Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A New Alliance by jncarlin

Showing 1 to 14 of 14
beko
Wednesday 26th November 2008 07:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

A New Alliance
Enjoyed it a lot, I love missing moments stories (and DH offers so much material to write them). A few passages feel a bit rushed and you could have gone into a bit more detail (e.g. Neville's reaction to Ab turning out to be Dumbledore's brother), but all it all, it was great
  Quote
shimotsuki
Tuesday 6th May 2008 13:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

A New Alliance
I've been meaning and meaning to read this -- I thought the premise was great, and the story absolutely lives up to its promise. The idea of people who are worn out and reaching their limit finally getting a second wind by combining forces is just perfect for both Neville (what a year he must have been having!) and Aberforth.

We know so little about Ab, but I really like this characterization of him, acting glum but secretly hopeful even though he's a little embarrassed by that. The thought of him sitting watching the mirror, night after night! I like your Ariana, too, doing what she can to help even though she doesn't really know what's going on.

I think we need more DA-at-Hogwarts DH stories...
  Quote
majolie
Sunday 17th February 2008 20:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

A New Alliance
Oh I loved this. I always love to read the stories the fill in gaps where the books did not tell us all the details. And this was so well thought out and Neville and Aberforth were both so well characterized. Great job!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 13th October 2007 20:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

A New Alliance
wow! I loved this! I always wondered how that passage came to be
  Quote
pyromain
Thursday 4th October 2007 08:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

A New Alliance
Great fill for the book really missed these kind of details and I'm glad you filled them in for me. thanks
  Quote
midwife_witch
Friday 7th September 2007 15:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

A New Alliance
What a great idea, having Ariana bring the two of them together like that. This is a wonderful and well-written "missing moment".
jncarlin
Tuesday 11th September 2007 12:58
A New Alliance (Author Response)
Thanks so much.
  Quote
nerd2006
Wednesday 5th September 2007 15:45


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 111

A New Alliance
Cool.
jncarlin
Tuesday 11th September 2007 12:58
A New Alliance (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Wednesday 5th September 2007 14:34


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

A New Alliance
Aww that was such a sweet story! I love Neville's determination, Ab's cynical attitude that just needs a bit of hope, and Ariana's peaceful and lovely existence with her brother in her picture frame. All in all I could totally see this happening to Neville in DH, great job!
jncarlin
Tuesday 11th September 2007 12:57
A New Alliance (Author Response)
Thanks so much--I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 4th September 2007 13:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

A New Alliance
To be honest, this is a part of the story I've not managed to think about. I haven't even thought about thinking about it ... I'm not making myself very clear, but anyway: this seems like a very plausible explanation.

Nicely done with a beautiful eye for detail. Thanks for drawing my attention that way and for sharing.
jncarlin
Tuesday 11th September 2007 12:56
A New Alliance (Author Response)
Thank you for your nice words. I appreciate hearing from you.
  Quote
pixie7
Tuesday 4th September 2007 04:28


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 138

A New Alliance
this is brilliant, i always wondered how the tunnel was first formed.

because if it was always there Harry, Ron & Hermione as well as the twins would have discovered it a long time ago. Ariana seems lyk a really sweet gal. i'm glad that Aberforth & Neville are working together
jncarlin
Tuesday 11th September 2007 12:55
A New Alliance (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm glad you liked my theory on how the tunnel formed.
  Quote
Ladybug
Monday 3rd September 2007 23:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

A New Alliance
Great! I think this is fabulous look into three wonderful characters. I loved being inside their heads for this important moment. You portray Ariana very much how I imagine her and I like the way Aberforth struggles with keeping his nose clean and desperately clinging onto some sort of connection with Harry. Neville's just plain good as he deserves to be! Well done, I really enjoyed your story.
jncarlin
Tuesday 11th September 2007 12:54
A New Alliance (Author Response)
Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed my characterizations, and my story.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Monday 3rd September 2007 21:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

A New Alliance
Excellent. The story of how Neville and Aberforth began to work together needs to be told. Ariana is delightful.
jncarlin
Tuesday 11th September 2007 12:53
A New Alliance (Author Response)
Thank you. More Neville during DH in general needs to be told!
  Quote
Delfino
Monday 3rd September 2007 16:34


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

A New Alliance
This is very well written. I like Ariana's part in it.
jncarlin
Tuesday 11th September 2007 12:52
A New Alliance (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
dancinginmagic
Monday 3rd September 2007 14:58


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 166

A New Alliance
Really, really nice! Thanks for sharing.

Sarah
jncarlin
Tuesday 11th September 2007 12:51
A New Alliance (Author Response)
thanks--I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004