Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Since Feeling is First by St Margarets

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 101 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 Next
kash2210
Saturday 4th October 2008 15:30


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 172

Part 1
I have to say that was one of the emotion filled openings I've ever read. To read the conversation between Athur, whom I've always thought of a stoic, and Molly was heartbreaking, well done in capturing the feelings so well.

“God, Harry!” She turned around. “Aren’t you as tired of the ‘thought of me’ as much as I am of waiting for you?” - What a great line, you can feel her anger, helplessness and feelings for Harry in this one sentence!

  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 25th April 2008 20:05


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Part 1
I loved this!! great after battle story!
haha i knew thats what ginny was gonna end up getting for her birthday! lmao!
  Quote
Hollu
Monday 21st April 2008 21:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Part 1
Wow. Just being reminded of all the casualties of the war was so sad. I cried again today! You really have a wonderful way with words that seems to express exactly the right emotion. At least your writing makes me feel all kinds of things.....although I can be an emotional wreck at times .

~Hollu
St Margarets
Tuesday 22nd April 2008 07:13
Part 1 (Author Response)
I wrote this shortly after DH came out, and I was an emotional wreck, too! I'm glad it still has an impact. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 18th December 2007 18:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Part 1
hehe cute I was wonderin gif they were wtill dating, but they didnt mention anything so when harry said that they were for him and his girlfriend it kinda threw me off....
good story though!
  Quote
txreina
Wednesday 7th November 2007 17:32


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

Part 1
Great story. It's so sad about Fred.
St Margarets
Thursday 8th November 2007 16:55
Part 1 (Author Response)
Yes, I'm still not over Fred. There was no chance to mourn him in the book, so fan fic. seems to be the place to do it.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
HGfan89
Tuesday 6th November 2007 15:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Part 1
I loved your story! It's one of the best post-DH stories I've read so far - can't wait for your next story! Thanks for sharing!
St Margarets
Wednesday 7th November 2007 08:41
Part 1 (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. It's my first attempt at something post-DH. I have a short married H/G in the works right now. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
KEDme
Thursday 6th September 2007 00:00


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 83

Part 1
Lovely story. You always deliver! The is the first post DH story that I've read, as I've avoided them (along with re-reading DH). I'm still in semi-denial over Fred. But I can't ever resist a St. Margarets story. Thanks for keeping the romance alive. Looking forward to Parts 2 & 3.
St Margarets
Thursday 6th September 2007 03:04
Part 1 (Author Response)
I need to re-read DH! I wrote this based on my first feelings about the book - maybe going back would give me a different feeling. I kept thinking every time Harry thought about Ginny that poor Ginny was stuck at Hogwarts and wouldn't know he was thinking about her. *sigh* And I'm with you - the hole Fred left didn't just affect George. I guess we could be like H/Hr folks and stay in denial, but that doesn't seem right. I hope you're inspired to write more. With your action/adventure abilities, you could write some great Harry-as-Auror plot lines. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
xela
Saturday 25th August 2007 22:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

Part 1
The Weasleys didn't really have a chance to face their loss in Deathly Hallows , and neither did we. You bring it home beautifully in the opening scene.

#####

"Ron was dividing his time between helping George with the shop and working with the contractors rebuilding Hogwarts."

:^) Am I perhaps seeing the faintest hint of a new life for "Rob The Builder"?
St Margarets
Sunday 26th August 2007 12:23
Part 1 (Author Response)
I really hope this fic. is a bit of bridge to that nice epilogue. We know H/G and R/Hr will be happy, but we don't know *how* they will get there. This was my first attempt at figuring that out.

Ah, you're an astute reader! I think I have found a way to get a bit of Ron the Builder back into the post DH world. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Shade32
Tuesday 21st August 2007 22:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Part 1
Ahaha, I thought it was neat how even Kingsley believe all the Rita Skeeter articles way back about Harry and Hermione. Funny stuff. XD
St Margarets
Friday 24th August 2007 07:52
Part 1 (Author Response)
LOL - well Kingsley is trained to detect Dark Magic - so that might have been why he was suspicious of H/Hr.
  Quote
acciobook
Tuesday 21st August 2007 08:17


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 50

Part 1
I love this. It is so sweet.

I do have to admit, I am a bit weepy lately (pregnancy hormones I suppose) but it made me laugh and cry (happy, frusterated and of course sad tears).

Looking very forward to parts 2 and 3.
St Margarets
Friday 24th August 2007 06:06
Part 1 (Author Response)
Oh, pregnancy hormones! Bless you, they made me cry over commercials! Part II is up now and Part III will be up next week some time. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
ravenclawchaser66
Tuesday 21st August 2007 06:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Part 1
Yay! Fluffy goodness! Just what I need before my first day of law school. I always love the way you portray Harry and Ginny. They're so sweet. Though I am a little surprised that it would take them a whole year to get back together, but all's well that ends well, eh? Thanks for writing!
Jay
St Margarets
Friday 24th August 2007 06:04
Part 1 (Author Response)
I hope all went well at school. The first day is always nerve-wracking. They've only been apart for two months, since the battle was the end of May and this August - but it seems like years to poor Ginny. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Ilikeolderwerewolves
Monday 20th August 2007 18:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Part 1
Awsome start! This is the best Post DH story I've read so far. You are continuing it nicely. Post soon!
St Margarets
Friday 24th August 2007 06:03
Part 1 (Author Response)
I'm glad you like it. I should have the final part up next week. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
MartinDean
Monday 20th August 2007 08:19


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 63

Part 1
Great chapter, I was not expecting Arthur and Molly to fight!!! but I can understand why it happened and why they were avoiding each other.

