Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Firefly by Jonathan-Avery

Showing 1 to 10 of 10
majolie
Monday 10th December 2007 13:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Firefly
How lovely.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 13th October 2007 21:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Firefly
lol. this is so cute!!!!
I love the ending!!
  Quote
pyromain
Sunday 7th October 2007 15:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Firefly
this is really cute love the story, letting arthur in on the secret made it even better.
  Quote
Narumi
Thursday 9th August 2007 11:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

Firefly
I haven't read TMoO, but this one-shot stands alone well on it's own merit. I like the idea of Arthur catching Ginny and still not telling Molly.
Jonathan-Avery
Thursday 9th August 2007 18:19
Firefly (Author Response)
Although it was a side story for MoO, I always try and write in a vacuum so that my stories do not need other stories to make sense, other than knowing about Harry Potter and the universe.

The Arthur Ginny relationship is one I think must be great, even though it is never on screen. I really wanted to capture that father -daughter bond. I'm glad I did.

Thanks,

Jonathan
  Quote
The Boss
Thursday 9th August 2007 06:34


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 214

Firefly
Aww I like how you came up with 'Firefly'. I could just picture Fred and George turning Ron yellow

Excellent short story. This fits in very well to Sovran's The Meaning of One. Just one question did the chickens ever get returned to their normal colour?

The Boss
Jonathan-Avery
Thursday 9th August 2007 18:16
Firefly (Author Response)
Thanks. It actually came about as a discussion between Sovran and I about nicknames for Ginny. I explained my idea behind Firefly, and it just stuck.

Yeah I liked the yellow bit because it would reinforce why Ron would think the spell they gave him would turn Scabbers yellow.

As to the chickens, I assumed that they were never changed back. Chickens only live about 7 years max, so most of them would be gone by the time Harry shows up.

-Jonathan
  Quote
aurora luminis
Saturday 26th May 2007 01:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

Firefly
Yes, this is a very heart-warming piece. Something that makes the heart surge with hope. You painted your picture very well and made Arthur really live for us. thank you so much.
Jonathan-Avery
Saturday 26th May 2007 06:36
Firefly (Author Response)
You're welcome. I always want Arthur to have more screen time. Besides, I do like writing short little vignettes like this. it allows me to focus on a very contained moment in time which allows for a great deal of depth and focus on the subject without the complications of a larger plot. I am glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks
  Quote
Patches
Friday 25th May 2007 13:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Firefly
This is a cute story. It could have happened just like that! A really nice interlude between a father and his daughter. Thank you for writing. p
Jonathan-Avery
Saturday 26th May 2007 06:34
Firefly (Author Response)
I tried to capture that timeless feeling in the story. As much as it was a flush out of Meaning of One, I also wanted it to have no problem fitting in with canon, as if it were just a part of the story that happens before hand.
  Quote
sillysun
Friday 25th May 2007 12:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Firefly
It feels trite to call this story sweet, but it really was - you captured a lovely moment between Arthur and Ginny. Really enjoyable read; thanks.
Jonathan-Avery
Saturday 26th May 2007 06:33
Firefly (Author Response)
I don't usually get into "sweet" when I write. I tend to go for more drama, but a vignette like this seems to focus the feeling more directly than a similar scene within a long story.

Thanks for the review and reading.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Friday 25th May 2007 12:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Firefly
A lovely father-daughter conversation. I just love Arthur Weasley.
Jonathan-Avery
Saturday 26th May 2007 06:31
Firefly (Author Response)
Arthur is an often overlooked character in stories, and I wish he played a larger role in fan fiction. It is one of the reasons I like Meaning of One so much. Dave uses Arthur as more than a supporting character.

thanks for the review
  Quote
girlspell
Friday 25th May 2007 11:43


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 98

Firefly
I loved this story. I had read this at another site. I always enjoy rereading this. Everything about this story fits so well, from the title to the atmosphere. The interaction between Ginny and her father was terrific. You have written some really good storys, but think this is your best.
Jonathan-Avery
Saturday 26th May 2007 05:24
Firefly (Author Response)
Dave says the same thing. He always enjoys picking it up again. I think the story resonates so well because it is really about Arthur being a good father, and it adds commonality to the story taking it beyond a short interlude with Arhtur and Ginny. As to it being my best, well, it is my favorite at the moment as well.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004