Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Ghost and Miss Weasley by aurora luminis

Showing 1 to 15 of 15
Dad
Friday 22nd January 2010 10:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

The Ghost and Miss Weasley
If you stil read reviews, that was a bit of unique and original writting. Different.
  Quote
freshwater
Friday 17th August 2007 20:13


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 148

The Ghost and Miss Weasley
This is quite wonderful. I particularly like the aspects of Cedric's ghostliness that differ from most ghosts....very intriguing.

And how did you become so wise about choices? What, are you 167 years old or something? Cedric's explanation about the mystery and sacredness of choice is now set in my (self-made) book of favorites quotes....it is very likely the only quote that will ever be in there that was made by the ghost of a fictional character. **grin**
aurora luminis
Friday 17th August 2007 22:12
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
Thank you so much for the encouraging review. Uh, well, I am not 167 years old, just a third of that. Perhaps too old to be doing fanfiction, but I am enamored of how JKR takes the medium of fantasy and touchs the deepest questions of life, and gives young people answers that will stay with them all their life because they love Harry Potter just so much. Then I have to admit I do enjoy the challenge and surprise of writing. Choice is indeed a mystery and something sacred, because [as Dumbledore reminded Harry at the end of CS] it is our choices that makes us what we are. That and the people who love us. I think I JKR truly brings this out in DH...how much the experience of love strengthens us to make the right choices. And I am blessed to belong to a long tradition of thought that believes in love and right choices. Again, I am so grateful for you review and happy that something in it might really stay with you. That makes us friends forever!
  Quote
Delfino
Friday 17th August 2007 08:02


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

The Ghost and Miss Weasley
I loved it! This was absolutely brilliant. I especially like that Cedric haunted the Quidditch stadium, that seemed perfect for him. Well done!
  Quote
herlipsandeyes
Monday 13th August 2007 15:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

The Ghost and Miss Weasley
well written
aurora luminis
Tuesday 14th August 2007 22:02
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
Short but sweet. Yes, I did try to write as skillfully as I could. And in all truth, it would be impossible to say how much my two betas have helped me in this. Here is to Pirateginny and the Daily Prophet. I never, never thought I would be writing fan fiction, or any kind of fiction for that matter. This is my third piece, all three posted here at PH, and this will be my sole perch. I hope to continue with this idea of Cedric, and DH has given me a magnificent amount of material to work with. Thank you for reviewing.
  Quote
Narumi
Monday 13th August 2007 14:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

The Ghost and Miss Weasley
Wow. Very different from anything else I've read. I kept hoping for a more detailed explanation of Cedric's ghost, though.
aurora luminis
Tuesday 14th August 2007 21:58
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
Narumi, I was hoping for a more indepth view of Cedric too, but there was a limitation set on the piece, and I had one toe over the line as it was. But if you are interested, I am planning to continue with this. I love the challenge of writing the history of Cedric's ghost from the graveyard to the Last Battle completely in the framework of canon as we now have it. So stay tuned, and please know how grateful I am for the review.
  Quote

Monday 13th August 2007 12:29


The Ghost and Miss Weasley
This was so very sweet- a completely unthought of, yet perfectly imaginable relationship between Ginny and Cedric, each one giving a particular sort of comfort to the other. I absolutely adored your characterization of Ginny. You're completely right about her never being able to make such a choice between Harry and Ron, and it stands as a perfect reason for why she accepted not being able to go with the Trio. Well done!
aurora luminis
Tuesday 14th August 2007 21:56
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
Yes, it is rather comforting isn't it? Ginny lost not just Harry, when the trio set off, but her brother and a very close friend, perhaps her best. She needed someone to help her. I'm looking forward to doing a piece with Ginny, Neville and Luna plotting with Cedric on how to steal Gryffindor's sword...oh, the plans I have. It was also reassuring to have JKR confirm Ginny's remarkable, quiet acceptance of not going. DH has none of the scenes found in so many fan fics: no pouting, raving and ranting Ginny because she isn't going. She was where Harry really needed her: holding Hogwarts together... I have another H/G piece if you are ever intersted. Thank you so much for taking the time to encourage me.
  Quote
Patches
Monday 13th August 2007 02:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

The Ghost and Miss Weasley
This is different. I'm glad Cedrick stayed to help Harry and everyone else end the war against Voldemort. This is very good. Thanks for writing. p
aurora luminis
Tuesday 14th August 2007 21:50
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
Patches, thanks a million for taking the time to review. I always loved the original The Ghost and Mrs. Muir [Rex Harrison + Gene Tierney] which I saw on the late, late show many a year ago. My piece doesn't have the flow of the others since I was forced to do drastic editing to keep it under the 4,000 mark. I enjoyed writing it and am grateful that others would enjoy reading it, especially since this is only my third piece of fan fiction.
  Quote
SeaNymph
Monday 30th July 2007 19:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

The Ghost and Miss Weasley
This was a great story! I couldn't decide which one to vote for when I was voting, but this one was up there! You really went into detail with the background information, and you gave the readers a feel for your characters. Not many people write about Cedric at all, let alone after GoF, but you did a great job in his characterization. I really loved this story!
aurora luminis
Tuesday 7th August 2007 06:05
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review. It really does encourage one to post work. Writing is itself its own reward -- the law of all art, even if one's talents makes the work less than 'great'. It really was longer, but I had to hack at it to get it down to the required 4,000. Some pieces write themselves, I am told. I experienced that with this one, but then with other two as well. Suddenly something happens you didn't foresee, and really, I just followed JKR's cues on what kind of person Cedric would be.
  Quote
Ladybug
Tuesday 17th July 2007 18:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

