Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Quartet for Separated Voices by Rhetor

Showing 1 to 20 of 40 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
ionik27
Monday 25th August 2008 12:53


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 81

Quartet for Separated Voices
four knots in time, each with more than one path beyond, each depending on the one before and deciding the one after... And the four voices you chose were perfect!! Incredible, as always!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 18th November 2007 17:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Quartet for Separated Voices
wow! this was really neat!!! I loved how you had 4 parts and they all represented the different musical parts!!!
  Quote
Astrid
Monday 10th September 2007 12:19


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Quartet for Separated Voices
My goodness, this is beautiful. You did an excellent job.
Rhetor
Friday 19th October 2007 13:15
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Thanks; I'm glad you liked it. ~Ken
  Quote

Friday 7th September 2007 21:18


Quartet for Separated Voices
I LOVED that story; it was the coolest!!!! I love how you used four different times and everything! I thought that Harry wanting to kill himself was depressing, but I'm glad Ginny won.

/

Rhetor
Friday 7th September 2007 21:54
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
I'm very glad you liked the story. Thanks for that kind review.
  Quote
rebekah_sc
Friday 7th September 2007 20:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Quartet for Separated Voices
That was really intense... great job.
Rhetor
Friday 7th September 2007 21:53
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Thank you. I'm honored.
  Quote
ColtDancer
Friday 7th September 2007 19:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Quartet for Separated Voices
*sniffles*

Oh, what a powerful and POIGNANT piece! I had no idea what to expect when I read the title and brief description, and even when I started this I wasn't sure where it would lead. I could not have chanced a guess that would have in any way done it justice. What a brilliant little piece; I am in awe.

You've captured the essence of each timeline and their respective characters beautifully; the pictures were rather vivid as I read, and in the end, I felt so...distressed. I'm not sure how to describe it...it's just that tension that comes with knowing fate and choice are so entertwined, and sometimes dictate one another. Knowing what happens as a result of those choices (as the reader) makes it difficult to watch the characters in the time they are contemplating. Such a cyclical process. It makes me want to tantrum. OY.

Intriguing, masterful. Thank you so much for sharing!

~CD
Rhetor
Friday 7th September 2007 21:53
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Thank you so much for those kind words. I'm delighted that the story spoke to you.

I understand the "distress" and "tension" you speak of. Someone or other once said that while reading or watching a tragedy, the reader/audience has the desire to shout at the characters to make them avoid their doom. I feel that way whenever I read The Persian Boy.

~Ken
  Quote
Jen
Thursday 6th September 2007 16:50


Quartet for Separated Voices
thanks. i feel loved.
Rhetor
Friday 7th September 2007 21:50
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Me too.
  Quote
Wordgrrl
Thursday 6th September 2007 16:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Quartet for Separated Voices
This story is just... Wow. The way you combined the different segments was sheer genius. Thank you for sharing this.

::: bowing, ala Wayne's World::: I'm not worthy, I'm not worthy...
javascript:smiley(' ');

H.
Rhetor
Friday 7th September 2007 21:50
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
You are very kind. (...No, it's I who am not worthy... ) ~Ken
  Quote
cass
Thursday 6th September 2007 04:37


Quartet for Separated Voices
awesome stuff
Rhetor
Friday 7th September 2007 21:49
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
JenMusic
Thursday 6th September 2007 02:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Quartet for Separated Voices
“Being a little child is nothing shameful, Harry. When you have someone who loves you – ” Her voice almost breaks, but she continues doggedly. “When you have someone who loves you, being a little child is a time of great joy.”


Wow. This was beautiful and powerful. The whole story is fascinating and well-told, but the Harry/Ginny vignette is stunning. Thank you for sharing this!
  Quote
Delfino
Tuesday 4th September 2007 15:16


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

Quartet for Separated Voices
Oh wow ! This was amazing, but at the same time, very very sad.

But very well written. Thank you for writing this!
Rhetor
Tuesday 4th September 2007 19:47
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Thank you for saying so. I'm glad you liked it. ~Ken
  Quote
DreamcoatMom
Tuesday 4th September 2007 14:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Quartet for Separated Voices
Lyrical and lovely, moody and evocative. Thank you for this interesting and engaging montage--it was a really wonderful escape in the middle of my day. The story for Ginny and Harry was particularly moving, and felt very, very intimate. Nicely done!
Rhetor
Tuesday 4th September 2007 19:45
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Thank you for those kind words; I'm glad I gave you a nice break! ~Ken
  Quote
bbnaz
Tuesday 4th September 2007 06:19


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 108

Quartet for Separated Voices
Interesting analysis of music. Whilst it is an a capella in four movements, the dissonance between the movements make for interesting reading.

