Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets by Sovran

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
DragonAngel
Tuesday 8th July 2008 13:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

2: Stems
Nice job with Luna! I like her attitude towards "Ronald".
  Quote
bookish327
Friday 27th June 2008 23:14


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

2: Stems
This was such a wonderfully funny chapter. I love your depiction of Luna. She's so wonderfully eccentric, yet sweet. The "Alex" idea was perfect! Because it's late at night now, and I have a long day at work tomorrow, I'm just going to end this by saying that my favorite part of this chapter was the part about Hermione meeting Luna. (There are a bunch of other parts that I also loved, like Ron's confusion/exasperation when he spends time in Luna's company, but the way you ended the chapter was the highlight for me.)
Sovran
Monday 30th June 2008 20:47
2: Stems (Author Response)
I really enjoy Luna, but I admit that she's among the hardest characters for me to write. In fact, I had to almost completely re-write her from my original draft of this chapter. She's better for it, though, and so is the story.

I hope that Hermione's eventual meeting with Luna lived up to your expectations.

Thanks!
  Quote
huskers
Wednesday 18th July 2007 13:10


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 124

2: Stems
Luna abruptly pointed a thin finger at Ginny. “You still want to be Ginny and she, right?” Her aim shifted to Harry. “And you’re Harry and he?”

This is absolutly great. I wonder just what it is about Luna that allows her to see the single entity that is Harry and Ginny.

You do a really good job with Luna. She is totaly off base, and then right on. And just like the characters in the story, you have to stop and really thnk about what she said and suddenly it makes sense. You do it well, it is not something many authors are doing well. Congratulations.

Too bad Mrs. Weasley is so obvious in her attempts to get Ginny to play with Luna, a girl, instead of Harry. Like Harry and Ginny are playing to begin with. I've grown frustrated with your Molly, but see that we have quite a ways to go with her. Perhaps even years yet of her being a hag. I can only imagine her getting worse as Harry and Ginny mature and those kind of thoughts start to occur to them. It really is tough seeing Molly in this different, non nurturing, light towards Harry.

It is also interesting to see the role you give Arthur Weasley. He is very prevelant, and I think you have him pegged as to what JKR really thinks of him being.

Once again, great job.
Sovran
Wednesday 1st August 2007 09:42
2: Stems (Author Response)
Luna is really hard to write. There has to be some method to her madness, but who says we can even understand the method? I've done the best I can, really.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Darkarma
Thursday 21st June 2007 09:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

2: Stems
Well I can say this, either that crashing noise is some kind of noise set to alert Molly when someones ease dropping or perhaps Dobby is finally paying a visit. What really I'm curious to see is how things develop during puberty, and just how Molly is foretelling it, and whether she's right.

More to my point though... I could see Harry getting the Talk from Arthur quite soon, or better yet from Molly much sooner.

Anyway has anyone possibly considered that Luna is slightly Autistic? That focal ability combined with some magic and an open mind could contribute to quite a bit of what she's showing us. Ginny is sizing up to be adorable, while Harry... though not intending to be was a little rude in the earlier chapter in regards to Ginny helping with food. Molly seems to be remembering this and seems to be miffed, no doubt for a number of years to come I suppose if that is the one thing she does hold a grudge for if anything.

All in all a good chapter, looking forward to the next with wearing out my refresh button.
Sovran
Tuesday 31st July 2007 13:10
2: Stems (Author Response)
Ahh, puberty. It's fun for everyone.

An autistic Luna? Hmm... possibly, sortof. If so, she'd be closer to the Asperger's end of the PDD spectrum than the real 'autism' end. That, of course, begs the question... at what point is it a 'syndrome' instead of an individual's attempt to cope with life?

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Glodfindel
Wednesday 13th June 2007 06:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

2: Stems
Hy I have 1 question . In your first book you sed that twins took wormtail to transfiguration clas, did they or did they not transfugurate him in to something ?
Sovran
Wednesday 13th June 2007 07:39
2: Stems (Author Response)
They did. Scabbers has, at the very least, spent some time as a water goblet.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Friday 8th June 2007 12:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

2: Stems
I like the snake; he should have a name (maybe Willard). And Luna is marvelous.
Sovran
Wednesday 13th June 2007 07:27
2: Stems (Author Response)
I'm sure that if Ginny had not been so surprised, she would have named the snake or at least asked it for its name. Oh well. Willard is a good choice.
  Quote
aaron
Friday 8th June 2007 07:25


