Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Surrogate by Sovran

Showing 1 to 20 of 41 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
khm7
Friday 9th April 2010 13:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Surrogate
Wonderful fic. I almost cried (and no longer being pregnant-that's a feat) Your characters were well spoken and their feelings evident. A beautiful work. Thanks for sharing.
  Quote
bookish327
Monday 26th May 2008 17:22


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

Surrogate
Great, wonderful, amazing job! You were so right when you wrote that we needed to know (since DH didn't tell us) that George would be okay. The grief that Angelina, George, and his family was feeling was so real and well-written. Then, everything that happened after Angelina walked through the door was so well-done . . . . Oh, I can't express myself any better than this. Suffice it to say that I'm yet again impressed by your writing and depth of understanding and feeling.
Sovran
Tuesday 27th May 2008 06:38
Surrogate (Author Response)
Thanks very much! I admit that I'm very pleased that I was right, in a way, about what happened with Angelina and George. As far as I know, JKR hasn't told us how they got together or when, so I'm going to claim that this story is the start of that relationship.
  Quote
VegHindu101
Tuesday 4th March 2008 20:30


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

Surrogate
Thank you for this story. I've read it before but just remembered to review. I don't know how two close twins like them could survive without each other. Mrs. Weasley will forever be grateful for Angelina's gift (as will the others, of course).
Sovran
Friday 7th March 2008 14:12
Surrogate (Author Response)
I think that George really needed something to start his own healing process, and of course it helped the others, too. It's lucky that my vision turned out to be basically similar to JKR's. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
Arnel
Sunday 2nd March 2008 21:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 579

Surrogate
Since we know that George really does wind up marrying Angelina this story is very fitting. I'm very glad that he found a reason to pull himself together and that ultimately he will help himself as he helps Angelina. Fred's child is definitely a wonderful way to keep Fred front and center in everyone's minds. I really enjoyed reading this story.
Sovran
Friday 7th March 2008 14:10
Surrogate (Author Response)
The irony is that I wrote this long before JKR told us about George and Angelina. I'm very glad that it turned out that way, though... now it's much more like a missing moment or something thoroughly canon-compliant.

Thanks, as always, for reading and reviewing so perceptively.
  Quote
graup_hagrid
Saturday 1st March 2008 19:56


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 89

Surrogate
Wow, nice little fic that gives closure to George, and maybe a few Weasleys.

Thanks for sharing it.
Sovran
Friday 7th March 2008 14:08
Surrogate (Author Response)
Yes, closure for lots of folks, I hope. Including me. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
The Boss
Tuesday 19th February 2008 00:09


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 214

Surrogate
This is a great piece of fanfic continuing on from the end of book 7. You have done a great job in picking up all the characters - and I particuarly like how you included Percy into that scene.A job well done

The Boss
Sovran
Monday 25th February 2008 12:56
Surrogate (Author Response)
Thanks very much! I was quite pleased to see that this story became even more 'canon' than I intended . . . JKR said George and Angelina ended up together.
  Quote
aharkins
Wednesday 9th January 2008 08:35


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 176

Surrogate
Thank you. I wanted to see George manage to go on with life, too. This was a good story, even if I did have to shed a few tears.
Sovran
Monday 25th February 2008 12:54
Surrogate (Author Response)
Hopefully a few tears are necessary to get through to the good feelings. Poor George. I found it really funny (and pleasing) that JKR said George and Angelina got together.
  Quote
majolie
Sunday 9th December 2007 18:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Surrogate
I loved this. I, too, have wanted that hope that George would find a reason to go on. And I've found some great stories showing him doing that, but this is one of my favorites. Not just for the agreeable plot, but for the fact that it is so well written. Thank you.
Sovran
Monday 10th December 2007 09:16
Surrogate (Author Response)
Thanks very much! This story came to me all at once, and if life had permitted, I probably would have written the whole thing in one sitting. Cursed job!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 2nd December 2007 20:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Surrogate
i love this! I knew that she was pregnant too :p that was really sweet too
Sovran
Monday 10th December 2007 09:05
Surrogate (Author Response)
Yes, I suppose the pregnancy was a bit obvious, but I decided that was okay. Angelina being pregnant at 20 is more plausible than Ginny at 15 or 16, right? Thanks for reading!
  Quote
weasleyfan11
Saturday 1st December 2007 16:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Surrogate
I loved this story!!! I liked how angelina just kind of showed up out of nowhere. You made it seem like she cheered george up when he really neede it. keep writing.
Sovran
Monday 10th December 2007 09:04
Surrogate (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
weasleyfan11
Saturday 1st December 2007 16:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Surrogate
I loved this story!!! I liked how angelina just kind of showed up out of nowhere. You made it seem like she cheered george up when he really neede it. keep writing.
Sovran
Monday 10th December 2007 09:04
Surrogate (Author Response)
She cheered George up, and I think he cheered her up, and they cheered just about everybody up. It's pretty cheerful, for a depressing story. At least, I hope so. Thanks!
  Quote
Rhetor
Wednesday 17th October 2007 20:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Surrogate
I'll answer your private query in a little bit, but I thought I'd give you a proper review first.

I recognize myself in this story. That's not to say I'd've written a story like this, but rather that you're paying attention to a lot of things to which I like to pay attention when I write. Your moment-to-moment concrete details, coupled with half-completed thoughts and suggested connections, reach me exactly in the core of my literary sense. It's great.

