Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Curse Breakers: The Maya by Jonathan-Avery

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
Patches
Monday 12th November 2007 02:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

2: A New Assignment
Wow! This is quite a big chapter. I couldn't imagine Harry and Ginny parting and moving on. This explains a lot. They never found Ravenclaw's staff! That is what Harry is looking for. I look forward to more of this story. Thanks for writing. I'll read more in the next few days. Thanks for writing. p
Jonathan-Avery
Tuesday 13th November 2007 16:07
2: A New Assignment (Author Response)
It seems I'm moving backwards in responding to your reviews, oh well. By now you probably realize they are not still looking for the Staff that was found and destroyed before the confrontation with Voldemort.

Thanks for all of your reviews,

Jonathan
  Quote
Narumi
Friday 9th November 2007 06:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

2: A New Assignment
This chapter was so different from the first. It feels much more forced, it's clear that you're more comfortable with the action sequences. But I'm definitely curious to see what happens next!
Jonathan-Avery
Sunday 11th November 2007 13:43
2: A New Assignment (Author Response)
I am a bit more comfortable with action, but that is because I have a film background and I like to view books as unfilmed movies.

However, the main reason chapter 2 is different from 1, and the rest of the chapters, is because I wrote it first. it was initially the first chapter. I had to rewrtie it after I wrote chapter one and make it work with the overall story. It left it feeling a bit bulky and unweildy.

-Jonathan
  Quote
GhostWriter
Thursday 31st May 2007 12:51


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

2: A New Assignment
Well that chapter was simply... heartbreaking.
Very well done, though. I think you did an excellent job of portraying a Ginny who's deeply wounded but tries has best to shoulder on.
One very minor complaint - I'm not sure Molly Weasley would have forced her daughter to take an Unbreakable Vow. I got the impression from reading "Half Bloood Prince" that they border on Dark Magic.
One major complaint - I can't believe you killed ! How could you? I've always liked her and hate the thought of her not sharing a happy future with the rest of the gang.
Those points aside, I enjoyed this chapter. I'm intrigued by the "bargain" that Harry and Ginny apparently struck to finish off Voldemort and keep him dead. Can I assume that Harry hopes to find a solution to this problem in Central America?
Keep writing. This a great story!
Jonathan-Avery
Saturday 2nd June 2007 07:18
2: A New Assignment (Author Response)
It is hard to explain the unbreakable vow that Ginny was forced to take and why it was important at the time. The back story around that was originally outlined at several chapters and as a response to something Ginny did right after Bill and Fleur's wedding.

I'm sorry about Hermione. I had to choose one of the Trio to die in the war. It is part of plot, and unfortunately, because I like Hermione more and find her to be a more selfless character, she ended up being the one who died in the Final Battle. You'll find out more soon.
  Quote
pepperdawg
Sunday 27th May 2007 20:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

2: A New Assignment
I really enjoy the detail you've gone into and your hard work is apparent; haha I'm just a little nervous about that Harry/Tonks pairing for the time being......but good job nonetheless.
Jonathan-Avery
Saturday 2nd June 2007 07:14
2: A New Assignment (Author Response)
As far as I'm concerned good writing is made or broken on the details. As a reader I find it disconcerting when there are illogical jumps in the narrative, so i try and minimize them when I write. And I wouldn't be too worried about Harry and Tonks, as Ginny is not worried about it and the story is hers . . .
  Quote
hedwig5221
Sunday 20th May 2007 22:39


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

2: A New Assignment
Very interesting chapter...I'm looking forward to reading more. As another reviewer mentioned, I'm curious to learn what Ginny and Harry's secret is...what happened at Azkaban...why they had to part...

Jonathan-Avery
Monday 21st May 2007 16:43
2: A New Assignment (Author Response)
A lot of people are interested in what happened within the walls of Azkaban. Chapter 5 reveals some of it, but it is only fully revealed well into the mid point of the story. And, jeez, thanks a lot for reviewing both chapters so far.

later,

Jonathan
  Quote
critmo
Thursday 17th May 2007 09:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

2: A New Assignment
You've gone a long way to create a believable post-war scenario. At the rate you were going it's a small wonder you've allowed some of the characters to survive.

A long chapter and not easy to read, so let me just try to get this clear. Harry and Ginny (still) love each other, but they cannot be together, because they had to make a sacrifice to get rid of Voldemort for good? So Harry being with Tonks does not mean, they're in love or anything, and Ginny is getting fed up with the situation, so it somehow is Harry's fault that they are in this kind of situation?
Jonathan-Avery
Monday 21st May 2007 16:35
2: A New Assignment (Author Response)
This story actually started as a 7th year fic; however, after outlining most of it, I realized that I did not want to be another apple in the bushel and struck out with this premise. Because of the time I spent on the backstory and the length of time the war went, I found it almost impossible to keep everyone alive. Those involved in a war are more likely to die, and I have ever believed that any character is safe in a story so long as their death offers a tangibile pillar to support the main character's story.

Your conclusions are what the chapter implies. Although, to really understand the information presented remember that everything is from Ginny's POV. So, when reading remember that the narrator is fallible and yet very insightful into her own life. However, more will be revealed in the next chapter.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. Sorry for responding so late. It has been a madhouse in RL over here.
  Quote
Acciowand
Wednesday 16th May 2007 16:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 41

2: A New Assignment
Very intriguing ending! I am really curious about the "secret" that Ginny and Harry are hiding involving the final battle. I was disappointed that you killed of Hermione but I am reading Harry-Ginny fanfic so I'll deal with that one. I like the idea of Ginny as a curse breaker; its something I haven't thought of before. I am looking forward to your next chapter!
Jonathan-Avery
Wednesday 16th May 2007 18:14
2: A New Assignment (Author Response)
Well, curiosity keeps you reading, which is a good thing. If you are bored and uninterested, then I am not doing my job. As for Hermione, it was a difficult decision on her fate, but it was written into the backstory early on because it is important to some of the plot.

Curse breaking has always fascinated me. Some of it has to do with the lack of informatuon about in in canon, partly due to my own interest in archealogy and anthropology, and also because I have heard it mentioned as a possible career path for her in other fics. Besides it allows me to play in other cultures and spend time out of the established wizarding Britain.

Thanks for the review and for reading.

-Jonathan
  Quote
Professor Webster
Wednesday 16th May 2007 14:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

2: A New Assignment
Very nice with some very interesting potential plot twists. I'm surprised to find Sirius still alive but that is of little real import in the scheme of things. I will be most interested to find how things work out and what basis there is to some of the conditions that I find so intriguing. Well begun.
Jonathan-Avery
Wednesday 16th May 2007 17:23
2: A New Assignment (Author Response)
Thanks. I've set up several important issues in this chapter. As for Sirius, this story is canon through HBP, so the Sirius that is mentione din the chapter is actually the son of Tonks and Remus. I probably should have been more specific on that issue. Thanks for reading and the review.

-Jonathan
  Quote
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004