2: Stems
you are a great writer. a thoroughly enjoyed the first part and am looking fowrad to upcoming chapters. i love the fact that there's still tension between mrs. weasley and harry and luna's character was written perfectly. keep doing what you're doing
Sovran
Wednesday 13th June 2007 07:27
2: Stems (Author Response)
Thanks very much!
  Quote
HarryTiberiusPotter
Thursday 7th June 2007 21:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

2: Stems
I just finished readin through the first story and now the first two chapters of this story. This series has quickly become my favorite fan fiction I have ever read. Seeing FF as well written and compelling is always fun, you have created a series that to me outshines the source. Great job, I'm looking foward to seeing where you go with the second book.
Sovran
Wednesday 13th June 2007 07:26
2: Stems (Author Response)
Wow, thanks very much for the high praise. I'm glad you're enjoying the story, and I hope you continue to like it.
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 5th June 2007 18:12


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

2: Stems
Another great chapter! I loved the interaction with Luna and how well you portrayed her character. Her seeing Harry and Ginny together and then renaming them Alex is such a neat idea. I'm always impressed by your ability to morph canon and AU into one believable story. You did that in such a great way here with Luna's reaction to them. I also enjoy your Arthur. His insight into their thoughts and asking what they would change about going after Quirrell was great. It really showed some consideration on your part. How you manage to keep up such good writing at such a pace, and with so many little plot additions, I don't know. I sure do enjoy reading it, though!
Sovran
Wednesday 13th June 2007 07:26
2: Stems (Author Response)
The basic answer is that I don't sleep a lot. Is that bad?

I'm glad you like Luna. She was very difficult but very entertaining to write.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Tuesday 5th June 2007 16:16


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

2: Stems
When are you having Luna and the centaurs meet to discuss Alex? That conversation could be either VERY interesting, or completely incomprehensible.
Sovran
Wednesday 13th June 2007 07:25
2: Stems (Author Response)
Well, I was thinking of holding a caucus to discuss the intricacies of one. The panelists would be Luna, Firenze, Dobby, Daffydd, and the Thinker. What do you think? Would it be a comedy, a drama, a romance, or a tragedy?

P.S. I originally typed this review with "Floppy" instead of "Daffydd". Freudian slip. Though that conversation might be very interesting, too.
  Quote
Nyeshet
Monday 4th June 2007 19:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

2: Stems
Sorry in advance for the length of this review. Blame Luna. Understanding her and describing my thoughts on how you presented her and her views take up at least half of this review!


I see Molly's not adjusting quite as well as she lets on. She's doing better - much better, but she still has a ways to go. In a way I'm glad that she is taking so long - it seems more realistic to me, in a way. There were seven specific instances where Molly seemed to show her discomfort with the Harry | Ginny situation.

1) She gets a 'high neck and back' swimsuit (and Ginny | Harry, due to their age, do not even notice the significance of this - merely thinking the swim suit appears old fashioned / frumpy). In a way, the very fact that Harry | Ginny does not understand shows that Molly truly has nothing to worry about (yet).

2) She encouraged her sons to keep Ginny company at the swimming pond - although I liked the bit about how the children worked together to put off going swimming, allowing Harry a bit of privacy while he learned to swim (or, perhaps more accurately, recalled how to swim) from Ginny.

3) She 'shifted uneasily in her seat' when reminded of how close Harry's and Ginny's mind(s) are - so close that Harry could recall all of Ginny's swimming lessons.

4) She pushes Luna's visit - specifically for a time when Harry would not be present, seemingly wishing to encourage Ginny to see / think more of Luna than Harry, and she becomes a bit upset ('expression fell slightly') when Ginny pushes for Luna to visit when Harry is also present. I think this is more an instance of Molly wishing for Ginny to develop relationships, etc that exclude Harry, in a sense to have some measure of self-independence from Harry, or perhaps show some 'proof' (to Molly's eyes, at least) that Ginny can have a life / existence at least occasionally without Harry in it. (Perhaps as 'evidence' to Molly that Ginny | Harry will grow out of their connection / closeness - especially before reaching puberty.)

5) She scowled a bit after Harry made the comment about coming back [to the burrow] being even better (after having to leave it), suggesting that she is not comfortable with how often Harry is there (and thus around Ginny).

