Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Buttonfly 501 by moshpit

Showing 1 to 14 of 14
aimless`
Tuesday 28th July 2009 17:14


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 115

Buttonfly 501
That was ineresting idea . A bit doubtfull Voldemort would negotiate with Harry, but the fic itself is an intersting story .
  Quote
jeanne
Sunday 30th December 2007 17:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Buttonfly 501
Thought provoking and a bit wierd, but delightful none the less. Truly enjoyable.
moshpit
Monday 7th January 2008 22:19
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
To be honest, your claim of thought-provoking is the best accolade that's been offered on this type of story. I'm glad it made you think a bit. That's what it's all about for me. That said, I'm also glad you found it enjoyable. I have a few more one-offs that are weird and crazy, and hopefully you'll enjoy those as much whenever I get around to wrapping them up. Cheers!
  Quote
ginnysohma
Wednesday 3rd October 2007 20:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

Buttonfly 501
Voldemort done in by his own stupidity, beautiful!
moshpit
Sunday 4th November 2007 22:18
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
Pride goes before the fall, eh? Thanks for the review.
  Quote
myketje
Wednesday 22nd August 2007 14:02


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Buttonfly 501
It was weird!! But still, I liked it! The biology thing was brilliant!

For what does the title stands for?

Thxs

xxx
moshpit
Sunday 4th November 2007 22:17
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
Glad you enjoyed it. The title is a series of meanings, ranging from the obvious (Levi's Buttonfly 501 Jeans --> Genes) to the obscure (the rant at the end and certain colloquialisms). That's an open question - who can tag all the meanings implied? I set it up with four distinct ones, but I'm sure with some skull work others could be found. No one (as of yet) has identified any beyond the first, though.
  Quote
Rhetor
Tuesday 14th August 2007 13:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Buttonfly 501
Excuse me: I meant to say, "in light of what they've just been through together it's believable." Also that icon was supposed to be a .
moshpit
Sunday 4th November 2007 22:15
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
No problem
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 14th August 2007 07:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Buttonfly 501
"To find the perfect Weasley" - that was a good one. - Entertaining idea.
moshpit
Sunday 4th November 2007 22:15
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
It's amazing what you can find when you actually start actively looking rather than being passive about it all... thanks for the review.
  Quote
huskers
Tuesday 14th August 2007 05:52


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 124

Buttonfly 501
I liked it. December 2006 was after HBP, which is too bad, because then you could have gotten credit for coming up with the unbreakable vow. Either way, this was interesting. I think I really liked the end bit the most though. It's about time someone took Dumbledore to task. I can over look placing him with the Dursleys, but allowing the abuse to continue? And expecially the abusees Snape and Umbridge heap on students. It's just good to see someone tell Dumbledore he took the easy way out.
moshpit
Sunday 4th November 2007 22:14
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
I'm sure others had some kind of unbreakable vow out there in fanfic at some point. I'm almost positive I've read something like that from someone -- maybe Mr Intel and his The Bargain story or a Jeconais early work. Glad you liked the story, and the venting didn't bother you overmuch. I do think Dumbledore gets far too much of a "get out of jail free" card from too many people, but at the same time, I don't agree with the extreme bashing I see come-and-go in phases. He's human, he's made some colossal mistakes, he's been manipulative to some extent but with some justification possible . . . so yes, he was long overdue for some venting target practice, but the reconciliation path is there if he wants to exercise it. Snape, however, is beyond redemption as far as I'm concerned, no matter what JKR might think or write. Ah well. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Tuesday 14th August 2007 00:55


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

Buttonfly 501
It's a very interseting way for Voldemort to go down, I think. Very tricky of Harry, although I don't know if I like how he treated Dumbledore, Snape, Neville, and Susan. I did love the emphasis on the Harry/Ginny relationship though, that was very cute. Oh, and Ginny standing up to Snape was so cool, he deserved it after what he said!
moshpit
Sunday 4th November 2007 22:11
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
It's an open question of what happens when you break a Vow, and what it does to you. Moreover, if you were immortal, what would that do to complicate the situation? As for the lashing out at Dumbledore and Snape, I'm open to any reasonable argument you might have. I think both deserved far, far worse than what he stated. As for Neville and Susan, no, they did deserve better, but that's the catch-22 of the situation: if he treated them better and more honestly, his gamble would have failed. He had to treat them as he did in order for it to work. Later, with the passage of time and a growing comprehension, reconciliation and forgiveness is possible -- even with Dumbledore. But never with Snape. Sorry, I just can't ever see that happening, no matter what JKR might wish to do in her books, interviews, or whatnot.
  Quote
freshwater
Monday 13th August 2007 21:36


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 148

Buttonfly 501
Pranking Voldemort....only you, moshpit, and probably Fred and George, would think of that! Definately an amusing diversion! Thanks for sharing it!

