Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Essence Divided by Majick

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 12 of 12
DailyProphetReporting
Monday 7th January 2008 02:42


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 180

1: Tom Marvolo Riddle
Interesting. I don't think I'd given any thought to the notion of Riddle's earliest victims being part of the story before or after DH, but there's some definite logic to it. The notion that Amy -- one of the first people to see him as what he wanted to be -- was watching over part of his soul certainly would certainly be appealing to Voldemort, conteracting his hatred for the orphanage.

Also, good call leaving the trio with no idea how to destroy the cup. Dumbledore's hand certainly implied that it was a rather mammoth, and that's one thing a lot of authors of Year 7 fics seemed to ignore, or at least downplay. I look forward to seeing how you dealt with it.

On a side note, I was duly impressed that you called that the cup was charmed to burning to the touch. Obviously, the circumstances were rather different, but as they say, great minds think a like.

-KC
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Tuesday 12th June 2007 10:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

1: Tom Marvolo Riddle
You've started your story at a cracking good pace. I wonder if Amy will ever get the Molly Weasley dinner Ron is so keen on?

I look forward to more.
  Quote
critmo
Saturday 9th June 2007 09:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

1: Tom Marvolo Riddle
I take it that this was a Horcrux V. hid early on. The traps around it are not in the same league with the ones of the (fake) locket. Unless ... you're keeping something from us.
Majick
Tuesday 12th June 2007 09:05
1: Tom Marvolo Riddle (Author Response)
Well, different Horcruxes are protected in different ways - this one has its own charms built in, so there wasn't a need for too many external ones. The orphanage itself was sufficient protection and hiding place.
  Quote
nerd2006
Thursday 7th June 2007 19:56


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 111

1: Tom Marvolo Riddle
You've got my attention.
Majick
Tuesday 12th June 2007 09:02
1: Tom Marvolo Riddle (Author Response)
Cool! Let's hope I keep it!
  Quote
Melindaleo
Thursday 7th June 2007 19:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

1: Tom Marvolo Riddle
Not a sufficient trial at all - so let's not do it for long!

Great start here, and I'm even more eager to see if you can keep up the pace and finish before DH. I'm cheering for you. This was a great start, and I'm so curious to know what the old woman was thinking when she looked at Harry. I hope Ron tells.
Majick
Tuesday 12th June 2007 09:02
1: Tom Marvolo Riddle (Author Response)
Praise from the Queen - about as good as it gets

And Harry will be seeing Ginny again. In a little while

In case I never got around to saying, I loved The Seventh Horcrux - I'm reading it at the moment for what must the third or fourth time. Apologies if I end up pinching anything. I'm trying to be original. Honest
  Quote
Narumi
Thursday 7th June 2007 10:38


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

1: Tom Marvolo Riddle
Well, if I remember correctly, Basilisk venom works a treat... Or maybe it was Harry's blood on the fang that did it... who knows...

Nice introduction - and Hermione needed to know that not everyone is as easy to fool as she thinks they are!


Eagerly awaiting more!



Looking back at this review made me think of something- the fact that it was Harry's blood on the Basilisk venom-tooth. Dumbledore said in book six that Voldemort would enjoy making it so that you had to harm yourself to get at a Horcrux (the locket, in that case), again requiring blood. And the Diary, which is the only Horcrux we really have seen be destroyed in detail, possibly required blood to be destroyed- perhaps a common theme? Sorry to review twice, it just occurred to me that this might be useful in the destruction.
Majick
Thursday 7th June 2007 11:08
1: Tom Marvolo Riddle (Author Response)
It's certainly a possibility - and I don't intend for any Horcrux to be destroyed easily. It's probably not going to be something so direct, however - Voldemort would revel in inventing nasty ways of protecting his Horcruxes

However, there'll certainly be one or two that, shall we say, need a bit of a sacrifice...
  Quote
Narumi
Thursday 7th June 2007 10:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

1: Tom Marvolo Riddle
Looking good. Nice plan, having Hermione pretend to be researching a former student, but I definitely think they should have taken a lot more time to interview Amy. And also, if Dumbledore managed to be there to interview her about what happened and Obliviate her, surely he would have made the Horcrux-Orphanage connection on his own? I really like your foresight in having Voldy plan the shield to allow dusting. I was expecting it to do something like only let Muggles through, but the feather duster only wasn't such a bad idea. I did notice one error:
"No, you didn't," Ron said. "Your head wasn't anywhere it."
You left out the "near". It's one of those instances where your brain inserts it into the phrase as you read it, anyway, so it's no wonder your beta didn't catch it.
Keep the great work coming!
Majick
Thursday 7th June 2007 11:04
1: Tom Marvolo Riddle (Author Response)
I wanted to have more from Amy - but I just didn't know what to have her say.

