Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Transformation of Ducklings by MagnoliaMama

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
jovelyn_mark
Sunday 16th March 2008 09:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

1
This story is brilliant! Definitely attention catcher. Can't wait for the rest of
the story! I really love it.
  Quote
Quiller
Tuesday 12th February 2008 20:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

1
I love the pairing of scorpius & rose .This is the best story i,ve read yet and am sure will be the best in the days to come . I cant wait to see what happens next.


Please write the next chapter sooner.

Cant wait to read it!!!!!!!!!!
  Quote
whimsy
Thursday 22nd November 2007 10:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 29

1
Tee-hee-hee. Good first chapter that sets the tone and introduces the characters, but without excessive detail. Draco is still a snob; I guess some things will never change. Any flashbacks in future chapters to show the Malfoy family reaction to Scorpius not becoming a Slytherin?

I see that Scorpius didn't contradict his father's statement that he was in love with Rose, but also didn't respond to Draco's revulsion. Poor Scorpius, it's difficult for a 17 year old boy to be trapped between the woman he adores and the father he loves and respects. I wonder who his mother is and what her response will be.

I expect that there will be some trouble at the Weasley home, but ultimately Rose is Daddy's little girl and Ron will give way if Scorpius truly makes her happy. It will also help if Ron is reminded how poorly he and Hermione got along before the Halloween troll.

Won't memories of the parents' time at Hogwarts be a fun time for all - Draco repeatedly calling Hermione a mudblood and expressing pleasure when she was petrified, Hermione giving Draco a good one in the face, Harry and various Weasleys hitting or hexing Draco at different times, Draco as an Umbridge stooge, Draco with Tweedledumb and Tweedledumber trying to ambush the Trio in the Room of Lost Articles during the battle for Hogwarts, Draco trying to rejoin the DEs right after Harry saved his life and all the other amusing anecdotes of the parents' school days.

Verthandi Barbary. Does she have sisters named Urd and Skuld?

MagnoliaMama
Thursday 22nd November 2007 11:14
1 (Author Response)
Wow! Thank you for that fabulous review! If you've read on to chapter 2 then you know some of your questions have been answered. I've written 2 more chapters so far, but for now they're only available on my LJ (I'll be sending ch. 3 to my PS beta soon, though); they will answer even more of your questions, so be sure to keep reading.
Verthandi Barbary. Does she have sisters named Urd and Skuld?
Good catch! I think you're the first person to ask about that. She doesn't, but her father is Heathcote Barbary, who played rhythm guitar for the Weird Sisters.
  Quote
Ladybug
Tuesday 13th November 2007 17:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

1
This really is one of the most enjoyable chapters I've read in some time. I love the grown-up Malfoy and Ron - and their encounter! They've developed and matured but the same basic personalities are plain to see. I wonder if Draco is too old an ugly duck to be undergoing any transformation! And Ron, for that matter, too! I'm immediately enchanted by Rose and Scorpius, their embarrassment is palpable! (How glad I am those days are long over!!) Lovely story, I look forward to following along and seeing some beautiful swans emerge!
  Quote
Rosiebuds
Tuesday 23rd October 2007 10:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

1
Great story so far. Keep up the good work. I'm looking forward to the next chapter!
  Quote
mexpems
Friday 19th October 2007 13:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

1
Great plot easy to read and follow, looking forward to the next chapter, and see how you developed the family feud
  Quote
fire_faerie
Friday 19th October 2007 05:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

1
This is excellent! I love the way you showed all the different characters, especially Rosie. The only thing that surprised me is that Draco is almost exatly like his father. I would've thought that after all he's been through he would've changed . Oh well at least his son is in Ravenclaw!
MagnoliaMama
Friday 19th October 2007 05:35
1 (Author Response)
I think you'll find as the story goes along that Draco has changed--he is his father's son, but he's also his own man. I couldn't show too clearly how he's changed in this first chapter, because then the OOC police would be after me. Either way, I'm glad you read this, and really appreciate your review.
  Quote
Pirate Ginny
Friday 19th October 2007 00:33


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 50

1
Yay! I told you I love this pairing. I'm so glad you're writing this...

I love the little details, especially. The gift-wrapping job in the shop was particularly wonderful.
MagnoliaMama
Friday 19th October 2007 05:36
1 (Author Response)
Yay! I'm so glad you love this pairing too. Your review got my day off to a great start.
  Quote
silverline
Wednesday 17th October 2007 11:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

1
I'll admit that I was sceptical at first, but I absolutely adored it. I loved how you had Draco playing the overbearing father after we saw him with his mother in Diagon Alley in HBP, and the fight between him and Ron was brilliant. Your characterization of Scorpius was wonderful Ė he was believable as Dracoís son, but not his double, which was great. He made me think of Artemis Fowl, though maybe thatís just because I always pictured him as blond and your Scorpius is pretty academic. My only small complaint is that George left instead of watching the fight, which I canít see of canon George, but then a person DOES change in 25 years. Anyway, I loved it, as Iíve said, and canít wait to read more.
MagnoliaMama
Friday 19th October 2007 05:41
1 (Author Response)
Thank you so much for being willing to give this a go. I completely understand your initial hesitance and skepticism. I've grown very fond of Scorpius as I've been writing this (and I'm not a fan of Draco at all, so it's not as though I've transferred my affections from father to son), so I'm glad you like him too. As for your comment about George, you might be right; as I see it, though, Fred would've been the one out there egging them on, whereas George has always been the more responsible twin (and with the shop full of customers, he wouldn't have wanted to give anyone the opportunity to shoplift).

