Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Picking Up The Pieces by girlyswot

Showing 1 to 20 of 20
LWJ2
Tuesday 21st June 2011 22:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

1:Picking Up The Pieces
Excellent. Thank you.
  Quote
majolie
Tuesday 15th January 2008 13:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

1:Picking Up The Pieces
Wow - really powerful.
  Quote
chiantiqueen
Saturday 29th December 2007 06:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

1:Picking Up The Pieces
Wow fantastic speech!! So inspiring, it's no wonder Kingsley was chosen as Minister! Fab little story, thanks for sharing it.
  Quote
everylittlething
Monday 12th November 2007 02:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

1:Picking Up The Pieces
Ok, so firstly, this story was recommended to me by our mutual beta because our stories are kind of compatible. I love this image of Kingsley setting things right! You write really well - I'm looking forward to reading through all of your other stuff. Thanks for this beautiful picture of the restoration of order in the Ministry - I loved it!
girlyswot
Friday 16th November 2007 18:48
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
I'll have to go and check yours out. Gerry's a great beta to work with.

And thanks for leaving me a review - I'm glad you enjoyed this.
  Quote
nerd2006
Wednesday 22nd August 2007 16:06


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 111

1:Picking Up The Pieces
This was really good; I'm glad you chose this direction.
girlyswot
Wednesday 22nd August 2007 19:36
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Thank you.
  Quote
Narumi
Tuesday 21st August 2007 10:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

1:Picking Up The Pieces
This was just great. I get the feeling you wrote this as a one-shot, but I'd love to read more about the Reconstruction, especially from Kinsley's POV! Please do consider extending this piece.
girlyswot
Tuesday 21st August 2007 16:47
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Nope, no plans to write more of this, but I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
jeanne
Monday 20th August 2007 05:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

1:Picking Up The Pieces
Gad, but I wish there were words to describe the impact this short fic had on me. You are indeed to be thanked for your work. I,m still quivering inside and as close to tears as I,ve been in a long time. I,ll never read another DH take off without comparing it to your short and poignant piece. It My thanks go out to you.
girlyswot
Monday 20th August 2007 19:41
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Thank you for letting me know your response to this piece. I'm amazed at how much it seems to have struck a chord with people. It was hard to write but I'm glad I did.
  Quote
SnorkackCatcher
Sunday 19th August 2007 15:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

1:Picking Up The Pieces
Nice look at the first day -- and a fine inspiring speech from Kingsley.
girlyswot
Monday 20th August 2007 19:41
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Thank you.
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Sunday 19th August 2007 13:32


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

1:Picking Up The Pieces
Beautifully written and full of detail and feeling. It feels like exactly what would happen on Kingsley's first day as Minister. His pain and anger with the events of the the last days and months could be focused on the start of rebuilding the Wizarding world. And, as often happens, the rebuilding must start with demolition, and the destruction of the statue as a symbol of what was and what is to come worked perfectly.

This story was dark and powerful, but even so, hope swelled beneath the ruin. Thank you for sharing this with us. It was beautiful.
girlyswot
Sunday 19th August 2007 14:08
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad the story conveyed the sense of hope overcoming the evil that had gone before.
  Quote
lantis222
Sunday 19th August 2007 10:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

1:Picking Up The Pieces
I loved it, the statue made me sick too. I was so glad to see it destroyed.
girlyswot
Sunday 19th August 2007 11:39
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Thanks. It was quite a cathartic process writing about the destruction of such a symbol of evil.
  Quote
Arnel
Sunday 19th August 2007 09:15


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 579

1:Picking Up The Pieces
I love the imagry of this piece; the doing-away with evil in a united effort to preserve the good just won. Kingsley's speech was inspiring. Thanks for sharing it with us.
girlyswot
Sunday 19th August 2007 11:39
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
You're welcome. I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
Patches
Saturday 18th August 2007 23:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

1:Picking Up The Pieces
I wanted to reread my review. Thanks again for writing. p
  Quote
Patches
Saturday 18th August 2007 23:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

