Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Trying to Understand by Arnel

Showing 1 to 14 of 14
ngayonatkailanman
Thursday 26th July 2012 08:00


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Trying to Understand
I want to cry.... Where is the emoticom for crying? This is really sad. It truly is war. WW1 and WW2 must be hard on everybody. Oh, my emotions. What have you done? Excellent stuff
Arnel
Friday 27th July 2012 10:04
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
I'm glad my story has moved you to tears... or very nearly so. That was the effect I was going for. It's been a while since I wrote the story, but I think you're right about the various good-byes people said during those wars and this one, even though it's fictitious, is no easier on the characters we know and love. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
hihavaniceda
Friday 12th December 2008 02:37


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

Trying to Understand
Oohh I nearly cried .... I never give long reviews ... I am a mathtiition ... not English ... but I do enjoy reading your stories, so don\'t think less of my sincereity because the reviews are short!

Arnel
Friday 12th December 2008 05:27
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
Thank you for taking the time to tell me you like my stories. I appreciate any feedback my readers give me, no matter how long or how short.
  Quote
Wings
Monday 14th July 2008 09:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Trying to Understand
Arnel,

I've taken to reading stories during my lunch break at work and today I decided to check this one out. I'm so glad that I did! This story really illuminates your mother heart and shows how much that means to you. It is beautifully written, and I can feel the heartache going through Hermione throughout the whole story. I can't imagine what that would be like, as my family is so close, and I think that you captured the emotions well.

Glad that I read this one! Look for some more reviews from me, soon. And perhaps some more stories ...

Abri
Arnel
Monday 14th July 2008 13:14
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
Abri,

Trying to Understand is the sequel to Vigil, my story from Mrs Granger's point of view that delves into her understanding of Hermione's magical activities from the time she left for Hogwarts at eleven and ended up in hospital after the Ministry battle in OotP. When writing both stories I tried to imagine how Mrs Granger would feel as her daughter seemingly slipped away. I'm glad you liked this one and look forward to more of your reviews.

Thanks for your kind words.

Arnel
  Quote
alzeeb
Wednesday 7th November 2007 13:22


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

Trying to Understand
this and vigil were greatly put together, and i had a fair sized lump in my throat at the end. poor Hermione
Arnel
Wednesday 7th November 2007 16:33
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked both stories. Believe me, I had a lump in my throat as I was typing the end of this story, too. I'm planning one last story to go with these two to get to the happy ending. Thanks for your review.
  Quote
pyromain
Thursday 4th October 2007 11:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Trying to Understand
Just like vigil this story adds perspective to the story set by JKR I really liked the ending with hermione waving off her obliviated parents.
Arnel
Thursday 4th October 2007 11:55
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
When I read the passage in DH where Hermione told Harry about what she had done to her parents, I really felt sorry for her and easily imagined the sorts of emotions she was going through. I've also had several occasions where I have stood in nearly the same place Hermione does at the end, waving to people on a plane who don't know I'm waving! It seemed a fitting end to that part of Hermione's life at that point. Thanks for your thoughts.
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Tuesday 25th September 2007 13:28


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

Trying to Understand
Legend.

I read Vigil before this, under you're recommendation. They were both amazing! I love the whole idea, and it was nice to read some pre-DH fanfic which is good, not random predictions over who's going to die! This, too, was just great! Nice to have something pre Horcrux hunting, as oppose to afterwards.
Arnel
Wednesday 26th September 2007 05:29
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked both stories. The idea for both Vigil and Trying to Understand came from my curiosity regarding Hermione's parents. Starting with GoF she's told them precious little about the state of the Wizarding world, keeping them quite ignorant of the whole situation, and I wondered what it would feel like to be the parent of a witch who kept the truth from me in order to protect me. Thanks for reading and leaving this review.
  Quote
Ladybug
Tuesday 25th September 2007 00:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Trying to Understand
I really enjoyed this story. The family dynamics at the start feel so realistic and lovely, it paints a perfect picture of Hermione's family. What I'm curious about is where Hermione went in her nice new robes every day for that week in the middle. Was she making arrangements to send her parents to safety? Was she visiting The Burrow? Was she perhaps learning the Obliviate spell from Professor McGonagall or Flitwick? Hmm, you have me very curious.

The final part, through Monica's eyes, was really well done - so sad for us seeing her mild confusion and watching Hermione do what she had to do. Very nicely done.
Arnel
Tuesday 25th September 2007 05:24
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
Oh, very good! You're the first person to question where Hermione went and yes, you are quite right. Hermione left home each morning to make arrangements for her parents' departure. She was the one who made the travel agency put up the sign about the discount fares to Australia; she was the one to arrange special transportation and a residence in Sydney for Monica and Wendell; and yes, she did go to Hogwarts to delve into the spell section of the library. I'm really glad you liked my story. Thanks for your kind words.
  Quote
legobean
Friday 21st September 2007 21:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Trying to Understand
Aw, nice job. Someone needs to write the adventures of the Grangers in Australia. I'm sure they had an interesting time settling in with so many holes in their memories.

