Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Keep Faith by St Margarets

Showing 1 to 20 of 35 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
GinevraMollyWeasley
Wednesday 21st January 2009 15:35


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

Keep Faith
o.k., this one i loved!
  Quote
Hollu
Tuesday 22nd April 2008 18:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Keep Faith
That was beautiful. It's so great to read about original characters mixing with canon characters without turning them into Mary Sue's!

~Hollu
St Margarets
Wednesday 23rd April 2008 10:12
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked the original characters. Holly and Gran were some of the first I'd ever written, and I came to like them very much. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
bookish327
Tuesday 22nd April 2008 17:13


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

Keep Faith
I haven't read LEE JORDAN: TOUR GUIDE yet, but I will try to do so soon. Despite not having read that yet, I really enjoyed this story. We never get to know Lee very well in JKR's work, except as the twins' best friend and the Quidditch commentator for most of Harry's years at Hogwarts. So, this is interesting. I also like how fiery Holly is here. She seems to be someone who can keep up with Lee's clever, lively personality. This seems to fit in really well with the Potterwatch section in DH. I love missing moments that are really well-written, as this is. Thank you for sharing it with us. Great job!
St Margarets
Wednesday 23rd April 2008 10:11
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I'm glad it made sense without knowing the longer story. I'll be happy to know what you think about that "Tour Guide." It was my first foray into minor character fics. Lee (and Fred and George) are awesome characters to spend time with. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
joebob1379
Monday 3rd December 2007 21:16


Keep Faith
Oh Merlin, I love this! Wonderful, just wonderful Now I'm gonna have to go read the story that this is based on!
St Margarets
Tuesday 4th December 2007 06:39
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. Lee Jordan: Tour Guide is "two books old" but hopefully it will still be enjoyable. I look forward to your thoughts on it. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Chthonia
Sunday 2nd December 2007 13:35


Keep Faith
This is beautiful - I don't know your other story, but it didn't matter: the characterisation here is rich yet understated, making Holly and her Gran (and Lee, of course) very real. I like the way you've used the portrait as a frame for the story, and most of all I like the atmosphere of the piece. I love stories that move from despair to hope, and this one is excellent.

(Here from a rec on FictionAlley's 'I'm looking for...' forum.)
St Margarets
Sunday 2nd December 2007 14:03
Keep Faith (Author Response)
Oh, wow - I never get mentioned on those "big" sites. How nice! I'm glad you liked the story and that it made sense even without a previous knowledge of Lee Jordan: Tour Guide. I find it remarkably easy to conjure despair - it's the hope part that takes an effort . Thanks for reading and for letting me know.
  Quote
ravenclawchaser66
Saturday 24th November 2007 09:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Keep Faith
Aww. Lee Jordan, Tour Guide was a great story. Seeing those characters again takes me back. This is a good piece in its own right too. You've captured the fear and uncertainty and love and hope of the war, all tangled together. I especially like how you handled the brief reunion of husband and wife. I've been through that (though without the imminent threat of death part), and what you've written really rings true. As always, thanks for writing!
Jay

PS. Someone's probably already mentioned this, but a bunch of stuff is showing up italicized that isn't from DH.
St Margarets
Sunday 25th November 2007 06:42
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I'm so happy you remembered Lee's story! I'm glad I captured what a brief reunion feels like - thank goodness I've never been in that situation.

I didn't know about the italics problem. Thanks for letting me know! I'll ask Sherry to fix it. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Gioia
Saturday 24th November 2007 08:48


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

Keep Faith
I adore this story. I left you a review when I I rec'd the story over at Know It Alls.

St Margarets
Sunday 25th November 2007 06:39
Keep Faith (Author Response)
Didn't you just make me day? Thank you for the lovely review and the rec!