6) I wonder whether Luna chose her first chair selection or was guided to it by Molly. It seems quite suspitious that it just happened to be in the one spot guaranteed to separate Ginny and Harry during their meal, and Luna's sudden movement after they entered suggested that she certainly was aware they they would wish to sit next to each other were they able.

7) She was speaking (arguing?) with her husband about how much time Harry | Ginny spend together (when Ginny and Luna) were coming down the stairs. At least she (or Arthur?) put up that proximity ward so that they could stop if any of their children got too close, thus hiding her unease a bit better from them.

All in all, the signs are subtle and less common than before, but she still has a ways to go. Good work.


Is it actually normal for girls to start shaving their legs at ten? Granted, the scene had some nice humor (Harry worrying about whether this was something he would have to do.), but otherwise it comes across as a bit odd. Maybe I'm finally old enough to have unnoticingly slipped into being 'old fashioned', but I find it difficult to believe they would even have enough hair on their legs to start at that age. Sort of like wearing make up, I can see them perhaps wishing to do so (to emulate being older), but I cannot see them needing to or even their parents wanting / allowing them to - even if they had the hair to shave off in the first place.

[i]"Say, Ron, off the bookends for us, will you? Try about ten degrees’ worth."[/i]

I found this line hilarious, although I can see why Harry | Ginny did not. Unlike George (and Fred), Harry | Ginny are quite aware of how dangerous their temper(s) truly is.

I wasn't surprised that Ginny is a parselmouth. After all, she is literally Harry's other half, each having all the abilities / potentials of both. I would have been far more surprised had Ginny not been a parselmouth. I did like the way Ginny reacted to the snake's brief conversation, however, realizing from it that serpents were not necessarily evil and thus being a parselmouth was itself not necessarily something to worry about. I presume, however, that she will be discrete about it, knowing how much of the wizarding world views the ability.

[i]If you were his size and you didn’t have any teeth, how would you respond to something as big as we are?

Very politely. Good point.[/i]

Another great set of lines. I guess that should be considered true for human - dragon relations as well? Just sort of the reverse of the human - serpent relation.

The lesson finally learned from the grass cutting is interesting, in that I can see changes coming in future situations simply due to Harry | Ginny stopping to think things through a little before acting. In point of fact, their lessons with McGonagall also sort of push that idea, as otherwise they may one day find themselves having to put up with the unpleasant scent of Fried Ferret.


Luna was hilarious and oddly thought provoking. I'm not convinced that canon Luna is as perceptive, but that doesn't matter much as I rather like your take on Luna. I have the feeling that if that power-sphere-revealing spell could be altered to test for perception (and while there at it: presence and potential as well so as to test for all four P's! ), then Luna would test as a size 9 sphere (for perception). To determine the Harry | Ginny nature after only a few careful stares is simply astonishing. And, quite accurately, she stated that she did not 'know', as understanding the full magnitude of Harry | Ginny is probably beyond most if not everyone in the series. She - and to a point we as well - can only speculate.

Her naming Ginny | Harry 'Alex' - for short, as she said - is informative, considering that Alexander means "Defender of Mankind." (Alex itself means 'Defender' - which, as Luna stated, is just as accurate for Harry | Ginny. Also, it can be short for either the masculine Alexander or the feminine Alexandra, so it also works just as well from a gender-neutral point of view.) Her bit about 'do you count in twenties' was amusing.

I found it interesting - her bit about others not bothering with more than one idea at a time. I'm not sure if that means that she has multiple streams of consciousness in her mind, or if it simply means that most ignore (or do not follow up on) oddities if they can somehow cram much of it into ideas / views they are already familiar with - and thus tend to overlook some things (rather like muggles overlooking scores of instances of obvious magic at Kings Cross each Sept 1st as children repeated walk through a wall). Luna seems to have an interestingly open view of the world. I wonder whether she truly believes what is in the Quibbler, and perhaps more importantly, I wonder whether any of it is true and simply overlooked by the magical community. As Luna said, I do not Know, but it is interesting to Speculate!

Her perception regarding Harry | Ginny was especially obvious when she pointed out that Harry | Ginny did not need to speak through Harry's body if s|he didn't wish to. His reply that it was habit was interesting in that it caused Luna to understand their nature to a better degree, even as Harry | Ginny did not understand the full significance of their reply to Luna.

[i]"Habit, like you said. I should have thought of that myself. You can’t have been yourself for more than a year, after all.”