The title strikes me as having at least two meanings, maybe three. But in any case the term "Surrogate" is beautiful in the context of a lost loved one. In a sense, the survivors always act "surrogates" for the departed, trying to fill the gap that can't be filled.

George's interiority is, of course, the best part of it. At the very start you've demonstrated perfectly the sort of aimless, pointless detachment a very depressed person feels.

The use of H & G as the catalyst -- the act of seeing them becomes the first step in George & Angelina's mutual healing -- is something I also recognize, since I did something similar in Minding the Baby. I wonder at how naturally this comes to us, thinking of Harry & Ginny's love as a balm for the hurt of the world. Speaking for myself, seeing H & G together has sometimes "done my heart good" when I needed it, and perhaps we instinctively feel that they can have that effect on others. I dunno.

The grief & healing theme seems to be coming out in a lot of fanfic right now, which makes perfect sense to me. There was a lot of death in DH, a lot of pain, but some beautiful sweetness as well, with the promise of still more happiness later on. I think we're all wondering about how they got from point A to point B, from the pain to the joy. You've given us one more piece of the puzzle. Thank you.
Sovran
Tuesday 13th November 2007 07:51
Surrogate (Author Response)
I did say that I was behind on review responses, didn't I?

This story did feel you-ish. I didn't set out to do that, but when I'd finished I realised that you were a perfect exemplar of my target audience.

If you look closely, there are about 5 surrogates in the story. Some are more clear and influential than others. The baby is a surrogate for Fred to George and Angelina (and the others to a lesser extent). George is a surrogate Fred to Angelina (and the baby, later). Angelina is a surrogate Ginny for the Weasleys, in some ways. Harry and Ginny, together, are a surrogate of sorts in that they're a new and different source of hope. And, hiding in the background and tone, the Weasleys (incl. Angelina) are a surrogate family for Harry. There might even be a few more.

I'm glad to say that I don't remember the interiority stage very well, but it wasn't hard to reconstruct from what I do remember.

I think the symbol of Harry and Ginny's love is fairly universal, because it's lurking around the edges in canon. We don't see the true aftermath of the battle, but all along we're given the idea that Harry views Ginny and their relationship as goals. That's what he wants to get back to when it's all over. I don't think it's too much of a stretch to think that the same sort of thinking would carry over after the battle, when Harry and Ginny being reunited would serve as a symbol of the same future.

Thanks, as always, for reading, thinking, reviewing, and helping me to improve my writing.
  Quote
pyromain
Monday 8th October 2007 09:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Surrogate
This is really good, although its a though subject to write about, the story doesn't get to heavy but has an end that leaves me with a good feeling.
Sovran
Tuesday 13th November 2007 06:57
Surrogate (Author Response)
Great! That's precisely what I was going for. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
KEDme
Tuesday 2nd October 2007 15:08


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 83

Surrogate
I would love to believe it happened that way. Excellent one shot with a good dose of hope. Thanks for sharing.
Sovran
Tuesday 13th November 2007 06:55
Surrogate (Author Response)
I certainly hope that something happened to get to the emotional end result I depicted. Perhaps JKR will fill in that information someday. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
Patches
Monday 1st October 2007 02:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Surrogate
This is excellent. Thank you so much for writing it. I too feel their are a lot of unanswered questions in the seventh book. I am so thankful for the fanfiction writers that have taken it upon themselves to try to fill those gaps. This is an excellent addition to the collection of DH spoilers I am collecting. Thank you again for writing. p
Sovran
Tuesday 13th November 2007 06:54
Surrogate (Author Response)
I'm very glad you liked this addition to DH. I really needed it. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
ProfessorBinns
Monday 1st October 2007 00:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

Surrogate
That's just great. I was totally surprised by the twist, and I like the glimpse of HG through the door. But especially I like the way that both Angelina and George stare at George to see Fred's face...I had a similar experience with my best friend's brother after my friend died.

Thanks!
Sovran
Tuesday 13th November 2007 06:53
Surrogate (Author Response)
The glimpse of H/G was really important to the story, as I designed it. I'm glad you liked that.
I'm fortunate enough not to have had this experience exactly, but I did lose a friend and often wish that he had a brother or twin or something.
Thanks for reading!
  Quote
CrumpleHornedKiwi
Sunday 30th September 2007 01:04


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 224

Surrogate
That was so beautiful, really really touching.

I agree, I want to know that George was ok

Sovran
Tuesday 13th November 2007 06:43
Surrogate (Author Response)
Thanks very much!
  Quote
megw18
Saturday 29th September 2007 21:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Surrogate
omg this was great!! i love the idea...you should keep this going!! i just love the idea of Fred leaving something behind and hopefully helping the family get through the worst of times... more please!!
Sovran
Tuesday 13th November 2007 06:42
Surrogate (Author Response)
I liked that idea, too, but I don't think I'll continue it. This bit was pretty much all it needed for me. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Wordgrrl
Saturday 29th September 2007 15:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Surrogate
Wow! That made me cry, but in a good way. Here's hoping for a sequel.
Sovran
Tuesday 23rd October 2007 12:58
Surrogate (Author Response)
I don't think I'll do a sequel, but you never know. Thanks very much for reading.
  Quote
jeanne
Friday 28th September 2007 04:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Surrogate
You couldn,t have written a better offshoot of the final days, weeks and months of the final battle. For Fred unknowingly to leave a bit of himself behind, was great.
Sovran
Tuesday 23rd October 2007 12:57
Surrogate (Author Response)
Ah yes, Fred's last unconscious prank on his friends and family. I thought it fit. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 41 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004