Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Last Lie by aurora luminis

Showing 1 to 11 of 11
Thorn
Sunday 18th January 2009 22:02


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

The Last Lie
this is beautiful but it seams unfinished like there should be more. just a thought. i love you're work it just right for the books and i love Tonks's true face this is how she should look!
aurora luminis
Saturday 31st January 2009 06:07
The Last Lie (Author Response)
Oh yes, it is unfinished...they write it now in heaven. And after reading DH it would be rather hard for me to try and continue this piece. It was written before and somehow the utter poignancy of it happening just as Tonks feared... Besides if I did a heavenly take on it, Sirius would undoubtedly make too many puns... I deeply appreciate you saying "just right for the books" because that is what I want most of all. That someone could pick it up and feel that JKR might have written this. Not that is as good as hers, but I try to be faithful and I always make magic. Thanks!
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Tuesday 30th September 2008 09:08


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

The Last Lie
That was really good, and interestingly I assumed it had been written after DH because I thought the always thing was a play on Snape and Lily's always. But not, apparently!

B
aurora luminis
Saturday 31st January 2009 06:01
The Last Lie (Author Response)
No, this was written before DH; the second piece of fan fiction in my life. The first was the fourth posted here at PS, "Five Times Two". It is always a big burst of sunshine in my year when someone leaves a review for Shining Fragment; it has a special place in my affection. So thank you so much for stopping by.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Tuesday 31st July 2007 07:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

The Last Lie
Nicely written. A bit angsty. Now rather ironic.
aurora luminis
Tuesday 7th August 2007 06:10
The Last Lie (Author Response)
Good-hearted GryffindorDragon, it was good of you to stop in, read, and review. I really appreciate it. Yes, it was a bit angsty, but in all truth I was already looking towards what I thought might happen in DH: the death of both Lupin and Tonks. I hated it when it happened, yet somethings are written on the wall. Thank you for reviewing.
  Quote
LisaPotter
Monday 11th June 2007 14:27


The Last Lie
*just so you know i would have done a signed review except my retarted computer wouldn't let me log in. my username is LisaPotter.*

Just thought i'd review, halfly since you have only 7 reviews at the time.
you really did do a good job and even if this story was short i think it is almost more amazing than JKR's series and those are best sellers!

signed,

AKA Lisa Potter
aurora luminis
Wednesday 13th June 2007 05:25
The Last Lie (Author Response)
A thousand thanks for reviewing....yes, I don't draw a great number of reviews. But then I am an 'older' writer and I don't think my preference for going deep into the human heart is well accepted. Life is very hard for most young people....and not so young. Pieces that remind one of just how tough it is are not always what people are looking for. I'm blushing that anyone would ever place me in the same universe as JKR, yet I am so pleased. It was precisely because she is transmitting so many deep, truly human values that I love her work and spend my time with 'children's' book. But then the gates of heaven belong to the child. Thanks again!
  Quote
Yentila22
Sunday 3rd June 2007 10:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

The Last Lie
Helene this is a wonderful outtake. You portrayed Lupin
and Tonks so well. The reader gets to see Lupin's grief and I loved how you saw that Tonks was a true Black underneath all of her physical changes and so passionate.
Well done
aurora luminis
Wednesday 11th July 2007 05:19
The Last Lie (Author Response)
Forgive me that I have been so long in answering this. I took the plunge and entered the Summer Challenge. Really, the reward is on my side: I always end up enjoying myself so much. Especially when characters do something I didn't have on the agenda. Thank you for your kind review and for liking my portrayal of Lupin and Tonks. It meant a good deal to me to search out the deeper side of Tonks.
  Quote
cwarbeck
Monday 28th May 2007 06:08


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 64

The Last Lie
I thought this was fantastic characterization and it was very thought-provoking. I would never have got the idea that Tonks would actually think of getting bit herself in order to be with Remus. The things that love makes us do!