“You still want to be Ginny and she, right?” Her aim shifted to Harry. “And you’re Harry and he?”

“It seems that we both like your Harry.”
Ginny giggled as Harry shook his head in embarrassment. “I like him, too.”
Luna’s pale blue gaze moved to Ginny, and an incongruous look of incredulity passed over her features. “What a ridiculous thing to say."[/i]

The second quote is interesting, in that it shows that Luna realizes what Harry | Ginny do not. Being one being coexisting in two bodies simultaneously - and being able to perceive at will through each other's senses, the next logical step is that which side of their personality is in which body is irrelevant. Harry and Ginny are in the bodies they are in (rather than having switched) simply because they expect to be in those bodies (Harry in his original, Ginny in her original.). As Luna stated earlier, it is merely a habit, something from their prior existence which they have not yet gotten over. They could choose to change, but due to habit they have not even considered the possibility. That Luna has - and especially that she has before they have - says a lot for her perceptions of their situation.

The third quote especially shows how perceptive Luna is, having realized that Ginny saying she likes Harry is akin to Luna saying she likes herself or her left hand liking her right hand or her eye liking her ear. Harry | Ginny truly is a single individual / entity / being. Luna realizes this - and some of the implications of it, while Ginny and Harry are still learning.

Luna's defense of the Nundus was both interesting and chilling. Does she truly see Nundus, Humans, and Chickens as in some manner equal - such that Nundus eating humans is no more terrible - and should no more necessarily be prevented - than humans eating chickens? I'm guessing she does not, but still . . . . Perhaps she merely views it as part of their nature - something that therefore they should not be punished for. It is interesting, for I had not priorly considered the idea that being open to others could simultaneously be dispassionate towards them. Luna seems to be able to maintain a degree of distance towards others and situations even as she simultaneously is remarkably open to all that is or might occur(ring) to, around, and in regards to them. Interesting.

The bit about Scabbers was a bit thought-provoking, as it underscores just how long Peter has been with the Weasleys, and it shows just how much he has been observing them. When you think about it, should Voldemort ever decide to really go after the Weasleys, he has a true treasure trove of useful and interesting information about them at his fingertips with Peter.

The chess matches were fun, although I think that perhaps Luna was specifically forcing Ron to think, to be more open to the potential moves of others - even those he thinks unlikely or confounding. I wonder if Luna thinks that Ron has the potential to think more like she does and is trying to encourage him to open his mind a bit more via unconventional chess games? Or perhaps I am reading too much into this?

I wonder whether Ginny will truly become ambidexterious. If so, I can somehow see Harry | Ginny casting spells together while holding hands, each using a different hand to cast the same (or different) spells at whom/what-ever. There are likely other ways this could be useful that I am not yet seeing.

Now we come to the only bit in this chapter I did not get: math. Why is it that Luna seems certain that Harry is learning math while he is separate from Ginny? Does it perhaps tie in with the bit earlier about counting by twenties (due to having twenty fingers in total)? Does she think Harry separates himself from Ginny as a means of somehow seeking to better understand his situation with his other half? Perhaps a later chapter will clue me in.

I found it interesting that Ginny (and Harry? probably, I presume) adjusted so easily to being called Alex by Luna. Not necessarily surprising (Expecting some oddities from Luna is normal, after all.), but interesting nonetheless. I wonder whether by the end of second (or third?) year they might have come to think of themselves more as the singular entity 'Alex' rather than the seemingly dual entities 'Harry and Ginny.' As Luna mentioned, their continued reference of themselves as if they were two beings is merely habit, not truth / fact.

I'm guessing the sound of a dish breaking was some type of proximity ward, letting Molly and Arthur know if a child was coming near enough to overhear them speaking? Molly was likely commenting on how much time Harry | Ginny spend together (perhaps/likely in the sense of it being unnatural), while Arthur was, I presume, about to say something about it not being something they could (should attempt to?) change.

[i]If we couldn’t be friends, who knows what he’d miss?”[/i]

Interesting, as it suggests she is more interested in Ron seeing everything around him rather than her own feelings being hurt if they were not friends. But, then, her very actions to 'help' Ron (perhaps whether he wants / realizes it or not) are in themselves a form of friendship, in that she is seeking to aid / better him. I look forward to the future development of their relationship - not necessarily a romantic one, of course. A strong or even casual friendship with Luna through his early years at Hogwarts could have a profound impact on Ron. And I cannot see Harry | Ginny not continuing their friendship of Luna while at Hogwarts or in any way excluding her. I'm mostly certain she will end up in Ravenclaw still, however, so I wonder how it will work out (as Luna will be separated both by house and by year, rather than just by house, from Ginny | Harry).

