and a touching symbol of how connected they are/were/will be. Lovely scene!
Katieay
Thursday 12th April 2007 14:28
Seacláid (Author Response)
Weee! Thank you! I'm glad you liked it and thank you for leaving me a review (I'm sure I showed you this already!).

I hope everything's good with you!
  Quote
dancinginmagic
Thursday 12th April 2007 03:37


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 166

Seacláid
I love it. My favourite fics always focus on friendship, and this one is one of the best I've read. There's so much out there about Ginny helping Harry heal; it made a wonderful change to see Ron taking his turn.

The voice was ... I can't put my finger on it. There was something very strange about it. Not necessarily bad-strange, but an indescribable something that made it seem both very real, very emotional and very not-you. Like I said, I can't put my finger on it.

If you write more like this, I might be able to figure it out! *hinthint*

Sarah
Katieay
Thursday 12th April 2007 05:08
Seacláid (Author Response)
Hehe, I think it reads strangely because it's in present tense. I always find it a bit tricker to get into. I'm glad it didn't sound like me, though, it should have been Ron's voice you were reading.

Thank you very much for reviewing, deary; I'm glad you liked it
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 12th April 2007 00:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Seacláid
This is a bitter sweet story. Harry shouldn't be that depressed but it is understandable. Ron is a true Griffindor. He has the guts to try to reach Harry in ways Harry will understand. It is a great first step to have Harry respond at all. This is very good. Thanks for writing. p
Katieay
Thursday 12th April 2007 05:06
Seacláid (Author Response)
My pleasure, thanks for reading!

Ron is, indeed, the ultimate Gryffindor in my opinion. I'm glad I was able to portray Ron and Harry's friendship this way. Thank you very much for your review!
  Quote
Astrid
Wednesday 11th April 2007 18:00


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Seacláid
I love the deep friendship between the guys, and I hate it when fics ignore that. You've captured them beautifully.
Katieay
Thursday 12th April 2007 05:05
Seacláid (Author Response)
Thank you very much. I'm glad you thought so, and that you took the time to leave me a review!
  Quote
Kamalia
Wednesday 11th April 2007 13:58


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 142

Seacláid
What does Seaclaid mean? I assume it is Irish, but that's as much as I know.

Great job! And I agree with Antonia_East - I love how you write Ron.
Katieay
Wednesday 11th April 2007 14:05
Seacláid (Author Response)
Thanks for your review! Seacláid is Scottish Gaelic for "Chocolate". I probably should have put that in an author's note, eh?

Thanks again, I'm glad you love how I write Ron!
  Quote
VinatieriFan010304
Wednesday 11th April 2007 13:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Seacláid
It is a different love for the one Ron holds for Hermione, but it is just as important. He is not someone divided into two to share with his girlfriend, he is one person divided into three to share with his best friends. All three of them are. There is nothing like it.


Sigh. You've captured it perfectly! That's...that's exactly it, and the perfect way to say it!

And I loved how it was the Chocolate Frog that brought him back...I could picture the scene in my head as I was reading it.

Fantastic, as always.
Katieay
Wednesday 11th April 2007 13:19
Seacláid (Author Response)
You are far, far, far too good for me! Thank you. I'm glad you liked the chocolate aspect and were able to picture the scene, that's the best kind of compliment.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for reviewing!
  Quote
Lily Flower
Wednesday 11th April 2007 10:47


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

Seacláid
Wow, that was...just wow. Very touching and just wonderful. You are a master, if I may so myself.
Katieay
Wednesday 11th April 2007 10:57
Seacláid (Author Response)
Thank you so much. I don't know about the master bit, but I'm very glad this little snippet touched you that way. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
legobean
Wednesday 11th April 2007 10:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Seacláid
You and your mad Ron crush.

On a scale of 1 out of 5 Rons I give it.

This was very different to read. I liked that it reads a little differently gives it some flair, but the narrator had an odd voice. Sounded kinda Umbridge to me, you didn't hire Dolores to narrate your story did you? Highly suspicious.

I would ask for something a little longer, but for selfish reasons I am unable to do so.

Good work Katie!
Katieay
Wednesday 11th April 2007 10:56
Seacláid (Author Response)
LOL You crack me up. Really, it's getting ridiculous.

Did you just compare me with Umbridge ? You just wait till I get your next chapter, mister.

Thank you very much for the review. I'm glad you didn't ask for something longer, as this one's done
  Quote
Elvenlaughter
Wednesday 11th April 2007 07:34


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 88

Seacláid
This was beautiful. Incredibly expressive and deep and just... wow. Probably the most effective antebellum Harry healing one shot I've ever read. I am VERY impressed, katieay! I was a little thrown at first because it was in present tense, but somehow by the end, it just worked that way. Kudos, and snaps.
Katieay
Wednesday 11th April 2007 09:50
Seacláid (Author Response)
Wow, thank you so much! Present tense can be tricky, but I went through a bit of a present tense kick last year This year, it seems to be first person. I'm glad this affected you so deeply, thanks for taking the time to review!
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 11th April 2007 04:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

Seacláid
You have written a very powerful Ron-centric one-shot that will leave most readers wanting more, a prequel or a sequel. I was touched by your comments about what the war had done to Molly and by this paragraph-

"He knows deep inside himself that the Harry of old is still there, refuses to believe that the boy he had grown up with, faced the world with – won the war with – has disappeared forever and left behind a breathing, walking lump."

And Harry's bark of a laugh, so like Sirius.
Katieay
Wednesday 11th April 2007 09:22
Seacláid (Author Response)
Thank you very much. I'm really glad you like it so much and took the time to leave me a review. Tis greatly appreciated.

Poor Molly!
  Quote
rdprice29
Wednesday 11th April 2007 04:20


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 141

Seacláid
This was wonderful, Katie! I love the idea of Ron being the cornerstone to Harry's recovery almost as much as I love the idea of it being Ginny, and this is perfectly written. Great job!
Katieay
Wednesday 11th April 2007 09:20
Seacláid (Author Response)
Thank you! I think everyone will have their integral roles to play in Harry's healing, and I love the idea that Ron would seek him out and grasp back some of their childhood and what makes their friendship so special.

Thanks for your review!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004