Uhm....any chance we'll see more of Echoes of Power soon? Hope so!

freshwater
moshpit
Monday 13th August 2007 22:06
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
Really, if anyone was in need of a good pranking, wouldn't it be the Big V-man himself? Ch26 of Echoes is stalled a bit, but I'm hoping to have it posted within two more weeks. I'm sorry for the delay, but things haven't been working quite right lately. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Cheers!
  Quote
Rhetor
Monday 13th August 2007 20:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Buttonfly 501
Excuse me: I meant to say, "in light of what they've just been through together it's believable." Also that icon was supposed to be a .
moshpit
Monday 13th August 2007 22:05
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
No problem. With the number of times I type my foot into my mouth, or other regions, who am I to say otherwise? I understood the message, but the revised comment made me certain. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
  Quote
Rhetor
Monday 13th August 2007 20:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Buttonfly 501
Very clever, with a nice twist and a pun-title that isn't as awful as it might be. You handled the characters well. I thought Neville's resentment played beautifully. Ginny played well; I'm a little ambivalent about how close she and Harry seemed to get, so quickly (there's no pleasing me, is there?:lol , but I think in light of what they've just been through together it's enjoyable. I enjoyed reading this, and I'm glad you didn't just delete it after DH.
moshpit
Monday 13th August 2007 22:04
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
Ah, but can you catch all of the puns and humor in the title? There are three humorous meanings, and one non-humorous. I made a mention of this over at the CM group, but I'm not sure you're reading the development the way I wanted it. Clearly, Harry and Ginny were "friends" prior to the end of Book 5. Close friends? Probably not, though it seems that they were comfortable around each other in a casual way. The intent here is to show Harry waking up slightly, and realizing that Ginny is not what he was cruising along and labeling her as. At the same time, Ginny is getting to see a bit more of who Harry is. By the end, they have gone through an event that will make them close friends, with heavy implicit trust. I hadn't meant to convey they were "together" by any means, so I hope it didn't come across that way. Rather, Harry is starting to unwind, and the casual friend that has become a closer friend is there to lend him support when he needs it, which in turns makes him start to realize what he was already subconsciously starting to realize. I like to think of it as accelerating the outcome, but there should still be a (considerable) gap of time between here and that outcome. Harry has to adjust, and understand things. The big difference is that Ginny can see that the door isn't closed, and a little more patience will pay off. Or that's what I was thinking, at any rate.
  Quote
toskin
Monday 13th August 2007 19:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Buttonfly 501
I like it! What an ingenious way to trick Voldemort, through an Unbreakable Vow. Keep writing.
moshpit
Monday 13th August 2007 21:59
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. I'm sorry to say that Chapter 26 of Echoes is stalled a bit, but it will hopefully resume shortly. Cheers.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Monday 13th August 2007 17:55


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

Buttonfly 501
OBE or not, I think you caught an essential part of Tom Riddle in this fic. He was a conceited dumb@ss. In a literary world where MoO:i is actually a tragedy, this is an great comedy.
(Or maybe I am just warped).

Chuck
moshpit
Monday 13th August 2007 21:58
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
There's dumb, and then there's Dumb. Do you really think he was Dumb, or just too arrogant? I suspect the lack of reading Evil Overlords For Dummies put quite the crimp in his end-game, but that's what you get from amateurs. Really, how many Evil Overlords have under-studies, sort of squires-in-training? That they trust with their secret plans? In reality, Evil Overlords are by definition amateurs, or else we'd all be in a much worse place... Comedy? Tragedy? Romance? Angst? Dark? What are these labels to me? I tell you plain, good sir, I prefer the Warped Label to any of those boringly uniform ones.
  Quote
girlspell
Monday 13th August 2007 17:16


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 98

Buttonfly 501
Goodness...this is some amazing reading. I can certainly see now how close Harry could have been a slythirne! The audacity of this story (and Harry) made me sit here and read it twice, if not more. Very clever, and oh, the glee I fe;t while reading, about Snape!

Clever plot aside, I did see parts of this that were moving.


Maybe there was something more in those Weasley genes than he had ever considered.



That was a terrific line.

We need great one shots like this(even if you didn't like it) to while away waiting for the next chapter of Echoes.
moshpit
Monday 13th August 2007 21:49
Buttonfly 501 (Author Response)
Hello again, old friend. How go the studies?

The problem in this story is that what was in my head amounted to sweeping vistas., dramatic dialogues, and cascading effects of little shifts from decisions piling up. What came out was ... less than that. It really demotivated me from doing anything with it, and after mucking with it off and on, I just sent it off to the betas and was glad to see it gone. I don't know why I wanted it to be so much more, but I did, and it's frustrating I didn't find the way to make it happen. Ah well. Live and learn, correct?

Thanks for sharing the thoughts. You're always generous with your kind words, but I have to agree, the isolation of Snape in the end was long overdue.

I'm surprised you picked that line to stand out. I'm also surprised my betas didn't land hard on the "perfect Weasley for me" line earlier on -- that's the one I expected people to jump on. Of course, the line you did pick is fun for a completely different set of reasons, so I'm not complaining.

Thanks again. Echoes is stalled somewhat (the muse is not playing nicely with others), but I hope to have it wrapped up and posted within another couple of weeks. Sorry the lag time for the next chapter is high this time.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004