The last lines, about Luna meeting Hermione, were truly hilarious - and entirely true. Each is highly, extraordinarily, perceptive, but each deals with their perceptions in a different fashion. Hermione organizes and analyzes them, trying to fit them together into a cohesive whole. Luna, by contrast, tends to accept the knowledge as it comes to her, not worrying in the least about organizing the bits of information she perceives. In the popular personality test (MBTI), Hermione would be a strong J, while Luna would be strongly the polar opposite: a P. In many respects they are quite similar, but in that one respect they are utter opposites. Their meeting will be interesting, like an abstract artist and realism artist trying to understand each others works - both brilliantly done, but so utterly different from the perspective of the other. I look forward to it - and further chapters, of course.

Sorry again for the long review (and for the fact its been a while sense I reviewed, for that matter).
Sovran
Tuesday 12th June 2007 09:28
2: Stems (Author Response)
Well, you have claimed the record for the longest single review. I suspect you’ll keep that record, too. I will attempt to answer as well as I can, in the same order of topics that you used.

Molly is, indeed, fighting her instincts. She is trying, and I’m happy to see that you can see that, but she’s a stubborn woman. Of your seven observations, in total, I would say that you’re about 80-85% correct. Little bits of several of the points are not quite the way I intended them, but in general you’re seeing things very clearly.

I went through a rather exhaustive process to plan out Ginny’s growth in particular, and I consulted with 4 women to get help in that regard. Ginny started shaving her legs just after her 10th birthday, and that might be a tiny bit earlier than average, but it’s well within the range of normality. There are so many factors that lead into the timing of that decision that it’s impossible to say when it should happen with any accuracy. Anyway, as I understand it, some girls start before their ninth birthday, and others don’t start until they’re 12 or 13. The later ones, however, are primarily delayed for societal reasons (lack of permission, primarily) rather than by biological factors. According to my sources, just about every girl has some growth by age 11, and the question is simply how visible the hair is and whether or not she wants to and is permitted to shave it. The interactions and characterizations of Ginny and Molly that led to Ginny shaving her legs at age 10 is a separate question, but I’m comfortable that I have a solid answer.

I got to thinking about Parseltongue, over a year ago now, and it seemed obvious to me that Ginny had to have that ability. The question then becomes: what if the snake was bigger than you and DID have teeth?

Luna is a difficult but entertaining character to interpret and write. I think she could be this perceptive in canon, but the books’ PoV doesn’t give us an opportunity to know for sure. What I had to do, in order to feel comfortable about writing her, was decide exactly what causes her peculiarity in the most basic sense. In this case, there are three primary factors to her character, in my opinion, and I had to identify those factors as specifically as I could. From there, it was simply a matter of applying that knowledge to her life and determining where that left her as of her appearance in the narrative. I have to be able to justify, to myself and to my betas, the reasons for everything she does and says, based on the characterization I’ve built. That keeps me from getting too outlandish, though it is loads of fun to explore the extremes possible in her character. She may not perfectly resemble canon-Luna, but I think she’s pretty close, and she’s probably more fully developed.

Noticed the name, did you? Convenient, that. So far, you’re on a very short list of people to get (or at least admit to getting) the counting bit.

I would respond fully to your examination of Luna’s offhand comments and perceptions, but I’m going to have a lot more fun exploring those issues in the prose, so you’ll have to wait and continue to Speculate. =)

I don’t think Luna sees Nundus as truly equal to Humans. She might realize that she should, but I don’t think that even she can separate herself quite that much. The survival instinct is strong, after all. She does not think they should be punished, though. Notice that she mentioned that she and her father want to find a way to track the Nundus, so that people can get out of their way without hurting them.

Ah, yes, Peter. I think he was underplayed in canon, at least so far, and I don’t intend to fall into the same pattern.

As for math, there are several possible answers. I’ll admit to one of them that is entirely correct: Luna simply enjoys mathematics.

Luna’s impact on the story will be different from canon, simply because of Ginny’s presence. The question, of course, is what impact the premise will have on Luna, and then what impact Luna will have on the plot. Isn’t it fun?

