Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Unforgettable Forgotten Birthday by cwarbeck

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
KMB
Sunday 10th June 2007 06:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

Chapter 1
awesome start! i am one of the few who owns Sixteen Candles on VHS. i am looking forward to reading your rendition!
cwarbeck
Sunday 10th June 2007 08:56
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks. I own the DVD myself, along with other '80s classics like Pretty in Pink, The Breakfast Club... I'm showing how old I am, aren't I?
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Sunday 27th May 2007 15:01


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 202

Chapter 1
What a fun story! Poor Ginny, it sounds like she's not going to get the birthday she hoped for. Oh well, adventures are sometimes more memorable than nice, tidy, boring days. I'm looking forward to what happens next. You've piqued my curiosity.
cwarbeck
Monday 28th May 2007 05:57
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Well, this is definitely not going to be one of those nice, tidy, boring days, that's for sure! Thanks, and I hope you like the rest of the story.
  Quote
aurora luminis
Saturday 26th May 2007 11:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

Chapter 1
This is truly delightful and as soon as I can begin/finish my next piece of fanfic, I want to check your list of fanfics...well, devour would more describe how I feel about this. You are so good at description, and yes, it does make one smile and chuckle.... maybe if you have time you can check the one I posted a few hours after yours and give me some advice... But really, it promises to be a story to remember.
cwarbeck
Monday 28th May 2007 05:56
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Hi! I'm really flattered that you think I'm in a position to give you advice about writing, when really, I'm just a frustrated stand-up comic! Anyway, this particular piece was a collaborative effort with my friend Athea, who's written several great stories herself over at SIYE, so I can't claim all the credit for this.

I'll go check out your story now. Thanks again for the review.
  Quote
cckeimig
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:27


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

Chapter 1
No kidding you got it from Sixteen Candles. But it was fun!
cwarbeck
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:51
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
The first chapter was indeed inspired by the first scenes in the movie, but I couldn't put everything in, so like I said, no Long Duc Dong aka "The Donger"! The rest of the story only loosely follows the movie plot. I'm glad you found it fun.
  Quote
~delusion~
Friday 25th May 2007 22:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

Chapter 1
My God, so I ain't the only one who gets comments on her breasts.
Great Job
cwarbeck
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:49
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
No, unfortunately, it seems to be a teenage girl's rite of passage that someone somewhere will make a comment on her breasts at a totally inappropriate and the most humiliating moment. That's what batty old relatives are for!
  Quote
DebbieO
Friday 25th May 2007 13:57


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

Chapter 1
Oh, this is hysterical. I had to work hard not to frighten my family with explosive laughter.

Tessie and Bertram are wonderfully horrible. Very reminiscent of 16 Candles and still in perfect Harry Potter character. Loved Ron's incident!

Looking forward to more.
cwarbeck
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:48
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Oh, maybe they would have joined you in laughing! Wonderfully horrible just about sums it up for Aunt Tessie and Uncle Bertram.
  Quote
sillysun
Friday 25th May 2007 12:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Chapter 1
You picked a great movie to pay homage to! I feel for Ginny already - everybody's got an Uncle Bertie who's an expert in mortification. And of course Ron had to be there to hear it. Ack! Great start, though -- looking forward to more!
cwarbeck
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:47
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Yup, Sixteen Candles is a classic! The chapters will up pretty fast, since this story is finished. Thanks!
  Quote
jazmin03-3
Friday 25th May 2007 12:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

Chapter 1
Why doesn't anyone know that it is Ginny's bday? Is it going to be a surprised bday?
cwarbeck
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:45
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Unfortunately, no one has remembered it's her birthday because of all the ongoing chaos. Not to worry, someone will remember soon!
  Quote
Soldati
Friday 25th May 2007 06:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Chapter 1
Loved the first chapter. I couldn' t stop laughing for ages!
cwarbeck
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:44
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Hey, thanks for giving your first review to this story. I'm so flattered. And I'm glad I had you laughing for ages!
  Quote
reenee
Friday 25th May 2007 05:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 48

Chapter 1
nice go . and nice relatives...with relatives like these....who needs old voldy? ron and ginny wud die of embarassment long before voldy got to them
cwarbeck
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:44
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Hahaha! Yeah, we should sic Aunt Tessie on Voldy - he'll probably suffocate from the smell of violet-water alone.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Friday 25th May 2007 02:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Chapter 1
This is just what I needed to read again.

I always enjoy your stories but I think this is easily my favorite.

You've set the scene perfectly with Ginny's anticipation, the eccentric relatives, and the story of Ron and the gnome.

Bring it on!
cwarbeck
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:43
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Aw, thanks for re-reading this! Yes, bring it on indeed!
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 24th May 2007 23:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Chapter 1
No one can embarrass you like and Auntie with not children. My Aunt Charlotte did the exact same thing to me at 14 in front of my boy cousins, ages 14 and 15! At least Ginny and Ron both have senses of humor. That helps. Of course 3 people just lost the opportunity to be the first to wish Ginny a happy birthday! I look forward to finding out how you handle this. It is great so far. p
cwarbeck
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:42
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Oh my dear, I feel for you! I don't even want to ask how your boy cousins reacted - probably immature chortling, right? Boys!

Thanks for reviewing and the next chapter will be up soon.
  Quote
honourary_weasley
Thursday 24th May 2007 22:49


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

Chapter 1
Hahaha! Oh, that's fantastic... can't wait to read more!



And will we be seeing anything of Hermione on this very special day?
cwarbeck
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:41
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Oh yes, Hermione will defiinitely make an appearance. Watch out for her!
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Thursday 24th May 2007 22:37


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

Chapter 1
Oh that is a great start to this story! I have seen the movie Sixteen Candles (which is an awesome movie) and I love that you included a scene with relatives commenting about Ginny\'s breasts! lol At least Aunt Tessie didn\'t try to feel her up! Oh update soon, I can tell that this is going to be a great story!
cwarbeck
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:40
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
I did think about Aunt Tessie feeling her up, but I didn't want to humiliate Ginny even further, and probably scar Ron for life!

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
hwimsey
Thursday 24th May 2007 22:08


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

Chapter 1
Whoo! Hoo!
I get to be the first review! Okay, your stories are always balms to the weary soul -- I love this beginning.

The lines about the bosoms are hysterical and your new characters -- Uncle Bertie and Aunt Tessie -- priceless.

I always feel like I'm truly "with" people when I read your work -- you make us feel like were in the room or at the table or sitting on a bed.

You're amazing.

S.
cwarbeck
Saturday 26th May 2007 09:39
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Hi sarah.

I thank you for that very flattering comment about my stories being soothing balms - kind of like a homemade poultice, eh?

Oh, but I have to thank you more for saying that you feel like you're with the characters as you read - that's what I always try to do when I'm writing - pretend that I'm in the same room as them, writing down things as they happen. I hope you like the rest of the story.


  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004