Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Come Home by lantis222

Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
hihavaniceda
Saturday 6th December 2008 03:10


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

Come Home
yes .... I enjoyed it ..... but I didn't understand the end.
  Quote
hmrpotter
Monday 20th October 2008 09:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Come Home
Beautiful and sad.
  Quote
snuggle the muggle
Tuesday 7th October 2008 05:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

Come Home
I just wanted to let you know that someone has rec’d your story and I have posted a link to it in the new HP LJ community http://community.livejournal.com/hpmssgmoments, or Harry Potter Missing Moments, as well as its search site. Your story fits nicely into canon and makes a nice addition to our archives. Please feel free to come over and take a look at what we are doing and your entry (posted under "Dogs of War"). We are a small group at the moment, but we hope to get your story some new readers and some new reviews as we grow.
  Quote
lily_evans103
Sunday 20th July 2008 22:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Come Home
I love the story! Before DH I had NEVER thought of Lily and Sev as anything, let alone that he loved her. But I really LOVE your story
  Quote
KateB
Thursday 29th May 2008 19:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

Come Home
What a wonderful wonderful look at the softer side of Snape! I always felt such pity for him, and I like how you had Lily come and help him into the next great adventure. Thank you for writing this, and I look forward to more from you!!
  Quote
jovelyn_mark
Monday 17th March 2008 19:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

Come Home
nice story! that's a good review coming from someone who doesn't like snape haha. Really good! Keep writing!
lantis222
Tuesday 18th March 2008 06:41
Come Home (Author Response)
Thanks so much. I really don't like Snape either but this was one of those bunny's that hit and wouldn't go away. Thanks so much for reviewing. They do keep us writing.
  Quote
Shilow
Saturday 19th January 2008 16:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

Come Home
I had always wondered about Severus Snape and the absolute faith that Dumbledore had in him and why he put that faith in him. I hated him and the way he treated all students except his own house students. As the stories evolved, it didn't seem to get better, yet Albus always stood behind him.

They were friends! Dumbledore saw the good in him and he returned the favor by spying on Voldemort keeping Dumbledore apprised of his movements and plans. Nothing said more of their friendship when you read how he ranted at Dumbledore for putting on Marvolo's ring.

Your story didn't make me cry, I did that when I read the DH, and I saw his memories. Your story broke my heart for the regret he had for a life he felt should have been fuller and richer had he taken a different path. Thank you for such insight. The awe I experienced when I realized just how dedicated he was and how he protected Harry even at the cost to him, touched me deeply.


lantis222
Tuesday 29th January 2008 09:02
Come Home (Author Response)
Thank you so much for such kind words. They mean more to me than you know. Snape has always been my least favorite character and I hated him just as much as you did. Even after DH I still struggled with everything that he did. And one day I realized that there was a real reason for his animosity toward other people (particularly Harry) and this story was born. It practically wrote itself.

Thank you again so very much for your encouragement.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Monday 14th January 2008 10:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Come Home
Congratulations on being chosen as Story of the Week! You did a wonderful job of making us feel what Professor Snape would have felt. I enjoyed it as much on second reading.
lantis222
Tuesday 15th January 2008 07:58
Come Home (Author Response)
Hi Kate!

I feel so special to have you review my story twice. It's fun to be a story of the week. I know I already said it but you did a great job with your story.

Talk to you soon!
  Quote
chiantiqueen
Monday 14th January 2008 02:28


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Come Home
What a great story! DH was a real wake up call to those who hated Snape, especially me! I always hoped that he was on the "light" side and there was more to him than we had seen in the previous books so it was a welcome surpise when all was revealed in DH. I think you captured this missing moment perfectly.
lantis222
Monday 14th January 2008 06:46
Come Home (Author Response)
Thank you so much. I think I may have let Snape off a little easy in this, he's still a greasy git, but in the end he did his part and I really liked the way he turned out.

Thanks so much for reading and especially reviewing.
  Quote
majolie
Saturday 17th November 2007 20:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Come Home
Thanks for writing that - I've been feeling so bad about Snape's death, and this showed how their is still hope for his happiness.
lantis222
Saturday 17th November 2007 21:18
Come Home (Author Response)
Snape has got to be one of my least favorite characters. But when I read in DH the real story behind the man my heart went out to him. I think he deserved to have some small measure of happiness in his death as he had litle happiness in life.

Thanks so much for reviewing. I really appreciate it and it made my night. Thanks a million!
  Quote
abhi
Wednesday 7th November 2007 04:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

Come Home
beautiful-
lantis222
Wednesday 7th November 2007 07:23
Come Home (Author Response)
Thanks so much, I'm glad you liked it!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 21st October 2007 17:11


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Come Home
wow! this is interesting!!!
RIP
lantis222
Monday 22nd October 2007 10:33
Come Home (Author Response)
Such a tragic and pointless death. i'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you so much for reviewing!
  Quote
fire_faerie
Friday 19th October 2007 05:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Come Home
speechless ... ... ... HOW ON EARTH DID YOU DO THAT?? This is the first time I actually properly cried for Snape. I only got a little teary-eyed from the book, but now I\'m a puddle of tears! On a different note... Good job! You have a beautiful way of writing, I hope you write more stories, although they don\'t all have to be sad!
lantis222
Friday 19th October 2007 10:39
Come Home (Author Response)
I think that's one of the nicest things any one has ever said to me. As all good ideas come for me this one came...in the shower. And then it wouldn't leave. I wouldn't normally do something so very sad and I normally wouldn't write Snape either but this was the end result.