As for Dumbledore, he may well have made the connection - we'll never know. I think that Dumbledore knew a lot more than he let on, and probably had a good idea about where at least some of the Horcruxes were. I also suspect that he wasn't ready to destroy them, or that he was waiting for Harry to be ready to destroy them before he went much further. After losing his hand, he may have realised his folly in tackling the Horcruxes on his own, so even if he knew where they were, he just kept an eye on them, until such time as he was ready to tackle them.

I may be wrong - the books suggest that Dumbledore was all set to go out and tackle them as soon as he found them. But it's a possibility...

Thanks for the review - there should be more soon!
  Quote
Sassenach_Mel
Thursday 7th June 2007 08:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

1: Tom Marvolo Riddle
looks good so far.
Majick
Thursday 7th June 2007 10:57
1: Tom Marvolo Riddle (Author Response)
Thanks! Hope you stick with us
  Quote
Wolf's Scream
Thursday 7th June 2007 08:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 372

1: Tom Marvolo Riddle
Generally quite good; I noticed a couple of oddities and had some comments:

The DE approach to avoiding information leaks seems quite consistent with Tom's general perspective & priorities.

Use of Amy Benson & Dennis Bishop is a nice touch And she's a sharp one. :-)

OK;the "maze of twisting passages, all alike" phrase definitely caught my eye. Was that a deliberate allusion to a certain text-based computer game? :-)

[Did you mean "formerly covered" instead of "formally covered" -- just after Hermione knocked the Cup off the shelf?]

Hermione's comment about the proection on the locket appears to be a non sequitur -- or doesn't she know (or recall) that the locket that was found was not a Horcrux?

Pity -- for the Trio -- that the Horcux found at the orphanage was something they already strongly suspected was a Horcrux. Should be interesting to see how they figure out where to look for the others
Majick
Thursday 7th June 2007 10:51
1: Tom Marvolo Riddle (Author Response)
It *should* have been formerly - whoops!

The game reference is actually a meta-reference - it pops up in Tom Clancy's Patriot Games, and he acknowledges it there as a reference to... I want to say Zork. Or possibly Ultima. Anyway, it's a reference to a reference

As for Hermione's comment, the locket was protected - Horcrux or not. Voldemort didn't (doesn't) know that RAB had taken it, so the protection remained in place.

Glad you liked the appearance of Amy and Dennis - I wasn't sure about it, but I figured that victims often fight back in one way or another, and this seemed realistic.

Thanks for the review!
  Quote
hjdevnull
Thursday 7th June 2007 05:03


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 91

1: Tom Marvolo Riddle
Very interesting so far! I like how you've jumped right into it rather than spending a great deal of time at the wedding. Every seventh-year story I've read so far does that, it's nice to see a change.

Can't wait to see more coming.
Majick
Thursday 7th June 2007 10:38
1: Tom Marvolo Riddle (Author Response)
I honestly don't believe that you can beat Melindaleo's The Seventh Horcrux for scenes at Bill and Fleur's wedding, so I decided to avoid it completely. Besides, one of my great weaknesses as a writer is getting caught up with the incidentals - so I'm trying to avoid too many sideways steps. They're still finding their way in, though...

Thanks for the review - there should be more up soon!
  Quote
SeaNymph
Thursday 7th June 2007 04:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

1: Tom Marvolo Riddle
Well, this is a great start to a really good story. I've read your works, and they are good, but I think this one takes the bag for greatness, lol. I make it sound as though it's alive.

Anyway, it really is a good start, and I can't wait to find out more on Harry, Ron, and Hermione finding and destroying the Horcruxes.
Majick
Thursday 7th June 2007 10:35
1: Tom Marvolo Riddle (Author Response)
Glad you're enjoying it - I must say, I think it gets better as it goes along

There should be more up soon. Thanks for the review!
  Quote
honourary_weasley
Wednesday 6th June 2007 22:31


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

1: Tom Marvolo Riddle
Well, if I remember correctly, Basilisk venom works a treat... Or maybe it was Harry's blood on the fang that did it... who knows...

Nice introduction - and Hermione needed to know that not everyone is as easy to fool as she thinks they are!


Eagerly awaiting more!
Majick
Thursday 7th June 2007 10:34
1: Tom Marvolo Riddle (Author Response)
Smart as she is, Hermione *is* only seventeen - books smarts don't always beat street smarts.

As for how to destroy a Horcrux, well... we get to that around about chapter five. Huzzah!

Thanks for the review - there should be more up around Monday or so!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 12 of 12
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004