An inspired decision by Harry for the birthday present.

Looking forward to the next chapter already
St Margarets
Friday 24th August 2007 06:02
Part 1 (Author Response)
I think that since Molly and Arthur are such different people and approach things so differently, they would have a hard time with their common grief. However, they love each other very much and have been together for a long time, so they would be able to find their way back to happiness.

Yes - Ginny is going to have a wonderful birthday!
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Sunday 19th August 2007 13:11


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

Part 1
I can't tell you my joy in reading this story. It's such a pleasure to see someone inspired to write post-DH! If this is just the first of three parts, I'm excited for the next two. You did a great job showing the feelings of Molly, Arthur, Ginny, and Harry. It seems so real, the feelings of loss mixed with anxiety about how you should feel, worrying about whether you're allowed to be happy, concern about how you should treat those that are closest to the loss. You did a fantastic job with the feelings in this story. I can't wait to read more!
St Margarets
Friday 24th August 2007 05:59
Part 1 (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked this part -it wasn't a joy to write - thinking about all of those confilcting feelings in the characters I love - but that seemed to be where JKR left them. Luckily, I get to bring them along to happier times. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
moonette
Friday 17th August 2007 23:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Part 1
Well, it's so nice to end on the note of Harry not being worried by the idea of the press finding out about Ginny! See? Harry is so brave!

I really enjoyed this. (Mostly the Harry parts, LOL. You know me and Ginny.) Harry seems a little shell shocked at first, and no wonder. He's sort of forgotten himself and still committed to what he feels are outside responsibilities. But it's also as if he's had enough of that and is slowly letting himself back in, and I think that's very realistic and keeping in character. Ginny is Ginny - spunky and impulsive and loving. They're very good together. The first part about Molly and Arthur and grieving for Fred was hard for me to read, in an emotional sense. My friends know I like drama and I LOVE flangst, but I don't like reading about deaths - maybe I've seen too much of it at work, so the fact that I was uncomfortable here means you were right on in terms of realistic emotional pain. I'm an avoider of death in my own stories (hey - it's the easy way out!). Coward that I am, I'd much rather the angst be about missteps and choices than about a loved one dying, so kudos to you for being so brave and treating such a tough issue with realism and love and even a little humor, but without melodrama. Keep it up!
St Margarets
Friday 24th August 2007 05:56
Part 1 (Author Response)
Harry is brave (and so proud to have a girlfriend - like any 17 year-old)

Yes, the parts with Arthur and Molly were hard to write since they were overcoming their own missteps in how to deal with the death of a dearly loved son. (Not that there is a manual that teaches you how to do that) But JKR left quite a hole in the Weasley family and there's no way to get to the fluff without dealing with that. (And you know I'll do anything for my fluff)

I understand how you feel about writing about death - especially with your job. I don't think there's a manual that says you ever have to write about it. So don't go calling yourself a coward.
  Quote
pakismith
Friday 17th August 2007 23:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Part 1
Dear St Margarets:
I was waiting for your story after DH was released.
I wonder if you are going to write something about the aftermath of the battle at Hogwarts, perhaps in flashbacks because I think there are a lot of feelings there.
About this 1st chapter I liked the "conversation" between Mr and Mrs Wesley but I felt that it hasn't enough about Harry's feelings, how he has adjusted to the new situation.Maybe working is the only way to forget so much pain. I don't know.
Please update soon.And thanks for sharing this witl all of us.
St Margarets
Friday 24th August 2007 05:52
Part 1 (Author Response)
In the next chapter there will be more about Harry. Ginny and the Weasleys really had to come first to establish the tone (and the problems) of the story.
  Quote
eckeltricity
Friday 17th August 2007 21:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Part 1
I love it. It's sweet, and hesitant (the characters, not the flow of the story), and it's like Ginny and Harry have to start over, because so much has changed for them. And I like the way that you've handled the Fred dying issue, where no one really knows what to say, they just go day by day. It's great, really. I can't wait to read more!
St Margarets
Friday 24th August 2007 05:49
Part 1 (Author Response)
I love the idea of H/G starting all over again in a way - I thought JKR really emphasized how young they both were in DH and it's sort of like a new beginning for fan fic. writers if you can get them past the grief. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Antosha
Friday 17th August 2007 15:36


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

Part 1
Oh, so lovely—from the awkward conversation to Kinglsey's misunderstanding. I look forward to the birthday celebration!

Oh, and cummings poem is an old favorite.

So, yay! :-)
St Margarets
Friday 24th August 2007 05:48
Part 1 (Author Response)
Oh, yay for David reading! Of course the poem is really what I'm trying to say - but it's taking me 20,000 words when it only took cummings 100! LOL. If only I could draw . . .
  Quote
juliet
Friday 17th August 2007 15:36


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

Part 1
This story is lovely and I look forward to reading more. There is a beautiful balance between the grief and the hope. Well done.
St Margarets
Friday 24th August 2007 05:35
Part 1 (Author Response)
The grief is canon, I think, but the hope is as well if they are to have their happily ever after epilogue. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
VegHindu101
Friday 17th August 2007 11:31


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

Part 1
Love it, love it. Can't wait for the next parts! I was left with a sense of loss when I realized we weren't going to have any details in the book but this makes up for it!

As for everyone trying to be normal, I guess we could all say that "normal is the watchword." (To quote Veronica Mars.)
St Margarets
Friday 24th August 2007 05:34
Part 1 (Author Response)
Yes - "normal" starts to look really good after so many dramatic events - poor Harry. I think my own sense of loss drove me to write this story, so thank you for saying that.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 101 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004