Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Returning Were As Tedious by Rhetor

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
Grandma Kate
Friday 24th August 2007 10:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

2: Extend His Passion
And a clear and wondrous style it is. Professor Snape had a terrible home life. No wonder he was such a miserable person, always seeking love but never receiving it.
Rhetor
Friday 24th August 2007 20:03
2: Extend His Passion (Author Response)
Thanks, Kate. That's high praise, coming from you. (As for the style, though, Moonette deserves a lot of the credit.) I wonder how much love he really sought, in the long run? It's a complicated thing. ~Ken
  Quote
Neli P
Sunday 5th August 2007 19:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

2: Extend His Passion
Lots of interesting information and creativity in this chapter As for Snape Senior, I think he makes Vernon Dursley look like a harmless Bowtruckle May I ask, Ken, if you had Merope Gaunt in mind when you wrote about Eileen Prince being mistreated by her husband? And last but not least, this extra is for using the term "football" and not "soccer" ... Great job and keep the next chapters coming!
Rhetor
Monday 6th August 2007 10:39
2: Extend His Passion (Author Response)
Hi, Nelli. Thanks! Actually I didn't have Merope Gaunt in mind at all -- all I was remembering was the brief memory Harry tapped into during his botched Occlumency lessions. After the glimpse we get of Eileen in DH I don't think this characterisation is necessarily canon-consistent, but I think I'll be forging ahead anyway.

As for "football" -- thanks. I do the best I can, but while we're on the subject, how do you feel about doing a little britpicking?

Ken
  Quote

Monday 23rd July 2007 15:03


2: Extend His Passion
hmm...... Intrigiuing I didnt notice this was updated, but Im glad to see youve updated it at last. What a good author.... . you\\\'d better write some more chapters soon or else!

UPDATE!

good job

("lame review" filter?)
Rhetor
Monday 23rd July 2007 19:12
2: Extend His Passion (Author Response)
*Snort* You sound like someone who's read my satire on SIYE! "Lame review filter" indeed!

I'm talking with my beta now about what to do about updating. I don't want to give any spoilers, but let's just say that the release of DH has created some problems for what I'd intended to do with this story, and I now have to decide whether to change my plans or declare it AU. I can't say any more, but I'll promise that I'm working on it.
  Quote
Jacynthe
Thursday 19th July 2007 09:33


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 143

2: Extend His Passion
Yes. Grim but not melodramatic. I agree that at least a (long) glimpse of home life is essential. I also like that S is learning from his father as well as his mother.
Rhetor
Thursday 19th July 2007 20:29
2: Extend His Passion (Author Response)
Thanks! I'll tell Girlspell you thought she was right. And I'm glad you liked it that both parents educated him. I thought it added to the verisimilitude of the storytelling. ~Ken
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Thursday 19th July 2007 07:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

2: Extend His Passion
Cool. I'd actually like to see where this goes a bit, except maybe for his Hogwarts years. I'd rather be on the Marauders' side for that. But before and after Hogwarts, I'm all ears.
Rhetor
Thursday 19th July 2007 20:27
2: Extend His Passion (Author Response)
Thanks! Will you do me a favor and check out Chapter Three before you decide to give up on the Hogwarts years? I'm not sure -- or at least I'm not entirely sure -- that it's a matter of taking sides. Or to put it the other way, in those areas where one could be clearly either on Severus's side or the Marauders', this story really isn't on either one. The goal is to show Severus exactly as he's presented in canon, but with a narrative line that makes it possible to understand how he became that way. If you delete the Hogwarts years then the rest of it won't make much sense. ~Ken
  Quote
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004