I'm so pleased this story made sense without Lee Jordan: Tour Guide as background reading. Holly and Gran are very real to me after spending so much time with them that I didn't know if I assumed too much when I wrote this. I do love "ordinary" characters who carry on during trying times, It's not in fashion right now - but there is something to be said for that stiff upper lip and that unbending spirit. I'm so glad that came across in these characters. Thanks for reading and for letting me know!
  Quote
Ladybug
Tuesday 20th November 2007 19:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Keep Faith
What a clever melding of the two worlds of canon and your Lee-Holly story! I love the way you bring in so many tiny details that fill out the picture of how things were going at Hogwarts and general things about how the wizarding world works (e.g. Stacy's seamstress business). And it's always good to poke fun at those idiot Death Eaters, isn't it! I liked the hopeful finish, too.
St Margarets
Sunday 25th November 2007 06:33
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I'm so happy people remember Lee and Holly! It's been awhile since I wrote that story. It was remarkably easy to drop Holly into the background since JKR gave just enough detail about Hogsmeade (but not too much!). Death Eaters should be made fun whenever possible. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
The_Critic
Monday 19th November 2007 15:57


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

Keep Faith
impossible, a st. margrets story I haven't read? *gasps*
oh well, atleast there was a decent story of the week for a change. I love your stories, like roger and lisa and with Lee and Holly. are you planning to write say, another romance story,? If you do, you could try Luna and Rolf Scamander, your the only person who, I think, could write that story properly, anyway, sorry for the forceful sugestions but you have starving fans waiting for you to write more! (or atleast one anyway)
St Margarets
Sunday 25th November 2007 06:31
Keep Faith (Author Response)
Sorry it's taken me so long to reply to your review - we've been away for Thanksgiving. I'm always writing - I just haven't posted very much at Phoenix Song since Sherry has been so busy with RL. I just finished a Charlie story on my LJ - and another H/G story. Feel free to check them out!

As for Rolf - poor man was fatally gored by an Erumpet at his wedding reception. Thank goodness Theodore was around to console Luna.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Ronna
Sunday 28th October 2007 05:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Keep Faith
It's great to see Lee and Holly again, I've missed them... I really like Lee's character. Potterwatch was one of my favourite moments in Deathly Hallows, and I did think about how Holly would feel listening to him...
As always, great work. Thanks for writing!
St Margarets
Sunday 28th October 2007 08:55
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I'm glad you remembered Lee and Holly! It's been a while. I was so worried about Lee when JKR introduced him again - I thought for sure something was going to happen to him. It was great to drop into DH with this missing moment and revisit these characters. Thanks for reading!

PS - I left you a review too!
  Quote
QuidditchLover
Monday 15th October 2007 18:06


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

Keep Faith
once again, you cease to amaze me. please keep writing! emilygail0323@aol.com
St Margarets
Wednesday 17th October 2007 12:34
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. Lee is one of my favorite characters in canon and was so happy JKR didn't kill him off! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
TDU
Wednesday 10th October 2007 16:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Keep Faith
I nearly forgot to read this! Silly me. Your Lee and Holly story stands up remarkably well considering you could have no idea how the final years would pay out. I thought of you when i read Lee'd "Potterwatch" broadcast. And of course, you have been so clever with the echo broadcast so that Lee could see Holly safely. What a nice fluffy start to the day (before the school holiday round of dentist and doctor appoinment).
St Margarets
Thursday 11th October 2007 07:23
Keep Faith (Author Response)
How nice of you to review! I'm sure you were itching to Brit-pick! I wrote this the same week I wrote Trevor's story and I didn't want to bother you with both (and I couldn't remember if you had read Tour Guide) Anyone, I'm glad you liked this bit of fluff before a day of errands and doctor's appointments.
  Quote
Antosha
Tuesday 9th October 2007 08:36


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

Keep Faith
How wonderful to see Lee and Holly again! This is a wonderful alternative view of the dark days of DH—and a lovely view of their marriage. Of the early stages, in any case.

It's funny—Death Eaters in dresses is kind of a regular feature in so-called crack fics, but while the image of Amycus Carrow in a frock was definitely funny, there was also something very sad about it, which I found interesting.
St Margarets
Wednesday 10th October 2007 10:59
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I needed a visual for some sort of wounded psyche/shame in Amycus that would perhaps point to a motivation for torturing school kids - (Not that there is anything wrong with cross-dressing, of course) I would think that Holly would be the kind of artist who would be interested in her subjects - even the horrible ones.

Thanks for reading! I didn't know how many would remember these characters!

