Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Turnip for Luck by Lady Whizbee

Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Dad
Wednesday 28th April 2010 09:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 478

1: A Turnip for Luck
Hurray for Neville!
Lady Whizbee
Wednesday 28th April 2010 11:29
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
This is the first story that I ever posted on PS, and was written well before DH. It's fun to know that this story is still so appealing! Hurray for Neville, is right. He's such a great character...
  Quote
nykkii
Tuesday 7th July 2009 07:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

1: A Turnip for Luck
yay for neville(: ginny seems to be quite a matchmaker. i was suprised to see that it was susan bones but it seems like a good fit
  Quote
bookish327
Tuesday 15th January 2008 17:49


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

1: A Turnip for Luck
Great story. I read this one last of all your stories, and it appears I should have read it first. However, I still enjoyed it very much. It was a very good idea of yours to have the store be packed with people, since it gave them a reason to move closer to each other. It also probably helped move the plot along a bit, too, I imagine. I also liked the twist about it turning out that Susan was the healer to whom Ginny wanted to introduce him. I'm guessing that the Alabastor Stork-Behring Ward probably deals with obstetrics, right? (That would explain why Susan said that Neville WOULDN'T be familiar with that ward. Also, Susan said that she's so excited for Ginny and Harry, and I'm assuming that's because they're going to have a baby. That seems like the most logical thing for which she'd be excited for them.)

Despite it no longer being canon, I liked your Susan and Neville together, the way that you wrote them.

Please write more. Thanks.
Lady Whizbee
Wednesday 16th January 2008 13:25
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
You're too kind. Thank you. I'm really glad that you read this one and enjoyed it--and I'm sorry that you read it last! I should probably tag the two Neville stories so that it's obvious that one follows the other. So sorry.

Yes, the store being crowded pushed them together, but I also liked the idea of them being able to tune the crowd/din out while they talked. Almost as if they were talking to each other in a bubble. The Ginny-Susan twist was the foundation for the whole story. I wanted Neville to desperately want to avoid the one thing that he actually really wanted -- Susan. Of course, he didn't know it was Susan that he was avoiding--but you know what I mean. And yes, you're right, Ginny's pregnant. I didn't want to be overly blatant about it, but I *did* like my clever Ward name.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing this one, too. I promise to write more--soon. Cheers and many, many thanks.

  Quote
majolie
Monday 14th January 2008 10:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

1: A Turnip for Luck
This was absolutely lovely. Well written and such a perfect series of event. Great characterization as well.

When I read the title I was sure this was a Neville / Luna story which is a ship that never worked for me. I am not a huge Neville fan, but every once in a while I end up reading a Neville fic just because I like the author's other work so much. Usually I go in expecting to be a little bored, but this just got me. I think I really understand Neville now and he is SO sweet. I was rooting for him the whole way.

Now I am hoping to find that the other story you havde posted here continues this one because I am dying to know what happens next.
Lady Whizbee
Monday 14th January 2008 12:43
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Oh, good. I'm so glad that you found this one (even though you're not a huge Neville fan!). I thought you might enjoy the fluff.

I'm thrilled that you now feel like you understand Neville. To me, he's a joy to write and read--but that's just me. You know though, I will say that this story is pre-DH Neville. Post-DH Neville would be a lot more confident--maybe still awkward at times--but definitely more confident. Just so you know.

Anyway--I'm glad you read this and enjoyed it. It makes me immensely happy that you did.
  Quote
The_Critic
Tuesday 23rd October 2007 13:31


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

1: A Turnip for Luck
great job!
Lady Whizbee
Tuesday 23rd October 2007 15:40
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Thanks so much. This was my first fanfic and it's my favorite. I'm glad that you were able to find it, read it, and that you enjoyed it, too.

And thank you for taking the time to write a review, as well.
  Quote
xela
Wednesday 29th August 2007 15:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

1: A Turnip for Luck
Very sweet. You have some nice turns of phrase: "thwack" isn't a word you see often enough in print, and re-enforcing it with "accidentally thwacking" is a nice touch. And "the Alabastor Stork-Behring Ward" is simply inspired. Thank you.
Lady Whizbee
Wednesday 29th August 2007 18:52
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
I agree that you don't see 'thwack' in print quite enough. There's something ridiculously satisfying in the way it rolls of the tongue and the mental pictures it creates.

I'm so glad that you liked this little story, and that you took the time to write a review. Thanks so much for reading!
  Quote
hjdevnull
Monday 16th July 2007 07:22


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 91

1: A Turnip for Luck
Hahaha, this is great. I read the other story first, of course, that's how I found you -- and I did read the updated version you suggested, and I like the ending quite well -- but I digress.

