Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  

Reviews For Stars by Thorny Rose

Showing 1 to 10 of 10
Friday 20th March 2009 20:12

1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Wow. Again I will say… wow. The reason for naming the children after stars makes more sense now. No one, in any story I've read, has explained it that way. This was truly brilliant. I applaud you.
Tuesday 19th August 2008 21:17

3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 109

A very interesting fic. My favourite bit was easily Black Senior's speech about the stars and their significance - what a fascinating insight into a reason for the naming convention of the Black family. Congratulations!
Thursday 7th August 2008 12:35

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 616

I really like the symbolism in this story, especially about how the lofty stars only look down on the common world. Sirius' last comment made me chuckle.

Also, your characterizations of Sirius and his cousins seems right on the money. I had to smile when seven-year-old Sirius took the "birthday boy" excuse to get out of being Bella's punching bag during wand practice. That Andromeda was given the perfect "out" to become herself when placed in Ravenclaw must have infuriated her family; no wonder she reverted to her old ways once she was home for the holidays.

I certainly enjoyed this story.
Grace has Victory
Monday 4th August 2008 16:36

1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

This was brilliant! The atmosphere was so chilling, and the self-vaunting Black family was so perfectly realised. Were the "distant cousins" the Malfoys?

And hooray for Sirius declaring "White!"
Friday 18th January 2008 13:14

5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

this was really, really good. loved the whole star theme and how you went off on a few tangents... but always came back to it. if i go off on a tangent, i never coime back! also, the bit about not being able to see the stars in londone - v singif. but my fav part was this:
'My greatest ambition as a child was to be blasted off the family tree, and I was fiercely proud of every step I took to achieve this.'
haha! love that concept!
Saturday 12th January 2008 15:17

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

interesting storyy
Thorny Rose
Saturday 19th January 2008 00:23
Stars (Author Response)
Tuesday 22nd May 2007 00:46

4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

Wow ... I love Sirius. He's fantastic, just cos there's so much scope for imagination in him.

Great job!
Thorny Rose
Wednesday 23rd May 2007 00:05
Stars (Author Response)
Exactly, it is so much fun to extrapolate backwards and work out what he was like as a boy.
Monday 14th May 2007 01:19

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

A really good story about a very young Sirius. Thank you for writing. It gives a different perspective to his life. Thank you for writing. p
Thorny Rose
Wednesday 23rd May 2007 00:06
Stars (Author Response)
Anytime, writing is what I am here for after all.
Sunday 13th May 2007 16:37

4th year
Num. of Reviews: 166

I liked the way you shaped the characters in this. Well done.
Thorny Rose
Wednesday 23rd May 2007 00:04
Stars (Author Response)
Thanks very much!
Saturday 12th May 2007 22:28

1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

very intense, I really liked it, honestly. I generally lean more towards romance and fluff, but this one caught my eye because of the title. I also liked the fact that you thought this plot through, or at least it seems you did, maybe you just have that genius that everyone's jealous. regardless, it's a great story.

Another good thing about this story was that there was no was all just Sirius' thoughts, yet it didn't get boring. And I think you depicted his life before hogwarts really well, especially the young personalities of Bellatrix, Narcissa, and Andromeda.

I really enjoyed this so please keep writing!
Thorny Rose
Wednesday 23rd May 2007 00:12
Stars (Author Response)
Ah see I tend to lean away from fluff, the candyfloss gets trapped in my teeth! Although I do have a fondness for Andromeda/Ted and Lily/James, and on occasion write abit about them, generally I'm a general writer.

And look all your compliments have made me blush

I'm glad you liked the Black sisters, they are my current obsesion, so hopefully they are fairly accurate.
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 2nd October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Tuesday 29th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Monday 28th September
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
Monday 18th May
Author: MyGinevra
Story: Excision
Saturday 18th April
Author: Nundu
Story: 54 Years Later
Sunday 29th March
Author: Author by Night
Poem: Mischief Managed: A Re-read of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Sunday 22nd February
Author: Nundu
Story: Wild Goose Chase
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004