  Quote
Megan SQ
Tuesday 9th October 2007 06:50


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 61

Keep Faith
I don't know how I missed this story when you posted it, but I am so glad you mentioned it on your lj. This is one of the most touching one-shots I've read. It brings home so poignantly the fear and tension that those left behind - supposedly for their own good - feel. Poor Holly, she can't even fight back like Ginny! Her painting is so expressive, but I like that you didn't present it as just an escape for Holly's heartache. She actually turns it into something potentially useful, by making that copy.

Also, loved the details on Crossdresser!Amycus - it's often the case with bullies that they hide lots of dirty little secrets.

You know that Lee Jordan's story is my favorite multi-chapter from you. Even though you consider yourself mainly an H/G writer, I think that you are at your best with these two characters. This story just reinforces my impression.
St Margarets
Tuesday 9th October 2007 07:51
Keep Faith (Author Response)
As Holly would say, Amycus is "over compensating" for something with that prediliction for torture.

I'm glad you liked the painting and how Holly uses her skills to help in the war effort. I've always liked JKR's use of the portraits, and I never got around to do anything with that concept in Lee Jordan: Tour Guide.

I do love these characters, and I'm so glad others do, too! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
pixie7
Tuesday 9th October 2007 01:31


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 138

Keep Faith
gr8 chapter, both Holly & Lee are great people. I simply love the way you portrayed them

Amycus in a dress was absolutely hilarious, especially the way i pictured it
St Margarets
Tuesday 9th October 2007 07:49
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! LOL- a pink dress and a hairy chest is not a good vision! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
lenzlaw1
Monday 8th October 2007 18:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

Keep Faith
Very well done
St Margarets
Tuesday 9th October 2007 07:48
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
mlesnapshot
Monday 8th October 2007 16:31


Keep Faith
This is one that I didn't catch on livejournal. Beautiful job, I loved your Lee Jordan tour guide story and I love how you've worked DH into this. I hope you share more about Lee and Holly, I really enjoy reading them! Thank you!!
St Margarets
Monday 8th October 2007 17:18
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I didn't put this on lj - I've had such computer troubles this week. But I'm glad you found it here and that you remembered Lee and Holly. It's been a long time since I wrote that story! Thanks so much for reading.
  Quote
Julu
Monday 8th October 2007 14:15


Keep Faith
Oh I just love Holly and Lee. They are one of my favorite pairs. Lee's not superman, he's just hero enough. Holly's not sexy gorgeous, she's pretty and talented. I love that their angst isn't insurmountable and the way their love protects them.

I'd love to see more of this story line. Great fun!
Julie
St Margarets
Monday 8th October 2007 17:17
Keep Faith (Author Response)
Oh, thanks for reading, Julie! Writing them was like sinking back into a familiar embrace - it was that comforting and that fun. I do like that pair - such Gryffindors even within their modest lives. (like the rest of us)
  Quote
Josie C
Monday 8th October 2007 13:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Keep Faith
*sigh* I absolutely LOVE Holly and Lee. You are probably tired of me gushing, but OMG! It was absolutely amazing and just real, you know? Brings everything into perspective. I was just rereading Anne Frank, and this reminded me how it must have been for other families. Constant hiding, the fear, the heart break. Makes you grateful for the small stuff.

Sorry...I get like this sometime. lol. Getting other people depressed, I mean. Other than that, again, I loved this even more since this is from Holly's POV. I dont think you have written any story from Holly's POV, right? Now I am hungry for more stories from you! *hint hint*
St Margarets
Monday 8th October 2007 17:15
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I loved Diary of Anne Frank - so it probably influenced this. That's an amazing book and an amazing outlook. I'm glad this story made you think of another wartime episode. I'm so glad Lee and Holly have been remembered - it was a joy to write them again. And you're right, I've never written from Holly's point of view. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Astrid
Monday 8th October 2007 12:38


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Keep Faith
Oh, simply lovely! I love how you've tied canon into your ficverse.
St Margarets
Monday 8th October 2007 17:13
Keep Faith (Author Response)
I was so glad JKR gave us a glimpse of Lee (and didn't kill him off!) The homefront is an interesting idea within that wizarding war. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 35 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004