I'm sorry for making you cry but thank you so very much for your kind words, they mean more than you know.
  Quote
bellissima
Saturday 13th October 2007 14:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

Come Home
Wonderful! As I started reading it I got chills, then finished reading it with tears. That was beautiful!

lantis222
Saturday 13th October 2007 17:16
Come Home (Author Response)
Thank you so much! I'm sorry you were in tears but I'm really glad you liked it. Thank you for reviewing, it means so very much to me!
  Quote
juliet
Friday 12th October 2007 16:29


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

Come Home
Thankyou - this was something quite different from what I would normally read and I enjoyed your insight into Snape's mind. I liked that Lily met him and helped him on his way. This seemed right, and also that she acknowledged his protection of Harry.
lantis222
Friday 12th October 2007 17:42
Come Home (Author Response)
This is something different than I would usually write. It was one of those plot bunnies that just wouldn't leave me alone until I wrote it and when I did, it just came out. I was rather proud of it but I can't really take the credit. it wanted to be written and it really wrote itself. I find most great ideas happen that way.

Thank you for your review, I really appreciate it. They do make our day!
  Quote
everylittlething
Thursday 11th October 2007 07:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Come Home
Another interesting Snape fic that helps me to work out some of my ambivalence towards him.
The end is a little uncomfortable for me, though I take the point you've made in your author's note.
It's really a nice reflection about Harry's character just a much as everything else but I do love that sense of dread with which Snape anticipates teaching Harry and the way that you've justified Snape's hatred of Harry because it is to do with wanting to see those eyes on a child of his own.
lantis222
Thursday 11th October 2007 08:56
Come Home (Author Response)
First off, thank you so much for reviewing my little fic. I feel so very special.

In all honesty Snape is one of my absolute least favorite characters though in the end he did redeem himself slightly and to have Harry name his son after him is extremely touching to me.

The inspiration for this story actually came to me in the shower one day. That's where all of my really good inspiration strikes because it's my fifteen minutes of peace. (I have two children and I baby sit my neighbors boys as well) So anyway, I was thinking and wondering how I would react if I were in Lily's place. I

'd like to think that in the next life we have a higher understanding, and Lily is far from stupid, she knew of Snapes feelings even if she didn't return them. I don't think James would have minded that Lily went to help Snape transition. He would have understood as well.

I think maybe I'll have to write a sequel of sorts maybe a scene between James and Snape...?

Anyway, to answer your answer to my review (boy this gets confusing) Yes, I love this. I know technically they are only words on paper but to us they are real people in our minds and in our hearts. Fan fiction helps us grieve and makes us laugh. It gives us the opportunity to write and re-write things that we wish were different and to play with things that we wouldn't change for all the money in the world.

anyway this is far to long, thank you for reviewing and letting me ramble to you. I just love interacting with other fans and making new friends.
  Quote
critmo
Thursday 11th October 2007 01:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Come Home
Good one, very insightful.
lantis222
Thursday 11th October 2007 07:47
Come Home (Author Response)
Thank you so much! And thank you for reviewing.
  Quote
Patches
Sunday 7th October 2007 23:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Come Home
This was very well done. I like to think that Snape finally found some peace in the end. He was mean and ruthless but he helped in the end. He was a product of his life and the horrors in it. He deserves some peace. p
lantis222
Monday 8th October 2007 05:48
Come Home (Author Response)
I agree. Snape is not a pleasant man but it's not entirely his fault. If only he had made some different choices in life. I also agree with Dumbledore when he said "I often wonder if we don't sort too soon." I think Snape was much braver than anyone knew. Thank you for your wonderful review.
  Quote
Neli P
Sunday 7th October 2007 19:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Come Home
Wow! Although tops my personal "least-favorite-HP-characters" since the day he "sees no difference" in Hermione's teeth (I'm still see...), I must say you did a wonderful job collecting his last thoughts: there is so much emotion in every line, and we can't help but feeling sad for a man who is always on the verge of love and hate.

As you pointed out so rightfully ... "Perhaps if I had chosen a different path it might have been me in miniature sitting there in the seat with bright green eyes that looked at me with pride." It was awesome, BRAVO
lantis222
Monday 8th October 2007 05:55
Come Home (Author Response)
All he wanted was a little bit of love in his life. Unfortunately all the things he thought would impress is lady fair backfired.

Snape tops my list as number 1 least favorite characters. He's only slightly beaten by Bellatrix who is just an evil hag and has no real reason to be other than that she is evil personified. That might be an interesting thing to write about though... Anyway, he's horrible and vindictive and I think that Harry represents everything that he could have had in life.

Thank you so very much for your kind review. They are so very important and they keep us smiling. I can't think of a better way to start my day than words of encouragement. Thank you.
  Quote
The_Critic
Sunday 7th October 2007 09:26


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

Come Home
THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!
I really love this story, is my fav charactor ever exept for and but no one will ever write about him. You, however write about him from his own thoughts and do so in a way that I can really understand how you see snape. you have my thanks for actually writing a absoultly fantastic peice about .
Keep up the good work!
lantis222
Sunday 7th October 2007 17:36
Come Home (Author Response)
Well I really missed up in responding the first time. Thank you so much for your kind review, it really means a lot to me. I honestly really don't like Snape very much but this plot bunny wouldn't leave me alone. I'm really pleased with how it turned out. Anyway, thank you so much again, for reviewing.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004