Would be interesting to hear it aloud.
Rhetor
Tuesday 4th September 2007 19:44
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Thank you! I've always been fascinated by simultaneous songs with different lyrics that can be performed in opera. ~Ken
  Quote
freshwater
Monday 3rd September 2007 22:26


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 148

Quartet for Separated Voices
This is quite brilliantly organized and structured.....I love the interplay and reflection within and among the 'voices'. The issues they discuss are quite intriguing, also.

I think the 'bass' part must actually be a duet, with Ginny as harmonizing alto.
Rhetor
Tuesday 4th September 2007 19:43
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Thank you very much. I do think that the Harry-Ginny scene needs to be a duet. ~Ken
  Quote
Jen
Monday 3rd September 2007 18:33


Quartet for Separated Voices
wow. i haven't read an HP fic in a long time. Especially one of yours. you're as amazing as ever. this was wonderful and in perfect harmony. beat, melody, everything. it's a perfect quartet.
Au Revoir
Jen
(Pud)
Rhetor
Monday 3rd September 2007 18:41
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Aw, thanks, Jen. I'm glad you liked it. Don't be a stranger. ~Ken
  Quote
BABIGIRL0324
Monday 3rd September 2007 12:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

Quartet for Separated Voices
Rhetor
Monday 3rd September 2007 18:40
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Thanks. I think. Is "three dragons and a Ginny" a good thing? ~Ken
  Quote
Narumi
Monday 3rd September 2007 09:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

Quartet for Separated Voices
Cute. I like the parts with the Founders best. I feel like the James & Lily sections have 'been done' in other fics a lot, but the Harry portion was unique and rather unexpected. Well done.
Rhetor
Monday 3rd September 2007 18:39
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you liked the bit with Rowena and Godric; it's the first time I've ever attempted anything with the Founders. ~Ken
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Monday 3rd September 2007 05:25


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

Quartet for Separated Voices
this was really, really good. it brought tears to my eyes with ahrry and ginny, but didnt make me cry, which is good coz im sick of crying everytime i read a fanfic! really well written and an excellent idea!
Rhetor
Monday 3rd September 2007 18:38
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Thank you! Tears in your eyes but no crying? Sounds just about right to me. ~Ken
  Quote
CheddarTrek
Monday 13th August 2007 16:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Quartet for Separated Voices
Great story, I enjoyed it, though I'm not certain what I was supposed to get from it. That doesn't mean I didn't like it, just that I feel almost as if I've been left hanging. Above all though I liked your style here, what you call an "a capella" piece.
Rhetor
Monday 13th August 2007 20:40
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
Hi! I'm not sure what you were supposed to get out of it either. It's a mood piece, really -- a progression of feelings. Myself, I get caught up in the tension/irony between the parallel actions and feelings of the four singers and their great separation in time and space, especially considering that each event causes the next one. It's a sensation of my smallness in the enormity of human events and causalities. There may have been a hundred people feeling what I feel now, a hundred years ago, and I'll never know. That sort of thing. But I don't know if that's what most readers got out of it.

Thanks,

Ken
  Quote
EmeraldPrincess
Monday 13th August 2007 13:50


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

Quartet for Separated Voices
This is one of the best things I've ever read.
Rhetor, when you write, what is that you're thinking about? You weave this tale that has me feeling every movement and wishing for the never end.

If you plan to write a book, which I plead that you do, for I will love it, it would have merit.

Ah, well, I sound idiotic in the stupid way that is me.

Great job on this!

Rhetor
Monday 13th August 2007 14:23
Quartet for Separated Voices (Author Response)
You're very kind. Thank you so much; I'm honored.

For this story, there were many things I was thinking about at once. The first thing I wanted to do was something that would have the feel of music -- several voices singing at once. Then I wanted those voices to be very far apart from each other. Then I wanted them to be connected by causality -- the first one causes the second one causes the third one. Then, I dunno, I thought it'd be neat to start with the founders, and Rowena came into my head. And I thought about James, and about the decision to make Peter the Secret Keeper, and I thought of what the end of Harry's life might be like. And then, honestly, it was just a matter of writing what seemed to happen next in each scene. I know that's not much of an answer, but with this story that's what happened.

I'd love to write a book, or some original stories, someday. But I think it'll be a while before I have that much confidence. But your statement of confidence means more to me than you probably know.

Thanks again,

Ken
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 40 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004