Thanks so much for your thoughtful review!
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Saturday 13th October 2007 13:17


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

1
ooh, im intreiged.
i really like it! please carry on!
i loved the whole teenage embarrassment thing, it was so cute how rosie got in such a stress about him, and doesnt even realise why. hahaha.
MagnoliaMama
Saturday 13th October 2007 20:06
1 (Author Response)
ooh, im intreiged. i really like it! please carry on!

Thanks! I intend to.
it was so cute how rosie got in such a stress about him, and doesnt even realise why.

One thing I haven't seen addressed very often in fics is how embarrassing teenagers find their parents, especially when it comes to dealing with the opposite gender (something I'm dealing with in RL, in fact, with my own son), so I've made a conscious effort to incorporate that into this fic. You'll see more of it in the next chapter too. I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
rebekah_sc
Friday 12th October 2007 21:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

1
*_* Is there going to be more?! I'm enthralled.
MagnoliaMama
Saturday 13th October 2007 06:10
1 (Author Response)
Yes, there will definitely be more. I'm hopelessly caught up in this pairing right now, and am having more fun with it than I have (writing fic) in years. I'm so pleased you enjoyed this!
  Quote
eekii
Thursday 11th October 2007 19:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

1
Yeah! I hope you continue with this. I like the obvious OMG from the parnets. I look forward to updates!!

Thanksss,
Ed.
MagnoliaMama
Friday 12th October 2007 06:21
1 (Author Response)
Ron's and Draco's reactions are my favorite part to the Rose/Scorpius pairing. Glad you enjoyed this!
  Quote
haileythefan
Thursday 11th October 2007 18:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

1
I loved these characters keep going
MagnoliaMama
Friday 12th October 2007 06:20
1 (Author Response)
I like them too, and do plan to continue. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Dollface
Thursday 11th October 2007 17:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

1
wow this was really good. keep u the good work!
MagnoliaMama
Friday 12th October 2007 06:19
1 (Author Response)
Thanks! I'll do my best.
  Quote
sky
Thursday 11th October 2007 10:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

1
hi, really enjoyed reading this. It's the first next-gen fic i've read and really like the concept of a weasley and a malfoy falling in love which would never really be possible in current-gen fics because of the hatred between the parents. It's good to see though that the kids haven't inherited their parents prejudices especially Scorpious.
Can't wait to read more of this and see how your story and your next-gen world develop
MagnoliaMama
Friday 12th October 2007 06:24
1 (Author Response)
Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed this. One of the things I enjoy about next-gen fics is the opportunity to blend canon characterizations -- what the kids might have inherited from their parents -- with original characterization. Scorpius is especially fascinating to me because we don't know who his mother is, so there's more "wiggle room" for his characterization. I've grown quite fond of the lad.
  Quote
honourary_weasley
Thursday 11th October 2007 00:45


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

1
Hysterical! Is there going to be more? What could possibly happen, I wonder?

Of course, we all could see these nasty little plot bunnies re-creating even as the words of the epilogue were sinking into out fanfiction drenched brains, but it's fun never the less!



Let the next generation begin!
MagnoliaMama
Thursday 11th October 2007 03:49
1 (Author Response)
Yes, there will definitely be more. Harry/Ginny is still my OTP, but there's something about Rose/Scorpius that has my imagination running around in circles. I'm having more fun writing this than I have anything I've written for a long time. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
sweetdreamer285
Wednesday 10th October 2007 20:37


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

1
****Happy as a clam****
i'm loving it already! Great Work!
MagnoliaMama
Thursday 11th October 2007 03:47
1 (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm so glad you enjoyed this.
  Quote
Delfino
Wednesday 10th October 2007 15:14


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

1
AAAHHHH!!! I loved it! Please update soon! I simply cannot wait for the next chapter!
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 10th October 2007 18:59
1 (Author Response)
I just checked out your profile (casual curiosity, no stalking implied), and you are going to love the next chapter -- or, at least, a certain aspect about it. At least, I hope you are. In any event, I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter!
  Quote
The_Critic
Wednesday 10th October 2007 14:06


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

1
I love it!

next generation!!! update soon!!! so update
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 10th October 2007 19:01
1 (Author Response)
Eek! Emoticon overload! I appreciate your enthusiasm. Chapter 2 will be up soon...ish.
  Quote
dumbledoresphilosophy
Wednesday 10th October 2007 13:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

1
very cut I am looking forward to the next chapter and I wonder if Lucius will ever find out about this
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 10th October 2007 19:02
1 (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed this. I haven't decided yet if Lucius will find out as an integral part of this story, or if I will conclude with Draco wondering how on earth he's going to break the news to his father.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two ó A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004