Great story! I'd love to read more of your Susan and Neville together, and I'd especially love to see Harry and Ginny's reaction to the two of them after the dinner party. Although I can certainly imagine it. You really write a great Neville.
Lady Whizbee
Monday 16th July 2007 07:48
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm so glad that you liked this--and that you think I've 'captured' Neville. That's the most important thing really...

I wrote the other Neville story really as a response to the contest, and I'm not sure if it would have been the same if I had just written chapter 2 unprompted...but then, now I digress!

I'm glad that you enjoyed this piece, though. I'm by far the most proud of it. Thank you for your review!
  Quote
Astrid
Wednesday 25th April 2007 14:28


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

1: A Turnip for Luck
Awww, so cute! Sequel, please?
Lady Whizbee
Thursday 26th April 2007 13:34
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
You're too sweet! I'm so glad you liked it...I'll keep you posted if I write more on this one... Thanks!!
  Quote
Narumi
Tuesday 24th April 2007 22:11


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

1: A Turnip for Luck
Great story!
Lady Whizbee
Wednesday 25th April 2007 07:12
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Thank you for reading and reviewing!
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 24th April 2007 07:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 579

1: A Turnip for Luck
I'm quickly becoming a Neville Longbottom fan due to excellent stories like this one. Your characterization of Neville is spot-on and I love the fact that he has become a successful, if shy, young man. Bless Ginny for trying to play match-maker; she has her heart in the right place and I'm glad she chose Susan as the latest in her long line of guests. However, it made me smile when Neville got up the courage and beat her to the punch-line by inviting Susan to his house to help him with dinner. Thanks for sharing this delightful story. It's quickly becoming one of my favorites.
Lady Whizbee
Tuesday 24th April 2007 12:01
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so glad that you thought I captured Neville accurately. He really is a fun character to write.

You know, in the end, I think that's the point...Neville figures it out on his own. Without any help or proding...he just realizes that he can do it and that it isn't that complicated, really.

I'm so glad that you liked it!
  Quote
critmo
Monday 23rd April 2007 02:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

1: A Turnip for Luck
What a lovely story, even though I have a problem imagining Ginny as an ardent match maker for Neville. But that's just nagging. Well done.
Lady Whizbee
Monday 23rd April 2007 07:32
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your review!

You make a good point about Ginny. And I can understand what you mean...for me, it was Ginny simply interested to see Neville happy and trying to 'help' him in that regard. Her interest was pure in its intent, and she had no intention to overwhelm him (which is what happened) but because we didn't see her POV in this story, you don't experience that.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts! I'm so glad that you wrote a review.
  Quote
ginnysohma
Sunday 22nd April 2007 19:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

1: A Turnip for Luck
it was very cute, and i agree. you captured neville SO well. applause to you!
Lady Whizbee
Monday 23rd April 2007 07:18
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad that you thought I capured Neville, that means so much...
  Quote
Aggiebell
Friday 20th April 2007 20:15


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 102

1: A Turnip for Luck
Eee! I have to tell you that when this came through submissions, I read it first, because of the summary. And then I wrote a note and told everyone that we had to accept it or I would be very, very upset.

First off, I'm a big fan of Neville. Actually, I'm a HUGE fan of Neville. I get very excited when I get to read something where the author captures his character.

Secondly, I really like and Susan together. There's just something about them that makes me happy.

And it's even better when it's well-written.

Okay, random comments coming up:
* I love that Harry and Ginny have Neville over, and that it's a regular thing. I just like that their friendship continued and strengthened after everything was over.
* I really like the coincidences that brought Neville and Susan together...and that Susan was the one Ginny was going to set Neville up with in the first place.
* Ginny as matchmaker cracks me up. Poor Neville.

It wasn't as if he wasn't interested in meeting new women. He was. It was just that there was so much pressure attached to that first conversation. He had to be interesting, and witty, and clever, and he had to have more than one interesting, one witty, and one clever thing to say. And, in total, that was very hard work. After all, what could he say that was all that profound?

He was just Neville Longbottom.


*squishes Neville* This captures him just absolutely perfectly.

