Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Essence Divided by Majick

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 11 of 11
DailyProphetReporting
Wednesday 2nd January 2008 03:22


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 180

Prologue
Hey Majick,

Remember me from the old days? Well I've finally gotten around to giving this a try. I would have done so sooner, but the WIP label on this scared me off. You ought to get your beta to fix that.

Anyway, from my post-DH perspective there's not a lot here that stands out except the fact that you've held a lot truer to what JKR hinted at in HBP than she did. I do appreciate the dreary setting at Godric's Hollow and the Dumbledore-like wisdom of the Potters' stone, though. And I look forward to seeing how the plot develops after such as seemly slow start for our heros.

Also, I like the mystery you've added with the series of Halloween deaths. Knowing your writing, there's got to be more than that.

Anyway, thanks as always for your hard work.

-KC
  Quote
rdprice29
Saturday 14th July 2007 16:39


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 141

Prologue
What a great start. It is a little surprising there was no H/G action at all at the wedding, but still very good none the less.

I'm looking forward to see where you take this. Great job!
  Quote
noylj
Saturday 7th July 2007 14:43


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

Prologue
I would think that the plot of land would be worth a quick look and search (may be a horcrux just left lyong around...or something)
Good story so far, but I wish that harry would get a pair of cajones and start being proactive.
  Quote
noylj
Saturday 7th July 2007 14:43


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

Prologue
I would think that the plot of land would be worth a quick look and search (may be a horcrux just left lyong around...or something)
Good story so far, but I wish that harry would get a pair of cajones and start being proactive.
  Quote
beechy1001
Thursday 28th June 2007 08:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

Prologue
good
nice writing on the headstone
and is it just conicidence that people have been dying on haloween?
  Quote
hedwig5221
Friday 15th June 2007 06:34


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

Prologue
Just found this thanks to lnalvgd. A good start...I'll continue. I, too, am impressed that you have taken on this story with such a short time before DH is released.

Moving forward now...

  Quote
nerd2006
Thursday 7th June 2007 20:16


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 111

Prologue
Oops, silly me didn't realize there was a prologue. Very interesting story, I can't wait to see where you take it.
  Quote
critmo
Thursday 7th June 2007 10:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Prologue
Not really a hopeful start, is it?
Majick
Thursday 7th June 2007 10:29
Prologue (Author Response)
It gets better - kind of...

Harry doesn't have a happy year ahead of him, really, but hopefully it won't all be as unhappy as seeing his parents' graves...

Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Narumi
Thursday 7th June 2007 09:57


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

Prologue
Wow, this looks really interesting so far! Are all the young couples in Godric's Hollow dying? Or just the ones who move there? Definitely cursed. cool. Book seven in twelve chapters? Ambitious. Good luck to you.
Majick
Thursday 7th June 2007 10:28
Prologue (Author Response)
Once a year, every year... There's some bad mojo in Godric's Hollow. We'll be back for more come Hallowe'en, count on it.

Thanks for the review - and the wishes!
  Quote
Wolf's Scream
Thursday 7th June 2007 07:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 372

Prologue
Excellent start; good narrative. I see you a avoiding getting too bogged down in relating certain details as they happen, but refer to them as having taken place as needed; given the pace you've set yourself, that seems a useful device. Right clever of Harry to avoid the query about his name (and that without calling attention to the fact that he was avoiding answering the question as asked). Good character interaction, too.

The additional deaths on All Hallow's Eve (of various years) is a curious phenomenon.

The inscriptions on the headstones are nice touches, too.

Quite good so far.
Majick
Thursday 7th June 2007 10:27
Prologue (Author Response)
Hey, thanks for the review!

I'm trying to avoid too much detail (JKR, for all her 600+ page manuscripts, frequently skips whole months in the books) but hopefully there'll still be enough detail in here.

And as for Hallowe'en in Godric's Hollow... More to come on that, too!
  Quote
OHGinnyfan
Thursday 7th June 2007 05:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Prologue
Hi Majick...

I'm impressed that you're taking this task on six weeks before DH. I love your stuff and I am thrilled by that there's a new story.

It's been a while since I've had time to follow a WIP, so I look forward to reading this one.
Majick
Thursday 7th June 2007 10:26
Prologue (Author Response)
Hey, thanks for the review!

TBH, the story's been in progress since last summer - but as recently as March, I was only halfway through chapter two. But recently I've sparked back into life, an now I'm beavering away. Hopefully I'll be able to keep up the pace
  Quote
Showing 1 to 11 of 11
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004