Arnel
Friday 21st September 2007 22:20
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
I think I'll let someone else write Wendell and Monica's adventures in Australia. However, I just might write their homecoming to England as Hermione's parents. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Thursday 20th September 2007 09:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

Trying to Understand
Aww, nice job, Arnel. I've always thought of Hermione's parents as the types who were very career-oriented and didn't have a lot of time for Hermione, but you've given them life in this short piece. Good job.
Arnel
Thursday 20th September 2007 12:08
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
Thanks, Melinda. My quest to understand Hermione's parents began with the question of why hadn't they come to Hogwarts when she was hurt in OotP. Then, I thought that maybe they had and had only stayed at the school for a little while which was the crux of my story Vigil. I've always thought that even though they were career-oriented they were extremely limited in the knowledge and understanding because of what Hermione didn't tell them! Also, the more I thought about it, the more I could see the parallels between the Grangers and Ginny Weasley; they both were meant to stay behind, protected from the war. I think that maybe if they had known more they really would have acted in canon as they did in this story. Thanks for reviewing. It means a lot.
  Quote
B. Nonymous
Wednesday 19th September 2007 20:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

Trying to Understand
Okay... I'm sure you've had every other reviewer ask this as well, but can you write the logical follow-on where you invert the structure here as "Miss Higgenbottom" runs into Wendell and Monica?

Thanks for this story!
B.
Arnel
Wednesday 19th September 2007 20:45
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
The prevailing sentiment to this story is that there is a need for closure in the form of a sequel to this fic. Sooooo... most likely there will be another Miss Higgenbottom story where poor Hermione must travel to Australia to find Wendell and Monica. I'm glad you've enjoyed this story enough to ask for its sequel!
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Wednesday 19th September 2007 17:44


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

Trying to Understand
Bittersweet and very well written. I'd have never thought of looking at it from Hermione's parent's perspective, which means you picked a good way to write it. You did such a good job of showing the progression of feelings, especially Hermione's feelings. The pervading sadness growing in her was very, very moving. Imagining her watching her parents leave at the end and walking away without turning back gives a taste of how deep her commitment is to the wizarding world for the defeat of Voldemort. It's especially powerful because I don't think I could do the same. Thank you for reworking this great story and deciding to share it with us. This was some great writing!
Arnel
Wednesday 19th September 2007 20:59
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
I'm really glad you got so much out of my story. Writing it satisfied my need to explore the feelings and perspective of a very minor character who ultimately has a big impact on Hermione. I've always admired Hermione's courage and the strength she shows in chapter six of DH when she's telling Harry that her parents are safe just made me respect her dedication to the Wizarding world so much more. I appreciate your reviewing my story.
  Quote
lantis222
Wednesday 19th September 2007 08:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

Trying to Understand
I've always thought that Hermione had the hardest job of the trio. Ron at least knew his family was alright and they remembered him but Hermione had lost so much more. I'd be devistated if my parents didn't remember me. thank you for such a wonderful story, I really liked it. I also read Vigil and I enjoyed it as well. You are a wonderful author.
Arnel
Wednesday 19th September 2007 12:02
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
Thank you for reading both stories. I'm glad you enjoyed them. I appreciate your kind words and thoroughly agree that Hermione had so much more to cope with. She's a very strong young woman and I am very glad that our favorite author saw fit to make sure Hermione lived through Book 7 so that she could bring her parents home and re-establish her ties with them.
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Wednesday 19th September 2007 04:23


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

Trying to Understand
Aww that's so sad! I've always wondered about how Hermione went about sending her parents away, and this story was so well written and helped me to understand just how hard it was for Hermione to do that. Will you write a sequel where Hermione brings her parents back home? That would be lovely to read as well
Arnel
Wednesday 19th September 2007 05:14
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
You know, I hadn't thought about a sequel, but a coming home story might just be the thing to complete this series and give it the complete closure Hermione and her parents deserve. Thanks for the idea and kind words.
  Quote
Miri
Wednesday 19th September 2007 01:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Trying to Understand
Oh, what a sad, heartbreaking story this is and it really fleshes out what happens in canon.

The way that Hermione manipulates her parents in order to keep them safe was touched on so lightly and with so little emotion attached to it, that it was almost a non-event in DH. Hermione's parents have always had so little presence in the books, and she spends so much time away from them that you can't help wondering just how close they can be as a family, which is surprising when you consider how important family is to JKR.


That Hermione felt forced to do this, and the effect it had on her, deserves to be explored and the price acknowleged. Thank you for writing such a moving story and I hope you'll see fit to possibly do a companion piece showing the Grangers being reunited. I'm curious as to what you think Mr. and Mrs. Granger's reactions are going to be when they learn the truth.
Arnel
Wednesday 19th September 2007 05:22
Trying to Understand (Author Response)
I'm curious as to what you think Mr. and Mrs. Granger's reactions are going to be when they learn the truth.


That makes two of us! I'm definitely going to explore this idea not just because I'm curious about the mysterious Grangers, but because of what the consequences doing such a thing to one's parents might be. Thanks for putting that little bee in my bonnet!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004