The Ghost and Miss Weasley
This one really is my favourite of the competition entries. It’s so imaginative, that idea of Cedric staying to help the fight. I loved Ginny’s decision about not going with Harry, original and completely understandable how she would be afraid of facing that choice between Ron and Harry. The ensuing discussion about choice was a wonderful summation of one of the key themes of HP – fabulous stuff! I loved Cedric’s character and all the others, too, and I loved the humour and the seriousness. I would be very interested to read a long fic about this Cedric and his part in the war – you intrigued me with his non-ghostly abilities (performing magic and using physical objects). Congratulations on a top-notch story!
aurora luminis
Saturday 21st July 2007 23:12
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
Ladybug, you really made my day, my week, my month. No way of committing beyond that since the year isn't out. Yes, there will be a long fic coming. Even if I don't get a wide response, it is something I have to do, especially now that I have read DH. Ginny's decision probably cost me a great deal on the fanfic lscales of many readers. Most H/G shippers are absolutely committed to her going on the Horcrux Hunt, or Harry having to suffer months/years of Ginny's pouting when it is all over because he 'dumped' her. That simply does not reflect the Ginny JKR gave us in HBP. Bucking the fanfic preferences of the general public really doesn't pay in terms of popularity...but who cares about that. It is ultimately JKR's beautiful gift to millions of children in body and heart, and I intend to remain true to the characters who each have wisdom to impart from JKR's heart to ours. Actually, Cedric's ghost isn't as non-ghostly as you might think. Just remember Moaning Myrtle splashing water on everyone or being flushed away against her own will. My wonderful beta, The Daily Prophet, and I went over all that. It will be explored and developed, hopefully faithful to canon, in the fic. Just have to common up with a name for it. The Silver Seeker? Thank you so very, very much for such an encouraging review. The real reward in writing is in the writing itself. If afterwards you find even just one person who really enjoys it, then the poor writer has been rewarded beyond all her/his merit.
  Quote
ginnysohma
Tuesday 17th July 2007 11:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

The Ghost and Miss Weasley
Cedric, a ghost? Never saw that one coming, but I can see why he would have stayed behind. Wonderfully written.
aurora luminis
Saturday 21st July 2007 22:52
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
No, I never saw it coming either, until he was suddenly there in my head. Perhaps it was some complex, unconscious construction to compensate for the state of abandonment in which Harry found himself at the conclusion of HBP. Now that I have read DH, I am committing myself to doing a novella on Cedric, Ginny and all those heroes of Hogwarts. Wish me luck and a wave of the wand.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Monday 9th July 2007 20:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

The Ghost and Miss Weasley
I've always liked Cedric Diggory. You've shown a new side of him.
aurora luminis
Monday 16th July 2007 05:42
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
First I want to thank you not only for this review but for the ones you wrote for the other challengers...that meant just as much as my own. I hope everyone who reads TGMW likes Cedric because if at all possible I intend to turn this into a 16-20 chapter story. All depends on what happens in DH. Again, thanks a million
  Quote
lantis222
Monday 9th July 2007 12:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

The Ghost and Miss Weasley
Very interesting. I kinda like the idea of Cedric staying behind. Besides something tells me he's not quite a ghost in a ghost sense. He's different somehow. Do you think that he would be given a choice again after it's all over? anyway, great story.
aurora luminis
Monday 16th July 2007 05:49
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
Well, lantis222, we meet again. I hope that doesn't sound to much like ol' Snakeface. Actually the whole question of ghost is rather open in the books. I mean, think of how Moaning Myrtle splashes water all over the place. They sit on the chairs [or float 2 centimeters above them?] try to get a good taste of rotten salmon, etc. I hope to do a real WIP on this, but I have to wait and see what happens with DH. I believe in canon, in believe in JKR. Thank you so much for taking the time to review...you really are so faithful to all the poor writers!
  Quote
Niffler87
Monday 9th July 2007 12:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

The Ghost and Miss Weasley
well written but utterly confusing. Once I know who this is, it'd be nice to check out your other work
aurora luminis
Monday 16th July 2007 05:45
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
Sorry it was a mite hard to follow...but really, tougher than the Four Quartets?! It was way above the 4,000 word limit and I had to do some mighty cutting. Hopefully my beta will allow me to post a slightly revised version that will make it easier to follow the line. Won't take you long to check out my other work, this is only #3, but I am very flattered and encouraged. AND they are easier to follow! Thank you so much for the review.
  Quote
JAE
Monday 9th July 2007 07:35


The Ghost and Miss Weasley
Amazing!
aurora luminis
Monday 16th July 2007 05:52
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
Thanks for giving me that one strong word. Actually, I sort of felt the same way when I finished it. Writing is a real adventure, and the joy and excitement of pushing the pen and watching what comes out the end is reward enough. Which doesn't mean I don't greatly appreciate the reviews. They are always so few, but still... Thanks a million.
  Quote
someone
Sunday 8th July 2007 10:18


The Ghost and Miss Weasley
really nice. a bit confusing, but nice all the same. Keep up the good work!

aurora luminis
Monday 16th July 2007 05:56
The Ghost and Miss Weasley (Author Response)
Hello, Someone. Could be the title of a book, don't you think? Thank you for the review. I apologize that it was not as clear as I would have liked; clarity was lost in massive editing to get it down to the required size. So I tried to zero in all the meaning of it all: loving life and yet loving your friends and family more. My ghost Cedric is based on the millions of young men who have given their lives, especially in the last century, to save others, to save their homes. thank you so much for stopping and by and givingme the thumbs up!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004