1:Picking Up The Pieces
Thank you for writing this story. It was appropriate and welcome. I am old enough to remember friends I had gone to school with not coming back from Vietnam. My nephew was in Desert Storm. I remember talking to him about the number of Americans that died there. I foolishly said "At least it wasn't more than that!" He said, "One was too many!" That is what we need to remember about any war. "One death is too many!" Foolish reasons for war like "blood lines", "family heritage", "where ancesters came from", "color of skin", "religion", "wealth or lack of". All of these reasons are not good enough for one person to die for. We have to learn that lesson. I hope we do. Thanks for writing. p
girlyswot
Sunday 19th August 2007 11:40
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Thank you. I'm glad that you found this little story meaningful. War is a truly horrible thing and I think that JKR showed us some of that in DH.
  Quote
Circuitsoft
Saturday 18th August 2007 18:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

1:Picking Up The Pieces
Excellent story. Perfect characterization, excellent intent, and extremely vivid.

FYI, I\'m not sure the Nazis ever made human lampshades. See The Straight Dope on Human Lampshades
girlyswot
Saturday 18th August 2007 20:09
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Thank you!

And that's interesting about the Nazis. Still gives me the shivers though, whether it actually happened or not. Just like that statue. Ugh!
  Quote
Mongo
Saturday 18th August 2007 15:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

1:Picking Up The Pieces
Interesting so far, but I believe that it should be classified as 'post-DH', not 'post-HBP'.

Bill
girlyswot
Saturday 18th August 2007 20:09
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Quite right on the classification, sorry. I'll email my beta and see if it can be changed. This is just a one shot though, so don't expect any more.
  Quote
vivek
Saturday 18th August 2007 15:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

1:Picking Up The Pieces
great work although it would have been funny to see also maybe you could do a present day one with harry and kingsly having to go and see gordon brown over a small problem it would be classic i also like the whole smashing of the grotesque statue it had to go to be honest, well enough of my rambling hope you keep up the good work
girlyswot
Saturday 18th August 2007 20:10
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Thank you! I wonder whether Gordon Brown did indeed meet the 'Other Minister' on his first day! That was one of my favourite chapters in the whole series.
  Quote
jamo5187
Saturday 18th August 2007 14:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

1:Picking Up The Pieces
girlyswot
Saturday 18th August 2007 20:10
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Saturday 18th August 2007 13:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

1:Picking Up The Pieces
Quite good. You've captured an important first step in the renewal which is to come. It has to be a group effort.
girlyswot
Saturday 18th August 2007 20:11
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Thanks, Kate. I definitely think this would be a time for people to work together.
  Quote
midwife_witch
Saturday 18th August 2007 12:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

1:Picking Up The Pieces
Very powerful. I tore through DH quickly enough (and have re-read spottily enough) that I had almost forgotten about that statue. Having Kingsley destroy it shows not only that he's the right man for the job but also that he has the integrity we'd all hope for instead of just being some toady waiting for his shot at power. Brilliant!
girlyswot
Saturday 18th August 2007 20:12
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Thank you! I was a little surprised that Kingsley became the Minister and I wonder if he might not have been as well. I also think that no one would quite know what the right thing is to do on a day like that, so I wanted to show him just doing what felt right to him.
  Quote
Trelawney2213
Saturday 18th August 2007 11:05


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 106

1:Picking Up The Pieces
This short piece is one of your best yet. What an excellent focal point for rebuilding a new world by destroying that hateful statue. I like the subtle gesture of Kingsley slipping a bit of the rubble into his pocket as a reminder of the past because I'm sure he knows that evil will be back before they know it. Wonderful bit of writing,
girlyswot
Saturday 18th August 2007 20:14
1:Picking Up The Pieces (Author Response)
Thanks so much, Gerry. I like to think that Kingsley would have that chunk of stone displayed somewhere prominently in his office as a permanent reminder of the depths to which man can sink and also the strength people can find to oppose evil.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 20
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004