It was as if every wizard in London had suddenly converged into this one small corner shop. The aisles were crammed with people weaving and bumping about, finding what they needed. There were even a few zipping here and there on their brooms, accidentally thwacking people in the head with strings of sausages, or in one case, a cured ham. Those still on the ground were stretching over each other to pluck boxes of biscuits, around each other to grab the tinned tomatoes, or under each other to pick the jars of jam that they wanted. Many chose to Accio items rather than reach for them, and this led to further accidental thwackings. He stood dumbfounded until those same people began to elbow in and out around him and, feeling it best not to continue to block the door, he moved to gather a hand-basket.


This really makes me feel like I'm at our grocery store on a Sunday Evening. It's exactly like this (minus the Accio-ing , of course). I really got a sense of how chaotic it was, and I can just imagine him standing there completely overwhelmed.

So, yes. I loved it. Do you have more stories to post here? *looks hopeful*


~Julie (your friendly neighborhood Neville fan-girl )
Lady Whizbee
Sunday 22nd April 2007 12:57
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Wow!

I have to say that that's the longest review I've ever received--and all of it made me 'squee'! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

How can you not adore Neville? He's just so lovably good and decent. I just love him, and he's a joy to write. Particularly because he's still growing as a character. He's definitely more capable than he believes, and it's fun to explore how his character might develop with time.

I'm so glad that you liked it and that it felt true to Neville. I have written other things, some that include Neville, but nothing that is as Neville-focused as this. I'm in the middle of a multi-chaptered story that I'm rushing to finish before the next book is released but perhaps...if I have a moment to distract myself with a tangent...I'll see about furthering this tale as well. Thank you for you positive feedback and encouragement!

  Quote
Ladybug
Friday 20th April 2007 14:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

1: A Turnip for Luck
What a sweet and gorgeous story - I feel all happy and excited for Neville now! I really like how he's 'turned out' with his job and what brilliant work he does without realising it. He seems perfectly 'Neville' but perfectly matured a few years on from the books. Very sweet encounter in the supermarket - I loved it!
Lady Whizbee
Sunday 22nd April 2007 12:36
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm so glad that you liked it.

This is totally how I see Neville in a few years time--quietly capable, but still slightly unsure about how capable he is.

Thank you so much for your review!

  Quote
hahaheeheehaha
Friday 20th April 2007 09:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

1: A Turnip for Luck
aww really sweet i loved it but i recognise it hav u posted it sumwhere eles as well? i really think ive read it before but i still loved it

thanks for writing!!
Lady Whizbee
Friday 20th April 2007 13:33
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Thank you for your review! Yes, it has been posted elsewhere--last autumn, on Sugarquill and Checkmated.
  Quote
Uzamaki-girl
Thursday 19th April 2007 15:58


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

1: A Turnip for Luck
Very cute.^^
Lady Whizbee
Friday 20th April 2007 04:00
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
I'm so glad that you liked it. Thanks for your review!
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Thursday 19th April 2007 14:13


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

1: A Turnip for Luck
Awww, Neville and Susan! Now they would be a cute couple, since JKR has sunk the Neville and Luna ship. I like the idea of Susan and Neville together, especially the way you write it!
Lady Whizbee
Thursday 19th April 2007 14:51
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Thank you so much! I'm glad that you approve. I'm also very glad that you liked the story and chose to write a review. All best!
  Quote
lantis222
Thursday 19th April 2007 12:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

1: A Turnip for Luck
Oh, that was one of the sweetest things I've ever read. I love Neville, he's one of my favorite characters. I've also liked the idea of Neville and Susan for a while now. So great job, I loved it!
Lady Whizbee
Thursday 19th April 2007 13:03
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
You know, I know that a lot of people think Neville is well-suited for Hannah, but there's something about Susan...

What it is, I think, is that she comes from a similar background as Neville. Her family is well-established, determined, loyal, and long-suffering (just like Neville's), and there's something to be said for that. I think that they have a lot in common, even though so little is actually known about her. So go Susan!

Thanks so much for your review.
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 19th April 2007 02:30


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

1: A Turnip for Luck
This is a cute story. I really like Neville and this was perfect. He found someone on his own and then found out his friends approved also. It looks like a lovely evening for everyone. Thanks for writing. p
Lady Whizbee
Thursday 19th April 2007 08:12
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Isn't Neville the *best*. I just adore him. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the story!
  Quote
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 18th April 2007 23:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

1: A Turnip for Luck
I always enjoy reading a romance that is true in both its simplicity and awkwardness. You've found that truth, so well done.
Lady Whizbee
Thursday 19th April 2007 08:11
1: A Turnip for Luck (Author Response)
Oh, thank you. Your kind words made my day. I'm so glad that you enjoyed and appreciated this story. Thank you.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004