Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Harry Potter and the Siege of Hogwarts by Ajarntham

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
Hoss
Friday 4th January 2008 11:05


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

ii: Fiat Memoriam
Boy I'm lost. But looking forward to the next chapter.
  Quote
Gioia
Wednesday 20th June 2007 21:39


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

ii: Fiat Memoriam
Congratulations - you've been rec'ed! Visit Know It Alls to pick up your graphic acknowledging this accomplishment!
  Quote
Professor Webster
Thursday 7th June 2007 18:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

ii: Fiat Memoriam
You have a good idea BUT you have made a mistake in one area. You have made a very very large change in the character of a major character, namely one Harry Potter. You have him a weak wimpy lad who is easily manipulated by mere physical threats even with backup right at hand. If they took away his wand all he need do is hout out some window. If they don't just send up a flare. In short your lead character is no longer Harry Potter but some other much less likeable person who is most unlikely to fare well at all against someone like Voldemort. In short your story as it is here is fatally flawed. ( in my opinion of course )
Ajarntham
Thursday 7th June 2007 20:24
ii: Fiat Memoriam (Author Response)
I know that authors' statements along the lines of "You SHOULD have read it THIS way!" are pretty much a confession of failure that the author didn't actually write it "that way" (or not well enough, at any rate). But this forum is a kind of writers' school, among other things, so maybe I can get some suggestions on how I could have done it better. I was trying to portray Harry, not as afraid or intimidated, but as feeling defiled by every extra moment he remained in the house; his willingness to throw away every Galleon he had was supposed (there's that word again) to stem partly from that feeling, partly a kind of passive-aggressive revenge on the Order for putting him in that situation (more on that in the next chapter). But of course your reaction is at least as valid as my 'explanation.'
  Quote
No Idea Why I Smile
Thursday 7th June 2007 13:07


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 72

ii: Fiat Memoriam
I like it so far. It is interesting. I look forward to the next chapters. I am glad that you're finally writing this, as I was waiting. impatiently. i might add, for you to do so since I read the Interview ones

Look forwards to the next chapters, so please, update soon.

~Tricia~
Ajarntham
Thursday 7th June 2007 20:26
ii: Fiat Memoriam (Author Response)
Thanks for the comment, hope I can keep you interested!
  Quote
whimsy
Wednesday 6th June 2007 16:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 29

ii: Fiat Memoriam
In the muggle world, usually any agreement made under physical duress or through extortion is not considered binding. Unless there is some equivalent principle in the wizarding world, consider what could be done with an Imperius to force contracts. I can't imagine that the goblins would be too happy about losing the money and they may have something to say to the Dursleys. I suspect that goblins can be very persuasive at making offers that can't be refused.

"Persons" can take it upon themselves to act on their own initiative which wouldn't violate the 3rd clause. I think that certain twins would likely act on their own. Harry can urge, request, or incite Remus, Dobby, Gringotts goblins, and other non-persons to act without violating that clause. For example, getting back money that they feel was unlawfully acquired may not be considered retaliation. The problem with the term 'retaliation' is that it is a subjective judgement as to whether actions are retaliatory.

Why was Harry indulging in a daydream about sabotaging the money? Besides the smell, other things can be done like making the bank notes feel slimy and unpleasant to handle, or causing a rash when handled by people not covered in the 3rd clause such as bank tellers and merchants.

Would an anonymous tip to HM Revenue and Customs (formerly known as Inland Revenue) after the payment of the cash be considered retaliation? It could be argued that preventing the Dursleys from facing charges of tax evasion by properly reporting income is helping them. (Hermione would know about HM Revenue. It would be strange if she never heard her parents complain about taxes.)
Ajarntham
Wednesday 6th June 2007 17:56
ii: Fiat Memoriam (Author Response)
I'm beginning to suspect that this chapter wasn't as well constructed as I imagined when writing it. The 'daydream' was meant to reflect what he actually HAD done (placing a dungbomb smell over all the cash); he's just anticipating what will happen when the Dursleys finally realize what has happened. (At the time I didn't want to break from Harry's point of view. which I would have to do in order to show what happened when the Dursleys tried spending the money, so I had Harry thinking about it; but now that I think of it, there are other passages in which I do break from Harry's p.o.v. later, so I certainly could have done better here.)
  Quote
Bagelz
Wednesday 6th June 2007 10:57


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

ii: Fiat Memoriam
Nice little trick with the money ... but wow, what an expensive prank! Maybe Vernon and Dudley should go after Voldemort though .. they always seem to tie up old Harry. Great story, again, glad you've started~
Ajarntham
Wednesday 6th June 2007 18:06
ii: Fiat Memoriam (Author Response)
Thanks again! I hope that very expensive prank can be accepted as something Harry might do, though it's certainly an irrational thing to do on many levels.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004