I'm hoping that maybe Remus would be able to impart some of his newfound wisdom to a certain surrogate godson of his, eh?
aurora luminis
Monday 28th May 2007 21:35
The Last Lie (Author Response)
Thank you so much for enjoying and reviewing it. Writing is such a mysterious thing. I've heard writers, successful writers with books and plays published, talk about characters just taking over, and that is pretty much what Tonks did to me. It started out being about Lupin's struggles and ended up showing the lengths both were willing to go on the power of love. Doth make the world go round. Thank you.
  Quote
afanfictionaddiction
Sunday 27th May 2007 22:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

The Last Lie
"Wow very powerful. I love the idea of Tonks always hiding her family looks even when she's depressed, she'd rather look mousy and miserable than have anyone connect her with Bellatrix.
aurora luminis
Monday 28th May 2007 21:40
The Last Lie (Author Response)
Yes, I too liked the idea of Tonks hiding her features even though her real face is most attractive. In a world were advertising tells women they are nothing if they haven't the right proportions, even features, long eye-lashes and the rest, Tonks stood up and told me what was more important. The heart. Letting the heart show. thank you so much for reviewing.
  Quote
DaFalcon
Sunday 27th May 2007 14:12


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 237

The Last Lie
Wow! That was deep. hehe. You always pull out some deep stuff. Goodness. I don't usually read fan fiction other than Harry and Ginny, but I'm glad I read this. Perfectly written.
I'm glad Lupin made the statement at the end, "not to die but to live." I totally agree there. Even if the future seems bleak, I'm going to keep going even if I die trying. I'm not going to kill myself for I don't know what the future holds. I could be on the winning team. I hope Lupin convinced Tonks of that.
I had never really thought about how Tonks really looked. Thank you for bringing that out in this story. You've yet again enlightened and broadened my thinking in the Harry Potter universe.

Great work!
Dee
aurora luminis
Monday 28th May 2007 21:51
The Last Lie (Author Response)
Gosh, I should have saved the blushing emo for you. Thank you for all the kind words. It really isn't hard to pull out 'deep stuff' when using JKRowling's world. For one who looks, it is multi-layered. When I read the first book by in 1999, I was stunned by her courage and where she was willing to go in a 'child's' book. Another ten years from now and things will start changing because of the books....like media manipulation. Every child grows up now knowing how that goes. Yes, I only echoed her [and the whole tradition of western civilization] in Lupin's "not to die but to live". It was Dumbledore's 'the next great adventure' in another way. Who can face it otherwise? That was what Lupin learned when Tonks began the wolf transformation: that neither of them could face the future unless they really wanted to live....
  Quote
lantis222
Sunday 27th May 2007 08:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

The Last Lie
That was beautifully written, I loved it. You really are amazing. I thought so on your last story and I think story, and I think so now. Thank you for giving me such a nice start to my day.
aurora luminis
Wednesday 11th July 2007 05:27
The Last Lie (Author Response)
I cannot believe I have not responded to your kind review... I was so sure I had done so. Did I hit the wrong button or did the silly internet connection blink out on me as it often does? Anyway, you are one of those people who take time to review, and that means you deserve a response. I know you take time because I have been reading through the reviews for the Summer Challenge and have found you on every page. It takes time but it means a great deal to the writers.
Thank you so much for your kind words. If someone likes it than it means that in someway they share part of my way of seeing the world. And that is always a comfort--not to be sitting alone with your very own [and lonely] way of seeing people, seeing the meaning of it all.
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Saturday 26th May 2007 23:08


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

The Last Lie
Oh how sad.... Remus and Tonks are so perfect, I feel so bad for them. Great story!
aurora luminis
Saturday 26th May 2007 23:22
The Last Lie (Author Response)
Hi, Ibelieveintruelove, you really have a great code name there. Thank you so much for reviewing. I was busy typing a reply to Starbuck23 while you were writing your own. It was a perk to push the post button and find I already had a second. It really brings me joy that you like Remus and Tonks in this piece. I'm not a young person [except at heart] and I have always since age five looked at the challenging side of human life. Love stands tallest when it is willing to suffer. If you haven't read my other piece, I think you will like the shinging fragment. Again, thank you so much.
  Quote
Starbuck_23
Saturday 26th May 2007 13:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

The Last Lie
Really great characterization of both Tonks and Lupin. I'd never considered that Tonks might actually be forcefully concealing her true Black identity, as you put it, but it really makes sense when you think about it. This was a great pick-up off HBP, well done.
aurora luminis
Saturday 26th May 2007 23:11
The Last Lie (Author Response)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review. I was beginning to fell a mite 'down' when the authors all about me were receiving reviews and my beggar's cup remained empty! For me it seems that Rowling built much of Tonks' personality as a rebellion, conscious and unconscious, against the Black tradition. You can imagine the bitterness and disgust that flows between her parents and the rest of the family. I'm glad you liked my characterization of Tonks...I think it is faithful to what we saw in HBP, although I imagine that it will not please every one. If you haven't read my only other piece, I think you will like it too; I'm working on a second installment.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 11 of 11
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004