This Luna/Hermione meeting is starting to intimidate me. I’ve always intended to write it, of course, but now I’ve built up a lot of expectation. I hope my ideas live up to my hype. =)

I appreciate the long review, and I’m not too worried about the delay between reviews. Everything you said was substantial, and that’s really all that matters.

Thanks,
Dave
  Quote
legobean
Monday 4th June 2007 16:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

2: Stems
All in all I thought this chapter was a little bit loose, not much obvious plot development, it droned a bit because there wasn't much action. Not a harsh critism it was enjoyable to read, but other than Luna being Luna I wasn't quite sure what to take from the chapter.

I thought the interplay between Luna and Ron was cute. I was confused by the interupted conversation in the kitchen between Molly and Arthur, were we supposed to learn something there?

All in all I like the idea behind the stories, but I felt it would have made sense to have some tension between the Dursley's and Harry, nothing violent just some tense interaction that bothers Ginny, but Harry begs her not to tell anyone.

The pointless task in the orchard is very nicely done. I actually received that same punishment from my mother after doing something equally stupid, but without the noble purpose when was nine. I didn't get off after two weeks though, spent the whole darn summer grounded cutting that stupid grass.

I don't mean for my review to come off as negative, I did feel there was some room for improvement in this chapter, but who knows I may be proven wrong as things later in this book come back to tie in here.
Sovran
Wednesday 13th June 2007 07:21
2: Stems (Author Response)
I figured that there had to be someone out there who'd cut grass as a punishment. Blech.
  Quote
legobean
Monday 4th June 2007 16:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

2: Stems
All in all I thought this chapter was a little bit loose, not much obvious plot development, it droned a bit because there wasn't much action. Not a harsh critism it was enjoyable to read, but other than Luna being Luna I wasn't quite sure what to take from the chapter.

I thought the interplay between Luna and Ron was cute. I was confused by the interupted conversation in the kitchen between Molly and Arthur, were we supposed to learn something there?

All in all I like the idea behind the stories, but I felt it would have made sense to have some tension between the Dursley's and Harry, nothing violent just some tense interaction that bothers Ginny, but Harry begs her not to tell anyone.

The pointless task in the orchard is very nicely done. I actually received that same punishment from my mother after doing something equally stupid, but without the noble purpose when was nine. I didn't get off after two weeks though, spent the whole darn summer grounded cutting that stupid grass.

I don't mean for my review to come off as negative, I did feel there was some room for improvement in this chapter, but who knows I may be proven wrong as things later in this book come back to tie in here.
Sovran
Wednesday 13th June 2007 07:20
2: Stems (Author Response)
All I can really say is that every element in this chapter is meaningful to the story as a whole. Hopefully, as the story progresses, you'll see the ties back to this chapter.

Given what has happened, I don't see how there could be a lot of running tension between Harry and the Dursleys. Somehow, they've been convinced to leave him completely alone, and he's not about to seeking them out. Of course, being themselves, they can never be truly benign.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
lantis222
Monday 4th June 2007 11:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

2: Stems
Oh very nice, I like Luna. It's interesting that she was able to tell right off. But then she is Luna. Great chapter. Keep it up.
Sovran
Wednesday 13th June 2007 07:17
2: Stems (Author Response)
Thanks very much. Luna is a lot of fun.
  Quote
swngnblues
Monday 4th June 2007 09:57


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

2: Stems
I've been following this series on SIYE, and reviewed sporadically over there. I much prefer PS for my reviews, and am glad you've finally got the update timeline in sync now. : )

Your Luna is a riot, to be sure. : ) Naming the "one" between them Alex is rather amusing as well. I've always been curious to everyone's interpretations of a younger Luna, and whether or not she was so formal and "chaotically organized". I'm definitely looking forward to a 12-year old Hermione and 11-year old Luna meeting.

It's interesting that Ginny can speak and understand Parsletongue... could make life even more interesting in this section of the series.

Looking forward to your next chapter. I suppose a trip to Diagon Alley is in order?
Sovran
Wednesday 13th June 2007 07:16
2: Stems (Author Response)
Luna's a ton of fun. I had to think very carefully about why she is the way she is, but that helped me to get her 'right' in my opinion. This meeting with Hermione is shaping up to be quite the event.

We've a bit of time to cover before Diagon Alley. Nothing is simple for Harry and Ginny, right?

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004